Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2017
    Becky M
    This was a great holiday! I've been on 5 other Exodus holidays and this trip ranks at the top. I had so much fun! Great hikes, great food and great fellow hikers made this trip unforgettable!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Do to the hot weather, Yves decided that we would like the planned day 7 hike on day 1. Oh boy....it was the day of lavender. Beautiful! It took my breath away with how gorgeous the fields were. I felt on top of the world as I have always wanted to be in this beautiful scenery!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yves was awesome! He took care of us. He gave us great tips for hiking, encouraged hydration, and he is very knowledgeable on the region. He gave us a great packet on our first day with wonderful information such as maps, an itinerary and information on restaurants in Greoux Le Bains (our home base). He also graciously booked restaurants for us for our dinner meals. All the restaurants were delicious! Remember that dinner is not included on this trip, but also you are not required to eat at the restaurants as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great holiday! You should go! You will love the villages Folcalquier, Moustier and of course Greoux Le Bains. They are gorgeous! But of course you will love the Verdon Gorges as well! The hikes are very nice! I enjoyed all of them. For me, the hikes were not too difficult, but there are a few scrambling bits. Yves will help you! The distance hiked is pretty accurate on the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am very glad I booked this trip. I had a lot of fun. My group was spectacular. I am honored to have met every person that was on this hike with me. : )
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Heather Prestwich
    Wonderful views, challenging walking, but oh so worth while.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views, climbing, it's a beautiful country

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our group leaders were great and worked well as a team. We had an extra leader on the climb up Triglav which made a big difference for those who needed support with the via Ferrara. They were very encouraging and caring when you needed it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Slovenian Alps only go up and down, and steeply, and the paths are rough. It is a punishing walk because not much of it is level or smooth. The hours of walking with your pack are accurate. There are plenty of rests and the pace is good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You need to be fit
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Steve Rollason
    The resort and general area are stunningly beautiful, the hotel is very good and the two leaders are also very good

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Any time there was a view of the lake on the walks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have come across both leaders before and gained a positive view the first time round. That view hasn't changed and I would be happy to see either on future trips.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a walking pole. I've never used one before but found one useful here to help keep balance on some slightly gravelly descents

