Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jonathan Dusheiko

    Sri Lan-ka!

    Great cycling holiday through a stunning country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whizzing past white stupas with a backdrop of emerald green hills on day 5. Watching late afternoon cricket at Ella and views of mountains. Elephant up close in Yala National Park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh organised everything very competently,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I took a headband, removable UV-protective arm sleeves and sweat-proof sports sun cream. Don’t underestimate the equatorial sun, especially on the day after the big climb when you are also at 1900m! The big climb is not that bad if you have done some training, shortly after we arrived at the top a couple on touring bikes with heavy panniers got there as well to general amazement. Remember binoculars and a reasonable zoom camera for Yala NP. Don’t bother with full cycling gear for late afternoon visit to ruins at Pollonaruwa, more walking than cycling!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Eddie and Jan Summers

    An amazing experiance

    If you are having any doubt about booking this, think again. This is a trip of a lifetime and a truely amazing experiance. Cycling the backroads of Sri Lanka gives you a wonderful insight into the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through small busy towns, seeing local farmers working the land and visiting small farms,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Surresh made the experiance , and the support from the team was superb

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it you will not regret it
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Ravi Suchak

    Cycle back roads of Sri Lanka

    Fantastic trip- beautiful country with lots to see, friendly people and great food

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the Ayurvedic doctor who had a cure for everything...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is the best tour leader we have come across so far on our travels

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do NOT take the train from Kandy to Nuwara Eliya- stick to the bicycle/ bus if necessary
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tony Whelan

    Maximum Everything !!

    Absolutely loved this trip and would definitely recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind a little bit of graft for a whole lot of fun!! First of all, we had a cracking bunch of lads looking after us and they played a major part in creating a very enjoyable experience. Suresh was our main man and he was faultless in coordinating everyone to be where we needed to be, when we needed to be there. So many times above and beyond his call of duty throughout the trip to ensure extra activities were expertly organised and helping several of us who stayed on after the trip with travel arrangements etc. Sri Lanka proved to be far more than I expected; - the culture, lush verdant landscapes, golden beaches, bird, reptile and animal life and of course the people. Suresh's huge enthusiasm for his homeland was evident in all aspects and he obviously made sure we were treated like royalty wherever we went. The cycling was tough, even 'brutal' in the heat and humidity but descents through beautiful valleys and riding the backroads through villages, fields and forests was a real pleasure, our team made sure we had plenty of fruit, snacks and drinks to keep us going. A major plus on this trip for me was the minimal bus transfers and cycling hotel to hotel

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife which cropped up at almost every turn.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was brilliant 10/10 thank you for sharing your country with us, laughs, banter and great memories all the way.... "maximum damage, probably"

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sunscreen and sleeves, the sun is very strong, factor 50 didn't stop sunburn. Keep a small bag for easy access on the bus with a towel, shorts and T shirt in case of a heavy shower.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Standard of food was generally very good but too many hotel buffets for me, always the option of going your own way but the emphasis seemed to be on using hotel restaurants as a 'group'. I revisited the South Coast area with my wife after the Exodus trip finished and we found some lovely Roti shops and beach restaurants serving (very reasonably priced) fantastic seafood.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Chriscy Peacock

    Best cuided cycle trip so far

    There are two exceptional things about this trip, Sri Lanka and our guide Suresh. Sri Lanka is full of interest, landscape, culture, food and wildlife. So cycling through the mainly quiet roads of this beautiful and engaging country was always going to be good. The amazing level of enthusiasm, competence and good humour shown by Suresh and the rest of the team made for a truly exceptional holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the varied interesting countryside and seeing the wildlife at close quarters.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A lot has been written about Suresh in other reviews, so all I can do is confirm that his unbounded commitment to his guests and his country is exceptional. He managed with to get us up and out on schedule, point out all the wildlife and features we passed, and keep us fed and watered with great expertise and humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is graded moderate challenging and some days are, particularly the 7800ft of total ascent to get to Nuwara Eliya, but other days were fairly hard as well so do some training, but all achievable by a recreational ageing cyclist and there is always the insurance policy of the bus! We liked the food, it helps if you like curry and vegetarian food which always seemed to in clean well run places, doubtless due to the careful research of Suresh. Some roads do get busy but the traffic was not too chaotic or dangerous.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do go for a really good holiday
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Samantha Simister

    Our Sri Lankan Adventure

    A wonderful way to see Sri Lanka. The route captured everything from wildlife to culture to coast. Our Guide and Team were all exceptional, we couldn't fault them. A fabulous experience coupled with the opportunity to meet a super group of people. A good blend of moderate and challenging . A little less traffic, fumes and "excitement" on one or two of the roads we could have done without...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 1500m climb to Nuwar Eliya Cycling alongside elephants and monkeys

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Loved him. Exodus is lucky to have Neelaka . I have filled out a separate review for Neelaka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit and do the climb. Much better than taking the train......

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If there is any chance that the route can be changed to include one or two more back roads as opposed to the main trunk roads, that would be amazing. Try to avoid this trip taking place during Independence Day. We climbed to Nuwar that weekend and the traffic was terrible. Too many fumes. It would have been so much nicer without the amount of traffic...
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Lesley Attwood

    The best ever !

