Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18154 Reviews

  • Reviewed April 2022

    Dorgali

    Rather disappointing. Walks were limited in scope - two were out and back the same way - and restricted to an area not far from the hotel. Odd, considering a private coach was available. Admittedly the weather was not the best. The day of sightseeing was interesting, but it meant that there were only four walking days. Perhaps the sightseeing could be arranged for the "day off" as there is very little to do on one's one on a day off in Dorgali. Accommodation was good, as was the fare, though surprisingly meat-heavy. I would not recommend this trip in its present form.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Sicily Food Adventure

    We booked this trip to go in 2020 and finally made it in 2022. It was well worth the wait. It was everything we'd hoped for and more. Bustling local markets, stunning Greek/Roman temples, fascinating architecture (the baroque balconies), a chance to walk on Mount Etna and of course all the amazing food and wine. There were certainly plenty of opportunities to sample the delights of Sicilian food and wine with our superb guide, Rosario.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many great moments on the trip but for me it was all about the food: meeting the buffalo before sampling the mozzarella cheese; the cooking lesson where we ate what we had prepared; the olive oil tasting and seeing the olive trees which were still producing the olives even though they were hundreds of years old; the wine tasting at Mount Etna and the sumptuous lunch that went with it; sampling the Marsala wine; several buffet lunches where we had the chance to eat the local produce and trying the street food from the market in Palermo. It truly was an indulgent week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rosario has a great sense of humour and obviously enjoys his job. He has clearly put in the time to research all the activities and would give guidance on what to see in our free time and recommendations of restaurants in the evening. We couldn't have asked for a better guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try everything, even some of the strange street foods - you never know you might like it!
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Sicily: Surpassed Expectations

    This was my first overseas trip since the covid outbreak. After our first meeting over breakfast in Titania, we start on a well paced tour of Sicily. Travel days were short and broken up with interesting stops. Tiziano Tomasello, our tour leader, kept the tour on time, and moving at a good pace. Born and raised in Palermo, his knowledge of the island, its history, culture and especially its food is exceptional. He was very clear in our daily briefings and at meeting places when we had free time. Tiziano's restaurant, bar, coffee shop and ice cream recommendations were very, very good. He had a excellent knowledge of local food and drink specialties. Sicily may be a small island by many standards but there are regional specialties! His shopping recommendations in Palermo were excellent. He knows his coffee! Accommodation was good to excellent. I had no issues with any of the accommodation other that the habit of not turning the hot water on until 7am. There is a lot to see and do on this trip: from Geek and Roman ruins to cathedrals. I felt that I had adequate time at all our stops, including time to enjoy the amazing gelato, granita and espresso.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wandering through Ortigia

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See review comments Tiziano Tomasello is an exceptionally good tour leader. I have done around 30 group trips and he is in the top 10%. Knowledgeable, approachable, interesting and fun to be around

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to walk....and wander. It is the only way to enjoy and savor this old towns and cities.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Walking in Northern Cyprus

    An excellent holiday with a variety of trips all designed for the walker, with a varied historical theme added in. The trip is classed as a Leisurely / Grade 2, I think some of the walks would have warranted a grade 3 indication, as they proved quite a challenge. However, the guide was very good and catered for all tastes and abilities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Buffavento Castle and the walk through the forest of the Five finger range. Although quite hard a very rewarding day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ghiaza was very good and catered for all tastes, he kept the group together and was empathetic to all individual needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some hard walks, but otherwise enjoy the countryside. Use the pool its a good size and although unheated very good for swimming.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Great trip!

    This was a very very good trip. Very busy we crammed in lots, saw loads of wildlife, and stayed in some very lovely eco lodges. The group was super, lots of extremely interesting people, all very helpful friendly and quick to share.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going to the Sinharaja rainforest and Yala. It would have made more sense to extend the stay in Yala as 1 might wasn’t really enough, especially at there was a last minute change to the final destination. As wildlife holiday which was my prime interest I felt that too much time was lent to resort accommodation

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Nalaka and his team were superb. Friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and quick to offer any and all assistance. Lovely bunch of guys

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the group size and age range. Review the accommodation before travel and ensure it meets your requirements.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    When making changes to the itinerary, I feel that exodus should ensure that there is an equivalent Robert for the new location. Whilst our last destination changed, the itinerary remained the same meaning that if we wished to take advantage it would mean a3 hour trip there and back which really doesn’t make sense with the fuel crisis and potential increased carbon emissions. Also when taking advantage of the extension option it would have been good to know what the options were with excursions tours etc which one could book at the extension location and also it would have been good to know what kind of accommodation it would be budget or otherwise
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Popping my Cycling Holiday Cherry

    Well, with such glowing reviews underneath I almost feel a bit miffed that Davide treats everybody with such genuine accord - I thought we were special ;-) Joking aside, Davide and Guiseppe are genuinely brilliant at their jobs. They made our trip such a special experience, well managed, super organised, tough on the uphill but what a joy on the down, stupendous vistas, fun and safe. They made us all feel cared for and no request was too big or small. I enjoyed the encouragement of "Brava Clara" when I got to the top of a particularly tough hill. My favourite day was the toughest hill-wise but the break for lunch a picnic Davide and Guiseppe had prepared, full of local ingredients, made with Sicilian panache was worth the aching muscles (bum). Syracuse for me was the icing on the cake. A seaside town full of the most beautiful architecture making it very hard not to slide into its romantic vibe. I've just got back and am feeling a bit blue I don't have to be up with the group for 8.45am to cycle off to some fabulous Sicilian town. Enjoy it people. You will love it.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Costa Rica Exploration - Forests & Wildlife

