Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA TRAILS & CHITWAN

    Brilliant guides, brilliant scenary and brilliant experiences with a group of like minded individuals. I was so immersed in this trip that I consistently struggled to remember what day it was. The guides were friendly and attentive, knowledgeable about the culture and good humoured. While we were trekking they continuously identified native flora and fauna that would have escaped my attention. The team lead was well organised and ensured that we had a fantastic Nepalese experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through local villages, observing simplistic rural life and enjoying the tranquility of the mountainsObserving wildlife in the jungle from the comfort of an elephant!Being accosted by a baby elephant searching for food at the elephant sanctuary Riding bareback on an elephant to the river and then participating in bathing and scrubbing her with riverstonesBeing mobbed by Nepalese teenagers who were keen to have their photos taken with Westerners.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic team leader - great mix of interpersonal and organisational skills. Great sense of humor.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Minimise the content of your bags and avoid taking surplus clothing. Anything needed for trekking can be obtained cheaply in Pokhara should you have forgotten something.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can't wait to book my next trip. Trekking is the most amazing way to see a country. It allows you to immerse yourself into the culture as opposed to being a passive observer.
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    SWISS ALPS WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    A fantastic, fun-filled trip, exactly the right balance between activity and chill-out time. An absolutely beautiful location perfect in every way. The week we were there we enjoyed blue sky, sunshine, and lots of fresh snow nearly every day. In short it could not have been a better holiday, and after this I will certainly be looking to go on future Exodus trips.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cross- country ski-ing on our 'day off' which was New Year's Day. A few of us hired out skis and went on some new tracks on our own. We were virtually the first ones out on the track and saw hardly anyone. For a few hours we were in our own magical winter wonderland with awe-inspiring views at every turn and beautiful conditions with lots of fresh powdery snow, sunshine and vivid blue sky. The exhilaration from being able to go out and ski on our own, unguided and stay mostly upright (!) was unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suzy was the perfect group leader, full of life and fun, and also very caring. She put a huge amount of effort into making our week unforgettable and constantly encouraged and supported us as we tried out new activities. We could not have had more fun!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of layers and be prepared for the cold. Also be prepared for lots of fun and laughter every step of the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book it! You will not regret it. The best holiday I have ever had.
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN BERBER COUNTRY FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Having visited Morocco many years ago and travelled around I was not quite sure what to expect.I was a little nervous about the trip for a couple of resons, travlling on my own with my daughters and also how hard the walking would be. Whilst Marrakesh has changed in the intervening 20 years it is still a wonderful place. The organisation for the trip and the rest stops meant that I did not need to worry about the treking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views. The varied countryside and the different areas,over a short number of days was fantastic.  The early morning views of the snow capped mountains; the views from the final Gite's roof terrace.The wonderful vegetarian food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Quiet and competent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it. Take warm layers  and a warm sleeping bag (our trip was in October) and it was chilly in the evening,at night and first thing in the morning, and warm during the day.Be prepared for rain,it is wet rain and waterproof trousers would have been useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    From our point of view we would have liked another day's walking rather than 2 days in Marrakesh.The quiet (apart from the children all gossiping away) and the scenery was a sharp contrast to the nosie of Marrakesh.It was excellent to see all the children (well teenagers) get on and be so excited about the walking and the adventure.We are considering another trip and we may take Amy and Daisy's dad along if he is very lucky!
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF LIBYA

