Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Dona Wallace

    Great Cycling, Food and Sights in Southern Italy - Cilento & Amalfi Coast

    Fantastic trip. This was our first guided group cycling trip and our first trip to Italy. Loved the mix of cycling and culture. We enjoyed interacting with our fellow travelers very much as we shared the journey. There is a great variety of cycling with beautiful views throughout: from steady climbs, fun descents, undulating rolling and winding roads, long stretches in the quiet countryside, and exciting sections of busy but good flowing coastal traffic, Besides cycling, we also got to do some swimming and to boat into a lovely blue grotto. The food and scenery on this trip is really wonderful. We had amazing lunches in beautiful spots every day. Our bikes worked very well and were well cared for. On our final free day, Paulo led a (steep) hike up to Ravello and down to Amalfi. This hike into the orchards and quiet areas above the tourist-heavy centers was a beautiful trek that deepened our appreciation for the region's culture and history. Others in our group enjoyed their free day in Pompeii or Capri.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding up to the temples in Pasteum at sunset was a wonderful moment after a ~60km day. It capped a day filled with rolling on quiet roads, through small towns, swimming in the Mediterranean, and enjoying lovely food and drink.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Paulo, made the trip a pleasure with well-thought out routing and pacing of the day. Paulo was very knowledgeable and passionate about the region. We also very much appreciated Raffaele, who followed the group with the van, provided water and the bike mechanic support, and gave a lift on the few occassions someone in the group needed it. Often he helped guide us through busy intersections.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some climbing and descending. The trip notes are very accurate regarding the elevation gain/loss, distance and type of terrain for each day. Be ready to encounter the heavier scooter and car traffic on Amalfi coast so you are comfortable in this busier section.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Alison Jones

    Cilento and amalfi Coast cycling

    A lovely ride, some challenges but never daunting. Suitable for all levels..e bikes, leisure riders and more competitive people. Stunning scenery but also great places of interest to visit...eg paestum, mozzarella farm, . Great food. Excellent, caring staff. Good to see cliento...less known than the amalfi Coast so less crowded but a beautiful bit of Italy. Good to have time on the last day to see the amalfi Coast by boat...very different view of the landscape.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots...paestum was surprising. Maybe also the gorge....where was it?

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Knowledgable, friendly, caring, kept the group together...not always easy. Went beyond his duties. Dealt well with a group member who needed to be hospitalised.....good feedback to group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it...whatever your age. And if you are worried...E bikes are an option. ....though not for everyone.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Dominic Rennie

    Superb Cycle Trip

    This trip offers the chance to experience both a quiet rural part of Italy (Cilento) and then the hustle and excitement of the Amalfi coast. The trip was very well planned and executed throughout. It is physically tough in places with some long climbs and could be classed as a '4' rather than '3' but this makes it all the more rewarding. The scenery is breathtaking - especially in Amalfi. This, along with the exceptional Italian cuisine, and a couple of espressos keeps motivation and morale high and the miles effortlessly tick away.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the highest point along the Amalfi Coastal road and stopping to look back along the coast where we had cycled from.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alessandro was extremely attentive, a fountain of knowledge and had a great sense of humour. He had some unique insights into Cilento - his local region where he also farms. He effortlessly managed to knit together a group with mixed levels of fittness.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The support van is never that far away and there is a small bag on the bike so there is no need to take a rucksack, pump tools etc. Just a water bottle (refilled from the van whenever required), small camera and wallet. I took SPDs and shoes which are great if you use them.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Peter Vogel

    Another fantastic holiday.

    A superb opportunity to cycle through the Albanian mountains. Great food, cheap beer and lovely weather. Tremendous.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day was a fantastic challenge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A lovely person, helpful and kind. A real gent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Tale a small towel to wipe away the sweat!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Wendy Pillar

    One of the best cycling trips

    This trip exceeded my expectations. The scenery was breathtakingly beautiful everywhere. The food was amazing, and the cycling was varied and fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the home of the Mediterranean diet was inspirational. Not only was it interesting information, but Pioppi is pretty much paradise, and we had some of the most delicious food I have ever eaten for lunch with one of the best views on the entire planet. The picnic on the beach of fresh bread, mozzarella, tomatoes and strawberries was pretty special too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paolo was an excellent leader, so well organized he made it look easy. He managed the different abilities of the group well, picked the perfect places to eat and was always full of local knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As long as you can ride 30 miles or so and go up a decent hill, the cycling is fine. Going in April is lovely as it is much quieter (although the Amalfi coast was still very busy) and there are wildflowers everywhere. However, it's a bit cold for swimming, and you need clothing for variable weather. Most days were warm and sunny though.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Chris Kelly

