Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Outstanding holiday

This trip was outstanding throughout – very well organised prior to leaving and kept fully updated, and with continuous excellent organisation and service throughout the trip from Mikhled, our local contact and guide for the trip. All days were very well scheduled and were very well planned in advance, with our guide continually liaising with the cycle team, support bus, police in attendance, and with all snacks and lunches available on schedule. Mikhled, our guide, was also extremely knowledgeable on all sites visited and had obviously studied them in considerable detail. He was also very well trained in presentation techniques, ensuring we were given all necessary information while avoiding overloading us, but still being able to respond to any queries. We had a great introduction to local culture, with Mikhled advising on and accompanying us on evening meal trips, and also introducing us to and liaising with a variety of local people who were very happy to share their life and experiences with us.

Most Inspirational Moment

Very hard to pick select, as all sites visited gave us a detailed and informed insight on a wide variety of experiences. Petra was an obvious highlight, and was far more extensive than I had expected. Wadi Rum was beautiful and peaceful - and additionally for us as, after our daughter's partner asked Mikhled for advice, they became engaged in the Bedouin camp, in the desert, under a full moon.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Mikhled is the best group leader I have met! He is extremely knowledgeable about all the sites visited, and continued providing advice during the bus journeys on the areas passed through. He is very proud of his heritage (Jordanian Bedouin) and was very happy to share detailed knowledge of his lifestyle as requested. He also appeared to have a wide range of local contacts throughout the trip who he encouraged us to befriend and interact with, while liaising as required. I am also very impressed with his dedication to his group - although being with us throughout, I became aware that he was also in constant liaison with Exodus, and with all support personnel (cycle team, drivers, police, accommodation and meals providers). He also fully managed on our behalf the ongoing daily expenses including appropriate tips - all done transparently and very efficiently, removing and doubt or embarrassment from us.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Trust your Exodus group leader. Also trust Exodus prior to your trip - they have excellent local people on the ground who will safely advise on and manage the trip. It was very disheartening to see the effects on the local people of extensive tour cancellations, apparently due to concerns of the Israel/Gaza situation, which was very distant and had minimal effect on us (just a relatively mild heightened security)

Suggestions

Cycling days on this trip did include some extensive downhill riding which had the potential to be relatively fast and required confidence. We were at the rear of the group, however the cycle leader fully accommodated slower riders, including a number of 'catch-up' breaks to allow regrouping. He was also very capable and (impressively) was fully able to cycle between both ends of the group! For slower riders - there is no cause for concern - the cycle leader has to lead (with in our trip an advance marked police car presence), and at the rear was the cycle mechanic's van and the tour bus. On one day the group extended a bit and the tour bus took up a mid station which gave safe control along the length of the group. There was also a willingness to allow tired (or unwell) people to take the bus, and rejoin the cycling group whenever required.

AMAZING!

