Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    This was a amazing holiday. We were looking for more than sitting on a beach and we certainly got that. A good mix of activities, relaxing by the pool, good food, gettig to know your group and the odd party or two with the locals! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspiring moment of the trip was jumping off a 9m high rock into a canyon pool (this was an optional jump)! Great fun! The canyoning was by far the best activity, finding the courage (thanks to the guide Maho) to backflip off a jump was another high/low/upside-down point!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Maho. What can I say about Maho. He was certainly unique! At first he was very intense, encouraging us to enjoy the nightlife of Kas a bit more than us reserved Brits were ready for. However by the end of the week I couldn't imagine not having him there. He made the trip for me and the rest of the group. He selected the best restaurants, bars and clubs and added his own indervidual twist to every night. I don't think I will ever forget Maho.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do all the activites and really go for it. During the canyoning there are a lot of optional jumps, you should do them all, such an adventure! Also forget about getting a tan, sun burnt skin and wet suits/harnesses/lifejackets do not mix! Wear lots of sunscreen and/or a t-shirt and enjoy yourself!The Optional activities are a must. The paragliding was fantastic, very professional and safe and the view was breathtaking! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We met some amazing people on this holiday. Our group got on so well, it was like we had known each other for years by the end of the week. Doing the activities really brings you closer to the other people on the trip so be prepared to make plenty of friends!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    A good variety of exciting activities, beautiful landscapes, friendly people, a good hotel, reliable weather and tasty food (lots of fresh fruit and veg). Many many cats.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Running off the the rugged cliff side to soar above the town of Kas and look down at the sea and islands... With the help of a paragliding canopy of course! Seeing a stunning river and canyon from the inside. The only way to see it! Meeting our group and guide, who were all lovely. We had loads of fun :-)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was very experienced, spoke good English and always put safety first. He knew the local area very well and took us to some great restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for an action-packed trip with a few challenges. Make sure you bring the right kit (read the trip notes) and be careful with scuba diving if you've had a cold! Learn some basic Turkish if you can as the locals seem to appreciate the effort.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip left us with some new friends and some great memories. Our group are already talking about doing another Exodus trip as a reunion. I also discovered activities I would like to try again. I shall be doing some more paragliding and abseiling if I get the chance!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    Less walking and overall much less strenuous than on other walking holidays I have been on that were rated 'Moderate', however, I think it was clear from the notes and the reviews that this could be expected. Very impressed by Kas and the locations visited. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to Arycanda. I was not expecting such a huge well-preserved site and it was a privilege to have it all to ourselves.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    'Oscar' was well knowledgeable, organised and kept everyone to the pre-arranged schedule without encroaching on anyone's enjoyment. He sorted out a venue for a group dinner on most evenings and always chose restaurants with great food and great value. He was always available to the group, answering questions and sorting any problems. A good leader for this holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Had trouble with using debit cards at the banks in Kas. Have some alternatives available.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    CARPATHIAN CULTURE AND WILDLIFE

    Fantastic scenery and wildlife. The guesthouse is a real gem, great food and friendly staff.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the bears and beavers in the wild will always be a great memory. We were lucky enough to see 2 mothers with cubs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both of the guides we had were very knowledgeable and very keen to share their information about the local area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Watch out for the walk back from Bran Castle quite an uphill!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    MOROCCO VOLUNTEER EXPERIENCE

    An excellent holiday. We enjoyed seeing different parts of the country and the volunteering element was very rewarding for us.Andy was a great tour leader and the group got on very well with each other. Some of the group had been to Morocco with Andy before and they made the newcomers feel welcome. We're having a reunion at the end of August.We arrived the day after the bomb in Morocco, so there was a bit of apprehension at first, but quickly dispersed once we got going. The people were very friendly and we felt almost that an extra effort was being made to make tourists feel welcome.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two days of volunteering, which we (a) enjoyed and (b) was very satisfying. The local people really welcomed the work we were doing and very appreciative of our efforts. We hope that the work we did will inspire the local people to carry on and get the project complete.Otherwise, the time spent at the edge of the Sahara and walking on the dunes. Wonderful atmosphere and sunsets

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. A good mix of knowledge, organisation and familiarity.Created a great spirit in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and lots of old clothes - for working in and passing on to local people.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our only criticism would be that the minibus was cramped and not the best quality, particularly for a trip which involved quite a lot of road travel. 17 in a 17-seater on a 4-hour drive is a snug fit by any standards. Having said that the craic on the back seat was fantastic!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF NORTHERN INDIA

    A very hectic holiday spent mostly travelling with early starts.The itinerary could be vastly improved. Ie: after a long flight we had to board a mini-bus to go to Jaipur -no shower, no food, no change of clothes -it would have been preferrable to stay one day in Delhi. Also the sleeper train to Varanasi didn't happen and we had to travel there using the mini-bus which was very unconfortable.After a sleepless night we ended up not doing much in Varanasi as we were very tired and then we found out that the train back to Delhi the following day was delayed and we had to go back on the mini-bus again (16 hours) or pay well over £100 and a night at the hotel to catch a plane back to Delhi

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the village, Taj Mahal and DelhiHindu wedding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Local guides were sometimes difficult to understand.  Group leader was ok although by the end of the holiday it was clear that he had had enough (in Delhi it was clear he wasn't going to take us on the tour of the city)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go in April; it's too hot
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    Peaks & Valleys of the Atlas - Do it!!