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Plenty of cake stops on the level 3 walks, what's not to like?
  • Reviewed July 2017
    francis mcconnell
    Just finished a brilliant week in Achenkirch at the Fischerwirt Hotel, Grade 3 walks all the way with our Guide Bob Mason, Bob never ceased to amaze us everyday with his extensive knowledge of all things Austrian and especially the Tirol flora, fauna, wildlife and his speciality subject of the best cake. Cake miraculously appeared where it had no right to exist and each cake stop was surpassed by the next, the walking was on a par with the cake on every level, thanks again Bob from Francie, Tracey and Carmel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 4 at the Pasilalm route was remote and wild with most astounding views at every turn, longest walk but so worth the effort, voted for by the three of us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arnold used to be Mr Austria before he moved to America, Bob has now taken his title.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Mike Staunton
    This as a comprehensive tour of a large area of Peru and so there is a good range of sights and landscapes visited. As stated in the trip notes there are some long travel days which really show how large the country is. However the coach was comfortable, stops were built in to help break the journey and there was plenty to look at.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably when the mist finally lifted at Machu Picchu to reveal the ruins in their incredible location.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    'Ollie' was a great leader, enthusiastic, organised and had a very good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there are long travel days; we were happy with them but be prepared! Also we found all restaurants in Ages Callientes (Machu Picchu town) charged an unadvertised 20% service charge.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary helps you to gradually increase altitude and so the effects are not usually felt too badly.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Colleen McDavid
    If you enjoy cycling and want to see an Asian country not yet jaded by tourism this is the trip for you!! I have never done a cycling trip and wasn't sure what to expect. This trip was very well organized, with a fantastic support team. When I punctured a hole in my tire, my first thought is that I would never catch up to the rest of the group...however Joe, our bike mechanic had the wheel off and replaced with another in less than 10 minutes!!! The scenery, the Burmese people, and this itinerary make it an exceptional experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Biking through the city of Mandalay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Top notch!! He kept us safe, informed, and very entertained.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although it is rated as a 3 in terms of difficulty, do yourself a favour and go cycling on a route that incorporates hill training or attend spin cycling classes. I was not a very experienced cyclist and was very grateful that I had prepared myself in advance. It made the trip enjoyable; I looked forward to each day of cycling. .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Burmese food is quite tasty and not yet influenced much by western cuisine. You should be able to find something you enjoy at every meal, but keep in mind you are not travelling to Burma as a culinary experience. Given their history, they have had limited opportunity to develop culinary expertise. I enjoyed it so much and it went by so fast I would love to do it all over again!!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Martyn and June Cribb
    This is a great holiday offering two levels of walking with experienced and very able leaders. Great environments to explore. Good food and a great hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip is multi-faceted with some very good walking and also the opportunity to explore the natural and village environments of the beautiful Tyrol. Hard to pick a single moment that was inspirational as there were many such occasions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The holiday benefits from very able and extremely experienced leaders. Caring, thoughtful, knowledgeable and helpful - what more could you ask for? They provided accurate and very useful information that enabled the group to decide at which level to walk. They had a good knowledge of the local flora and fauna. They worked well as a pair of leaders.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to switch between levels to get what you want from the holiday. The travel card which is part of the holiday provides really outstanding opportunities to use bus, rail and boat to access many areas of the valley. This provides excellent value for money especially on the "day-off". The leaders provided super advice on where to go and a comprehensive file of documents to consider when choosing where to go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is great and the rooms well appointed. Meal were very good and the arrangement to prepare your own lunch from the breakfast table provided outstanding vale for money. The staff at the hotel were very caring and helpful. Their knowledge of English far better than our German. Great beer and the wine is good.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Tim Douglas
    A great week touring and trekking the main volcanoes on Vulcano,Stromboli and Etna.The week was really well organised from start to finish and all our family including our daughters of 18 and 21 enjoyed it tremendously. Our group of fellow travellers were diverse and great fun and this made the trip even better. We packed so much in to the week we did not have time to worry about tired legs. Exodus have put together a great trip here.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Stromboli volcano erupt and glow against the beautiful evening sky then trek back to a restaurant and carry on watching it was amazing. Also seeing the crater of Vulcano and to the top of Etna was brilliant too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader and guide Nicoletta made sure our week was perfect.She attended to all the groups needs and there was nothing that was too much for her.She organised us so well and made all our travelling,transfers straight forward.She was clearly very knowledgable about the volcanoes and area and communicated this effectively to us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great trip.I would really encourage anyone thinking of doing it to do it and get it booked.You will not regret it.The temperatures were high when we went in mid July but that is to be expected.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A real thanks to our group of travellers (non of whom knew each other before hand) as we have made some great friends on it.Also thanks to Nicolleta our great guide.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Stephen Brown
    This is a very enjoyable trip, offering a real challenge, but providing fantastic rewards. The accommodation is very good, and the transfer to the hotel from Bergen is very pleasant. The walk to Trolltunga is certainly long, but is worth the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Undoubtedly the moment when it's your turn to walk out onto Trolltunga.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hilde was excellent, enthusiastic and supportive. She provided chocolate and drinks and just the right moments.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trek to Trolltunga is a very popular walk, and there is only one route up. So, you will be walking up with a lot of other people going the same way. This also means that, if you want the iconic photograph on the Trolltunga, you need to be prepared for a very long wait when you arrive for your turn on the Trolltunga, where you can get quite cold. We waited for about an hour and a half on our trip - it is quite lively, with wedding proposals and people doing handstands, but there's no real avoiding it. It's definitely worth it, though! It is an incredible place.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    James Butcher
    An excellent trip that takes in all of the sites and hikes you would want to do in the Val de Fassa. The trip has two types of walking each day - level 3 and 5, the 5s are a good pace and you need to have a fair level of fitness to participate, they also become more technical which makes them very interesting compared to other holidays. You visit the Sasso Lungo group, summit Piz Boe, undertake a ridge walk, hike around the Roda de Vael and the views and scenery is just beautiful from start to finish. The trip has new base at the Hotel Enrosadira in Campitello - the food is absolutely fantastic, as I gather previous travellers had not found the food so good at the last hotel. The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. The location is perfect and Campitello has everything you could need.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the free day I undertook an optional, additional via ferrata trip over the Roda de Vael which was an excellent addition to the trip and incredible fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert and Ingrid were very competent, very friendly and very knowledgeable. On our departure, Albert led the level 5 group walks - which is what we did everyday. His hikes got progressively better, took in all the sites you would want to see and gradually built your confidence, going over increasingly more technical ground. He made the whole experience excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You must buy public transport ticket, which is 68 Euros, so be prepared for this.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087