Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2008
    Anonymous

    FLEXI ACTIVITY: KAS

    Fantastic active holiday, my only complaint is that it wasn't long enough, I could done with another week at least!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved it all, but cycling through the pine trees in the sun was excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do all the activities on offer

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wouldn't hesitate to book another one of these holidays and might try a winter one in a couple of months.
  • Reviewed October 2008
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF LIBYA

    Libyans are  very welcoming people and,even when we were lost in the souk & it got dark we did not feel remotely afraid, in the end we asked for directions & a young man showed us the way, that summed up the holiday. The sites were magic (we preferred Cyrene to Leptis Magna which was what we had actually come to see). Go before too many people discover its magic. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being the only people at our first site visit of Sabratha was not only great but also a surprise. After that we loved the sites but were not surprised to be there on our own.The guides at all the sites were top quality. Our own guide was fantastic. Even the policeman who travelled with us as a guard was great fun!Our most inspirational moment was a trip to the Commonweath War Grave in Tripoli  to visit the grave of an uncle. It was like an Oasis in the sandy town. Our guide, Tarek, took us there in his own time & his own car!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tarek is a star.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Forget what you've heard or read about Col. Gadaffi. Go and meet the lovely, friendly Libyans before they get overrun by visitors & thus get fed up with us!  
  • Reviewed October 2008
    Anonymous

    ICELAND VOLCANO HIKE

    Despite rain every day (plus some snow and hail!) I had a fantastic time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When Kauri, our group leader was leading us up a ridge on day 5. It was very windy and there were thoughts about not going on - but I am glad we did as the sense of satisfaction when we reached the top was great. We also appreciated the hot pools afterwards all the more for the hard work!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kauri was a fantastic guide. He knew the route like the back of his hand. He worked so hard to look after us all week - answering our endless questions about the country and the route, slaving over our evening meals and fresh coffee, providing an endless supply of chocolate-covered raisins - and yet he was so much fun and always had a cheeky grin on his face. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect to get wet. And spent a lot of time in very close proximity with other people who are very wet. But still have a great time!
  • Reviewed October 2008
    Anonymous

    THE MATTERHORN CIRCUIT

    Amazing trip. The was scenery was great, varying from mountain meadows to alpine glaciers and the walking was challenging, but without being too tough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A rosy coloured Matterhorn at morning sunrise was obviously a highlight, but the final days walk from Europahutt to St Nicklaus was the most memorable. At daybreak our mountain hut was high above the morning clouds. It was amazing to be under bright blue skies as we following the high rocky path above a sea of cloud hiding the valley floor.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Top man. Our group was a very random mix of personalities and walking abilities so he had a tough task to keep everyone happy, but from my perspective he did a grand job. He was very knowledgeable about the region and always happy to chat. I felt confident in his abilities as a guide and he was also a good crack when it came to a couple of beers in the evening. Thanks for a great trip Gaz.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light. Anything you can do to keep you travelling weight down is recommended. My digital SLR took up a very large precentage of my pack weight and although i'm really happy with the photos I'd strongly consider taking a quality compact next time. Weight aside it's difficult to carry an SLR on a trip like this anywhere but in your rucksack. Not the easiest place to get to when that perfect shot comes along. BTW, wearing an SLR round your neck whilst carrying a rucksack = very uncomfortable.
  • Reviewed October 2008
    Anonymous

