Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Chris Kelly

    First cycling holiday

    This was my first cycling holiday and what a way to start. Firstly let me start by talking about the guide & driver/mechanic These guys made the holiday always went above & beyond nothing was too much trouble holiday was amazing disagree with the rating of 3 was hard but you need to push yourself. Thanks again guys great job 👍🏻

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of those bloody hills!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alessandro was amazing he was like one of the group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train before you book at least 6 weeks
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sarah Byrom

    Cycle Cilento, Amalfi Coast

    This was the first Exodus trip I've done and I can honestly say it's one of the best holidays I've ever had. Our tour guide, Alessandro, was EXCELLENT, so helpful, hard working, knowledgable and friendly. Nothing was too much bother, he really did go the extra mile to ensure we all had a great holiday sharing all his local knowledge and taking us to some fantastic places. If you like mountainous national parks, stunning coast lines, amazing food and some golden sun then this is the tour for you! The only thing I would say is that there are definitely some steep ascents involved so if you're not feeling 100% energetic an e-bike might be a good option for you (as I opted for & highly appreciated - although all the others in my group who opted for a normal bike seemed fine with this option too so just a personal preference at the end of the day). I should also say, Raffaele, our driver was GREAT too. A fantastic trip - highly recommend and a big thank you to Alessandro, Raffaele and all at Exodus!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cilento national park Amalfi coastline Ravello Amazing food!!
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Adam Espir

    MWO Amalfi Coast

    Excellent trip ; the food and the scenery were the highlights !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    cycling along the coast...sea, sunshine, laid back atmosphere.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very calm & quiet, and had everything under control.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy Italy, good food, amazing views of the sea with Italian villages and lemon groves you will enjoy this trip. On the last day do the walk to Revalo, the views from the Villa's are incredible.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Judith Weaver

    Cilento to Amalfi bike tour

    This is a fairly challenging trip though extraordinarily gorgeous country. The hotels were much better than I expected, This was my second week with Exodus as I had just finished the Florence to Luca ride. This tour was a perfect compliment to the former. The food and dining was, squisito! You have not t lived until you have drunk a cappuccino with buffalo milk.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Surviving the Amalfi coast on a bicycle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alessandro was superb. He is organized, informative, helpful. He is also a very strong cyclist and kept constant watch over everyone's safety and abilities. I would do another tour with him in a heartbeat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare to eat yourself silly and go through pasta withdrawal when you come home. If you think you might be too challenged by the climbs, feel that it is okay to hire an ebike.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure you pack a swimsuit.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Laura Mizoue

    Taste of Campagnia

    This was the first cycling trip I've ever taken and while it was tough (I did zero training which was my own fault), I really enjoyed it. It made me want to explore more of southern Italy. I thought the itinerary was nicely laid out with the first, third and last days featuring long (but stunning) rides and the days in between featuring more sight-seeing (which I hadn't expected based on the trip notes). Cilento was lovely and a nice counterpoint to the craziness of the Amalfi coast. Paolo was an excellent guide and we had a great group of people who were a lot of fun to hang out with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was really happy on that final descent into Minori.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paolo and the support van driver Rafaele were great--super nice, well organized, patient. Paolo really tried to give us a sense of southern Italy-the history, the people, the places, the food. The food! While you were free to go off on your own, Paolo arranged most of the meals for us and encouraged us to sample the local specialties--olive oil, mozzarella di bufala, various aperitifs and the best antipasti. One person commented that it was like being on a gastronomy tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for lots of up and down. There's almost no flat terrain. Bring enough cash. We were running low and it took us a while to find an ATM that took our card. The weather could go from hot to cold to windy to rainy all within an afternoon. Bring everything and store it in the van. The trip notes said the last day was 50K, but Paolo wanted us to see Sorrento which added another ~20K (and the steepest climb of the trip-I joined Rafaele in the van part way up that hill). Word of warning on bus service on the Amalfi coast. On our last day, we took the bus to Vietri to do a little shopping-since Paolo was taking the same bus to Salerno, he made sure that we got there with no problems. Coming back, the buses were so crowded that we either couldn't get on or they didn't bother stopping. We ended up splitting a cab with a German woman who was trying to get back to Maori.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't know if the excursions are at the discretion of the guide, but Paolo took us on a bunch that weren't mentioned in the trip notes. On our second morning out, we took a boat to the Blue Grotto which was a highlight of the trip. In Paestum, we had the option of visiting a buffalo farm where they make mozzarella (and excellent ice cream). Paolo gave us a tour of the cathedral in Salerno. And, on the free day he led a group of us up the 1000 steps to Ravello and on a tour of Villa Cimbrone, which was another highlight.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Linda Hellaby

