Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Andrew Mason

    Nile Cruise 2019

    A whistlestop tour of the main sites in Egypt

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sites like Karnak, Philae, the pyramids at Giza and the Valley of the Kings lived up to all expectations. I also loved cruising down the Nile and watching the world go by - this was my first river cruise and I would do more now.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teefa was excellent - like having a friend guide you round the sights.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's not a leisurely trip - there are a number of very early starts and you cover a lot of sites in a week. February is a perfect time to go - it's a very pleasant mid 20s during the day, and cool in the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really enjoyed the visit to the Al Azhar mosque in Cairo, a fascinating experience at sunset.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    James Smith

    Nile Cruise - Premium

    Very culturally inspiring trip, with a considerable variety of points of interest. My grandson, Will, said it all: "It was awesome; more than I expected". Our tour guide really had his act together, and kept a close watch on each and every tour member, yet giving them freedom to do their own extra things (like collecting soil samples and geocaching). One big thing I did learn about the aristocracy of the distant past. The top 1% of societies wanted to leave their mark for not only those who followed, but they also made a way that they could attain another life into the future (from their perspective). From what my grandson and I saw and experienced, we now better know that primitive societies were really quite advanced to be able to cut, transport, and assemble what resources were available - stone. Very inspirational trip!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When we entered Karnak Temple. It took Will's breath away. So massive and well preserved. I believe that was the first temple we visited, and as such, even left a bigger impressions on us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Achman was very well organized and obviously educated in ancient Egyptian history. He did an excellent job at explaining details, at the same time giving the group an overall impression of the historical, cultural, and religious themes. He also was attentive to special needs of individuals in the group. I have nothing negative to say our tour guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When haggling, start real low. My grandson did and met with success on numerous occasions. Don't worry about vendors getting mad. That's to be expected and part of the game. When passing through a market area on your way to see a famous temple, tomb, of pyramid, keep your head up, eyes on a straight course, and of course hide your wallet. Never let them know you even have a purse or wallet. And the smaller the camera you carry, the less the vendors will bother you. I had a big camera. Mistake. They measure you by what you are carrying and will set prides accordingly. Expect big crowds of tourists, and go with the flow...and don't worry if you have to pay a little to use the John. It's their culture and we are the guests.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take this trip, by all means, and pay for the additional tours. Abu Simbel was one of the greatest temples we visited. In my case, I paid the extra so I could take photographs. To me, they are personal; Postcards, although likely cheaper, will not give you the memory of what your own photo would.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    John Duffield

    An amazing trip and a fantastic value!

    Loved it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going up the shaft in the #2 Pyramid. Wasn't expecting what an adventure that would be.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing. Was a step ahead throughout.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Andrew Walsh

    Absolutely awe inspiring.

    Seeing and standing next to the real thing is unsurpassed by any screen be it 3D or otherwise. Good pace if booking the extra excursion/visits, almost all of which were worth the effort. The cruise part was very relaxing and a welcome break from the grey cold wet xmas hustle.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The monuments were fabulous... 4 thousand years old... still coloured, still there !!! Physically and mentally impressive.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Sayed was fantastic - enthusiastic, knowledgeable, friendly. He was even prepared to take a few of us out for extra walks in the evening and for meals in restaurants. He really did care. Great bloke.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    DO NOT DO the light show at Phalae - its just rotten. This has not been updated since the day they put it in. Dialogue like some 50's Hollywood black and white film and just playing with the dimmer switch does not constitute a show.! Make sure you have plenty of small change for tips. Be prepared for constant hustling by people trying to sell you souvenirs almost everywhere. You do need to have Egyptian money as some places wont accept anything else but lots of places accept cards and other currency . You can change money on the boat, in hotels.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Michael Willis

    A must do

    Amazing trip all the sites were safe and our guide Khalid lotfy made the trip ten times better with his genuine friendship and knowledge Highly recommended and if you can request a guide ask for Khalid Lotfy!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pyramids and valley of the kings

