Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Charlie Miller

    This is not for the faint hearted

    Getting out of Vienna went pretty smooth for me ( but not for everyone ) and the run up to Bratislava went well apart from terrible wind and rain, Hotel was good but didn't let you check in until exactly 3pm ( on the dot ) The next few days you dotted back and fore between Slovakia & Hungry and you were never really sure where you were, Hotels all a good standard but all the people on trip in different hotels which is a pain, getting in and out of some the places wasn't easy and you need to be good at map reading as instructions very confusing. Day 3 i think it was was very much dirt tracks and farm tracks and with all the rain it was mud and lots of it, ( hard going ) there were also sections of main road which are pretty broken up at the edges, you dont spend much time on or near the Danube but there is still lots to see, but no cafes or places to get hot drinks or snacks. This is a lot harder than Passau to Vienna. Please note this is note an Exodus trip and you end up with company euro cycles who were very good

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots of lovely places and most of the people are nice, i think Bratislava was high light but weather was just lashing down so hard to say, as weather in Budapest was great but to many people and traffic a nightmare

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not Applicable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are 4, 3 corner hotels in Budapest and the one i had wasn't on the map supplied, Traffic in Budapest a nightmare, hotels pretty good standard and people all very nice, but can be a bit strange.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    When you are in Slovakia you can use euros but when you cross the river and end up in hungry they are reluctant to take euros and if they do they give you change in HUF and exchange rate varies from person to person.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    John Sumner

    Enjoyable 200 mile trip

    Four over 60's went on this mainly flat, 200 mile trip in early September. The sun shone (25 degrees), there was no headwind and Bratislava & Budapest are great places to visit. We stayed 2 extra days in Budapest which was well worth the extra cost. While the scenery is not as interesting as the Passau to Vienna ride this route mainly follows Route 6 cycleway along the top of the flood defence dams at the side of the Danube and is very popular. Most days there are wayside cafes for coffee & cakes. Not everything went smoothly - the route notes were supposed to be provided 4 weeks before, when chased they arrived in pdf format the week before (GPX files for my SatNav were supplied & a great help). My e-bike had not been ordered / missed by the bike supplier (depends who you talk to) but following a sleepless first night the bike did arrive the following morning. The route notes were good & took us away from main roads where possible, a couple of roads were closed which tested map skills. The ferry from Esztergom to Visegrad on the last day did not run (only runs on Saturdays from September) so we had to stay in Esztergom overnight & cycle to Vac for a train ride to Budapest instead. Overall we had an enjoyable time and will look to go with Exodus again for the next ride.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting in the restaurant area in Bratislava (excellent food) watching the world go by.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A - self guided ride

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Insist on the route notes 4 weeks in advance. Take copies of the route so everyone can follow them. The separate "Hotel to Route Start" documents are not always very clear (and sometimes just plain wrong!) so print out a Google map for each one. The Hotel Devin in Bratislava is in a great location. There is a Tesco minimart in Mosonmagyarovar, eat at the Simbad restaurant. The Hotel Bella in Komarno is not 4* but the restaurant is excellent. Visit the lovely spa at the Hotel Bellvue in Esztergom before 6pm after then they shut most of it down & avoid the evening buffet style meal, get a taxi into town. Check what day you arrive in Esztergom - if not a Saturday you will arrive at Budapest main railway station & have to find your own way to your hotel. Print a Google map before you set off. The express train takes 20 minutes but has 5 steep steps to negotiate. The stopping train takes 40 minutes but is easier to get the bikes on.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have liked the route notes to include details of cafes (or lack of them).
  • Reviewed September 2018
    David Agnew

    Cycling the Danube, Vienna to Budapest (self guided)

    I thoroughly enjoyed the Exodus self-guided ride I recently completed from Vienna to Budapest. In particular the cities of Bratislava, Gyor and Budapest. The hotels were very good and baggage transfers worked well. However, anyone contemplating this ride should be aware of the the ride does not quite meander along the actual Danube. Most of the route is on the flood plain, some distance from the river and on some days you don’t see the Danube at all. The ride is very flat through fairly featureless agricultural land. In late spring and early summer the corn would all be green and the sunflowers would be spectacular. However, during the rest of the year a fair bit of the ride would be a bit mundane.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding into Bratislava and Budapest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A (self guided). The person doing the briefing in Vienna was good and the support person responded immediately to the one phone query we made.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The maps and guide notes are reasonably good but not exceptional. There were places where they were not quite up to date due to road or cycle path upgrades. Definitely take your own GPS device or have a GPS App such as Maps.me on your cell/mobile phone so you can see exactly where you are if things get confusing. Notes said you buy ferry tickets on ferry, but you actually have to buy them at the shop next to the ferry ramp. The odometer on my wife's bike was faulty from day one and eventually did not work at all, so if you were trying to marry up kilometre markers per the guide maps using this device we would have been in trouble. Parts of the ride, particularly between Gyor and Komarno are on basic farm tracks. We rode this section after heavy rain and parts of the tracks were very muddy and covered with water in places. This was probably unusual. There was nothing you could describe as a hill anywhere on the ride.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The overnight stays are on the railway line. Consequently, on days of heavy rain you do have an option of taking the train to the next destination. We did this on one occasion and it worked well. Its worth spending some time looking around some of overnight stay locations, particularly Bratislava and Gyor. I would therefore recommend arriving by early afternoon to give sufficient time to look around. We used online reviews to choose restaurants in the overnight stay locations.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Dave Ram