    Wonderful cycling

    As the oldest member of our group I was slightly apprehensive about cycling the Amalfi coast before we started but Paolo, our guide, put us all at ease straight away. Every day was hugely enjoyable and Paolo was very informative about the local area and the Mediterranean diet. Breathtaking views around every corner!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the last day's cycling from Minori to Sorrento and back was my longest and hardest day to date - 86km and 1,335m of elevation, but it was so satisfying to complete it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paolo was great! He worked tirelessly to keep us all more or less together, was very knowledgeable about the local area and managed to get some good discounts at various restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If I can do it so can you! I am a 'social' rider with my local club riding once or twice a week usually around 30-40 k and a few local hills. Before the holiday I made sure I could ride several consecutive days and upped my distance/elevation a little. Every ride was split into manageable sections with breaks for coffee, lunch, photo opportunities etc. so plenty of recovery time after a challenging climb.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our group was a mix of 4 Brits, 4 Aussies and 3 Canadians and the group gelled very well. We spent most of our free time together and all the evening meals which were organised by Paolo.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Angela Wallace

    Good holiday for sea views!

    Really good trip with just the right mix of cycling & sightseeing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cilento region was my favourite for cycling, just as picturesque as Amalfi coast but MUCH less crowded & touristy, with safer roads!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paolo was very friendly & efficient, well organised & with good local knowledge. Special mention also to Rafael, our backup driver & mechanic who would magically appear whenever needed, always on hand with water or bike sorting skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring good waterproofs! I only had a light jacket with me thinking Italy doesn't get rain like at home, but a couple of downpours convinced me otherwise (although this trip was quite late in the year).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cycling Amalfi coast is not for the faint hearted! Was a bit scary even as a fairly confident cyclist. Cilento region was much better for cycling in my opinion, Amalfi coast much better suited to travelling by boat. But still v scenic.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    James Chow

    Amalfi Coast Bike Tour

    My family was a group of 12 that did the Amalfi Coast/Cilento bike tour. We enjoyed the 5 days of biking and saw many sites that we wouldn't likely have found without the great tour guide Paolo. Our group of 12 was joined by 4 others and they were great group members who were a lot of fun. The bikes were fantastic and definitely helped with the challenging climbs on this tour. It was also great having the support vehicle in the back of the group looking out for the bikers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the last day of the biking. 270 kilometers over the 5 biking days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paolo was a great tour guide and knew lots about the history of the land and was very knowledgeable about the local culture. He effectively dictated the pace such that both the stronger and weaker riders were accommodated for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This tour has quite a few costs in addition to the tour itself. Although breakfast and most dinners are included, lunches are not and also there were quite a few unanticipated costs. Be very cautious of wet tarmac. It was VERY slippery and our group had an incident where two people slipped and fell in a wet downhill turn.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have no clue how we were expected to get to the arrival point without a pre-arranged transfer from the Naples airport. Given the cost of the trip we would have expected it included a transfer to and from the airport.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Jeremy Wilson

    Amalfi Coast Cycling

    A great holiday that pushed us to achieve more than we expected

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing a 75k trip to Sorrento - way beyond any distance attempted before. Completed due to the inspiring leadership of Paolo !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Paolo Longo is an exceptional guy - able to lead a mixed age/ability group so everyone felt challenged and ready to literally go the extra mile. Really genuine enthusiasm for showing us something different everywhere we went. Equally we were supported by Raphaelo throughout with instant technical help and always there to ensure we made safe passage along busy routes. A team that were fun and professional throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do prepare to get up to at least 30k days so you can enjoy every minute of this spectacular hilly route.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just try it !
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Sally Varley

    Cycling In Amalfi, Italy

    A fantastic adventure with a superb guide, delightful scenery, meeting new friends all in on a hybrid bike! Fuelled by wonderful local produce, coffees and wines.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling to the top of the climbs and taking in the breathtaking views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely first class, Alessandro was our guide, host, coach, cashier, restaurant Booker and friend. Exceptional attention to every detail.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Padded cycle shorts. Get as cycle fit as you can, that way you can enjoy the very best of the scenery.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish I'd been on one of these adventures much sooner. Whilst my washing machine deals with my kit, I'm looking to book the next trip.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087