Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    brilliant varied holiday and absolutely great company and guide. However a few more lunch options would be welcome as not everyone can eat two huge meals a day!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    floating in the dead sea, walking round to a view point above petra,  and swimming in the red sea tho it was pretty hairy with the wind making you swm on the spot!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    great very knowledgeable but a bit too pushy re religion

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    take a travel kettle and a big water bottle you will save £££s

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    how can you comment on near perfection?
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    ANNAPURNA CIRCUIT

    Excellent trip, wonderful views and excellent Guides and company of like minded travellers. One minor suggestion would be NOT to include a trek to see Exodus projects at the end of a busy trekking day as that isnt what we came for .  Otherwise a wonderful experiance of Nepal ........and there is a variety of good food and NOT JUST DHAL BHAT !!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ah, the ice covered Peaks , Thorang La pass and the wonderful Nepali people with a smily Namaste !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was very Good as well as the other Guides ..........and the Porters are incredible, always smiling even when carrying their loads.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a famous advert says" JUST DO IT"  and you wont regret it.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    JEBEL SAHRO RIDE & MARRAKECH

    The trip was well led and the logistics all worked except for the group flight with Royal Air Maroc which was delayed. Half the group lost a day at the start of the holiday stuck in Cassablanca. The trip should only be regarded as Moderate if you let the 4x4 take the strain on some of the harder days which is always possible. Conditions in mid October were hot (35 deg C +) but not too much of a problem so long as you drink loads (water, soft drinks and snacks always available from the support vehicles).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery is stunning. I never thought there could be so many shapes and colours (even occasional green) in a desert and mountain landscape. The riding terrain was varied and interesting from steep rocky pistes to level paths and tracks through the Palmeries and villages.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader Liz was excellent as were the local guide and drivers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We travellled independantly with Easy Jet and a CTM coach from Marrakech to Ouazazate which was much more economical and as it turned out more reliable than the group flight. Stay on a few days at the end if you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hired bikes were in good condition and checked regularly during the trip. Take your own saddle if you prefer one slightly wider and softer than Trek standard issue.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    This trip renewed my faith in group organised holidays. It was well planned, adaptable, encouraged everyone to try new experiences, and showed the very best of 3 countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Due to the flooding in many areas it was amazing how much of Cambodian/Vienamese life doesn't allow these adverse conditions to affect their day to day life.  We had a trip to a river market and drove through some very small flooded towns, and each person was carrying on, generally smiling as though this was quite normal. I loved the make do and mend attitude of each country to absolutley everything aspect of life. And I was also inspired by my fellow cyclists, those who probably hadn't spent a lot of time on a bike but carried on and the 4 people who fell off, they brushed themselves down and jumped back on again. Awesome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Al was a great team leader, he was always calm, very organised, knew exactly when to stop and give us all a rest from the heat or the cycling. Pre-warned us on upcoming hills etc, and you could always trust his recommendations when it came to food and/or restaurants.  He was friendly without going over the top, didn't pick favourites which can be a very annoying habit in a leader, and involved himself with everyone at some point or another on the trip.  He was well trusted

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If going on this trip, bring some mudguards as 1 person bought them on our trip and we were all jealous of his relatively dry rear end.  If you can get a lot of $1 notes for Cambodia, and on a negative, watch you back if you're in Tuk Tuk or Cyclo as one of our group had their bag nicked by a passing motorbiker.Forget all your highway code as it's worth zilch in these countries and to cross a road in Vietnam, go slow and sure, don't run or stop and everyone will move around you, believe me it works.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take the time to stop and enjoy some of the view, the cycling is not a race, you move only as fast as the slowest person and the scenery you pass, the people, the rural landscapes etc are worth a steady peddle rather than going full clap, and it allows you to stop, take a photo and set off again.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    A brilliant trip - the itinerary was jam-packed with some amazing sights and experiences, and we had a lovely tour group.  The two days in Petra were fantastic - although some of the walks weren't exactly "leisurely" at times, they were well worth it for seeing The Monastery and Petra from up high.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    VIETNAM ADVENTURE

    I've never felt sad when leaving a country to come home, but I did when I left Vietnam.  What a wonderful and amazing place, full of history, fabulous food and a friendly culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Where do I start! From the bustling streets of Hanoi to the tranquillity of Halong Bay everywhere we visited was inspirational.  But, to pick one place, it would be Hoi An.  The beaches, the market, the river, the restaurants and all the charity work that happens there from the Streets cafe to the handicapped workshop making silver jewellery and embroidery. The old town, where we could walk and chat to the residents about what they were doing.  Everybody was friendly and welcoming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thang was a very informative group leader and gave a vast amount of knowledge about all aspects of Vietnamese culture and history.  He was friendly and fun and gave great insight into how the Vietnamese live and what they have been through to get where they are.  He is very passionate about his country and I wouldn't have known 90% of the information without him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take too much clothing, or too many dollars.  ATM's are available everywhere, and so is WIFI. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is the first time I have travelled with a group, generally I go alone, but this trip was a real eye opener for me to visit a country this way and have learnt so much more that I would have done otherwise.  I have fallen in love with this country and will be back at some point in the future.  The War Remnants Museum was hard to deal with but worth the visit, and the Cu Chi tunnels were amazing and it really made me realise what a resourceful people they are, and no wonder they won the war over the mighty force of the Americans.  Also, they are a generous people in their forgiveness.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    TUNISIA EXPLORER