First of all, this is an AMAZING trip. It is perfectly designed to have the right amount of activity, sights, experiences and cycling. There’s downtime, there’s bike rides, there’s not too long in the coach, there’s swimming and hammam and sights and I really appreciated three nights in the same hotel in Petra. I had never been on a cycling holiday before and so I have a few things to say about that! I cycle around my home town a lot and go to the gym so I kinda thought I would be fine. And I was fine, BUT what I wasn’t prepared for were the steep downhills! So that is what I would like to warn people about. If you are not a confident cyclist and if you are scared going fast downhill, then be warned, there is a LOT of that! Here is my breakdown of the cycling. Everything else was pretty much PERFECT! Obviously, we pretty much all got sick! And our cycle guide was pretty useless, but apart from that…! DAY TWO [first day of cycling]. Got our bikes, our cycle guide Iz, zoomed off downhill along a major road, without any introduction. I found this a really challenging first day. There was no gentle introduction to the roads, off we went! There was a mix of downhill and flat, but the pace was crazily fast. Things settled down on day three, but I thought the guide was really rubbish on this first day and there was no pacing at all. He was monosyllabic anyway, but I was at the back the whole time and he really didn’t care to check in! Our guide eventually had a go at him and he did token checks on us, but not impressed! DAY THREE gentle ride to Nebo and then we had to go down the windy highway for ages. I was dreading it, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought and actually better than yesterday! The pace was much better. The last part of day was a flat, hot slog along a motorway [!] to the Dead Sea. DAY FIVE Pleasantly undulating! My favourite day of cycling. Little Petra was fab too! DAY SIX I was of course sick by this point. The big bad long day! There are maybe two super steep sections and maybe two long ascents, but it was definitely a great day’s ride. Iz didn’t want to tell us about the ride, for some reason, but he eventually described it as section one downhill, section two undulating, section three flat, and that’s broadly true. DAY SEVEN needed a bag for swimming, a bag for wadi rum camp ,and a bag for the bus. So that was a mental challenge!! Today’s ride was another flat, hot slog, but great. I’m starting to think I actually prefer undulating! At one point the guide, Iz, told me to get a move on! Wadi Rum completely exceeded expectations. Loved the camels. Loved the stargazing. Loved everything – food, culture, the sights, the hotels, it was all great. I give this trip 10/10 for experience. Consider if the cycling is the right level for you, it WAS the right level for me, but I was always at the back because of the scary downhills, but i’m SO GLAD I did it! Also, our group was just gorgeous.

Most Inspirational Moment

Stars at Wadi Rum, floating in Dead Sea, the first glimpse of Petra, Little Petra which I adored, the camels and the dogs and the kittens... hang on - did you only want one?!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our group leader was adequate. We know he did a lot of sorting out behind the scenes, but he was also pretty tired.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Bring bags for various packing that's needed! I expected Wadi Rum to be freezing at night [nov] and it wasn't so I'd overpacked. Spent about £275 in extras, including hammam and camel ride and £75 to leader for tips and snacks.

Suggestions

I just think this is a perfectly designed trip, the balance is perfect and the sights are MORE THAN AMAZING

Jordan Exceeded Expectations

An incredible trip, would highly recommend. So many highlights it’s difficult to list them all!

Most Inspirational Moment

Petra and Wadi Rum exceeded high expectations, with the right amount of time spent in both places. Jerash was an unexpected hidden treasure. The day in the desert of watching the sunset, having a traditional ground cooked meal and sitting by the campfire under the stars was unforgettable. Our group was great fun and this really enhanced the experience. Spending an evening in the home of a local family in Petra was a unique experience.

Thoughts on Group Leader

We learnt so much from Mikhled about the culture, history, education and politics of Jordan. We left with a far better understanding of the country. We travelled during the end of Ramadan, and really appreciated Mikhled having to spend Eid with us when I'm sure he would have rather been with his family. He dealt with a medical emergency very efficiently and also went the extra mile to make my birthday special.

Advice for Potential Travellers

In terms of clothing, normal cycling gear was perfectly acceptable (including female cycling shorts and tshirts) just have a wrap and some trousers ready on the bus for when you visit any towns. Using wraps as head coverings wasn't essential from a religious perspective, but was a very good way of protecting from the sun and heat. I wouldn't bother with the Hamman in Petra, it was okay but nothing special.

Suggestions

We didn't get the chance to see Amman as our flight arrived after midnight and there was no time during the evening of our last day to visit the old town. We'd suggest adding a day to your trip either at the beginning or the end to be able to see Amman

Cycling in Jordan

Excellent and well organised trip. Bikes in good condition and relatively new. Daily cycling a little less than several of us expected but the level (3 – moderate) is appropriate. Suitable for a keen weekend cyclist, not necessarily someone looking to do lots of miles per day. That said, some downhill sections were long and difficult. Traffic not a problem. Throughout, food and accommodation were good – although the desert camp bedding did require a sleeping bag liner. Overall, sights and sounds of Jerash, Petra and Dead Sea made this a memorable trip well organised by Exodus.

