Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2019
    BELLA RICHARD

    Acg

    Good mix of people Excellent team leader Good food Bad internet No warning that hotel does not have a lift

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Capri trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent Caring Mature attitude

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully especially about the walk

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Include sorrento and half day on the beach
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Tony Bees

    Exactly what we wanted

    Good group dynamic with a friendly knowledgeable leader

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The lunch in an old hut overlooking the sea after a good walk

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Virginia was great, attentive and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the hotel should put a room at the disposal of departing guests for showering, given the late afternoon departure. This is common practice in some other hotels. Having said that the staff were truly excellent and really friendly, particularly when offering us a drink and a piece of Giovanna's birthday cake.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Lisa K

    Amazing !

    I loved everything about this trip. It was my first solo trip out of the country so I was a little nervous but it far exceeded all of my expectations and I was worried for nothing. Eduardo, our tour leader was wonderful and I made life long friends in our group. The itinerary was perfect taking you to all the amazing sights around the Amalfi coast. You return to the hotel late in the day with a couple hours to shower, relax, have a drink or two by the pool before dinner. Each day is a combination of guided tour and a little bit of free time to wander around on your own or with others. Transportation is completely taken care of even on the free day but some of it is an additional cost you pay that day or the night before. Well worth it to not have to deal with bus and ferry schedules and have it all taken care of for you. Driving is crazy there as are the lines so this was really convenient. The sights were breath taking, each place being more beautiful than the last. The food at the hotel is literally to die for. Each meal is delicious as is the wine. The rooms are comfortable, the service is excellent and I cannot say enough good things about our guide Eduardo who is so proud to show off his country, is charming, fun, funny and beyond welcoming. He knows everybody ! Our group had a blast together and Eduardo made sure everyone had fun. On the last day 5 of us went on a bus to the Naples train station, 2 to get on a bus, myself to board a train and 2 others to get to a hotel in Naples. Upon arriving in the parking lot we were confused about where to go and all of a sudden out of the crowd, Eduardo appeared running toward us, having just dropped others off at the airport, he wanted to find us to make sure all of us knew exactly where to go like a super hero appearing out of the chaos just to help us and say goodbye again ! There were amazing things to see at each place and then a little bit of time to enjoy a drink, gelato or wander in and out of the shops.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved everything. the quiet beauty of Ravello, taking the cable car up to the top of Capri, the sapphire blue water everywhere, the amazing lunch while hiking the Path of the Gods. I do not think I can pick a favorite out of everything I saw and did. This area of Italy is truly spectacular. Pompeii and Herculean are very interesting, the color of the water along the coast is breath taking, Positano and Sorrento are utterly charming...it goes on and on. The beauty of the entire region was completely inspiring

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was fantastic. So knowledgeable, fun, funny and engaging. He had terrific energy and made sure everyone had fun. He talked and laughed with each person individually as well as with the entire group. It was a fabulous experience and he made it all the more special. I can't say enough great comments about him and the entire experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Italy is very hot at the end of June/beginning of July plus the heat wave this year. Bring cool clothing and sunscreen. A day pack to carry water and sunscreen was helpful and a hat Most everyone changed for dinner because you wind up back at the hotel, also bring something for the final night which is a farewell dinner Bring extra money for the additional items not included in the tour. ATMs are everywhere Bring a bathing suit if you want to enjoy the pool at the hotel Exodus caters to the group from England so the bus doesn't leave until the end of the day on the last day because of the flight back to England. If you choose to leave sooner to go somewhere else ( I took a one hour train back to Rome) you will have to pay for it on your own or share the cost with others in group. Exodus transportation is only for this exact time. It was not a problem to ask Eduardo to arrange transportation and 5 of us shared but I felt it was a bit unfair Exodus charges anyway. The path of the Gods is not easy but it is doable. The hotel has walking sticks. I thought it was helpful because some of the rocks are high to climb up and down. Eduardo was also there to lend a hand. In the heat a lot of people were huffing and puffing but the scenery and the lunch were well worth the effort. I'm so happy I did it ! Try a limoncello spritzer, eat everything, stop for gelato and try a new flavor every day. Take tons of pictures!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was an amazing trip of a lifetime
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Mel M

    Fabulous! Great value for money!

    I absolutely loved this tour! Got to see all the gorgeous towns and beautiful views of the Amalfi Coast. Our guide Eduardo was a real gem! So were the drivers and the hotel staff. The hotel food was great! The location of the hotel was pretty too, and the town itself was a gem.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sorrento and Ravello were my favourites...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was amazing!!!! Can't fault him at all!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The roads are very windy. I didn't mind, but thought to mention it for anyone who suffers from motion sickness. A reminder to anyone who does this tour during one of the hot months; remember to stay hydrated and wear loose clothing as we do a decent amount of walking. Do try to have a lemon sorbet in Positano

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did work out the cost of touring the Amalfi Coast on your own, before booking this tour, and this tour turned out to be much more cost effective and the only tour I found online that sees so much of the Amalfi Coast!! It's worth it! ;)
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Greta Hughes

    Amazing!