    This was simply the best cycle trip so far . Sri Lanka is as vibrant and colourful as I had hoped, and the cycling was amazing , but it is hilly so be prepared for some serious inclines in the saddle. It's not all back roads as per the title, but I felt safe throughout and it was great to see the hustle and bustle as well as the tranquility. The food was a journey in itself , and the standard of accommodation was far better than expected. One place is slightly ' below standard' , but the entertainment that night of our fantastic guide Suresh giving us a cookery demonstration more than made up for it. The trip is full on and busy but you will be entertained from the 6am wake up calls starts until you have your first well earned Lion beer every evening. Great company in my fellow cyclists, great support and the best ever guide in Suresh to make sure we made ' maximum damage' to cycling Sri Lanka 🇱🇰 .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up the steepest longest hill ever, seeing the elephants , whale watching - so many , too many to list.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh went beyond and above to make sure we had everything and more. He was extremely knowledgeable and interesting, plus had a good sense of humour. Everyone needs a Suresh !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit - it's a hilly place. And make sure you get your elephant tshirts in Kandi !
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Stephen Fahey

    Maximum Damage in Sri Lanka

    Gosh where to start... we have been on 3 trips now with Exodus and each time l think the guide is good, but Suresh was a true Ambassador not only for Exodus but most importantly Sri Lanka. He was so proud of it, the people, its geography, wildlife, flora and fauna and of course its culture. That deep knowledge helps convey a strong level of confidence and insight whenever he was "guiding" or asked questions about Sri Lanka. So that's him in a nutshell but there is so more to talk about what he and the supporting team delivered during our 2 weeks. The team were excellent, they were well briefed understood exactly what was needed, nothing was ever too much trouble. Every morning the bikes were cleaned if dirty, chains were cleaned and oiled & of course checked to ensure our safety. Whenever we stopped the team would quickly remove our drinks bottles and refill to ensure we kept hydrated, it was after all hot! In addition to our guide we also had two other cyclists riding, both were excellent at either supporting riders at the back of the group or riding ahead at key junctions to point the way or many cases stop the traffic so we could just continue cycling. We also had 3 others in the support team who were equally as helpful and again just could not do enough for you. Nobody could fault the team. I would say the group had a mixed level of experience, but at no point did any of them ever indicate that they always felt riding with them. They were always very encouraging. Many of the roads were as the trip notes state were just back roads quiet and full of life - local people, children shouting hello or goodbye, animals and birds. Traffic and driving in Sri Lanka can at times be described as a little chaotic, but even when we had to ride on main roads (A roads) they were never that busy. Whilst cycling Suresh’s knowledge of his environment was second to none, he ensured that we never missed anything - he even ensured that we had the right "lucky" Jeep driver to ensure we saw a Leopard in Yala National Park. His “management” of us was very professional, courteous and exceptionally polite when asking for people’s attention, it is often difficult to get but he did through his knowledge, respect and of course good humour. His ability to laugh at himself is a great virtue! When it came to the day to day logistics of riding, no stone was ever left unturned. Suresh ensured we received 100% service from not only him and his team but also those who provided us with Sri Lankan hospitality. Whether it was a simple & basic tea house, 4* hotel, or a dinner on the beach the relationship he had created with them meant service was second to none. It was evident that if any of these were not delivered to his exacting standards then he would tirelessly secure somewhere better. All these establishments knew that. I could say more but where to stop my final example would be on our departure day from the group. We decided to stay an additional week near Galle, so we asked Suresh if he could book us train tickets, contact the HomeStay to see if we could hire bikes, etc. which he duly did. Come the day of our departure at 6am from the Hotel, Suresh organised a tuk tuk for all 3 of us to get to Colombo train station. He accompanied us on to the right platform and ensured we get on the train safely. Once we were on he then of course left us. We then saw him 10 minutes later back on the platform. He had sent some photos of us on the platform to the WhatsApp group but when asked did we have seats he then had to stop his journey back to the hotel and return to the station to take some photos of us in said seats as evidence. Why would you do that? Simple because he truly cared. We absolutely loved every minute of our holiday to Sri Lanka, the people, its culture, the birds, wildlife, history and geography. All of this was fully exposed because of the insight and passion that Suresh and his team had. They truly bought it to life, guides can make or break a holiday, they made it for all of us. We will have no hesitation in returning and recommending this trip to other cyclists. It was ACE!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Though where Suresh truly excelled himself was in identifying, approaching and using the homes of the Sri Lankan people, whether they were providing a simple tea stop with clean toilets or a beautiful lunch. We went to one of the families of the coach driver, it felt truly special to be invited and shown around their homes. It just demonstrated why he and them are so proud of their country. It was great to see him and Exodus investing into the local economy and not some global corporation.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Rebecca Nansoz

    Book it!

    We have just returned from the most stunning 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. The trip is extremely well planned with interesting trips spaced between the cycling. The cycling is manageable - but be warned DAY 5! It is an extremely tough climb - and even the fittest amongst our fabulous group found it very tough. If you are lucky enough to have Wasantha as your leader, you will be spoilt. He is so knowledgeable, helpful and organised and nothing was too much trouble. Our group was very lively and he never got annoyed at having to repeat himself! We were blessed with perfect weather (be warned its v humid). Hotels mostly very good. Food is great and never ending. Many in our group had done quite a few Exodus cycling trips but voted this very highly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to the tea plantation was very interesting, as was the Spice Garden visit. Seeing wild elephants on the safari was also a highlight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wasantha went above and beyond. A lovely man who worked tirelessly to ensure our trip was a success.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit for the climb on Day 5. Don't bother to bring dollars. Just change pounds at the airport.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Yvonne Carson

    Fantastic experience

    This trip is fantastic! So well organised by the amazing guide, amazing wildlife and scenery and great cycling. Be prepared for the heat and the humidity, but the terrain is not too difficult. Accommodation was mostly very good or excellent, one not so good hotel. This is an experience to remember.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wild elelphants at the side of the road!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn’t fault Suresh. Best leader I have met. Lovely person. Well organised. Very high standards. A credit to his country and Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    enjoy every moment. Take anti bacterial gel, as toilet facilities can be basic out with hotels. Don’t need US dollars, Sri Lankan Rupee is best. Food is mostly rice and curry.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved this trip.
Call us on 0800 643 997