Most Inspirational Moment

Both Jerash and Petra were outstanding visits. It's a pity the one week schedule doesn't allow more time there - if anything, I'd drop the Aqaba element in favour of more Petra or Wadi Rum time.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Sammi was an excellent leader, obviously an expert in herding cats. Similarly 'Us' and the cycle team were great.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Get in more cycle practice than you think you'll need. Distance isn't the problem (about 40km per day average) but the heat in mid-May was (34 degrees average).

Suggestions

Flight arrival time after midnight with an early morning start was too tiring for most. An earlier flight or arrival a day in advance is recommended. There are lots of early morning starts and late meals on the trip so many of the group were constantly tired - in addition to the cycling.

Astounding Jordan

An excellent holiday, taking in religious history, amazing scenery, ancient civilisation and making fab friends.

Most Inspirational Moment

All of it was inspiring. Petra was a highlight but I was just as excited by the religious history and loved the snorkelling at Aqaba.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Sami organised us all well and was informative on culture and history. However we did tend to get ‘dumped’ at our hotels and told dinner was at 8 but not given any info on what we could do in the meantime, which was sometimes half a day.

Advice for Potential Travellers

If you are a woman take long sleeved tops. I had not been to an Middle Eastern country before and the absence of women out of the main tourist areas really hit me.

Suggestions

This was such a fantastic trip, so much history and culture to absorb. The cycling was a bit different as a lot was downhill. As much as I enjoyed the trip if you were going for the cycling this wouldn’t be the holiday for you as it’s an extra not a main part. The cycling also felt quite rushed and I felt that as our group leader wasn’t a cyclist this affected this part of the holiday slightly negatively.

Amazing thanks to Mikhled!

There were so many aspects of this trip that made it so incredible: a great group of fellow cyclists, a well planned route which ensured we saw the key sights of Jordan but mostly it was our guide Mikhled. Mikhled managed to perfectly blend being a highly professional and effective leader with being friendly and fun to be with. When things didn’t quite work out for us (not his nor Exodus’ fault) he always worked hard to find a solution. For example, on the day we visited all 1500 visitors had to be evacuated from Petra mid-afternoon due to torrential rain and flash-floods. Because of this we didn’t get to climb up the 900 steps to the monastery. The next day, when we had a few hours spare in the afternoon he arranged for those who didn’t want to return to Petra to go back to the hotel while organising a bus for the rest of us to go back to Petra to experience the incredible monastery sight! I would recommend the Petra & Wadi Rum Bike trip to anyone; it is something you will love and an experience to cherish for always. However, if you are lucky enough to have Mikhled as your guide leader you can be assured that everything will be done to optimise every second of the trip. Thank you Mikhled! My only negative comment is that Exodus is possibly growing too fast – the communication with the office team was poor. Emails getting no response until chased several times, welcoming us home while we were mid-way through the trip etc etc.

Most Inspirational Moment

Petra and the monastery were, of course, incredible sights. The camping in the Bedouin tents in Wadi Rum wasn't a luxury experience but was a wonderful night not to be missed. We had dinner around a camp-fire with food coming from dishes buried under the sand and cooked by the day's sun. Things like these were additional bonus aspects of the trip. Floating in the dead sea was something I'd always wanted to do but it was also moments such as cycling through a little town as the mosque's call for prayer chimed that made it so special.