    Good overall view of Tunisia. The people were all very nice and helpful.  Our group was small and we enjoyed that.  The food was plentiful but I have come to the conclusion that Tunisians and Moroccans are not as good cooks as the Egyptians and Lebanese. The hotels' breakfasts were not good as there was no real fruit juice and no fruit, the cereals were too sugary (sort of cocoa pops) and the yoghurt was rarely natural. We only had French style bread although the Tunisian flat bread is delicious. Where were all the dates and oranges?I would have preferred to have been free to eat out at night in a resto recommended by the guide where this was possible. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Visit to the Bardo Museum and to the Roman sites

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sonia was very good and spoke English very well. Very helpful and concerned for our comfort and security. Went out of her way to help us get what we wanted.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although the hotels were generally good there was always a small problem. Nobody seems to check the light bulbs in rooms or see if there is a plug in the sink. this is quite a common occurence in Magreb and Syria and Egypt so take a rubber sink plug with you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The coach driver Hedi was a super driver despite all the traffic and some long days at the wheel. he was always smiling and helpful
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    This was my second exodous adventure and it did not dissapoint, enjoyable from start to finish, there was a good contrast from the beach at the start of the holiday to the cooler mountain ranges, and then back to sea level for the Yala National Park safari.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most inspirational moments were cycling through local villages and getting a good feel for how the locals live from day to day. The white water rafting was great, went overboard but the water was warm and all the safety equipment was provided. Yala Safari was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader could not have been better, made a difficult job look effortless.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The games and meals we had with the locals were really nice, actually the best curry I had was at the Tsunami house we visited.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO CLIMB - RONGAI ROUTE

    Not a holiday. A fantastic experience. A lot harder than I thought.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit first at 5:20am. The camaraderie you can achieve with what is effectively a stranger when you achieve your goal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Florence was very good, as were all the other guides, porters and cooks of which there are around 40. He kept his eye on us and tried to tailor the speed at which we walked to each individual. He spoke to each person individually every morning and every evening to make sure everything was ok.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have enough dollars for the tip which adds a fair bit to the holiday. Wear sufficient layers but don’t over do it, you will warm up when you walk.I understand pole, pole but walk at the pace you are comfortable with. Listen to your body and what it’s telling you. Your hands get filthy.I personally didn’t wear or need to wear gaiters, but walking poles helped significantly, especially on the final push for the top. Some took Diamox some did not. Again, know your own body and listen to it; if you have a headache take something, if you don’t then don’t take something.On the day you climb to the top you will have breakfast at 23:30. You probably won’t feel like eating porridge. You will need a lot of energy so force yourself to eat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want beautiful scenery and slow acclimatisation go to Everest and Gokyo lakes. If you want a challenging walk in less beautiful scenery in a much shorter holiday then climb Kili.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    JEBEL SAHRO RIDE & MARRAKECH

    I spent a great week in Morocco however I think a lot of this is more to do with Morocco itself and the company of a fun mixed group that than any satisfaction with the cycling.   It was hard work!  Much harder than anticipated and was a fairly exhausting trip.   There was little time to enjoy the surrounding scenery when I spent every moment staring at the ground 2 meters in front of my front wheel.   I would only recommend this trip to people who already know they enjoy off roading and if you do...it’s fabulous.Exodus staff (both local and the guide) were great and the organisation of the trip was faultless.  There were a few bad reviews previously regarding the quality of the bikes but ours were excellent.    The number of punctures was very high but when you see the terrain this can only be expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final ride after a huge climb on the final day involved a steep descent then riding through glorious dessert plains.  This was a great end to the trip.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was a star! Misguidedly, prior to the trip I would have preferred to be led by a local guide which I thought would aid interaction with locals.   I am very pleased to say I was completely wrong and I don’t believe any guide would have worked harder or been so attentive the groups needs as Liz.  She was friendly, fun and knowledgeable – everything you could want in a guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book your flights independently.  The cost of an all in trip is c.£450 more than the land only option and it is very easy to make considerable savings (even when independently booking onto the exact same group flights).  That said, do NOT fly Royal Air Maroc.   We missed our connection by 40 minutes which meant a day spent in a hole of a hotel 30k from Casablanca.  A taxi cost EUR50 to look at the sights in Casablanca and ultimately the whole experience meant a loss of 1 day from the holiday.   Staff were rude, uninterested and I would advise you to avoid at all costs.The best option would be to fly return to Marrakech then get a bus to Quarzazte at the outset of the trip.    There would be no faffing around changing planes and the chances of your luggage arriving with you are much increased.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Understand that this is a mountain biking holiday and in my opinion the grading is very different to a road cycling trip.   I have previously ridden a moderate/challenging road trip in India and didn’t use the support bus once….this time I was a regular!   Of the 15 people on our trip I don’t recall one person believing the trip was accurately graded.   
Call us on 1 844 227 9087