Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Evelyn Tiefenbrun

    Cycle the Baltics

    It was a great rip - well-organised, lovely routes, reasonable accommodation and food, excellent guide, great group -met some lovely people who I'll be seeing again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Last night party was a lot of fun!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lukas was terrific - knowledgable, considerate, patient, addressed every issue & answered every question

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great trip - just as described in the blurb. Go for it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very hard work for just one guide, especially when riding. When Lukas was at the back, the people at the front often had to wait quite some time for the others, or else if Lukas was at the front, he led us a short distance at a time to keep us all together. Trip could benefit from 2nd guide.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    janet pendlebury

    Wonderful countryside

    There were parts of this tour I enjoyed and others not so!. There's no doubt, there is a lot of travelling involved and I have to disagree with one reviewer who says travel in Romania is slow. It is not. The roads are good and there's just one point in Transylvania where it's a bit rough but they are in the process of sorting this. The palace in Bucharest was wonderous. Really beautiful marble all around and lovely plasterwork. I was disappointed with the monastery stay. I was so looking forward to this as a unique overnight stay but sadly we did not stay in the monastery but a run down, youth hostel style building close by. The bison reserve was also disappointing and not worth the effort. It was sad to see an adult bear pacing around a concrete cage and the bison were just like cattle in a field. The painted monasteries were fabulous and preserved really well. The nunnery at Agapia was so lovely with glorious gardens, beautifully laid out. The train ride was ok I suppose, but I wondered if it was worth 2 days and the detour to do it. I'm sure better use could be made of the time without the horrendous travel to get there. Once you get to the end of the line, there's nothing to do except have lunch with all the rest of the people on the train. There are no walking trails or anything like that so all you do is wait for the return journey. Come to think of it, it was a bit tedious. Sighisoara was a lovely photogenic little place. Have a walk around before breakfast if you can as there are less people and cars and you can get the perfect photo. The flower meadows of Transylvania were so pretty. No wonder Prince Charles bought a house here which we were lucky to see. Bran castle was ok to visit but it was crowded and the authorities seem to have no concept of controlled entry. We were rushed through by the tour leader and not given any chance to read the info available. Personally I would have preferred to visit Peles Castle. All I can say is be prepared for long journeys. You do not get much free time on this tour. The included meals were OK, particularly the train. You will not go hungry!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nothing particularly inspirational

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not the best tour leader I've had. His personality only started to come out towards the end of the tour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do not need a huge amount of money. Romania is relatively cheap. The biggest piece of advice I can give is to see if you can have a cabin on your own on the train. In my opinion the cabins are way too small for 2 adults. It's just about ok with one.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Mark Galbo

    Bosnia and Beyond

    The trip was fantastic!!! The transportation was comfortable and efficient, the accommodations were very nice and well organized, the group leader, Evelin Balta, was the best due to his passion of the region, knowledge of the history and sites, and overall concern for everyone in the group. I would highly recommend this trip due to the comprehensive coverage of the region, the excellent food, and great sites and destinations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were fortunate to be in the country during the World Cup. Watching how passionate the people were about the game and in particular with Croatia advancing, it was really exciting. Also, when we went to the local farms and homes to learn about their lives and have a most incredible meal of the local region was fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Evelin Balta is one of a kind. His energy and spirit of youth makes you want to join him in everything he suggested. His passion for the region, its history, the people, and overall positive aspects of each country was inspiring and truly educational. His concern for each and every one of us was very appreciated. He made sure we were prepared for each activity, made sure our meals were to our specification, included everyone in the conversation but also went out of his way to connect personally to each and every member of the group. He is a treasure to the company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. It is a fascinating part of the world, the food is something to experience, and the people are friendly and very diverse. It is a shining example of how different cultures, beliefs, and backgrounds can all live together in harmony.
  • Reviewed July 2018