    First cycling holiday

    This was my first cycling holiday and what a way to start. Firstly let me start by talking about the guide & driver/mechanic These guys made the holiday always went above & beyond nothing was too much trouble holiday was amazing disagree with the rating of 3 was hard but you need to push yourself. Thanks again guys great job 👍🏻

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of those bloody hills!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alessandro was amazing he was like one of the group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train before you book at least 6 weeks
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sarah Byrom

    Cycle Cilento, Amalfi Coast

    This was the first Exodus trip I've done and I can honestly say it's one of the best holidays I've ever had. Our tour guide, Alessandro, was EXCELLENT, so helpful, hard working, knowledgable and friendly. Nothing was too much bother, he really did go the extra mile to ensure we all had a great holiday sharing all his local knowledge and taking us to some fantastic places. If you like mountainous national parks, stunning coast lines, amazing food and some golden sun then this is the tour for you! The only thing I would say is that there are definitely some steep ascents involved so if you're not feeling 100% energetic an e-bike might be a good option for you (as I opted for & highly appreciated - although all the others in my group who opted for a normal bike seemed fine with this option too so just a personal preference at the end of the day). I should also say, Raffaele, our driver was GREAT too. A fantastic trip - highly recommend and a big thank you to Alessandro, Raffaele and all at Exodus!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cilento national park Amalfi coastline Ravello Amazing food!!
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Adam Espir

    MWO Amalfi Coast

    Excellent trip ; the food and the scenery were the highlights !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    cycling along the coast...sea, sunshine, laid back atmosphere.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very calm & quiet, and had everything under control.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy Italy, good food, amazing views of the sea with Italian villages and lemon groves you will enjoy this trip. On the last day do the walk to Revalo, the views from the Villa's are incredible.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Judith Weaver

    Cilento to Amalfi bike tour

    This is a fairly challenging trip though extraordinarily gorgeous country. The hotels were much better than I expected, This was my second week with Exodus as I had just finished the Florence to Luca ride. This tour was a perfect compliment to the former. The food and dining was, squisito! You have not t lived until you have drunk a cappuccino with buffalo milk.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Surviving the Amalfi coast on a bicycle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alessandro was superb. He is organized, informative, helpful. He is also a very strong cyclist and kept constant watch over everyone's safety and abilities. I would do another tour with him in a heartbeat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare to eat yourself silly and go through pasta withdrawal when you come home. If you think you might be too challenged by the climbs, feel that it is okay to hire an ebike.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure you pack a swimsuit.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Laura Mizoue

    Taste of Campagnia

    This was the first cycling trip I've ever taken and while it was tough (I did zero training which was my own fault), I really enjoyed it. It made me want to explore more of southern Italy. I thought the itinerary was nicely laid out with the first, third and last days featuring long (but stunning) rides and the days in between featuring more sight-seeing (which I hadn't expected based on the trip notes). Cilento was lovely and a nice counterpoint to the craziness of the Amalfi coast. Paolo was an excellent guide and we had a great group of people who were a lot of fun to hang out with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was really happy on that final descent into Minori.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paolo and the support van driver Rafaele were great--super nice, well organized, patient. Paolo really tried to give us a sense of southern Italy-the history, the people, the places, the food. The food! While you were free to go off on your own, Paolo arranged most of the meals for us and encouraged us to sample the local specialties--olive oil, mozzarella di bufala, various aperitifs and the best antipasti. One person commented that it was like being on a gastronomy tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for lots of up and down. There's almost no flat terrain. Bring enough cash. We were running low and it took us a while to find an ATM that took our card. The weather could go from hot to cold to windy to rainy all within an afternoon. Bring everything and store it in the van. The trip notes said the last day was 50K, but Paolo wanted us to see Sorrento which added another ~20K (and the steepest climb of the trip-I joined Rafaele in the van part way up that hill). Word of warning on bus service on the Amalfi coast. On our last day, we took the bus to Vietri to do a little shopping-since Paolo was taking the same bus to Salerno, he made sure that we got there with no problems. Coming back, the buses were so crowded that we either couldn't get on or they didn't bother stopping. We ended up splitting a cab with a German woman who was trying to get back to Maori.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't know if the excursions are at the discretion of the guide, but Paolo took us on a bunch that weren't mentioned in the trip notes. On our second morning out, we took a boat to the Blue Grotto which was a highlight of the trip. In Paestum, we had the option of visiting a buffalo farm where they make mozzarella (and excellent ice cream). Paolo gave us a tour of the cathedral in Salerno. And, on the free day he led a group of us up the 1000 steps to Ravello and on a tour of Villa Cimbrone, which was another highlight.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087