    Not a vacation and adventure

    Incredible journey through forests, farms, hamlets and cities! Truly the greatest way to experience a new culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending 10 quality days with my daughter exploring this beautiful part of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were self guided

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure your GPS is up to date and your phone is charged. Maps and directions can be challenging at times, many roads have no signs and kilometer markers on your bike will be off as soon as you make a single side trip or wrong turn. GPS got us back on track multiple times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Research the towns along the way. Many are spectacular and we didn't leave enough time to explore them.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Ian Hill

    Vienna to Budapest cycling

    A lovely holiday, a great route, very good hotels, well organised and supported. We had the time to go at our own pace, do some sightseeing en route but more at our destination towns/cities each day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably riding into Budapest along the Danube and catching sight of the Hungarian Parliament building, which is a stunning sight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As this was a self-guided trip, we didn't have a group leader as such. But Jozef, our support, was very helpful, friendly and informative about the route and things to see along it, as well as being in charge of transporting our luggage every day, not to mention giving us a lift to the start of the route and saving us riding the extra 6 miles from our hotel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you keep in touch with where you are on the map as well as following the written directions. Learn to say Good Morning, Hello and Thank You in German, Slovakian and Hungarian, as this will put smiles on lots of faces.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The people we met in hotels, shops, cafes and restaurants were generally very welcoming and helpful.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Philip Hill

    Cycling the Danube???

    My son and I cycled from Vienna to Budapest in early June. We had a great time. The accommodation was fabulous all the way and the cycles were high quality. The map and other information was very helpful and although we didn't need it, help would have been at hand if anything had gone wrong. Most of the cycling we did was on quiet roads or cycle lanes which made us feel fairly safe. My only warning to prospective cyclists on this holiday is just to point out that not much of it is actually along the Danube, probably because there just isn't a decent path going along it I guess. Our highlight was Gyor. Never heard of it? We hadn't either but it's a real gem. Bratislava is really charming and Budapest is a city built on a grand scale. Vienna? We weren't so impressed. Just a little bit too la di dah for our taste but a city you have to see especially if like us you are big fans of "The Third Man." Yes, the wheel is still there and yes we did go on it. You have to, right?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the end. This is strictly cycling for beginners, but that is what we were and it was a relief to get home unharmed.
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Vernon Rows

    Vienna to Budapest by Bike

    The trip was great. We arrived in Vienna three days before the bike trip and stayed with a distance cousin that I had contacted through my genealogy. We toured the city seeing Schombrunn castle, Kloisterneiburg cathedral, a Vienna concert as well as the downtown, The bike trip was difficult as we only travelled at 13kpm av. while younger people travelled at over 20kpm. We often arrived at our destination late in the afternoon and found that it was too late to tour buildings that were about to close. I enjoyed the view because we were not near the river but travelling through beautiful farm country and small towns much of the time. We also spent three days in Budapest which I think was about the right amount.We would have enjoyed taking the boat into Budapest on the last half of the last day except the boat did not operate in September on the Sunday that we were there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Schombrunn Castle in Vienna was excellent. The buildings in Budapest were nearly all decorated with some sculpture and were located on the river. A river cruise is part of the Hop on and Hop off bus ticket in Budapest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were on a self guided tour. There was no leader. Our luggage was always waiting for us at our hotel when we arrived. The accommodations were great and the breakfasts were always a great meal to start the day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take along an electronic device with GPS capability and Google maping. It will help. We were older travelers( early 70's) so eBikes might have helped us. Read the directions in the map book closely. The directions are good and accurate (one exception on day two caused us to do a detour which was unnecessary). Also the rides on days 4, 5 and 6 of our tour were along the edge of busy highways for a portion of the trip which was too dangerous for us. We took the train which provided excellent service for those last three days. It also rained on each of those days. The rides through the countryside were great and better than along the Danube which cannot be seen anyway because of tree growth. Wind can be a killer but we did not experience any.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hop on and Hop off bus ticket in Budapest was easy to use and gave us easy access to many of the sights of the city. We also found that the tram system was easy to use although there is no ticket transfer and you must purchase a new ticket for each ride and transfer on the tram. You are expected to stamp the ticket yourself once on the tram. You do not need to show your ticket unless asked which I was only once on ten rides. The trains in Hungary permit the transport of bikes in designated cars. Cost was $1.75 per bike on top of the fare. ticket. The designated bike paths were generally very good usually paved on the path

