Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Ask a Question
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Tuscany Kevin

An excellent tour with sensible walks, great food and marvellous sightseeing.

Most Inspirational Moment

Revisiting Siena

Thoughts on Group Leader

Outstanding

Advice for Potential Travellers

Enjoy!

Suggestions

The hotel was rather isolated so there were no options for eating elsewhere as taxis are scarce.

Survey feedback

Overall trip was a great experience

Most Inspirational Moment

Santiago cathedral was breathtaking

Thoughts on Group Leader

Alvard Simenes was excellent. I lost my luggage, Al supported me and came with me to purchase some walking gear.

Stunning scenery and bears

I had no idea how beautiful Romania is the location of Magura was so green in May, the rolling hills and snow capped mountains was perfect. Lovely hotel, friendly staff and plenty of home cooked food all locally sourced.

Most Inspirational Moment

Bears!! And seeing their footprints when out walking, along with all the other wildlife you see and hear (cuckoos).

Thoughts on Group Leader

Thomas was fab!! So friendly, a wealth of knowledge, inclusive of the whole group, a brilliant guide.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Take walking poles, as in parts it’s steep and undulating. A lunchbox is a good idea to take, just so it’s not squashed in your rucksack or in the paper bag that’s provided when you make them at breakfast. Take ear plugs as you will hear the dogs barking at night!

Suggestions

I would highly recommend visiting, really enjoyed it.

Borneo Wildlife Discoverer

What can I say – what an amazing trip. From start to finish we were incredibly lucky with what we saw and the encounters we had. Starting in Bako NP, we saw wild proboscis monkey and were treated to a rare sighting of a Colugo (flying lemur) taking flight over our heads during the day. On the way back on the boat, we were even treated to a viewing of pink dolphins.

In Mulu, the caves were beautiful and great fun to walk through. Although we were supposedly there during the ‘dry’ season, climate change has made the weather much more unpredictable. We had lovely weather both mornings, but torrential rain in the afternoons and overnight, so much so that the bats stayed inside the cave on the first night. Patience and a willingness to walk in the rain with crossed fingers paid off on the second night, and we were treated to a spectacular bat exodus during sunset. The weather is very changeable in Mulu (and Borneo in general) so even if it looks as though it may be too wet for the bats, I would recommend heading to the viewing area anyway as you never know! Even in the rain, the air temperature is warm and you dry off quickly.

Moving to Sabah, the highlights have to be the Kinabatangan River and Danum Valley. Both were so rich in wildlife and we had such amazing viewings in both locations. The Orangutan and Proboscis monkey sanctuaries are great and do fabulous work, but nothing compares to seeing these animals truly out in the wild. We were incredibly lucky with our sightings and saw not only the Borneo Big 5 (orangutan, proboscis monkey, crocodile, rhinoceros hornbill and pygmy elephant) but a huge array of other primates and birds (long and short tail macaques, gibbons, silver and red leaf monkeys, flying squirrels, owls, civets, slow loris, eagles, deer and many more) . Particularly in Danum Valley, take the opportunity to do as much as possible. There are a couple of places on the track and boardwalk that you can go independently providing the sun is up. A few of us in the group met up at 6am on both mornings in Danum and we were rewarded with a group of gibbons eating and playing in the trees on both mornings – a sight not repeated during the day. Seize every opportunity and just explore and enjoy.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing the wild mother orangutan with her 1 year old baby up close in Danum Valley. We were the only group on that particular trail at the time and we were able to observe the two eating fruit up in the tree, before coming down and crossing over to a different tree right in front of us. The gentle and relaxed attitude of the mother was such a pleasure to experience and we were able to observe and photograph the two together in their natural habitat for an amazing time. I also personally loved seeing the red leaf monkeys (or maroon langurs). These guys were an incredible flame red and moved through the trees so quickly - such a joy to see. Our guide in Danum (thanks Hairie) did such an amazing time in spotting the wildlife for us, and even managed to find two groups of red leafs on the different days. At Kinabatangan River on our last river safari, we got to see a full herd of pygmy elephants crossing the river right in front of our boat which was just incredible.

