Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

36 Reviews

  • Reviewed February 2020

    Amazing experience

    From start to finish, I cannot fault this trip. The temples and Ancient Egyptian remains speak for themselves and are stunning. I had no idea that they were so well preserved. But the trip was made especially enjoyable by our super efficient and friendly guide, Sayed. His commentary covered both ancient and modern Egypt, and I have been reading books about Egypt ever since!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sun going down, while sailing down the Nile is quite magical. In the valley of the kings, being able to explore with very few other tourists, brought home the splendour of the tombs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed managed all the logistics to perfection, and at the same time shared his passion for Egyptology. He struck exactly the right balance between serious, informative guide and being friendly and approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cost of the optional trips does mount up - but most are really great experiences - so I would advise factoring them into the overall cost of the holiday before you go.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Linda Pearce

    Unforgettable

    The week exceeded my expectations. I had thought a week would give me just a glimpse of Egypt but there was so much more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing alone in the tomb of Rameses V and VI (kv9) surrounded by huge walls and pillars covered with pristine hieroglyphics of such vibrant colors it took your breath away. It is well worth the extra EP 100 to go inside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I cannot praise Tefa highly enough. His organization, empathy, knowledge of Egyptology and attention to every detail of our experience was exceptional. Extra unscheduled mini trips were arranged in free time for anyone who mentioned something they would like to do. Health issues were dealt with including pushing a wheelchair round a temple! Tefa really made sure we all had a wonderful experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When I read the trip notes I was concerned about how the extra trips fitted in with the basic plan. My concerns were unfounded. It is all very well arranged. I would say.... do as much as possible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The four nights on the boat make a good base for the visits to temples and tombs. Without the continuity of the boat it could have felt very hectic.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Andrew Davies

    Outstanding Experience

    Too many superlatives. Exceeded expectations in so many ways. The archaeology the food and comfort and Sayed our fantastic guide with a lovely group of fellow travellers. Bucket list well and truly ticked for Egypt.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving early at the market in Aswan with a real local insight into life. Stumbling in on a coptic Christian festival at the monastery. Hanging on to a camel for dear life! The felucca trip. Aswan was the best bit for me. Watching river life on the Nile and the friendly people waving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed was outstanding. He was incredibly well organised and genuinely kind and so enthusiastic about the sites and his country. We loved hearing him bring both ancient and modern Egypt to life. He was inspiring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the excursions. They are undersold in the trip notes and at the monestary at Aswan and the tombs of the workers we were privileged to be the only tourists in sight. Leave any shopping for Aswan where the people are more relaxed and give less hassle. Take binoculars for the amazing bird life. Very early starts but a price worth paying to see the sites with fewer people around.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Joe Doucet

    Outstanding trip

    This was a full packed trip , informative trip led by Mohammed Tefa whose in depth knowledge, and leadership style made the trip a wonderful experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Abu Simbel
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Kate Stevenson

    Unforgettable

    An unforgettable trip, I read as much as could on Egypt, its history, this tour - and was still blown away by so much about the place and this Exodus trip. A very busy nine days, but still plenty of time in the afternoons to recharge. Can't believe what we packed in to such a small amount of time. Very well organised, and absolutely adored our guide Tefa; and particularly pleased with the dynamics of the group I travelled with. Thoroughly enjoyable experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Valley of the Kings. Having an idea of what it would be like, and still not really being ready for the scale of the landscape, the tombs, the timeline and history. Seeing Tutankhamum's mummy just centimetres away was truly humbling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tefa was an absolute legend. Organised, generous, thoughtful, cheeky, funny, and very knowledgable. The guy was built for this job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read read read the trip notes and other reviews. They are honest and helpful. Found trip notes on money and costs helpful for working out what you'd need for extra excursions and in particular photography passes if you want to take photos or video at some of these amazing locations. Was helpful to work out tips too. As many have said, there will be early mornings, and the place is seriously hot (hence the need to get out and about early), but your afternoons are largely free, and by the time you're waiting for sunset by the pool, you're remembering the mindblowing sites you saw more than the alarm, the sweaty seats, or the late-night call to prayer keeping you awake (we were there during Ramadan). This is a travel experience, more than a holiday, but it's one I'll never forget.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Margaret Madgwick

    A glimpse of Ancient Egypt.