Thoughts on Group Leader

I can't praise Mikhled enough. He made our trip so special and looked after everyone. He was efficient, highly effective and professional but also a fun member of the group. He did everything within his powers to go out of his way to make every moment the best he could. There was never a "I can't do that" - he always went out of his way to find a solution. If you can have Mikhled as your leader - get the trip booked today!! You won't regret it!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Two suggestions: 1) We arrived a day early so we had time to visit the Citadel and Roman temple. Sadly those who arrived on the scheduled date never got to see these sights. One solution would be to have the 4x4 ride around Wadi Rum on the evening we arrived so that we could have quick camel ride in the morning before returning to Amman early. This would give those who hadn't seen the Citadel and Roman theatre a chance to see these sights. 2) Please change the hotel in Amman. The Days Inn is pretty tired with cracked tiles and mould around the bathroom area. It may be in the centre of the new town but tourists are only interested in the old town. Please find a nice hotel near the Citadel and Roman Theatre. Everyone in our group said they'd prefer to pay another £50++ per night to stay in a nicer and better located hotel.

Suggestions

My view of Exodus continues to be very positive and I'm happy to recommend you to others however the administration team at Exodus is poor. Slow to respond - too many errors. Be careful you're not growing faster than your office team!

A perfect blend of culture and adventure!

We have just returned from this trip and it was truly one of the best! A wonderful blend of cycling, swimming, walking and culture. Mikhled our guide was amazing and nothing was too much trouble. He is so knowledgeable on his country and culture. The cycling team were great and led us on some fabulous rides. Lots of fantastic downhill but also a fair few hills too! The views were incredible and we were well looked after. Petra is spell binding. The only day of rain was the day we went to Petra and by midday we had to be evacuated due to flash floods! However we still managed to see plenty! Some of us revisited the next afternoon when the weather was better and climbed up to the Monastery for spectacular views. Camping in the Wadi Rum was just amazing and a great way to end a magnificent trip.

Most Inspirational Moment

Too many to choose just one!! We revisited Petra on our free afternoon having cut our visit short the day before. We climbed the 900 steps up to the Monastery and were not disappointed. The view from the highest point was out of this world. The snorkelling in the Red Sea was also a high point. The sea was crystal clear and the coral and fish just superb. And finally camping in the Wadi Rum was just fantastic. Nothing can prepare you for the vastness of this beautiful desert. We arrived at sunset and after dinner we lay down on the sand and gazed up at the stars. In the morning we watched the sunrise! It was just awesome. We finished up with a camel ride! Definitely something to tick off the bucket list!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Mikhled was just great! Nothing was too much trouble and he worked tirelessly all week to ensure we had a great experience. Our accommodation at Petra was double booked and whilst we were enjoying ourselves he was beavering away arranging alternative accommodation which we thought turned out an upgrade - a superior glamping camp in the middle of nowhere! It was delightful! He is also so knowledgeable about his country and culture. He very sensitively explained Arabic, Christian and Moslem sensitivities in the area.

Advice for Potential Travellers

This is a great trip if you fancy combining adventure and culture.

Suggestions

Bring plenty of clothing for all weathers! We were unlucky to have heavy rain one day and it was chilly and overcast the next . All the rest of the trip was hot and sunny so we need hats and suncream too. It also gets pretty cold in the desert after sunset.

Superb Trip

We were a private group of 9 chaps, none of us spring chickens. We went early-March, and the weather was generally warm apart from a couple of very chilly mornings. We were led there by our brilliant leader Mikhled; nothing was too much trouble for him, and he is very knowledgeable. A wonderful country, very friendly. The trip was a good mixture of biking and mini-bus transport. Highlights were Petra, Wadi Rum, the Dead Sea, and Red Sea/Aqaba. Some steep cycling downhill sections and the odd walk up hills – no great surprise at our age! Accommodation fine and food generally excellent; alcohol is sometimes available, sometimes not, so you need to plan a bit in advance if you like to imbibe, as we do. Overall view – highly recommended. (One tip – we were advised to take US dollars as well as Jordanian dinar; you only need the latter in reality).

