Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    A great introduction into a country rich in history. The tour encompassed both archaeology, history, scenery, as well as some days by the sea!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stunning Petra! The size of this city far exceeded my expectations. Seeing the stars at night at Wadi Rum! And lastly but not least, I can float!!! As a non-swimmer I thought I couldn't but in the Dead Sea everyone can!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very knowledgeable. He was courteous and attentive and helpful. He was always willing to answer any question and was a source of insight into the life of the Jordanians, their politics, and social customs and lifestyle.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Others have advised on taking wet wipes and toilet roll. I would however urge all travellers to take toilet roll with them into the lavatories as they seldom have any, and you do not want to find this out too late! I would advise caution at the Wadi Rum camp, as I had an upset stomach after eating there. Don't expect anyone to speak fluent English. If you can, it is best to avoid alcohol I feel as it is clearly disapproved of in Jordan.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first introduction into the Middle East. It was really quite unlike anything I had experienced before, particularly the desert which made a deep impression upon me. Petra is a must see this is a real gem. Inevitably, tourists are subjected to hawkers at every point, even in the high places you will find Bedouin selling things to the tourist. This is however understandable and one has to learn to accept it.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    A great week with a great group, lots of walking with some outstanding views.The farmhouse is superb with good food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    getting to top of monte prdaoi and looking down on the remnants of the winter snow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were so impressed with the leader , the group wrote a song which we delivered with gusto on the last night! To the tune  "my old man,s a dustman"v1OHHHHHSara bull is magicShe has a magic sackShe carries sweeties with herAnd chocky bix to snackShe inspires us with storiesAnd keeps us on the goAnd when shes taking photosIts bums all in a rowv2OHHHHHHSara bull is magicShe simply is the bestShe galloped up the hillsideAnd sometimes let us restShe leads us thru the mountainsAnd picks the berries tooAnd Sara, we,d just like to sayThere,s no one quite  like you!  then big finish.......Sara Bull is magic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even in summer bring a fleece
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    This was my first holiday on my own, outside of a few short trips in the uk. I never expected to meet such a great bunch of people or have such a great time!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Paragliding was amazing- the adrenaline rush of running off the top of mountain  followed by the peace and quiet of hovering over the rocks and gently descending into Kas. This is possibly the only moment in my entire life when someone ( paragliding tandem guide) has said that I am too quiet!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ali was a really good leader, he took us to some great restaurants and bars in the evenings and during the activites he was helpful and very knowledgable about the area. He doesn't need sleep and will happily party until 6am and then still be at the hotel for 9!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be afraid to go it alone, take good support shoes for the canyoning, ear plugs for the 05:30 call to prayer- don't take too many books- you won't have time to read them!! Heels are an absolute no- no matter how you want to dress on a night out, the hotel is rather up hill from the town!! Canyoning is a long day- it took us about 8 hours and is pretty constant climbing, swimming, jumping- be prepared!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Paragliding was the highest priced 'extra'- 210 Turkish Lira, tubing was 45 Lira, dinner about 25-35 Lira per night. The suprise to me was that the ATM machine in Kas gave me a much better exchange rate to the Beureau De Change in England!! Don't be in a hurry to change money before you get there, but make sure you budget for what you'll need- there are lots of great souvenirs available as well.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    Well organised, great scenery, great weather but a bit more than 'leisurely/moderate'.  Lots and lots of steps that caused some people to be very sore.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The tiny nature park in the woods above Amalfi with the waterfalls and mosses

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well organised and very helpful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of steps. vast majority down, and some rough sections. Get in training and take poles

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel was good and staff especially helpful. Great meals!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    AMALFI COAST: POMPEII & PIZZA - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    This was our first 'family type holiday', and we were not sure what we would think.  However, we should not have worried as from the second we were picked up to when we left we were looked after and entertained.  We would not hesitate to recommend this trip to families of all ages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Walk of the Gods was a particular highlight.  A really good day out, a nice easy walk, followed by a BBQ at one of the most scenic, rustic places I have ever been.  Good food and great wine (for the adults!!).  We walked on a bit and around each corner there was another view.  Pompeii and Herculaneum were also really good.  We would recommend taking the option of Herculaneum and Ravello on the free day.  Herculaneum offers a different perspective to the 79AD eruption and the views from Ravello were breath taking.  The food in Ravello was great with the owner coming out to make sure we were happy and bringing a little extra something for the kids each time she came out!Tile painting and pizza making were highlights for the kids – who now have their own ‘Pizza Certificate’.  The owners of the hotel took us into the kitchens a few times and showed us their style of cooking.  The kids loved the banging noises they made when making pizzas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was like a grandparent to the kids and made sure they were safe and happy.  When we got to the hotel he took them off for a game of football and we relaxed with a glass or two of wine!  A good start to the holiday!  He made the holiday special for the kids and with out his inside knowledge we would have missed a lot of experiences out.  Thank you Eduardo.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Herculaneum, you will enjoy it and it takes about 2 to 3 hours to go around with lots of places for shade.Do not be afraid to ask to do different things, if you do not want to spend a few hours on the beach, say so and walk around the town or if you want to spend more time on the beach say so.  It is your holiday and Eduardo will be happy to accommodate you.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING THE GREAT WALL

