Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2018
    Richard Keel

    Good Trip With Lots To See With A Good Guide

    Great trip with a busy itinerary. But also a few hours free to do what you want also. Well balanced trip. Weather was very hot some days and the 5 mile bike ride was too hot for some. Jungle walk was also very humid. Luckily Sigiri Rock was cool that am, but if it had been high 90s weather that am, then that would also be a tough climb for some. Whale watching was an optional extra but it was absolutely brilliant, we saw lots of whales. Being a bird watcher, I counted 83 different species throughout the holiday. Along with 100+ elephants in Kaudula National Park and the whales, the trip had lots of wildlife for people like me to see and enjoy. All in all, a great trip, but if you don’t like the heat, then be aware, that Sri Lanka is a hot country. There are a few early am wake up calls, but was always worth it. Lastly, the guide Sujeeva, was absolutely brilliant. He took us to some amazing restaurants (and family homes) to eat every evening. The Red Snapper on the beach was absolutely stunning. I would recommend this holiday for anyone thinking of going to Sri Lanka.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whale watching. An early am start but worth it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely brilliant!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of the heat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only that the drive down through the Ella Gap was absolutely stunning and we could have probably stopped for a walk to a really good view point as we thought the drive down through the mountains was stunning.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Lynne Davison

    Discover Sri Lanka

    My overall experience of the holiday was fantastic and I was most impressed with Exodus as a company and will certainly be using them again. All members of the group of 16 were included in all activities and no-one was left out. It is a great way for singles to go on holiday and be assured of good company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were lucky on both safaris to see many elephants, two leopards, birds and many other animals. Loved having the opportunity to have lunch in many different situations such as with farmers, locals and tsunami victims. Really enjoyed the cultural show , in the front row! Loved the variety of transport, coach, jeep, tractor, cycles and ferry. Cycling through villages was a great experience as well.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Nalica was exceptional. he had a wide knowledge of facts, was very caring and professional at all times and was always smiling. He was a joy. Having tickets bought for us, restaurants booked and tips given took all the stress away.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great variety of activities, be prepared for some early starts, warm clothing is require on a couple of occasions when on higher ground.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    While I thoroughly enjoyed the holiday, i do have two complaints. 1) Several hotels were not at premium standard, I encountered three cockroaches The Tamarind Tree Hotel and felt it was a very dated, tired establishment. The Mirage in Colombo was equally of a disappointing standard. Hotel Sigiriya, , Deer Park Hotel, st Andrews and Rosen were all delightful. It is good to stay a couple of nights in hotels as long as they are good ones. 2) Enjoyed the idea of the train ride but as premium customers I would have expected a reserved seat. As it was, we had to stand for over an hour absolutely packed together in great heat and couldn't see the scenery. The experience was extremely unpleasant.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Wendy Dunk

    Discover Sri Lanka - just do it.

    If you think India might be too much but really want to discover a different culture, this is the perfect trip to do. Full on and busy every day but with "free time" just when you need it. So many experiences in 2 short weeks, cultural, home based, incredible climbs, bike rides, white water rafting, incredible views, ancient cities, spice garden tour with an expert, turtle hatchery, visiting a tea factory, and that is just to mention a few of the things we did. Our guide was so knowledgeable and soon became part of our group of 16, the bus driver was brilliant as was his support, we felt safe every time we went anywhere, Our Guide Nalaka was charming and always available to us and answered our numerous questions with charm and knowledge. All the hotels were of a high standard, only two were not that good but for one night they were fine, but throughout the tour we were given 5* treatment and courtesy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It would be difficult to say which particular moment was any more inspirational than another. The whole tour was inspirational. I would have to say that the least inspirational for me personally was on day 12 where we had tea in a coconut shell and played Sri Lankan games. Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed the novelty and played the games, it was not inspirational in any way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. Knowledgeable. Concerned. Made sure we were safe and happy. Ensured we were given the right amount of information. Excellent communication skills. Friendly and welcoming right from the start. I cannot speak highly enough of Nalaka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the notes given by Exodus, as they are accurate. Just go with an open mind, take in all the experiences. Take mosquito repellant with you, it is really necessary. Remember to get your ETA on line Things can be bit pricey but take cash in £'s and US$.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No, just do it. We had a great group of people, good age selection, eclectic and we worked well together the whole trip, I would have liked a couple of days in Galle, the atmosphere was lovely and there is so much to see there.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Wendy Dunk

    Discover Sri Lanka - just do it.