    Visits to the Pyramids & Sphinx , Luxor, Edfu, Kom Ombo Temples, Valley of the Kings and Abu Simbel. Cruise down the Nile river.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole tour was special. Visiting the sites of Ancient Egypt. None to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader 'Tefa' was brilliant. His knowledge as a guide was superb. He was reliable, patient and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot in may/june 46c. plus so my advise would be to go at a cooler time if possible. Keep well covered up. Have upset tummy medication with you just in case. Take at least suncream 50. Its easy to change your money when you are there rather than before you go. Have a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Understand that tourists are targeted to buy from the locals so you will be hassled, please don't mind or be offended as they need to make a living. Say 'no thank you' if you don't want to buy.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Margaret Madgwick

    A glimpse of Ancient Egypt.

    Visits to the Pyramids & Sphinx , Luxor, Edfu, Kom Ombo Temples, Valley of the Kings and Abu Simbel. Cruise down the Nile river.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole tour was special. Visiting the sites of Ancient Egypt. None to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader 'Tefa' was brilliant. His knowledge as a guide was superb. He was reliable, patient and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot in may/june 46c. plus so my advise would be to go at a cooler time if possible. Keep well covered up. Have upset tummy medication with you just in case. Take at least suncream 50. Its easy to change your money when you are there rather than before you go. Have a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Understand that tourists are targeted to buy from the locals so you will be hassled, please don't mind or be offended as they need to make a living. Say 'no thank you' if you don't want to buy.
  • Reviewed May 2019

    Do it!

    Egypt is beautiful and the temples, pyramids and other sites you will visit are absolutely amazing, its an experience I will never forget!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Abu Simbel Temple was the highlight of the trip for me, incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmed was full of knowledge and was a great tour leader, you could tell he loved his job and Egypt and it made every day more interesting and enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you take the optional tour to the Monastery of St. Simeon, be careful when walking into one of the bedrooms, its full of bats!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I always felt safe in Egypt so don't let this deter you from visiting this amazing country.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Vince Parish

    Superb Trip!

    I've wanted to visit Egypt for quite sometime and I wasn't disappointed . The Exodus itinerary was perfect for us with the right balance of adventure and good accommodation. Lots of early starts so be prepared to be exhausted at times! We travelled with a fantastic bunch of people and made some great friends, with lots of laughs along the way. The hotels we stayed in were excellent and cruising along the Nile was idyllic, a perfect trip for those wanting both touring and comfort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We saw so many wonderful things but the highlight for me was seeing the Tutankhamun exhibition at the Cairo Museum, and the optional visit to the Nubian village in Aswan. It's difficult to pick out specific moments as there were many.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmed our group leader couldn't have been better, he looked after us from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. He was knowledgeable, fun, efficient and generally a nice guy and was always available. He helped to make our trip a memorable one. Additionally the other guides and coach drivers we met couldn't have been more obliging. Customer service was paramount.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The market sellers, taxi drivers and carriage drivers can be the most persistent and aggressive sellers I have ever come across, and I have visited lots of countries with this culture. At times they were quite unpleasant, so be prepared. Stand firm and accept nothing, If you do want to buy, barter and then walk away they soon drop the price!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As vegetarians who worry about animal welfare we were a little upset to discover that one of the trips involved using a horse and carriage. Many of the horses do look well cared for but unfortunately many don't! Ahmed listened to our concerns, along with some other members of our group, and quickly organised us Tuctucs. Had we known about this trip earlier we could have given him more notice. As with all trips there are extras such as the "tipping fund" and optional excursions, it would be really useful to know the approximate costs of these extras to help with budgeting, and to ensure you have sufficient currency with you when required.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Vince for his feedback and we are very pleased to read that overall he had a superb holiday. Over the last year we have been trying to work with our leaders to ensure only well looked after horses are used at Edfu, alongside a number of other precautions taken to try an ensure we are supporting positive animal welfare. However, as it has become clear this is not possible, going forwards we will now be providing a bus to take clients to Edfu temple.

    John Penge – Product Manager for Egypt

  • Reviewed May 2019
    marie Hallam

    Nile cruise

    Fantastic holiday from start to finish. Very well organized. Fantastic tour guide Ahmed. Nothing was too much trouble. Brilliant fellow travellers. Fun filled packed days. Saw amazing sites. Gina pyramids. Valley of the kings. Etc. Fantastic accommodation. Food really good. Amazing experience. Thank you Exodus and a massive thanks to Ahmed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Valley of the kings.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic. Very knowledgeable. Great fun. Looked after every member of the group.