Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL & THE AMAZON RAINFOREST

    The trip is slit into 3 parts and each is different. The jungle experience is fantastic and, although the inca trail is not easy, it is a great experience and the scenery is amazing. Exodus are one of the few companies that take four full days to complete the Inca Trail - this means that you leave the campsites a little latter, so do not meet many other trekkers on route, which is nice. It also means that you can take more time to see the scenery and for us, very few of the group got any altitude sickness. Although this means that you do not get to the Sun Gate at sunrise, you do get up early on day 5 and so still see the sunrise over Machu Picchu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Dead Woman's Pass on day 2 of the inca trail was an achievement, both for me and for the group. It is not easy, but it is worth the personal challenge. Take it slowly!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rene was excellent, very knowledgeable about Peru and particularly Cusco and Machu Picchu. He is a highly experienced trekker and was able to set the right pace for everyone, resulting in very few people getting any signs of altitude sickness. I would happily go on another trip led by Rene.Throughout the trip, we also had local guides - Wilson on the trek, Elle on Lake Titicaca and Richardo & Elvis in the Jungle - all were excellent. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink lots of water to prevent altitude sickness. Take a pair of flipflops (with socks as it's cold) to change out of your boots in the evenings of the Inca Trail, and also a walking pole is essential as there are a lot of steps and it's hard on the knees. Also, take a spare camera battery for the trek - you don't want to run out of power at Machu Picchu. 7 Kg luggage for the Inca Trail is not a lot, so think light when you're planning the trip. Take some high factor suncream as you burn quickly at altitude. Try the Cocoa toffees and of course the Pisco Sours! Be prepared for a lot of early starts and a lot of bag re-packing!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip and covers a bit of everything. I would strongly recommend it. Both the jungle and the inca trail were highlights for me.The inca trail is not easy, especially with all of the steps, but a little training beforehand, taking it slowly, using a walking pole and drinking loads of water all helps!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    I was after a two week holiday with a bit of everything and that is what I got, a great holiday around a fascinating island, and having been back a week the holiday feeling is just about with me still as I talk to people about it and show them my photos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole holiday was inspiring to me and has led to some interesting ideas....every place seem to have a highlight, often unexpected, whether it was the clear blue sea, nights out especially Trinidad and Baracoa, meals out, cocktails, views, tarantulas, bici rides, a new Cuban musical supergroup, sleeping in Fidel's cabin, cocktails, snakes......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent information about what we were seeing or doing and the history of the island, and choice of eating places and cocktails.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make use of the down time by not going on the optional trips, as the notes say it is a busy itinery and it is.  Hand gel.Snacks.Buy your sandals in Cienfuegos as they are better and cheaper than anywhere else buy things when you see them but be aware of CDs with nothing on them, I only bought one from a local band and discovered it was blank when I got backA couple of the hotels were not in the town centre, and as its low season I thought we could have relocated but guess contracts are signed ages ago, and even though some hotels were empty, we were often located in the rooms furthest from reception

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd throughly recommend this holiday, it could easily have been a three week trip.Re comments about the airport, it is nicer than some European airports!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    WILD FLOWERS & WALKS IN THE BERNESE OBERLAND

    Exactly what I was hoping for -pleasant walks,amazing variety of flowers,spectacular views. Even the mixed weather added to the pleasure. The waterfalls in the rain were wetter,the snow made the alpine garden more memorable and the meadows in the sunshine were stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cloud slowly breaking up to reveal the Eiger above us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Carey knew what she was doing and has the personality to do it really well. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a guide to Alpine flowers and clothes for all weathers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't let fear of 'expensive  Switzerland' put you off- it is worth it. A great way to start looking at the Alps insummer.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL CLIMB

    A fantastic week away from worries, enjoying every single moment. Great people in the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was great, thanks to the people I shared the trip with and the local guide

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He is a fantastic group leader, lots of knowledge about the region and the country in general. Very responsible and he took a very good care of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like trekking and a bit of a challenge, go for it!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    FINNISH WILDERNESS WEEK