Jordan by bike

This was a great trip because of the staff that were with us. The guide Anas was so accommodating and helpful, always smiling and wanting to share as much knowledge about Jordan as possible. No problem was too difficult for him to try to sort. The driver Walid was also hugely experienced and helpful. We were a very small group-3 of us and another super couple. Luckily it worked very well. There was a private group of 9 who were doing the same holiday and I presume that was how the 14 was made up. We were made to wait an hour every morning to let the private tour go first and this was probably the most annoying thing about the trip as we had to wait until 9.00 or 10.00 to leave and so had less time in the evening at our destination – a bit unfair but nothing our group had control over. Also think you should state there is really not much cycling in your brochure. And what cycling there is, is predominately downhill-and some of the downhill is very scary. Quite a few accidents between the 2 groups. We had a poor cycling guide who did not maintain a steady pace and this did not help with uphills and downhills. He seemed to care little what the group was doing, rarely looked behind and was also focusing on his training! Our guide spoke with him but I would suggest he is moved on. We had a day with an excellent cycling guide-ammar and so this guy’s failings really stood out.

Most Inspirational Moment

Jordan really was the most inspirational thing. It is a fantastic country to visit with so much to see. This is a holiday really jammed packed with sights. The backdrop of many of the cycles was also marvellous-great views of incredible rock formations. Nearly every day there was so much to see. Petra was hugely impressive and we had a great day there. However we stayed at Petra for 3 nights which was 1 night too long. This was also the poorest hotel and the food etc not great. Little Petra only took us at most 2 hours and it was quite a made up cycle that day-only 12 miles so we ended up with a free afternoon and another night there. Anas was great at suggesting activities for the afternoon but it was really just filling in time. We ended up in a very touristy Turkish baths which were not very nice. Luckily Anas organised a meal with a family that night and that was a superb evening. Other highlights were swimming in the Dead Sea, seeing the mosaics of Madaba and Mount Nebo and the fabulous Roman site at Jerash. The trip to Wadi Rum for the night was also wonderful. Lovely little camp in a perfect setting with a wonderful evening looking at the stars.

Thoughts on Group Leader

As mentioned above, Anas was a marvellous group leader. He really looked after us so well and really wanted us to have a good time. He dealt with things immediately and was very good at reporting back to us. We were a very small group but he was impressive at working out the best way for the group as a whole making sure no-one was left out. His leadership meant there was not one moment of stress to contend with! He had a great back up staff who all got on very well which also reflected well on Anas. He clearly loves his country and was very happy to share his life and customs with us. We learnt a lot from him. The cycling team who fixed our bikes were very helpful and good fun as was our driver. The only weak link was the cycling guide Josif, whose very uneven cycling pace could have endangered the group.

Advice for Potential Travellers

I think after the trip, that it is a good idea to consider a couple of days at the Red Sea-unfortunately this trip takes you back to Amman but if you can work it out, you can get a lift down to Aqaba and stay at the Sea-there is a short flight from Aqaba to Amman or you just do the car transfer to Amman at the end of your Red Sea adventure. Very easily arranged independently but we were very lucky that our group leader and driver helped us arrange transfers to our own hotel at the end.

Suggestions

Overall we had a fabulous time in a very interesting country. There are a lot of tourists but the short trips on the bike away from it all meant it was a great way to see Jordan rather than just sitting in a bus the whole time!!

Some reservations

Jerash, Petra and Wadi Rum are amazing!! I’m so glad that I have visited these fantastic places. I wouldn’t recommend going in the winter. The trip notes are not fully representative about how it is. I would also probably advise to go on a walking or sightseeing tour instead as the cycling is a bit limited (lots of sitting on a bike going steeply downhill) and the bikes are not as good as those used elsewhere.

Most Inspirational Moment

First glimpse of the Treasury in Petra Being in the huge expanse of Wadi Rum

Thoughts on Group Leader

Mixed I'm afraid. Very good initially but he disconnected a bit when he started to suffer from a cold.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Go in the spring or autumn. Think carefully about whether the cycling tour is the best one for you

Suggestions

I've been on lots of fantastic Exodus trips. This wasn't the best one but it will not stop me booking with them again.