Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2017
    Val Evans

    Amalfi 12 August

    This was my first big trip alone and Severio and all the group made me feel very welcome. It was hot but Severio gave us plenty of stops and the views were amazing. The hotel staff were friendly and the hotel comfortable. The food was varied and excellent. There was a good balance between walking, relaxing and other activities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the rim of Vesuvius -only Exodus clients were doing that The 'walk of the gods' and the views from all the walks. The food and the cooking demos

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio is very knowledgeable, has lots of useful local connections, is thoughtful to everyone and works hard.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate -go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just don't know which trip to do next.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Christina Brown

    Adrenaline filled week of fun!

    Me (22) and my brother (20) have recently returned from this trip and despite our bodies being ready for a rest we definitely did not want to leave this beautiful country. We hadn't considered Slovenia as a holiday destination but when we came across this trip it sounded perfect for us and it definitely went beyond all our expectations! Slovenia is such a beautiful country, from the minute we stepped of the plane we couldn't stop admiring the views of the beautiful houses, mountains and turquoise rivers that surrounded us everywhere we went and every activity we done. Our leader Tilen was so welcoming and organised so the trip was hassle free which was good for us as we don't have much experience travelling abroad. Tilen and all the other leaders on the trips were very friendly, supportive and fun so all the activities ran smoothly and were incredibly fun - even if some are quite tiring. I was pretty useless at kayaking at first but the leaders were very patient and within an hour I was paddling in a straight line and keeping up with the group, even though I did capsize but that was all part of the fun! The activities on this holiday are awesome and even though our group was mixed ages and abilities we all partook and enjoyed every activity. I didn't think I would manage the mountain biking but the route was manageable and even though it was hard work at times I still enjoyed it and was happy that I managed to do every activity offered. Canyoning and paragliding were mine and my brothers favourite activities and my brother even braved the advanced canyoning and despite wobbly legs at the top of some jumps managed to do them all and had the best time whilst doing it! The group we were with were all great fun and made the trip such a laugh, especially in the evenings after our long tiring days everyone kept spirits high. The hotel is great also: lovely variety of food; comfortable, clean rooms; and very friendly staff who speak good English. Overall, this holiday was definitely 10/10 and we both had the most amazing time and would recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday with adventurous activities included.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When doing all the activities on the Soca river and taking in the amazing views all around us, while trying to stay afloat on our raft, kayak and tubes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tilen was super helpful, fun and organised which made the trip run very smoothly. He also kept spirits high when people started to tire and had great knowledge of the area - especially where to find the best places to eat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most places whilst out there do not take card so we found that we had to withdraw more cash than expected. However this was not a big issue as there is a cash machine in the town which is about a 20 minute walk away. Take a couple of swimming costumes and towels if they fit in your case as you will be on the water quite a lot and sometimes our towel wasn't dry by the next day. Also I over packed outfits as most of the week you will be in wet-suits and wet shoes (which are all provided) but it was nice to have a change of clothes for the evening meals.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Gobnait Kearney

    Cycling South East Asia

    Cycling South East Asia . We cycled from Bangkok to Saigon - crossed borders , through jungles , stayed in accommodation varying from hotels to homestay - all seamlessly organised by our group leader Chiaya .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's difficult to explain the insight we got into the history , religion ,countryside and cuisine in such a short time but it was very powerful and will stay with me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chiaya , our group leader was the most professional group leader I have ever encountered . He anticipated every problem and diffused any tension with great intelligence , charm and kindness . His knowledge of the history and religions of the countries is comprehensive , but it is his unfailing good humour and positivity that will remain with me and my husband and I'm sure all the group .
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Linda Penn

    Perfect introduction to a cycling trip.

    Absolutely the best thing we have ever done. Loved every second of this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the group we travelled with, the group leader Chai and all the support team. The scenery was fantastic, as was the cycling. The organisation of the whole trip was faultless and smooth, from check in to the hotels to the bikes up and ready to go each day. The snacks along the way were wonderful (especially in Thailand).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic, knowledgeable, helpful with a great sense of humour. Chai made the trip what it was....amazing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it...you will love it. Pack light and spend more money on some decent cycling shorts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first cycle holiday and it won't be our last....we have the bug now and will certainly be looking for our next one.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Richard Vass

    Carpathian Walking and Bears

    A most excellent holiday led by Thomas, who was an knowledgeable guide, and who adjusted the walks according to the group ability and the temperature which was in the mid 30s Centigrade. Walking in such temperatures and at such altitudes can be challenging. Thank goodness for fresh water springs on the hillsides! The guesthouse was well appointed and the food was excellent. An honesty bar came in for much use when we returned from our travels! The major criticism arose when we came to settle our bills at the end of the week as the guesthouse did not take credit cards. This MUST be added to the travellers advice as there is no access to cash machines without a long drive. We only just managed to cobble together enough money by adding £ sterling, Lei and a few dollars which we had fortunately carried.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing bears in the wild

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable and efficient

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of cash - no cash machines anywhere near the guesthouse.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Judy H