    PETRA & THE PYRAMIDS

    We saw some marvellous sites and had many memorable experiences. Travelling in early September, and therefore in very hot temperatures, we expected this trip to be hard work at times, and it was.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunrise from the summit of Mount Sinai.The incredible art work in the tombs of the Valley of the Kings. Watching the sun set over the River Nile.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had three different leaders during the trip. In Jordan our guide Jousaf was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining, he worked hard to teach us some Arabic as we drove from one destination to the next. He was extremely helpful when some of us fell ill, and he went out of his way to make sure that one group member had a second chance to visit Petra after missing the main visit. In Sinai we had two group leaders, one who was a little inexperienced and one who was more knowledgeable but whose English was less strong.In Egypt we had a knowlegeable and talkative linguist for our guide. Having said this, our perception at the Valley of the Kings was that we learned very much less than some of the other tour groups who were there that morning. In Cairo museum he spent quite some time talking to us and we had very little time to explore the museum independently.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check out the local temperatures at the time you are planning to travel. The trip notes indicate that a 3 season sleeping bag is needed in Wadi Rum, and yet it was so hot we didn't need sleeping bags at all, a cotton liner would have been perfect.Pay attention to the need to respect local religion, culture and tradition - dress modestly, as per the advice in travel guides.Take wet wipes and hand disinfectant.Finally, if only non alcoholic beer is available, forget it - drink something else.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The crossing from Aqaba to the Sinai peninsula was rather disconcerting in that the trip notes didn't describe what would happen in any detail. The group travelled without a guide and had to give up their passports once on board the ferry. The ferry remained in dock for some time, every single passenger's papers having to be processed before the short crossing finally took place. Once on land in Sinai our passports were quickly returned to us complete with Egyptian visas but it was strange being in "no mans land" without a passport for so long.If we were to be asked how the trip could be improved, we would say take out the "safari" aspects of the visit to Sinai. The desert was magnificent, but the off-road travel provided for our enjoyment was no more than a trial to be endured in the rear of non-airconditioned vehicles whilst the drivers had their fun.We were attracted to this trip because it combines the highlights of Jordan and Egypt, and it didn't disappoint us - it really squeezes a lot into a very short time.  Perhaps this is why the visits to St Catherine's Monastery, Karnak and Luxor Temples, the Valley of the Kings and Cairo museum were all surprisingly short. Maybe our expectations were wrong, but we would have welcomed the opportunity to spend a little more time in these very special places.
  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    DOLOMITES TREK

    The Dolomites are even more stunning than expected, and a good mix of landscapes and experiences to give you a taste of what it has to offer.  The great thing about an Exodus holiday is the peope that you meet - within the group and in general.  Made a lot of new friends from across the globe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was mesmerised by the Vajolet towers, stunning.  I also loved the bits of via feratta and scrambling that we did.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wolfgang was an interesting character, way too anxious about silly things and needs to relax a little more. Had a bit of a fall out with him mid week due to his tendency to be a bit too agitated, but then things seemed to settle and we got on very well.  I would say his anxiety is due to him wanting everything to be as perfect as possible.  We did have a giggle though and he seemed very relaxed in the evenings, especially one evening when he was  being paid attention to by a young blonde. :)  Go Wolfgang!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need stamina more than anything else.  Some days are extremely easy walks along well-defined paths (too boring for my liking) and some days were much more challenging with ascents that tested us.  The walking is constant and not many breaks - mainly only for lunch.  It's important to stock up on your sugar levels - sweets are plentiful in the rifugios - and preferably take a platypus for water as it is easier than bottles.  In the rifugios, the skiwater is very good and the beer is even better but does cost approx 4 euros for a large glass.  Wine is cheaper but wasn't to my liking (like vinegar).  I used everything I took with me, from shorts to summer hats to warm hats to fleeces and a shell.  The weather changed every day.  Only had rain on the last day of walking though.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I now know that I definitely can handle the proper via feratta so am going back to do this.  If you are fit and have an ok head for heights, then this is fine for you.  I would also say consider the more difficult challenges that Exodus has to offer.
  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    THE SHADOW OF THE MATTERHORN

