Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A well organised holiday in a wonderful country This trip combines a great mix from free camping, desert walking and rock climbing to time on Moses Mountain and the splendor of Petra by day and night

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My over riding memory was when we striked camp on the last morning in Wadi Rum Our two man support team had once again balanced all the mattresses, luggage, food, water, mint tea kettle (vital) on the trusty vehicle in a matter of minutes and we walked out with a camel train and a feral dog for company. Friendships had been forged quickly coupled with exercise, good food and the freedom to be a grub! It was the complete contrast to life back home and a heady liberating feeling

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Salah was superb. He kept a close eye on everyone and the days unfolded with a relaxed unrushed feel. Salah offered daily options regarding start times and optional activities and arranged the most delicious group meals in Petra and Amman. He shared such pride in both his family, culture and country which has left me wanting to understand more about The Middle East

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can never have too many baby wipes! High factor sun screen and well worn in pair of walking boots. The evening camp fire chats always included comparisons of blisters and with 6 Drs in our group there were many opinions regarding treatment!! The trip includes excellent food and access to free bottled water whilst in the desert. There are always plenty of opportunities to fill up water carriers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip and a good introduction to the desert environment There's always a support vehicle nearby if you develop wobbly legs and need a ride into camp There's no pressure in taking the additional extras but I would recommend Petra by night and the Turkish bath, you come out squeaky clean!!! Thank you Exodus for another wonderful adventure
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CAMINO DE SANTIAGO TREK

    sdf

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    sf

    What did you think of your group leader?

    asf

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    asf

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    asf
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    HIDDEN TREASURES OF JORDAN

    A fantastic trip with and experiences I will never forget!Jordan was a brilliant place to visit, amazing history and places to visit. The group leader and everyone I met was really friendly. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking though the Siq in Petra and suddenly the Treasury coming into view out of nowhere has to be top of the list along with making it to the top of the steps to see the Monastery. Reading the Jordan Post whilst floating in the Dead Sea, although standing up with the Jordan Post in the Dead Sea less successful! The camel ride, even if the getting up and down is the terrifying!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a very knowledgably leader, always making the extra effort to look after the group.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent trip, would recommend Jordan as an unforgettable
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PICOS PEAKS & GORGES

    An excellent week's walking amongst stunning mountain scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As well as being a very welcoming host at the hotel, Pilar was a wonderful, experinced leader with extensive knowedge of the local area and a great sense of fun.  She coped spledidly with everything we threw at her, including having to organise a helicopter mountain rescue!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Flower lovers should go at the end of May, as we did, for an abundance of colourful wildflowers. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel serves THE best gin & tonics, made with Tanqueray gin, masses of ice and plenty of freshly squeezed lemon Juice. The flower filled terrace with a spectacular view of the mountains is the perfect place to drink them. We spent many a happy evening after dinner doing just that.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    This trip was awesome. Experiancing all the activities was grt. The group were all fantastic and will do my very best to stay in touch.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Man all were so good. But for me the canyoning and paraglide was Awesome!!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Geoff was Amazing. Very proffesional in every activitie, grt knowledge of historic area's,grt organisation skills and socially very funny.Mustafa was very Agile, proffesional and witty!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sterling with u and change into turkish lira at hotel or locally,much better rates than at home.Wear a pair of treaking boots for canyoning, with good grip for wet surfaces.cheap trainers for gorge water walk, as they will get ruined.waterproof camera for grt shots in the water.Also a dry bag was very handy....