Thoughts on Group Leader

We had two leaders for the trip - Nazim in Sarawak and J in Sabah. Both were excellent guides and went out of their way to accommodate any requests and ensure that the entire group got the most out of the trip possible. In Sarawak, Nazim was such a lovely, bubbly guide - always looking for things to show us and little extras to do, be it wild swimming in Mulu or going to see the sea stacks (and accidentally finding pink dolphins) in Bako. In Sabah, J took over and quickly learned the group's preferences and desires for the trip. He was excellent at adjusting our schedule or activities to best fit with the group and was able to maximise our wildlife viewings and time spent in nature. I understand that this is the first trip Exodus have operated with the new model of split guide duties. We were lucky that both our guides were amazing, and our group of 7 all gelled really well. It seems to me that it could be difficult for the second guide (and the group) when you switch, having spent the first 5 days bonding and getting into a rhythm with the first guide, only for this to then change on arrival in Sabah. It must be hard for the guide too, to come into an already formed group, but J did a fantastic job.

Advice for Potential Travellers

As mentioned in a previous review, you really do not need much in way of long trousers and tops. It is very hot and humid, so quick-dry shorts and t-shirts are the way to go. It is easy to wash these out in the hotels each evening and they dry quickly in the air conditioning. Almost all the places we stayed (the longhouse excluded) had good air-con and so you could wash and dry clothes quickly and easily. Whilst Borneo is a Muslim country, it is not nearly as conservative as some and shorts and t-shirts are generally fine throughout. Even in Danum, most of us had short-sleeves on; although you definitely do need long trousers and socks there for the leeches. Be prepared that it can and will rain with little to no warning, so if you are carrying expensive camera gear or anything you do not want to get wet, ensure you always have a dry bag or something waterproof to wrap your equipment up in if necessary. I found it far too hot and humid to even consider putting on a poncho or raincoat on during the rain, so just accepted I would get wet. Even after a good soaking in Mulu, I was dry within 15 minutes of the rain stopping. Pack light - you are moving around a lot and do not want to be struggling with a large bag.

Suggestions

We had a small issue with the optional snorkelling trip in KK where the local booking agent told us there was a minimum booking number of 4 persons and as we were only 3 on the booking, we would have to pay an additional 37% on the ticket price to be able to participate. When we got to the activity, we found out this was absolutely not correct and there were other people who had booked solo or in pairs with no such condition. Essentially, the local booking agent had charged us 37% more and pocketed the extra. Exodus were quick to sort this out themselves, however it was somewhat frustrating. As such, if you want to go snorkelling in KK, I would recommend booking directly yourself. We went with Down Below Adventures and they were professional and safe, with a great set-up where you have a base on an island with toilets, showers etc, and then head out on the boats to three distinct snorkelling locations. We saw eagle rays, turtles, black-tip reef sharks and an array of fish and corals. The trip was definitely worth it, despite the slight issue with the booking.

Croatia 2034

Fantastic holiday with a wonderful tour guide Vanja. Met new friends and saw and viewed great sites.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing Dubrovnik from high

Thoughts on Group Leader

There aren’t enough adjectives to describe how fabulous she was. Went over and above. Best group leader I have traveled with. Including all explore and exodus trips which are about 15

Advice for Potential Travellers

Go on this trip

Suggestions

Wonderful trip, fantastic icecream

Brilliant adventure

This was my third Italian walking trip with Exodus, and certainly matched the previous walks in the excellence of our guide (Michela), hotel accommodation and experience of this fascinating part of Italy. We had two bad days of torrential rain, which forced a re-think on how we would spend our free day. On the second day, the scheduled walk would have been dangerous so a different option was chosen. The walks we were able to do in the good weather were challenging, but definately worth the effort for the glorious views down to the cinque terra towns. There were options for those that found the going a bit tough, and preferred a more relaxing pace but most chose to follow our guide.

Most Inspirational Moment

The view of Portofino from the hills above - this was a particularly lovely walk with stunning views. Also, absolutely loved the wine tasting evening.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Excellent - she was considerate and totally involved in making sure we stayed safe and happy. She organised evening options for those that wanted to participate, educated us on the sights and features of Liguria, and encouraged everyone learned a little bit of basic Italian! Could not recommend her more highly.

Advice for Potential Travellers

This is a great trip but just be aware that the Cinque Terra towns are very small and can be very crowded. The restaurants are very accommodating but also very busy. Also take walking poles for the steeper walks, unless you are super fit. They are particularly useful if you have even slightly dodgy knees.

Getting up close with the Incas

Great trip – wonderful hiking and views

Most Inspirational Moment

through the sun gate

Thoughts on Group Leader

Very knowledgeable and helpful - taking into account all abilities of group

Advice for Potential Travellers

Wonderful experience

Wonderful Tour!