    A very enjoyable holiday visiting yet another country that is off the beaten track. The extent of the historical sites that have been uncovered is very surprising and the whole holiday was full of experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the guides were good as their knowledge was extensive and each had a different personality which was allowed to shine. This added variety to the many sites I visited. For example, the guide at Ptolemais was part of the excavation team back in the 1960s so he was able to add a personal slant to the tour. Also, in Ptolemais I enjoyed walking through the underground cistern. The mosaics were good to see and the guide at the Tripoli museum and Sabratha showed us how the design quality of the mosaics deterioriated through the eras. The number of statues and mosaics in the museums is amazing and I was surprised to see some partially complete mosaics still on open air sites like Leptis Magna.  One night in the troglodyte lodge was comfortable and worth doing. The meze meal that night was also enjoyable. While others mentioned that they did not have enough water for showers, I was able to have a hot shower in the morning before we left so I think it was a question of timing. They provide clean, warm blankets/thin duvets and pillows but a sleeping bag may be worth bringing to keep out the draughts. Layers were key though. I'm glad I packed a pair of thermal leggings and coat, gloves and scarf.  A few of the sites were right on the coast so the sea made a beautiful backdrop in Apollonia and Leptis.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was good. He was keen to help and wanted us to enjoy our time in his country particularly to get a more real impression and see how much it had to offer.  We had a variety of guides, two drivers (one in the Tripoli area and one for Benghazi) as well as the security guy who stayed with us for most of the time we were in Libya. There were a number of security checks on the roads and his presence allowed us to get through these quickly.  We were happy for him to collect a contribution for tips which he then distributed to the guides, drivers, porters and some other people on our behalf and he returned the excess to us at the end of the holiday. We put together a separate tip at the end for him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I went in Dec/Jan and some areas were hot enough to need a sunhat and sun lotion and others were cold enough to need thermal clothes, coat and gloves. I'm happy with what I packed. Casual clothes (there was no need for anything else) and layers were essential. I covered up as I didn't feel comfortable in short-sleeved T-shirts (clearly pointed out in the trip notes) and I'm glad I brought long trousers only. There weren't any problems but we attracted enough attention as it was - 17 Westerners wandering around Benghazi at night (lively).   It may be worthwhile finding the other people on the tour when you're trying to get through immigration as they wanted to deal with us at the same desk because we were all on the same visa. I took extra copies of the visa letter with me (same letters for all on the same tour) and I was able to give copies to a couple who hadn't been able to print them before they left. It probably wouldn't make any difference as long as you can see someone with the same letter and link up with them as the passport details are shown on the visa letter.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Litter is quite a problem and occasionally it got in the way of a good photo opportunity. Beautiful stone ruins and landscapes don't look quite so good with blue carrier bags caught on hedges and trees. Nevertheless it is a part of what Libya is today.  You'll probably need a lot of film or space on your memory card.  While there weren't many things to buy, if you wanted to bring back a souvenir or bring back a bargain from Libya, these included: pottery (we could leave these in the bus when we flew over to Benghazi and they were waiting for us when we arrived back in Tripoli), scarves and pashminas (probably not native to Libya but cheaper than the UK), a copy of the Green Book (published in Reading) - definitely worth reading.  I spent about £120 and could have spent more if I wanted souvenirs. Some meals cost more than described in the trip notes. We had a meal in the hotel in Benghazi (because it was easier after the internal flight) which cost about £15 which is more expensive than I had budgeted for. Other meals were cheaper. We didn't have a choice of venue for lunch on any days or a couple of evening meals and the menu in each place was limited but the food was fine. What out for cheese or egg sandwiches - cheese is the plastic kind and the egg is fried. The lunch was particularly cheap at Leptis Magna where there was opportunity to buy scarves, pottery, post cards and some other souvenirs.  A couple of our people joined in the Free Gaza demonstration and there were no problems but one woman was asked to delete a picture from her camera which included some of the police in riot gear. Also, don't take a picture of Colonel Gadaffi's residence which you will see as you drive to Tripoli airport on the way home.  Remember to take toilet paper out with you every day and carry the anti-bacterial handwash too. At Sabratha and Leptis Magna, you can't take bags or food into the site with you, although camera bags and water bottles are allowed.  Another great trip - where next?
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    SAHARA DESERT TREK

    As I said to my daughter and boyfriend who came along too, 'Which would you rather be doing for New Year - getting a good soaking in the Trafalgar Square fountains or toasting in the year beneath the diamond bright desert stars whilst sat around a camp fire with Exodus friends.'  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up whilst it was still dark, warming myself by the campfire and watching the desert sunrise.Still in the dark, watching the skilled Berber camel guide make our breakfast desert bread in the embers of the campfire. Plunging into the hot water pools at Ksar Ghilane after five dusty days trekking over the Sahara desert.The awe inspiring silence and unsullied cleanness of the desert.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was top drawer. Patient, time for everybody, thoughtful, knowledgeable, with a sense of humour , fun to be with and caring. Everything you'd expect from an Exodus guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Once you set off there is not water for washing - take plenty of wet wipes, snow goggles in case of a sand storm (we had one which lasted 24 hours), warm clothes (layers) and a good sleeping bag (for winter period travellers), the best torch to take is the head mounted diode type (handy in your tent and around the camp fire so you can see your plate and find the loo in the dark).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have thought the holiday even better if we had had an extra day at the end of the trip in either Djerba or Tunis to do a little local sightseeing and leisurely shopping before returning. This would have given one a more rounded flavour of Tunisia.
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    SWISS ALPS WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    A fantastic week of snowy fun in a beautiful setting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    An unexpected extra - climbing the illuminated frozen waterfall at night. So cold but so beautiful -the colours and the sound of splintering ice will stay with me for a long time - and the flask of gluhwein afterwards made it all worthwhile!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suzy was just fantastic, her energy and enthusiasm were so infectious and spurred us all on to be even bigger kids than we thought we were! She made sure every member of the group got the most from their holiday, and was knowledgeable and professional as well as great fun. She was, however, an appalling cheat when her team were losing at curling...