    If you think India might be too much but really want to discover a different culture, this is the perfect trip to do. Full on and busy every day but with "free time" just when you need it. So many experiences in 2 short weeks, cultural, home based, incredible climbs, bike rides, white water rafting, incredible views, ancient cities, spice garden tour with an expert, turtle hatchery, visiting a tea factory, and that is just to mention a few of the things we did. Our guide was so knowledgeable and soon became part of our group of 16, the bus driver was brilliant as was his support, we felt safe every time we went anywhere, Our Guide Nalaka was charming and always available to us and answered our numerous questions with charm and knowledge. All the hotels were of a high standard, only two were not that good but for one night they were fine, but throughout the tour we were given 5* treatment and courtesy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It would be difficult to say which particular moment was any more inspirational than another. The whole tour was inspirational. I would have to say that the least inspirational for me personally was on day 12 where we had tea in a coconut shell and played Sri Lankan games. Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed the novelty and played the games, it was not inspirational in any way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. Knowledgeable. Concerned. Made sure we were safe and happy. Ensured we were given the right amount of information. Excellent communication skills. Friendly and welcoming right from the start. I cannot speak highly enough of Nalaka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the notes given by Exodus, as they are accurate. Just go with an open mind, take in all the experiences. Take mosquito repellant with you, it is really necessary. Remember to get your ETA on line Things can be bit pricey but take cash in £'s and US$.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No, just do it. We had a great group of people, good age selection, eclectic and we worked well together the whole trip, I would have liked a couple of days in Galle, the atmosphere was lovely and there is so much to see there.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Wendy Dunk

    Discover Sri Lanka - just do it.

    If you think India might be too much but really want to discover a different culture, this is the perfect trip to do. Full on and busy every day but with "free time" just when you need it. So many experiences in 2 short weeks, cultural, home based, incredible climbs, bike rides, white water rafting, incredible views, ancient cities, spice garden tour with an expert, turtle hatchery, visiting a tea factory, and that is just to mention a few of the things we did. Our guide was so knowledgeable and soon became part of our group of 16, the bus driver was brilliant as was his support, we felt safe every time we went anywhere, Our Guide Nalaka was charming and always available to us and answered our numerous questions with charm and knowledge. All the hotels were of a high standard, only two were not that good but for one night they were fine, but throughout the tour we were given 5* treatment and courtesy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It would be difficult to say which particular moment was any more inspirational than another. The whole tour was inspirational. I would have to say that the least inspirational for me personally was on day 12 where we had tea in a coconut shell and played Sri Lankan games. Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed the novelty and played the games, it was not inspirational in any way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. Knowledgeable. Concerned. Made sure we were safe and happy. Ensured we were given the right amount of information. Excellent communication skills. Friendly and welcoming right from the start. I cannot speak highly enough of Nalaka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the notes given by Exodus, as they are accurate. Just go with an open mind, take in all the experiences. Take mosquito repellant with you, it is really necessary. Remember to get your ETA on line Things can be bit pricey but take cash in £'s and US$.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No, just do it. We had a great group of people, good age selection, eclectic and we worked well together the whole trip, I would have liked a couple of days in Galle, the atmosphere was lovely and there is so much to see there.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Wendy Dunk

    Discover Sri Lanka - just do it.

    If you think India might be too much but really want to discover a different culture, this is the perfect trip to do. Full on and busy every day but with "free time" just when you need it. So many experiences in 2 short weeks, cultural, home based, incredible climbs, bike rides, white water rafting, incredible views, ancient cities, spice garden tour with an expert, turtle hatchery, visiting a tea factory, and that is just to mention a few of the things we did. Our guide was so knowledgeable and soon became part of our group of 16, the bus driver was brilliant as was his support, we felt safe every time we went anywhere, Our Guide Nalaka was charming and always available to us and answered our numerous questions with charm and knowledge. All the hotels were of a high standard, only two were not that good but for one night they were fine, but throughout the tour we were given 5* treatment and courtesy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It would be difficult to say which particular moment was any more inspirational than another. The whole tour was inspirational. I would have to say that the least inspirational for me personally was on day 12 where we had tea in a coconut shell and played Sri Lankan games. Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed the novelty and played the games, it was not inspirational in any way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. Knowledgeable. Concerned. Made sure we were safe and happy. Ensured we were given the right amount of information. Excellent communication skills. Friendly and welcoming right from the start. I cannot speak highly enough of Nalaka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the notes given by Exodus, as they are accurate. Just go with an open mind, take in all the experiences. Take mosquito repellant with you, it is really necessary. Remember to get your ETA on line Things can be bit pricey but take cash in £'s and US$.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No, just do it. We had a great group of people, good age selection, eclectic and we worked well together the whole trip, I would have liked a couple of days in Galle, the atmosphere was lovely and there is so much to see there.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Dayl Dufrane