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Best holiday my wife and me have had so far!!!Look forward to more with exodus travel........
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    A fantastic weeks holiday for both experienced walkers and novices.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was the chance to visit Herculaneum on the free day, as it was somewhere i,ve been meaning to visit for a few years now. The walk around the crater of Vesuvius was also rather special. The moment that I will also remember for ever is  proposing to my partner and her saying yes. Need to think of a great Exodus venue for the next stage.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Christine was an absolute gem. Great sense of humour and nothing was too much for her. To be honest most Exodus leaders are really good but Christine is one of the best.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book now. The walking is both scenic,varied and not too difficult even for non walkers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really nice hotel with the added bonus that they have now opened a small pool. Not big enough for a swim but great to cool off after a hot walk or days sightseeing.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    My first trip to Africa and my first trip with Exodus. Definitely not the last! An amazing experience. All the animals, the friendly people, the beautiful landscape, the guides, the group - all better than I could hope for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the leopard in the tree. We had seen all the other animals that we had wished for, but still needed to see the leopard. And suddenly it was just there in the tree. Almost missed it when driving past.But it was amazing to see so many different animals. Elephant, zebra, giraffe, oryx, blackfaced impala, hartebeest, kudu, leopard and rhino. But also the cute mongoose and rock dassie, all the amazing birds and even a caracal and honey badger. What more can you ask for. Another highlight for me was a trip to the Mondesa township in Swakopmund (not included). 3 of us went there with Hafeni Cultural Tours. Our guide was a 23 year old who had lived in the township all his life. He was just so open about their life and history. Highly recommend it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was brilliant and so was Jonas and Tuhafeni. Sam was really knowledgeable and told us about his own family and background as well.It would have been good if he had sometimes been in the back of the truck with us instead of driving. I am sure he could have entertained us with more stories on the long drives.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a waterproof jacket! We had about 86mm in one day and climbed Dune 45 when it was raining. Wet.Don't pack you swimming custome at the bottom of your case. Quite a few of the camps had swimming pools, so it's good to have your swimming gear and towel ready when you arrive.There is quite a few stops where you are able to buy water. But just listen to the guide, they will tell you when you need to buy an extra bottle or when you can just use the water at the camp. And bring extra water when you go climbing. Some people don't need a lot of water, but others do.Always have the camera ready. Don't back it too far away, so many photo opportunities.You can charge your batteries at most camps, so that won't be a problem. The adapter is a bit different. I wasn't able to get it from home, but you can just buy it at the supermarket in Windhoek and lots of places. Bring a sleeping bag acording to what Exodus recommend. Mine wasn't thick enough so I had a couple of really cold nights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We went to The Lighthouse for dinner in Swakopmund. If you are going there, I highly recommend The Lighthouse Burger. It was so good - and everybody just stared at it. And that's all I'm saying!And really, just go to Namibia - you won't regret it.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST & BAY OF NAPLES

    A very enjoyable week in a beautiful and interesting region of Italy. The busy itinerary was balanced out by relaxing evenings in the hotel, with lovely food, lots of wine, and lots of laughs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Walk of the Gods was a definite highlight, we had excellent weather and the scenery along the way was beautiful. The Roman sites of Heculaneum and Pompeii were both fascinating and humbling, and with Vesuvius looming in the background all the while it makes the disasters in these towns seem very real. It was all brought to life for us by our excellent guide Fabrizzio. For a taste of how the other half live, you can't beat Capri, truly fabulous and the chair lift ride to the top of Mt Solaro was one of the most peaceful and relaxing parts of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Far more energetic than most of the guests, and at times I think he forgot that we were all on holiday! But cannot fault his enthusiasm or helpfulness, and he stayed with us all week and organised us all well. The only disappointment was that in his suggesting to switch the itinerary around (to give us better weather for the walk), we ended up in Naples on the one day of the week (Tuesday for future reference!) the Archeological museum was closed which was disappointing. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It really was much cooler in the mountains (where the hotel is) than on the coast, so pack something warm for the evenings if you are going early (or late) in the season. Shopping time is limited, so grab those souvenirs when you can. Some of the rooms in the main hotel building can be a little noisy so take earplugs. The roads are interesting - lots of switchbacks and sharp bends, and very close to the edge, so if you suffer from motion sickness or vertigo, make sure you take some travel sickness tablets with you. Mostly though, it was good fun! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food in the hotel is lovely and plentiful, and they have a great wine pricing policy! On one evening you get to go into the kitchen to watch dinner being made, try out the local cheese, have some Prosecco, and on pizza night one of the group gets to have a go! The week we stayed, the hotel had just finished building a swimming pool in the grounds so if you are there over the summer, take your costume! 
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF BOTSWANA