    A great holiday in an amazing location, although not really value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Huskie dog sledging was a real highlight for me, especially after seeing as how well cared for the dogs were, and the outdoor dinner round the campfire was unforgetable. The Northern Lights were also spectacular, but if you do see them, take all your pictures then - they came out on our first night, before we had dug our cameras out of our suitcases, and then they never reappeared!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was outstanding, as were all the BaseCamp staff. He was extremely competent but also made every effort to ensure that we had the maximum amount of fun - I haven't laughed so much in a long time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although I enjoyed the trip, I would have to say it was my least favourite of all my Exodus adventures. My two areas disappointment were the amount of free time in the itinerary and the cost of the optional activities. My overall impression was that the included activities were taster sessions, to promote the (rather expensive) extra activities. The cross-country skiing and snow-shoeing sessions never ventured more than several hundred metres from the Basecamp, and further snowshoe trips were self guided or paid for. The dog-sledding was fun, but not even half a day and the longer day trip was over £250. Even simple extras like on-site ice wall climbing and a trip to a reindeer farm were extremely expensive for what was offered. After the high price of the holiday to start with, I could not afford any extras, and as a solo traveller I ended up trying to fill a lot of free time alone. This was in contrast to the cohesive group holiday that I have come to enjoy normally with Exodus. My advice to solo travellers would therefore be to factor in some very expensive extras, or be prepared to make your own mini-adventures by yourself.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Basecamp is a truly spectacular place and the accomodation is first class. The week gives you a taster of many winter activities in a short place of time, and is overall a lot of fun. It is, however, expensive and was not a good holiday for the solo traveller on a budget, and therefore was not my favourite holiday.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THAI INDOCHINA GRAND TOUR

    How do Exodus do it? We travelled for 28 days through Thailand, Laos,Vietnam and Cambodia. We visited their capitals and outlying rural districts. We travelled by plane, train, boat, pick-up, bus, taxi, kayak, sampan, tuk-tuk, rickshaw, bicycle, junk, Skytrain and even Shank's pony! We stayed in  14 hotels, apart from a night on a train and another in Halong Bay on a junk. Everything went like clockwork there was not a hitch in any of the arrangements. Well Done Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having been aware of the devestation suffered by Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia in the recent past it was heart warming to see how the survivors have managed to rebuild their countries and go about their lives in such a cheerful, friendly and courteous manner.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 4 group leaders, one for each country. All were very caring, professional and very knowledgeable with a good sense of humour. However Mr Lhong Dong (Apologies for spelling) in Vietnam was a real star. He was full of life from dawn to bed time. He went the extra mile, he always had something to show us and had a good rapport with local people often stopping and talking to the locals on the streets and in the markets. This helped us to gain more insight into their culture. His 6:30 a.m. pre breakfast cycle ride at the Homestay is a good example of his enthusiasm!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read as much background to recent social history as possible prior to the trip. This will help to understand the horrendous conditions that the ordinary people have endured in the Vietnam / U.S.A. war and during the Pol Pot regime in Camodia. Recommended books: "Survival in the Killing Fields" Haing Nor. " Stay Alive My Son" Pin Yathay.  "The Tunnels of Cu Chi." Mangold & Penycate

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first "Adventure Holiday" we were a little apprehensive to start adventuring as my wife and I are now retired, but we have no regrets and hope to do a similar trip in the future. The group of 17 people got on exceptionally well and we were extremely well looked after throughout the holiday. The accomodation was generally very good and although we were warned, prior to the trip, to only expect basic facilities in the border areas we were very pleased with what was available. The Homestay in the Mekong Delta, although it could be described as "basic",  was delightful and how they provided and presented food to such a high standard from their  basic kitchen (by British standards) is amazing.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    This was my first Exodus holiday so I didn't quite know what to expect, but I couldn't have enjoyed it more. The walking was varied and excellent, the guide was wonderful, the other guests friendly and fun, and Mamma's cooking delicious. I would also recommend  Lucca where we had a great time on our free day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finding myself able to reach the summits of all our walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sarah was fantastic - she helped everyone in the group, entertained and educated us with her stories and her local knowledge, fed us with sweets and biscuits, and really went out of her way to make sure everyone had the best time possible. Magic in fact!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Give it  a go - you will have an amazing time. Don't forget your walking poles- they really help.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