    DIscover Sri Lanka

    Two weeks of absolute bliss. A group of 15 gelled magnificently considering age range was between 28- 72! Starting in the capitol, Columbo we ventured north to Dambulla + Sigiriya taking in Cave temples and climbing the impressive Lion Rock- what views! Something we would get used to over the course of the fortnight, each different view offering us an awesome insight to the lush, green island before us. Game parks - herds of elephants- not the odd one or two - dozens. Along with multitudinal birds of all colours , shapes, sizes and other animals( although the Leopard did not make an appearance this time )- Sri Lanka is a nature lovers paradise. Temples, architecture, stupas, sculptures in abundance enough to satisfy the cultural aspect of the trip. Cycling through paddy fields, white water rafting , whale watching all achieved and even if you were not athletically inclined the majority of luxurious hotels had a pool to lounge by and an informal game of cricket on the beach caught the imagination of even the most non sporting amongst us. Trips to a gem factory , woodcarving store, spice garden were also on the itinerary. There was something for everyone. Food was delicious - curry and rice but other 'western' food available. Beer relatively cheap. shopping in Kandy was a must - this definitely the place to get any souvenir or just to treat yourself. Can't believe we did so much and saw so much - the time flew by - even the 'free days'. Thoroughly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the white water rafting and floating down the river kept afloat by life jacket. Swimming in Indian ocean also high on hit list

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Neelaka has the broadest grin ever. He was so knowledgeable about all sorts, plants, animals, birds, temples, history, religion, geography- like many guides has a repertoire of anecdotes. He had time for everyone, no 'problem' was too small and was sorted immediately. Definitely made the holiday - a good group leader, one of best I have encountered

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a prepaid card for money. ATMs available and cash can be exchanged at airport. Buy goods in Kandy - best prices here. Laundry available in some hotels - you do not need to take loads of clothes. Try all the food - even curry for breakfast - has to be done Be aware the train may be mega crowded

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the most enjoyable trips I have been on with Exodus. Try everything - even eating your food with fingers! Take lots of photos- you will do sooooooo much you will not remember - oh don't forget the tuk tuk transport
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Mark Quigley

    Discover Sri Lanka Premium

    Beautiful and varied country with a lovely laid back and fascinating culture. The trip manages to combine a good mix of scenery, culture and history in a relaxed manner with outstanding food if you like moderately spicy curry. The logistics and transport were excellent. The hotels were superb except for one which we understand Exodus will not use in future.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sigirya rock was both fascinating and visually impressive, helped by the fact that our tour leader organised for us to see it first thing in the morning before the crowds arrived. Candy and the temple of the Tooth were also impressive but then again so was the bike ride along the river and travelling through the tea plantations. Each day was different and interesting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was outstanding. He was calm, assured, organised, approachable, knowledgeable, sociable, with an English sense of humour. He brought the trip to life not only explaining the history but also never afraid to discuss the challenges facing modern Sri Lanka. It was no surprise to learn is in the Exodus Hall of fame.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Watch out for small leeches on the jungle walk if it's been raining. they are harmless but it's a bit unpleasant.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Roger Smith

    Lovely trip of Sri Lanka with a variety of activities

    Lovely country, lovely people. Trip had good variety of culture, scenery, wildlife and walking/cycling/rafting. Fairly active trip but with times to relax. Group mixed well which made the trip more enjoyable. Hotels good except at Kitulgala. Drives not too long - able to spread out in coach (driver and mate really good).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing around 150-200 elephants converge at the National Park on Day 3 and watching them play and interact.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was a very experienced group leader with a great sense of humour and organisational skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take good trainers/walking shoes as they are required for some of the walks. There seem to be quite a lot of 'special' days when no alcohol available.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Adrian Murton

    Discover Sri Lanka, premium holiday

    This holiday provides a really good overview of the highlights of Sri Lanka

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All three in our party had different moments: The views from Lion Rock, meeting a family at a farm and surviving the white water rafting! Plus many, many more

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan was excellent. He always informed us what we were doing, and made sure we had enough time to see and experience everything

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was easy enough to get money from ATMs, so travellers cheques were not needed. Most hotels also took credit cards. Be prepared to eat a lot of hotel buffets as there's not much option to eat out

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip is very busy (especially if you do all the options), but there is also plenty of time to relax as well.
Call us on 0800 643 997