    One of my top 3 holidays for sure. A brilliant blend of seeing the beautiful sights of Italy and some relaxing time thrown in. Met a brilliant bunch of people in our group along with my friend I travelled with. Our hotel was perfect too, could not really fault anything! Apart from some scary heights on the Italian roads and viewpoints!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I thought Ravello was gorgeous, so peaceful and tranquil and breathtaking!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was a top guide, funny, knowledgeable, helpful and so proud of his country. He really helped make the week the best it could be.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sit on the side of the coaches away from the scarily high views if you’ve a fear of heights!! I have a little bit so it turns out but still loved the whole trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy the trip, it’s fabulous!
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sarah Dallinger

    The perfect trip!👌

    This was a great trip! It was very well organised and we had a great tour leader in Edvardo. He was personable and very funny.it was a good mixture of leisure and walking. I would thoroughly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Pompei as I learnt a lot and found it very eye opening

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edvardo was a fabulous group leader. He was funny, down to earth and personable. He was very helpful when organising the free day too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of summer clothes if you go in June!! It was so warm! Make sure you get Edvardo as your leader! Chose the highlights trip, it is just the right balance between walking and leisure Bring extra spending money for transport costs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It might be worth adding in the cost of transport for Capri into the overall cost and aldi giving everyone an idea of what transport to Sorrento will cost I.e 45 Euros so they bring extra money for that Overall I loved the trip, we had had such a lovely group of people and now we have a I-lights - posh and lazy whataspp group. 🤗😊
  • Reviewed May 2019
    ROBERT CARTER

    Enjoyed the visit to the Amalfi coast and was very glad I had signed up for it

    We arrived on a Saturday evening and on the first day, Sunday, went down to the harbour in Amalfi to get the ferry between Amalfi and Positano. It was pouring with rain to begin with but after an hour in Amalfi it cleared and became a clear sunny day, with a cool wind. It was an amazing experience going down the zig zag of the road down to sea level and the coast below, and better was seeing the coast from the boat, and enjoying the sights at Positano. Day 2 was very interesting going by bus first to Herculiun and then Pompii and being given a guided tour and seeing the depth of the excavation, and the details of the settlements which had been destroyed by the eruption of Vesuvius.The following day we walked the Path of the Gods and had a rustic lunch high above sea level with wonderful views of the coast before returning to the start.The rest of the week was filled with visits to other communities along the coast, with time to enjoy restful lunches, and local sights, seeing the scenery, and enjoying the sun until the highlight visiting Capri on Friday, and spending the day enjoying the sights there. A great holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was testing to do the walk along the path of the Gods, but very worth while, with the wonderful views of the coast line, and this experience was repeated when we were visiting the isle of Capri.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. He worked very hard to look after each and every person on the tour, and that all the arrangements, and transfers worked as smoothly as possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are going on this tour it is a good idea to be reasonably fit and comfortable about walking about for two-three hours at a time

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Tracey Gwinnell

    Wonderful Amalfi Coast

    A thoroughly enjoyable trip spent visiting the spectacular Amalfi Coast. We stayed in a lovely family run hotel where the staff were great and really helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the amazing Path of the God's was the highlight of the trip, spectacular scenery and a fantastic barbecue lunch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Eduardo was extremely knowledgeable and good fun. He was always in good humour and very passionate about his homeland.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try a Limoncello Spritzer.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Teresa Markle

    Amazing Amalfi

    There is a reason while Amalfi is one of the best selling tours offered by Exodus Tours. It is a gorgeous place to visit (even in January when it is freezing cold!) I love the variety of expeditions. My favorites were hiking 3,000 steps down to Amalfi, walking the Path of the Gods and celebrating January 1 on the Circuito Tre Calli. I also enjoyed the private tours of Pompei and Herculaneum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was around 9 in the morning and the sky was turning pale pink and lavender and yellow. We stopped to take photos of the scene below on the Path of the Gods—mountains, sea and rugged cliffs. I was awestruck by the poetry of the moment. I blogged about it—https://femalesolotrek.com/2019/01/02/path-of-the-gods/

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio manages to juggle everything--site closings, road closings, snow and more—with calm. He made our group feel so welcome. I also want to thank the Italian family who runs the hotel where we stayed. They are fantastic. Their hospitality made us feel like family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Late December/early January is a tricky time for this tour. We were lucky with regard to the weather although it did snow at the end. It was really cold hiking because if the strong winds. You need to dress warmly. Bring snow boots!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book the Amalfi tour. There is a reason why all the famous 19th & 20th century writers came to Ravello and the Amalfi Coast. It is strikingly beautiful.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jo Shorrocks

    Difficult to be positive

    We had exceptionally bad weather so it is quite difficult to be too positive. The hotel may be lovely in the middle of summer but not for a wet week in October. I realise Exodus have no control over the weather but the location, half way up a mountain, is not good in the Autumn fogs. The day we were supposed to do the Walk of the Gods (the best day of the week and perfect for walking) our guide decided that 1 or 2 of our party weren't up to it, so we all had to do a different shorter walk; quite annoying as a lot of the rest of the itinerary was cancelled/curtailed due to the weather. We couldn't go to Capri as the ferries weren't sailing but our guide organised an excellent trip to Paestum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the clouds cleared and we saw the views around Bomerano . Mostly we saw it in the rain and fog!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bomerano is a 40 minute windy road away from Amalfi, the journey you have to make most days before setting off for anywhere else.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is very pleasant, staff friendly and helpful and the food is good.
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445