Amazing tour! Such a stunning part of Spain! The views from the hikes were incredible but the hiking was very challenging! I thought I was in good shape until we started these hikes and quite a bit of it was steep terrain, which was difficult. I trained prior to the tour but definitely not 3-4 hours uphill at one time. Some of us stayed back at the hotel a couple of days since it was difficult, which also worked out well to relax a little. Just be prepared and know it’s quite challenging. Weather at the end of April/early May was perfect for hiking. Nice cool weather in the morning and rain late in the afternoon. Having snow on the mountains also made it even more beautiful. I loved the hotel and the views from the hotel. We had a great tour guide and wonderful group of people from several countries. It was a very well organized tour.

Most Inspirational Moment

Loved the Cares Gorge hike! It was stunning!

Thoughts on Group Leader

He was very knowledgeable and kind

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be comfortable with long distances uphill on steep terrain.

An excellent and most fascinating holiday

This was a well organised trip. Namibia is a vast country of great contrasts and spectacular scenery. Each area we visited was so different and fascinating and our guide (Shane Katjirua) was incredibly knowledgeable about the history, geology, people and wildlife of each particular region. This all contributed to a very interesting and most enjoyable holiday..

Most Inspirational Moment

There were so many highlights on this particular holiday.

Thoughts on Group Leader

I cannot rate our Group Leader Shane Katjirua more highly. He was extremely knowledgeable and shared so much of his expertise with us all. He was highly efficient in all his planning and organisation and was extremely helpful to all members of the group with any particular queries/questions they might have had. He was simply amazing in his ability to spot things of interest from afar, be it animals or birds and without his ‘eagle eye’ we would have missed so many things. During our time at Etosha he always seemed to have our vehicle at the right waterhole at the right time, thus enabling us to get the most enjoyment from our game drives and see so much varied wildlife. His driving, on the lengthy journeys and varying Namibian road surfaces was superb. He was always smiling and cheerful and he was particularly helpful to us with his efforts in trying to get to the root of a problem that occurred towards the end of the holiday. This involved our onward transportation, which we had paid for, in advance of the trip but which the company in Namibia, with whom we were taking the onward travel had, it seemed, not received payment for. Our guide spent some considerable time on our behalf trying to sort all this out.

Advice for Potential Travellers

On looking into various options for holidays in Namibia, I received advice from various holiday companies. Many suggested that the option to fly from camp to camp was advisable since, because of the huge distances to cover, more time could be usefully spent in the camps rather than long days travelling. I had initially thought that this sounded good advice. However, we ultimately chose Exodus and this Lodge holiday because, we have enjoyed excellent holidays with Exodus before and the timing of this trip suited us absolutely perfectly, tying in with another commitment we had in Namibia and which followed on from the ‘Discover Namibia’ group trip. I would say, that although some of the driving days were lengthy, had we opted to fly from lodge to lodge as suggested by other companies, we would have missed so much of this wonderful country. We would not have seen so much wildlife as we travelled along the road, along with scenes of local African life in general and our experience of the country would certainly have been the poorer for that. There was just so much to see as we travelled along the road. The varying contrasts and impressive scenery would have been lost to us.

Suggestions

After a slight initial hiccup at the start of the booking process of our holiday in the UK, the organisation of the trip was very efficiently handled, especially as we had an extra requirement for the holiday that had to be factored in. This request, whilst being handled by the Senior Consultant who was dealing with our booking, all proceeded in a professional way. Having finalised the booking and paid for the holiday, we were then handed over to a “Customer Operations Executive’, whose initial email of introduction advised me he was there for anything I might need. I sent two emails with requests for information, to which, after some time, he replied. The answer to the third query relating to baggage allowance did not reach me until we were already well into our flights to Namibia. However, unfortunately , the most troubling issue related to a transfer we had paid for, on settlement of our final account. On discussing this onward transfer half way through the holiday with our Guide, he ascertained that although the bus company had our names down for the ongoing transfer back to Swakopmund, they had not received any payment. Not only was this most worrying, since we absolutely had to be back in Swakopmund on a particular evening but it was extremely embarrassing knowing we had paid and that no ongoing payment had been forthcoming. This resulted in our Guide having extra work to do on top of his schedule as well as myself having to send emails back to the UK, in the middle of our holiday, in order to try and find out exactly what the situation was. I feel that perhaps a bit more attention might have been given to the emails together with ensuring that all details relating to the booking were finalised and complete.

Walking tour

Excellent walks hotels mediocre

Most Inspirational Moment

Coastal walks and mountain walk

Thoughts on Group Leader

Brilliant

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be aware of the accommodation and what is offered. Exodus briefing a little simplistic

Suggestions

None