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We are very glad that Vernon really enjoyed this trip. Although the emphasis is on the cycling, we try and allow for time to visit the various sites nearby and should any of our clients like to, we will happily arrange additional time at the beginning or the end of the trip if this is requested at the time of booking. The trip manager has taken all of Vernon’s feedback on board and is currently looking into the possibility of employing GPS systems to improve our clients’ navigation of cycle routes. We trust that when in place, this will positively enhance our clients cycling experiences. Exodus Customer Services

  • Reviewed October 2013
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - VIENNA TO BUDAPEST

    Excellently organised trip, the maps were on the whole easy to follow, although we had waypointed the hotels on a GPS so we had a good idea of where to go, and how far we had to go. We did find out that the Canadians had slightly different routes to ours, and the American maps were slightly different again. The hotels (well, the ones we got to - see later) were all really good, and the staff friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were lots of good moments (and one very bad moment - see later): Actually finding our way in Bratislava, crossing borders, cycling further than we'd ever cycled before in a day, and not feeling any pain the next day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good and helpful group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Advice for travellers:  Just outside Babolna I somehow fell off my bicycle and broke my ankle. After dialling the emergency services on 112 I reaslised I was wasting my time - they did not understand a word of English. We had to flag down a car to speak to them.  It still took 90 minutes for an ambulance.  However, the people we flagged down went and got an English speaking person and a van for our bikes (although mine was confiscated by the police). Do make sure your mobile phones allow international calls - we could not call the RadReisen rep as he had an Austrian mobile number.The next piece of advice is the most important.  Under no circumstances admit liability for falling off your bike!  I was subsequently fined 15,000 HUF for causing an accident.  Even though nothing else was involved. Blame the road, a bird, fox, badger, anything but yourself! The hospital in Tatabanya was not as modern as hospitals I have been used to.  I was offered surgery there, but chose to go back to the UK.  Make sure you have adequate insurance - I needed 3 seats on the plane going home.  Also make sure you're not sqeamish about giving yourself injections - I had to do that to prevent DVT.  On the plus side, the Hungarian crutches are far superior to our UK NHS ones! Also make sure you get a fit to fly certificate - the insurance company were excellent in sorting that out too.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hungarian people are really friendly - the man with a van took my partner and her bike to our hotel in Tata and wouldn't accept any money.  The English speaking girl that the driver who we flagged down got sat with me in the ambulance and acted as interpreter with the paramedics.  They were such lovely people - it's a shame we didn't get their details to properly thank them afterwards.Both Exodus and RadReisen were very good in assisting us, and booked us into the Budapest hotel for 2 nights so we didn't have to get to the intermediate hotel. So, for the 2/3 of the trip we completed we thought it was excellent.  It's now 2 months since my accident and I still can't walk, but I'd like to do this trip again to actually complete it!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - VIENNA TO BUDAPEST

    A relatively easy cycle ride on cycle paths and mainly quiet roads, accommodation and bicycles excellent. Whilst we were not by the Danube as much as we'd expected, particularly when we were, the scenery was fantastic.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final days cycling which involved 3 ferries across the Danube and, for us, a ferry trip from Szentendre to Budapest ( we were advised by the local Rad Reisen rep to do this rather than cycle into Budapest)We stopped at Lipot and went to open air thermal baths and these were excellent- remember swimming costumes that day  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided so no leader but the representative from Rad Riesen covered all important details at the beginning

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Suggest an extra night in Vienna at the beginning and 1 or 2 nights in Budapest at the endFor us, the airport bus would have been better than the recommended train route to the hotel in Vienna Take swimming costumes for Lipot.Beware that differences between Exodus trip notes and information from Rad Riesen can lead to confusion especially when negotiating routes out of towns.In particular, we were advised to take the train from Tata to Koragom and then cycle along the north of the Danube in Slovakia to Estergom rather than following the route advised by Exodus that day. We were also advised to catch a ferry into Budapest from Szentendre. The instructions for finding the tickets were not very clear.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall, very good value holiday and, in particular the bikes and accommodation were fineWe have been on several Exodus holidays and intend to go on more 
  • Reviewed July 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DANUBE - VIENNA TO BUDAPEST

    This was a RadResein tour. It's a misnomer to say it was "cycling the Danube" as most of the time the Danube wasn't visible or accessible and we cycled through  lots of farmland. The promise of having the cycles available in Vienna didn't eventuate and when Tobias was asked (the Radresein person briefing us and handing out the cycles) he didn't make any effort to rectify this. Instructions in and out of the bigger cities were totally inadequate. Hotels mostly ok but the Vienne hotel, purportedly a 4 star, had no air conditioning in 38-40 degree heat - how can this star rating be?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling into Budapest

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tobias introduced himself as the bag 'mover' between locations and gave a rushed briefing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Look carefully at the detail (rather hard when it is in general terms in the advertising). Insist on detailed maps/instructions for negotiating entry and exit of cities.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087