     Jordan is both facinating and welcoming. It was a really enjoyable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra was amazing, especially at the Monastery and high places. Walking back through the quite candle-lit Siq after the Petra by Night experience was also beautiful. Jerash was impressive and interesting, a much larger and more complete site than I had expected. Riding camels in the Wadi Rum was fun, especially trying to ride 'side-saddle' like the Bedouin!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fine, knowledgable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to be hot and dusty and climb a lot of steps!  It helps to be physically fit to get the best experience of Petra and climb to all the high places (e.g Monastery, High Place of Sacrifice, above the Royal Tombs to overlook the Treasury) - it is hard work to do it all in two days, especially in the heat, but well worth the effort!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    KAYAKING ON THE TURQUOISE COAST

    If you are looking for an amazing way to see the gems that the coast of Turkey has to offer, then look no further. Paddling over some of the bluest sea, looking at the most amazing coastline, with the sun shining down and a great bunch of people…perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on the glass-like water, finding my paddling rhythm, swimming in the early morning in warm seas, having ice-cream delivered by speedboat (and a birthday cake!) dancing to Bob Marley, sleeping under the stars.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dave was a truly inspirational guide. His knowledge of the history of the places visited was second to none. His ability to ensure safety at all times yet allow the group enough freedom that the need for safety did not become onerous was incredibly well demonstrated. He fitted into the group like a glove and had the most amazing stories to tell of the wonderful adventures that he had experienced. He was always willing to help with any questions and go above and beyond the call of duty if the need arose, for example arranging medical treatment in the blink of an eye when one of the group developed earache. Dave’s assistant Ozer was also a delight – incredibly helpful and again doing all that he could to ensure that the group had a fab holiday – including arranging for a surprise birthday cake for one of the group members. Without a doubt, Dave and Ozer helped make a wonderful trip absolutely fabulous.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do not need to have experience of paddling - but i would suggest that you make sure that it is for you before you commit to a week of it. Pack gloves (you may not need them but its best to be sure), high factor suncream, a hat and Mosquito repellent!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to Exodus for an amazing trip. Thanks to Rebel Dave and the Dodgy Rudders for making this trip one to remember XX
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    A fabulous trip - so many activities packed into one week, stunning scenery, friendly locals, and still plenty of time to relax.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Canyoning was the highlight for our whole group - many of us were a bit nervous about it beforehand, having never done it before and not knowing what to expect, but we all loved it and found ourselves soon overcoming our fears of heights as we were encouraged to jump ever increasing distances from rocks into pools below.  I was unprepared for how visually stunning the canyon would be, too!  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Maho is extremely enthusiastic and energetic; very knowledgeable about the area and a very experienced guide.  I was particularly impressed with how well he led the group on the canyoning day; it was clear that he knows the canyon inside out and was perfectly confident in helping us to negotiate the trickier slides and jumps. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're a light sleeper, as I am, then earplugs are a must - the call to prayer from the nearby mosque woke me up at 4.30 am every morning (though the rest of the group managed to sleep through it most days - sheer exhaustion from the activities!)You definitely need good walking boots with good ankle support for the canyoning day - don't get put off by the idea of being weighed down by heavy boots when they're wet; the ground underfoot is uneven at all times and you're better off with a heavy boot that supports your ankles than you are with a lightweight boot that doesn't!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Kas is an absolutely lovely town - loads of bars and restaurants, interesting shops and friendly locals.  Very hilly though - the uphill slog back to the hotel each night after dinner had us gasping for breath! 
Call us on 1 844 227 9087