    This is a great trip if you like wildlife and the natural world. Be aware though that game spotting can be quite a challenge due to dense vegetation and tall grass. However, with a good tracker/spotter the rewards can be incredible for when you do spot wildlife. I gave this holiday 4 starts only because of some exceptional trips elsewhere. For example, the scenery in Botswana wasn't quite as spectacular as say Tanzania or Namibia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlights for me would be the various times spent in the Okavango Delta, which included the game drives and game walks. On our first game walk our local guide took us to a hippo pool, where we found hippo feeding, which was great to see. We were also so close we could hear them munching on the grass. Camping is also a great way to get the whole wilderness experience, particularly with all the sounds you hear at night, truly amazing! Victoria Falls also far exceeded my expectations and my only regret is not choosing to do the micro-light flight over the Falls. A reason to return (among many) I suppose!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Sam was a very good guide and was always in good spirits. His advice on viewing the Falls from Zimbabwe rather than Zambia was proof of his local knowledge. He really surpassed himself in terms of what I expected from the food on this trip. We all ate incredibly well, from stews, steaks and curries. We even had fish and chips.  Whilst on the game drives Kenny took over as leader, which seemed appropriate to me. His tracking skills were amazing. On a game drive in Moremi he told us he was tracking a leopard. He was always very forthcoming with information and his knowledge of the wildlife. Anyway, back to the leopard tracking; Kenny started to point out signs of its presence. From footprints in the sandy road and the alarm calls of various animals, which suggesting a predator was nearby. We drove on then he suddenly veered through the bush. Warnings of "branches, branches" came from the front of the truck until eventually someone in our group spotted the leopard and there it was, walking parallel to us under the trees. It was a magical experience and one I'll never forget. Moments like that really define a holiday for me and thanks to Kenny I'll treasure it forever. We also saw Lion (and cubs), also leopard cubs. Lots of Elephant (also swimming across the Chobe River), Hippo, Wild Dogs (which Botswana are known for) and numerous birds, to name but a few.  Last but not least the third tour member Bruce, who was always very happy, hardworking and efficient. He certainly deserves a mention.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I think the best advice to give would be to go with an open mind. Game viewing can be at times difficult, as mentioned earlier, vegetation is often very dense and the grass grows particularly high. But, with a good tracker and everyone’s eyes peeled you can get rewarded, as my preceding review should testify.   Take US Dollars. Hard currency means everything. You can use ATMs in Maun and a few other larger towns but rest assured you will find your credit cards refused at various stages of the trip. Zimbabwe only takes MasterCard (NOT VISA) and even then the machines "may not" be working. We noticed that getting into the Falls in Zimbabwe take both US Dollars and GB Pounds, which we didn't initially realise. So, my main point would be to TAKE LOTS OF CASH.  Another point would be the time of year to go. I was very happy going in mid to late May, which is the start of their dry season (winter). Be aware that the Delta floods in July and August and the main rains in Botswana come in November and December. Going at various times of the year would have differing advantages for various points of the trip. For example, going in May was good due to no rain and good due to the high level of the Falls, but not so good for the Delta. Later in the dry season would be good for both I guess. July/August would be good for the Delta and perhaps the Falls would still be quite high. Whatever time of year you choose to go, you're bound to have a great time!    
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DALMATIAN COAST

    The Croatia Cycling tour is an excellent way to enjoy the Croatia coast and get off the beaten track and enjoy the local food. I would highly recommend this trip if you are after an active holiday and enjoy seeing the world by bike.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a number of substantial hill climbs that were very tough at times. The inspirational moments were when I would look around rather than focussing on the road and I was greeted by the amazing Croatian coast line.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group Leader Kristo was excellent. I'd like to nominate him for a leader of the year. Krsto was very relaxed, he would tell us when and where we needed to be, where we were riding for the day so we all understood. My only feedback would be to come down on people a bit harder when they were late. Krsto seemed well known everywhere we went and so we were always looked after. The effort Krsto put into the trip really made the trip for us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is rated moderate, however there are some tough days with challenging hill climbs, do not go on this tour if you are not a regular rider. I loved it because I love riding and I loved the hills as they were a challenge for me and I knew I had earnt my drink at the end of the day. That said there are options to take the bus if you don't think you have the fitness so that is a good option available to all riders. The days are quite long, riding by 9, back at the hotel by 6 or a bit before out to dinner by 730/8 pm. The dinners are a wonderful opportunity to taste the local food, most places had fresh fish in everyday which was wonderful. Dinners did go for a long time and we'd usually leave by 1030/11 pm. There isn't that much time to do your own thing, it really is a group environment, but that did make the trip enjoyable as you got to meet new people and get to know them. If you are after an active tour and want to see the sights of the Croatian coast then this is an excellent tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The tour involves long days, so it's not the tour for you if you want to relax everyday. The food was wonderful and a highlight of the trip for me. Everywhere we ate was excellent, a great example of fresh local food. The accommodation was fine, the only hotel that wasn't consistent with standard was dubrvnik. That said I'm not fussy about accommodation as we don't spend much time there so as long as I've got a bed and shower I'm fine.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087