    My holiday of a lifetime Peru and Mchu Picchu

    This has been my dream holiday for as long as I can remember. Nazca lines, Andes, walking the Inca trail to Machu Picchu and Lake Titicaca. It was more than I could have hoped for. The amazing scenery welcoming people, amazing food, Pisco sours and a friendly enthusiastic Tour guide. Without the long coach journeys we would have missed all the amazing scenery! The flight over the Nazca lines truly amazing and well worth doing. Day 2 of the trail definitely the hardest but the thrill when you reach Dead woman's pass is nearly as inspiring as reaching the Sun gate and seeing Machu Picchu for the first time. I was ill at the end of the holiday so missed Lake Titicaca.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Dead Woman's pass was as equaling inspiring as the emotion that overwhelms you when you reach the Sun Gate and see Machu Picchu for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group Leader Willmer Delgado was an amazing ambassador for Exodus and for Peru. His knowledge of Peru and its history had us all enthralled for the whole 15 days in Peru. Nothing was too much trouble including helping track down my missing suitcase . Our assistant guide on the trail Kleverth was along with Will very patient and being one of the slower walkers who suffered with altitude sickness I was never made to feel like I was holding anyone back.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink the coca tea when offered to you as it does help on the trail. Don't let the coach journeys put you off, the scenery is amazing, you get to see Vicunas and Alpaca's roaming free, Condor's and Flamingo's. Above all enjoy the whole experience, a few early mornings wont kill you!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Olive McEntagart

    Excellent walking !

    The walks were lovely and the scenery very varied. The hotel is comfortable and serves great food : ) you'll never go hungry. V well organised and the tour guide was great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the amazing views of all the mountains and looking down on clouds!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, really organised. All the walks were at a good pace. Couldn't have done more - really nice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Possibly only to bring poles for extra stability when walking. The hotel provide an excellent lunch with lots of snacks so no need to bring any extra snacks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Brilliant trip in a beautiful part of Spain.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    virginia wolff

    cycling in Albania

    A fantastic trip. Hotels and food were excellent. The two guides were friendly and knowledgeable. The scenery was amazing - open vistas, mountains, and beaches. The trip was perfectly organized and the cycling was amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The descent from 1100 to 300m to the town of Carshove, but there were many inspirational moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was the best!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bring all the things they tell you to. One change of clothes is fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very well organized trip. I appreciate the flexibility built into each day's itinerary.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    virginia wolff

    cycling in Albania

    A fantastic trip. Hotels and food were excellent. The two guides were friendly and knowledgeable. The scenery was amazing - open vistas, mountains, and beaches. The trip was perfectly organized and the cycling was amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The descent from 1100 to 300m to the town of Carshove, but there were many inspirational moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was the best!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bring all the things they tell you to. One change of clothes is fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very well organized trip. I appreciate the flexibility built into each day's itinerary.
  • The best trip yet.

    Having now completed nine trips with Exodus this has been one of the best, and of the European trips it is the best. Beautiful scenery, enchanting towns and villages, wonderful food and lots of Gelato.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was inspirational due to my fellow travellers, fun and laughter all the way, how lucky I was to be a part of it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Francesco and Sara were a good as it gets, not just leaders but a part of the group. Great to be with and they obviously enjoy their work.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling isn't too hard (but this means different things to different people), so for anyone who has a good level of fitness it's fine. The only advisory note is that you need to be confident of occasionally cycling on busy roads.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Barbara Preneta

    Fantastic trip!

    The area was absolutely gorgeous, with one amazing view after another. We had a wonderful week of walking with a wonderful group of people of varying ages. Having the choice of 2 levels of walks was very helpful. Both 3 and 5 level hikes were plenty challenging enough for my husband and I in our late 60's. Leaders were great and hotel very comfortable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Traveling up by cable car and then climbing further for amazing views!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 leaders, one for each level. They switch off for the entire week, rather than day to day as has happened on other trips we have taken. This worked out fine, though I think switching more often would allow both leaders to know all group participants better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring clothing for all kinds of weather! We used raingear, gloves, hats, multiple layers, shorts and short sleeves. Be prepared!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our third trip with Exodus. It was definitely not our last!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Sally Weston

    Super Trip

    This was a great way to experience Italy on cycle paths and quiet roads with our super guide providing lots of interesting commentary and experiences along the way. We visited so many interesting villages, towns and cities along the way finally arriving in Venice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many great moments - as various sights came into view. One special moment was the view of Venice from the rooftop terrace.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was an excellent guide and consistently went the extra mile to ensure we got the most out of the holiday. He explained the sites and the history in an engaging and fun way and arranged many extra experiences for us along the way. We will definitely be coming back for another of Michele's rides.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take insect repellent as the mosquitos appeared after we arrived at the southern end of Lake Garda. Wear a road cycling jersey with rear pockets to carry phone / money etc so you can leave your backpack in the van. Bring a cycling water bottle - one is enough as there are lots of drinking fountains along the way. Do some riding beforehand to bulid some cycling fitness - everyone on our trip had a good level of fitness which meant that the group stayed close togehter.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would highly recommend this trip.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087