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best group leader you could get
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Sandy Merrick

    Our Nile cruise

    We have just returned from our Egyptian adventure! This is our second trip with Exodus and another successful trip full of memories and adventures. From the moment we met up with our tour guide, Mohammed and the rest of the small group, it was a whirlwind of excitement. The Tour was well organized, full of unbelievable sights and sounds of this fascinating country. The cruise boat Mirage was a pleasant surprise. The rooftop sun deck was a hit. Great food, service and engagingly friendly staff on the boat made us all feel comfortable. Our guide Mohammed was an amazing trove of all things Egyptian. His knowledge of his country’s past was admirable. Our group of 20 bonded early on and made this trip a truly enjoyable journey.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My first sight of the Pryamids was breathtaking. The early evenings sailing along the Nile was so relaxing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was so knowledgeable and a lot of fun to be around. He joined in on the fun and joking round but kept us informed of the schedule and was well organized.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the early morning departures.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    John Windle

    Amazing Adventure

    To see ancient history in front of you is amazing - impossible to imagine what Egypt must have been like 5,000 years ago! Great guide, patient and knowledgeable. Great group, keen to learn, good fun and always on time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The tombs in the valley of the kings

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable, patient and keen to enable us to enjoy our holiday

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Very early starts - necessary but tough

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Felt the visit to the Nubian village was questionable. The boat trip was great but there was little to see in the village. The house we visited the people had a couple of adult and a few small crocodiles in a very confined concrete tank purely to show visitors and indeed handle the small ones. This didn't feel in keeping with the Exodus commitment to sustainable and environmentally friendly communities,

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank John for his feedback, whilst we are pleased he enjoyed the holiday overall we were very sorry learn of his disappointment with the Nubian Village experience. When the Aswan High Dam was built in the 1960s and the Nubian people had to move their homes, they became more reliant on tourism to ensure the continuation of their culture. The keeping of crocodiles in their homes as pets, however, is not an aspect of the current day Nubian culture which Exodus wishes to support; we particularly want to discourage our clients to take part in the holding of the animals for photo opportunities.  

    John Penge – Product Manager for Egypt

  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Senior

    Nile/

    An exceptional tour well put together. There were early starts but it was cooler and less crowded when you arrived at the site. Usually was time to relax later in the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For myself it was standing at the base of Kufu's pyramid and being amazed at the enormity of the structure, no amount of reading and photographs can prepare you for the scale

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Tarek who was fantastic. He was so relaxed and easy going. It was obvious his love for the history of the Egyptians and his country. He really brought to life the time of the Pharoes and their achievements.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not waste time going online to sort the visas out, there are no end of scam sites and the official one is hopeless. When you arrive in Egypt you can purchase the visa before going through passport control.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first time using Exodus and I would highly recommend them, very professional.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Ruth Adams

    Excellent trip to Egypt- lots of history, culture and wonderful weather

    A wonderful trip with some leisurely days along with early starts to beat the heat. October was a perfect time to go- not too hot, blue skies against which the sand and pyramids/ temples contrasted wonderfully. Our guide was very helpful; it was wonderful to have water available both on the bus and the ship..... One caveat- it would be helpful if in the trip notes if somewhere it mentioned that one must pay extra to take photographs in some of the temples.......not a problem for myself, but some travellers came with minimal cash, and so hadn't factored that into the equation. A minor point overall though. Highly recommend!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Truly for me it was hearing the call to prayer while floating down the Nile......as the sun was setting.......drinking a glass of white wine. Second most inspirational moment was Abu Simbel and the entire history involved from ancient and modern times.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very helpful and extremely knowledgeable about all things Egyptian.......

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go......very safe. Inspirational in so many ways.......the history is overwhelming......
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Charlotte Chamberlain

    Nile cruise

    Excellent Enjoyable Interesting

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great pyramids

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, funny, kind, helpful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more money for tips than you think

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are many many added costs for excursions but most unusually for taking photographs. This should be mentioned in notes
Call us on 1 844 227 9087