    A wonderful Russian Experience

    We enjoyed a wonderful, busy eight days in Russia. The history, and the culture is all so interesting, and the way they have emerged from the Communist era. Everywhere was extremely clean, and we found the people to be friendly. The churches and cathedrals, and the palaces are beyond spectacular. We had an extra day in St Petersburg which enabled us to go to Peterhof gardens and fountains, though not the palace, and to see Swan Lake at the Mariinsky theatre which was another highlight. Doing the trip as a private adventure we were able to eat proper Russian food in some first rate restaurants, never paying over the odds for our meals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Kremlin and Armoury museum in Moscow and the Catherine Palace in Pushkin.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Doing this as a private adventure we didn't have a group leader, but we found the local guides we had in Moscow, Novgorod and St Petersburg all very friendly, knowledgable and easy to understand. Maria in Moscow particularly went the extra mile, showing us more than she would normally be able to include, and sorting out our onward transport from Moscow to Novgorod.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO! And take insect repellant for Novgorod!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Muriel Grantham

    AOV170729

    Firstly, I wish to thank EXODUS for allowing an 87 year old to take this trip. It was such a rewarding experience and I was very touched when on the last evening the group praised me and said I was an inspiration to them. I did opt out of only two activities but I was not the only one. Although I was with my daughter, our guide, KHOA DUONG , was wonderfully encouraging too. In fact he was outstanding the way he showed sensitivity to the group as a whole and altered timings and activities according to our energy levels or more to the point, how we were all coping with the heat and humidity! I was impressed with his knowledge of the history of Vietnam as it affected different areas of the population and he always gave both sides of the story. His impartiality was without irony too. At the end of the trip were all felt like an extended family, with myself as the great- grandmother.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The war museum in saigon

    What did you think of your group leader?

    KHOU DUONG was the absolute best. I have already commented o n this

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have extra batteries and a memory card for your camera
  • Reviewed August 2017
    N H

    Bulgaria: The Realm of the Brown Bear

    A wonderful week in the magnificent Rodopi Mountains. Excellent walks, lots of flora and fauna with very good photographic opportunities. Led by such a great guide who gave us insights into the local culture and taught us so much about the bears that roam this fascinating wild corner of Europe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a bear from hide (as well as the wild boar and their piglets). The wonderful array of wild flowers and butterflies in the alpine meadows were just stunning. Some awesome lizards! The traditional local dishes made with naturally grown ingredients are very tasty too :-)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    You would be hard pressed to find another guide as passionate and informative as Julian. He has such an in depth understanding of the bears and wildlife as well as the language, culture and customs of Bulgaria. A very likeable and friendly guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the opportunity on the non-bear hide evenings to walk around the village. We saw hedgehogs snuffling about about early evening and stunning sunset views can be seen from the little white church on the hill.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are interested in wildlife and walking in a beautiful natural alpine region then this is the trip for you!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Pippa Hyde

    Delightful Myanmar

    This trip was one of the most delightful holidays I've had. Myanmar/Burma is a beautiful country and the people welcoming. It's busy but always worthwhile, interesting and thoroughly enjoyable. I'd concur with other reviewers that it's good to get there soon - I hope the country stays as charming, but tourism is growing fast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose. Bagan is beautiful, the sunset in Mandalay was glorious, and the boat trip in Inle Lake one of the best boat trips I've had. But every day had its great moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Min was terrific. He was always calm and organised, really cared that we had a good time and paid meticulous attention to detail. His colour-coded highlighted maps became a legend, and he paced the sights/restaurants etc with skill. He would solve problems before they became problems, and was careful to give us space to do things for ourselves, where appropriate. An excellent leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I believe monsoon departures can be problematic, but the weather for my trip wasn't hugely significant. Although the balloon ride isn't available, and the skies can be persistently cloudy and we didn't get any spectacular dawns, it wasn't as hot as it can be and there are fewer tourists, which I suspect is a real advantage. I've seen some criticism of the bike ride using main roads, but I didn't find it a problem, and the surface was much better than the minor road. It is bone-shaking to start off with, but happily not the whole way. Laundry was significantly cheaper in Bagan than subsequent places. There are early starts, but it's cooler than so I didn't find them inappropriate. Go, before Mayanmar changes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really loved this trip, and heartily recommend it.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Susan Clark

    Inspiring Sri Lanka!

    If you want a truly diverse trip with a range of cultural and wildlfe experiences which gets you under the skin of the country then this could be the trip for you! We went with an open mind and some expectations, but they were suppassed. You get to see some beautiful architecture and scenery, enjoy the diverse flora and wildlife (yes wild elephants are amazing!), meet friendly locals and enjoy fantastic food. I have travelled to a number of different countries and as a vegetarian have often struggled with the choice of food, but not in Sri Lanka. We were helped at every turn by our amazing guide, Sujan, so we could sit back and enjoy every bit of the experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the top of the rock at Sigiriya and appreciating the ambition and achievements of the people that had built it and the surrounding buildings so long ago. On the jeep safari looking at my watch and realising that we had been out for more than 3 hours and I hadn't realised that the time could pass so quickly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan was amazing, professional, friendly - all round super star!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It a beautiful and inspiring country. Great tour that is well organised and tries to cater for everyone.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087