    Had a fabulous time on this trip in March 2022. The itinerary means that you cover a wide area of Costa Rica from the comfort of your small coach with likeminded travellers. Johnny was a great guide - very experienced at knowing what to say when with a smile and good humour. Chico was our safe driver with a cheeky smile. The accommodation was good and varied but mainly lodges situated right where the forest and wildlife were. I would say that this would suit as an introduction to the varying eco systems in Costa Rica as the tour takes you from Caribbean to Pacific coasts and with rainforests, cloud forests, beaches, volcanoes and lagoons . Wildlife sightings included sloths, hummingbirds, toucans, scarlet macaws (and numerous other birds), caiman, iguanas, monkeys . tree frogs etc. Some were hidden in the greenery of the forest and others were visible and I got some good photos - it is not so easy to take photos than, say, African safari. Lodge employees were friendly and the food, when included, was delicious. There was some opportunities to eat in local restaurants as well. There are a lot of early starts but it was also dark early so the itinerary made the most of the daylight hours.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a sloth moving (slowly of course) through the trees was a sight to behold. Also, red eyed tree frogs - both so iconic for Costa Rica.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Johnny was a great group leader - with 27 years experience of leading tours. He shared his knowledge and knew exactly when the group needed information - size of lodges we would be visiting, what we were doing the next day, when the next rest stop would be etc. etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some early starts. Weather in March (although dry season) did include both hot and wet days - bring clothing for both. Take insect repellent - although not a malaria zone there were insects aplenty! Be ready with your camera to capture those fleeting glimpses of wildlife - practice bird shots so that you can get photos of those fast moving hummingbirds! The Pacific ocean was like a warm bath to swim in.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Costa Rica is a wonderful country and I am very glad that I visited it - with Exodus travels.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Excellent week of walking

    A thoroughly enjoyable holiday in Sardinia. The scenery was beautiful, rugged mountains, deep gorges and immaculate white sandy beaches. We thought the variety of walks was great. The day of sight seeing type activities was brilliant, a chance to experience another aspect of this unspoilt destination. On our free day we did a boat trip to the Blu Marino cave from Cala Gonone which is highly recommended. The hotel is fairly simple but clean, comfortable and very welcoming, the staff are lovely. The food was tasty and supplied in plentiful quantities. Our guide Alexis was fantastic, he was good company full of local information & catered to the needs of the group brilliantly. We were fortunate to be accompanied by a friendly group of fellow travellers with whom we had lots of laughs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the beach trip - crystal clear turquoise water, white sand, blue sky, no crowds and a tasty barbecued sandwich.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not fault Alexis. Very friendly and knowledgeable, felt very safe in his hands.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Discover Costa Rica - an unforgettable trip!

    From meeting our guide, Andres, and our excellent driver, Victor, we had an unforgettable two weeks visiting different regions of Costa Rica. It is not just the sights but also the sounds that make Costa Rica such a special destination - it's so green and the wildlife is so colourful. We were delighted to see so many different species and we really appreciated Andres’ willingness to share his knowledge with us. The accommodation was very good and it worked well spending 2 nights in each of the different locations. Our group of 16 got on well and we helped each other to spot birds etc. The food was very good - portion sizes are very generous but you can ask for a half portion. This was a special holiday and it didn't disappoint.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I'll never forget Tortuguero - all the birds and animals that we saw on the boat trip to the island, the montezuma oropendola building their nests, the toucans visiting their nest, the tree frogs, the leafcutter ants, standing on the beach where the turtles lay their eggs (though not in March) - the variety of humming birds, and seeing a pair of quetzals checking up on their nest at Savegre. I also enjoyed paddling in the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I will be nominating Andres for the Exodus tour leader award. He is SO knowledgeable about Costa Rica and was always happy to answer our (numerous) questions. He was very patient, always professional, and took excellent care of the group, making sure we knew where we were going and what to expect. On the day of our departure, when our fight was delayed by 24 hours, I was particularly impressed that he made contact with British Airways staff and made sure we were in good hands before taking his leave (much later than planned).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Read the other reviews - I found them really helpful. 2. If you pack light, you can expect to use the laundry service and/or got into the habit of washing clothes as soon as you arrive at the new destination. I sometimes wore 3 different tops in a day due to the humidity. I'm glad I bought quick drying clothes in the Rohan sale! 3. Bring a camera with a good zoom lens and a good pair of binoculars or a monocular. I have enjoyed looking at the short videos that I took which capture the sounds as well as the sights. 4. You might want to bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper - the frogs are quite loud at night.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    When eating out, you can expect prices to be similar to the UK.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Very Comprehensive and Interesting

    This was a very well put together itinerary with a very good balance between organised time and the opportunity to explore individually. The standard of accommodation and transport was high. A really great trip for those interested in history and architecture/archaeology.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking among the ruins in Selunite. The beautiful coastal walk. The archaeology Park in Syracuse. A fantastic local guide around the Valley of the Temples in Aggriento who was a working forensic archaeologist who brought the site to life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Veronica was fantastic. She was enthusiastic friendly and ensured every day was well organised and that we got the most out of each location. Great communication skills and ensured that we all kept to time with the lightest touch. A very talented tour leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prices have increased a bit over recent months but great food and wine is still reasonably priced. Bring a kettle and tea/coffee as this is not provided in the rooms. Travel in April was a good decision as it wasn't too hot and not overly busy in most locations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to Veronica and the lovely group who made the trip fun and enjoyable.