    Fantastic walking, getting to really remote parts of the wall. Some days we didn't see another tourist.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Simitai section of the wall. Sadly the last part was closed for refurb, but even just viewing it was amazing.Most unexpected/amusing: having walked all morning in the heat in the middle of no-where without seeing another person we spotted an elderly Chinese man toiling up the slope ahead of us carrying a large box. When we caught up with him, he had walked up there to sell us ice-cream and beer. We all bought ice-cream, he made a fortune and deserved to!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent! Flexible, positive, always smiling and his lack of perfect English was not particularly an issue.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great trip for anyone who likes walking off the beaten track. Take a towel and sleeping bag liner!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't take the trip notes too literally (which is unusual for Exodus as trip notes are usually spot on). The extras were more expensive than stated andwe felt the walks were in general less challenging, perhaps because some sections of the wall are with closed for refurb or have become unsafe. But don't let that put you off, all in all it was great!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THE ULTIMATE LYCIAN WAY

    A perfect trip.The challenging hiking days amongst the amazing mountain scenery and the long mountain climb, mixed with a couple of nights to relax at the most stunning, almost deserted beach at Cirali to swim and get some energy back, and finally some time at the end in the city of Antalya to explore a bit of Turkey, gets the mix just about right.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The climb to the top of mount Olympos has got to be the highlight, unbelievable views to the coast and across the other mountain ranges. The whole of the region has the most green and beautiful scenery, and the smells from the Cedars and Pines is amazing, drinking from the mountain springs, eating wild Mulberries off the trees, several river crossings in the valleys, and keeping an eye out for the many wild Tortoises on the hikes are great memories too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was great, very knowledgeable and went the extra mile many times to make sure all the group were well fed and had a great time, always putting our interests first and took us to some great places to see some Rural Turkey which I particularly enjoyed. Certainly did not believe in hanging about as far as pace is concerned but this did suit our group well. Made an unbelievable meal on the open fire at base camp (and managed to get a crate of Efes up there too !) then got up at 4 in the morning to do the same for breakfast before the climb. Top man Thanks Ozgur !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do make sure of your fitness for this one, none of the hiking on this trip is on flat ground, it is all climbing up or down very steeply and where there are paths they are very rocky under-foot. A very good pair of strong leather walking boots with good ankle support is a must, the other thing that I would not have done without was my 2 litre platypus, which meant not having to stop and fiddle about with rucksacks and bottles to get a drink whilst on the mountain climbs. A good warm fleece for the night camping at base camp as the temps can drop a bit at night and a good camera with video is also a must as the views are fantastic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My first Exodus trip and it will certainly not be my last, very impressed with all the organization from the booking right to the flight home. The whole group had a great time and the food, accommodation, hiking and locations were all extremely good. It is a holiday after all and I really enjoyed joining with like minded people to do some of the things I love.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    DUBROVNIK & THE DALMATIAN COAST

    A relaxing week with plenty of time to slow down and appreciate Croatia's cultural heritage and coastal scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating fresh fish while on a boat anchored in a bay off Mljet, after a beautiful walk... Wandering the streets of Dubrovnik

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly and helpful; always willing to answer questions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking trails can be quite stony - for that reason, if I were packing again, I'd be taking "proper" walking boots rather than the softer ones I actually took.You can drink the water form the fountains in Dubrovnik, so don't buy bottles there!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip if you just want to chill - there are no long travelling days, and there's time to explore everywhere (make sure you get out in Trogir in the afternoon/early evening on arrival though, as there's not much time to do it the following morning before going on to Split).
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN ANDALUCIA

    The best Exodus trip I've been on!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The landscape and flowers of the area were fabulous and inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alejandro was superb- the best guide so far with Exodus. He went out of his way to meet the needs of the group in a friendly, generous and fun way. He clearly loved his job and his enthusiasm for travel is infectious! Great to have a guide fluent in the language- really helped the trip run smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sun cream with a high enough factor!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A truly relaxing week away in the sun. Definitely a must if you like mojitos.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    A chance remark by a cycling friend in South Africa led us to Exodus and the Amalfi trip. Amalfi, by reputation, is a beautiful part of Italy and doing it on a bike was truly magnificent. Starting in Cilento was quiet and traffic-friendly for those who are not regular cyclists, although the climbing was an immediate challenge! The Amalfi section was gorgeous, though very busy traffic-wise. Altogether a truly wonderful way of seeing this stretch of Italian coastline.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling from Salerno into Amalfi - not a long ride but one that certainly made me take a deep breath and thank my lucky stars. On our last cycling day we pedalled the beautiful stretch from Amalfi to Positano with cosummate ease, legs and butts well adjusted and the quiet look of satisfaction on everyone's faces was priceless.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were very lucky to have Peter Hoogstaden as our group leader. He has lived in Italy for 15 odd years and with his fluent Italian, extensive local knowledge and enthusiastic attitude we all enjoyed a great week. We were taken to local spots and restaurants that were off the beaten track with a highlight being a boat ride to a simple beach restaurant for a lovely final dinner, rounded off with some seriously potent home-made liqueurs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather took us all by surprise with a cold and wet start so please pack a weatherproof jacket. There is no need to bring your own bike as the supplied bikes were perfectly adequate and the back up good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I felt that the choice of some of the hotels could be better. Our first two nights were spent in Marina di Camerota and the hotel was gloomy and inhospitable, with quite inedible food. This did not create a good first impression so more research on the hotel choice is needed. The choice of tour leader is also very important, though we had a wonderful group dynamic which always makes it easier for a tour leader.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087