    This holiday lives up to its name - the Matterhorn is an awe-inspiring sight from every angle and it dominated the horizon. Staying in mountain huts allows you to get further away from the crowds and into the heart of the mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The panorama from the Breithorn across three countries gave a feeling of being "on top of the world" and there was a great sense of acheivement on getting to the top, never having used crampons before.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Helen was excellent. She encouraged us all and always maintained a great sense of humour, while being very knowledgeable about the history and wildlife of the mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some hard days up to the huts and it is tiring if you find it difficult to sleep in dormitories. We had glorious sunshine but the temperatures can drop quickly at night so be prepared for anything.The grading seems very accurate for the walking but dont be put off by the "tough" for the Breithorn - if you have a good head for heights and are fit enough for the rest of the week, its a great experience.
  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    LAKE TITICACA & THE INCA TRAIL

    Fabulous trip!  Organisation smooth as clockwork, guides excellent and very knowledgable, food excellent, tents very spacious. Hotels very good indeed.  This was definitely the holiday of a lifetime.  Well done, Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the pass on our trek and seeing the mountains beyond.  Sitting on the loo with Mount Veronica practically in my face.  Walking up to the Gate of the Wind with its amazing view of Mount Veronica.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Carlos was excellent.  His knowledge of Inca culture was most thorough, his English was good, he was good fun, he took care of everybody, he was very helpful when I was unwell at the start of the trip.  We all liked him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walk at your own pace

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't know how you could avoid this, but it's not a good idea to fly from Lima at sea level straight to La Paz at 3800 m or thereabouts.  The change is too abrupt for those of us who are slow to acclimatise.  I also thought it was a bad idea for us to camp at Ollantaytambo at the end of the moonstone trek and then camp again at Aguas Calientes.  A hotel would have been a much better idea, particularly since the campsite is on very low-lying ground and infested with mosquitoes.  However, these are just observations, not complaints.  As you can see from the above, I am entirely satisfied with my trip.  I might also add that your office staff could not have been more helpful.
  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    LAKE TITICACA & THE INCA TRAIL

    This trip through spectacular Bolivia and Peru was extremely well-organised, packed with just the right number of activities and lead by some knowledgeable guides. Unfortunately the Continental flights are not ideal, as it's too easy to miss the connecting flights and then it can take 3 days to reach the group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved all parts of the Moonstone trek, but cresting the highest pass at 4700m and seeing Mount Veronica was so spectacular and rewarding.Machu Picchu (once the cloud cleared) was an amazing sight from the track down from the Sun Gate, and a wonderful place to explore.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb knowledge of Peru and the Incas, and great organisational skills, especially when 4 of the party arrived late due to missed flight connections. Despite arriving in two pairs 2 and 3 days later than the rest of the group, we all had our internal flights re-organised and were met by a minibus and a local guide to take us to meet the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are on the KLM or Iberia flights rather than Continental so as to be sure to arrive with the main group. Even if all the Inca Trail passes are not sold out, consider doing the Moonstone trek, which passes through wild countryside, high pastures and has fantastic remote campsites without a single other tourist in sight for 4 days.
  • Reviewed September 2008
    Anonymous

    SOUTHERN ZANSKAR & MOON LAKE

    If you've experience of trekking at altitude, have no fear of vertiginous narrow paths, don't mind going without a shower for 16 days and are prepared to cross freezing glacial rivers early in the morning then you will experience some of the most breathtakingly (literally) awesome remote landscapes in the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Generally experiencing vast unpopulated spaces. Specifically seeing the snow capped peaks and glaciers of the Chandra Valley slowly appear as you descend the Baralacha La. Letting the imagination run free as you trek across grassland plains that seem to go on forever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A man clearly delighted to be doing his job and eager to understand the area and its people. Plus the local guides couldn't have been more helpful....and what an amazing bus driver for the trips in and out.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take wet suit boots for the river crossings - the water is COLD.  Chill out on the bus journey over the Rhotang Pass - there ain't no point in worrying!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The landscape is harsh, stern, barren and absolutely beautiful. It's a trek to refresh the spirit and will stay with you for a long, long time. Above all it's remote, not over populated by trekkers like the well known circuits, and sparse on locals. This is mountain landscape in the raw - immerse yourself in it!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087