    Quite simply an amazing trip that allows you to experience Morrocco and the Berber lifestyle in a unique, enjoyable and above all challenging manner. I cannot recommend this trip highly enough and I found it incredible value for Money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting Toubkal was quite a moment, especially after all the hard work with the Crampons and Ice Axe but there was so much more to the the trip than that. The other guys on the trip were simply brilliant and quickly became best friends, the team looking after us couldn't do enough for you. Simple things like washing in the River and just wondering what was round the next corner.................

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I cannot commend Mohammed highly enough. Great sense of humour, clearly knowledgeable and always concerned anout the groups well being. Simply brilliant!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good mix of clothes from Shorts and Tee-Shirt to full on Winter / Wet Weather clothing - You just never know. Plenty of Toilet Paper / Wet Wipes!!! I'm saying no more Plus a good Book, a pack of Cards, Suncream and perhaps a Pillow!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it........................Don't think about it........................Just do it..................Don't worry about it.... ...................Just do it........................and most of all have fun!!!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    Inca Trail - June 2011

    This holiday far exceeded my expectations! I had wanted to do the Inca trail for a long time and finally got around to doing so in June this year. I was not disappointed and would definately recommend this trip to people that want to experience the Inca trail.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Maccu Piccu. After 4 days trekking seeing these ruins was a deserving reward. The second day of the trip was the hardest but was not as hard as I had feared. This was when we reached the highest altitude of the trip and the walking on this day was all up hill, trekking up steps and quite rough terrain. Throughout the trek there were so many highlights and it was amazing walking along and then suddenly you would turn a corner and there would be some Inca ruins! The fourth days trek was very relaxing with the surroundings being more like a rainforest.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Holgar, was amazing and we could not have asked for a better leader for our trek. From the beginning he was very knowledgable and wanted to share as much information as he could and show us as much Peruvian culture as we could fit in. On the trek he set the pace to make sure that we would all finish the trek. The first day there were points were we thought that we could walk quicker but walking slowly was a good way to ensure that no-body suffered from altitude sickness. Our leader told us that anybody could complete the trek regardless of age as long as they took it slowly. All of our group completed the trek but we did see other people coming down as they could not complete it. Our leader stopped to show us points of interest along the trek and gave us a very detailed and thorough tour of Maccu Piccu the day after we arrived there.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The toilet facilities whilst trekking are very basis and I would advise to bring toilet paper. A strong torch is also needed as it got very dark at night and if you needed the toilet in the middle of the night then you definately needed a torch to find the way and make sure that you did not fall off the mountain!The trip notes say that you need water purification tablets and I bought these but you do not need them. Whilst trekking the chefs purify all of the water and when not trekking bottled water is available to buy. I took walking poles as recommended and was glad that I had them as going uphill I found they took some of the pressure off and going downhill they helped to steady where you were walking. The weather was normally cold in the morning and at night but hot in the day so you needed clothes to cope with this i.e t-shirts, fleeces, waterproofs etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday was everything that I had hoped it would be. I was told by friends before I went that I would lose weight as we were trekking for 4 days but I think the opposite was true as there was so much food and I was very impressed with what we were given. Each day we had breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner and were given a snack bag each day. For breakfast we had something different each day either porridge, pancakes, french toast and scrambled eggs. For lunch it was normally soup and bread and salad. Once we arrived at the campsite we had tea at 17:00 each day which comprised of a hot drink and either biscuits, popcorn or cheese straws. Dinner was 3 courses with normally soup to start, then dishes like bolognaise or fish and vegetables, followed by dessert. The snack bags contained a cereal bar, chocolate bar, some sweets and a piece of fruit. I never went hungary!! The wake up call was at 06:00 each morning and we were woken up with a cup of tea, followed by a bowl of hot water to wash in! Whilst we were trekking it was one member of the groups birthday and the chef made a sponge cake covered in chocolate icing - none of us could get over the fact that he had made a cake on the top of the mountain - it was delicious and definately a highlight!
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    Wonderful scenery, great company, good food - and plenty of it - in a friendly hotel. Some of the walking was a little more challenging than we had anticipated (so many steps!) but, none the less, a good first walking holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Much of the scenery was breathtaking - it would be too difficult to pick out a single example.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was brilliant. His local knowledge and network of local contacts ensured we got the best out of the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget the sunscreen. I managed to burn my arms on the first day when the breeze masked the power of the sun.Also, I'd never used walking poles before but found them a boon on this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't underestimate the steps! They are not joking when they say there are lots of them!And bring a healthy appetite - most dinners comprise four substantial courses.
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    Kas was a beautiful place and the other people in the group really friendly.  Overall, a very engoyable holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A boat ride to the Islands which was not arranged by Exodus (Perhaps it could be offered as an Option)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very nice but very inexperienced.  He spoke hardly any english and did not have good communication skills.  He also lacked knowledge about the area.  He tried to be friendly, but did not pull the group together or interact with us although he accompanied us to restaurants for evening meals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're expecting a serious walking holiday, this is not the one.  The walks were short and not at all challenging.  Dont take any food or drink into the Hotel or it will be confiscated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Had a great time beautiful place and very enjoyable holiday.   It worked becaused we all got on so well as a group and not because of the Tour Leader
Call us on 1 844 227 9087