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you're on Suzy's team when participating in any competitive games.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not my normal choice of holiday where I prefer the wilderness aspect of being in the mountains. I booked this by default as the one I wanted was full, but whether because of the beautiful location, great group, full on itinerary and fantastic leader, or just the perfect weather, this turned out to be one of the best holidays I've had!
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    SNOWSHOEING AT RONDABLIKK

    Want a magical way to spend New Year in a winter wonderland.  White, Cold, Clear air, frozen lakes, glistening snow, fireworks, laughter, crying, aches and achievements......oh and the very dodgy hotel entertainment!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Sukker Toppen on the last day was wonderful.  It was hard going and very exposed as you near the summit.  But when you see the spectacular views its worth every step.I also loved the dog sledging trip (I think!)  If the group hadn't experienced it I don't know what we would have talked about for the last 2 days, and if it had been filmed it could have been shown as a comedy!  We laughed, screamed, cried, fell in the snow, got wrapped around trees and were jumped on by the most beautiful friendly huskies.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Frank was very friendly, easy-going, organised and attentive.....no complaints here. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you do decide to participate in dog sledging just be warned that its not as easy as you think. Remember to pack all those thermals and extra hats and gloves.....it was minus 18 on one day we were there.  Also take some drink from duty free as the bar does not open until 6pm and is expensive at £6 a pint or £32 for a bottle of house white.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very easy going group. If you fancied a day off or take out the cross country skis instead there were no issues. Rondablikk is extremly quiet with only the hotel and one small shop that does a welcoming hot chocolate.  The meals were all self service and the choice of cold and hot foods should suit all tastes. Don't forget your swimwear for the sauna and pool. This is a great holiday for anyone having their first 'winter snow' holiday as its relaxed, quiet and easy going.
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    EGYPTIAN DISCOVERER

    This was my third Exodus trip and they have all been fabulous in very different ways.  This trip was packed full of the most incredible sights, it was like being on a film set!  There is always a worry that seeing something that you have read about or seen so much of on TV may disappoint but Egypt really exceeds any expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best day by far was the day we went to Abu Simbel.  It is the most incredible site that we visited.  The temples are awe inspiring, breath taking and any other cliche you may think to coin.  That evening some of the group went across to the Nubian island on the Nile and went for a camel ride around the village followed by a meal in one of the houses.  The people were so hospitable and friendly, the food was delicious and all in all it was the most memorable and perfect day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ramy is quite simply a star!  He is kind, thoughtful and so eager to help.  He went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that everyone on the trip had the best possible time.  He really engaged with the group and his enthusiasm was totally infectious.  He is so knowledgeable and passionate about his country, its history and its people that I was so sad to come home.  He is a legend!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax and enjoy!  Take every opportunity to do and see as much as possible in this fabulous country.
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC KENYA SAFARI & ZANZIBAR

    I went on this trip without any expectations.  I have a fantastic time.  Saw more animals than I ever thought I would and met some great people in the group.  Zanzibar was fantastic and to spend New Years Eve in a sailing regatta with the locals will be something I will remember for a long time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Rhino's on Christmas Day.Seeing dolphins in the wild for the first time.Sailing regatta with the locals from the Fumba village on New Years Eve.Dinner on the beach on our last night at Funba Beach Resort.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Robert was full of knowledge about the animals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Find out about tipping from your guide.  It would be useful to take some small notes with you as everyone expects a tip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks - I had such a great Christmas and New Year.  It certainly beat being at home where everyone seemed to be ill.  I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to experience a trip of a lifetime.
  • Reviewed January 2009
    Anonymous

    MOUNTAINS & VILLAGES OF EVIA

    A really great way to spend Christmas. Good walking, great people, really excellent week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When we started our walk down the gorge from -2 degrees and ankle deep in snow at the top, to warm enough to eat Christmas lunch outside at the bottom!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos was wicked! He was flexible and adaptable, and worked well around the amazing range of weather we experienced

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was given a single room without paying a supplement. I don't know if this is done routinely but it is a fairly basic hotel with twin beds close together in every room. I don't think I would have wanted to share when there is such close proximity and no real other place to go except the bar. If personal space is important to you pay the supplement!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its a great holiday but don't expect beautiful scenary. It's pretty in part but quite barren and open elsewhere. The food can be boring after a while; I ate more fried cheese than can possibily be good for me! When the weather is rotten there is very little to do. Take cards, books etc to kill time. Most of the walks end after lunch so the afternoons can be quite hard to keep yourself occupied throughout.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087