Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Graham Ritchie

    postscript

    Sorry, I meant to add that Exodus should perhaps delete the reference to the "library" on the cruise from the Trip Notes. The library consisted of 16 dog-eared books left behind by previous travellers. Only one was in English.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    n/a

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Graham for his feedback. We are, however, sorry to learn of his disappointment with the selection of books on the cruise. Our local operator has advised us that there are usually more books available, but sometimes a number of books end up in clients’ rooms and in other areas of the boat, such as the sun deck.  Our local operator has also confirmed that they plan to add more books to the library, in order for clients to have a greater selection. John Penge – Product Manager for Africa

  • Reviewed May 2018
    Jane Lee

    History in the Heat

    I've always been interested in Egyptian history and when friends suggested joining this holiday I booked straight away. And it didn't disappoint. Seeing & being able to touch stones & hieroglyphics that were put there thousands of years old was magical. Watching the scenery change as we cruised south on the Nile was also really good. Overall the tour was seamlessly organised and managed by our excellent guide, Sayed Mansour, who always made sure everyone was clear on timings and locations. He has an encycolopedic knowledge of both the country's history and also its modern day affairs. On the negative side, this trip is described as 'leisurely' which our group would dispute: we had 3 ultra-early wake up calls (2am & 3am twice) to catch planes and for the 300km coach drive to Abu Simbel. And there were early starts all other mornings too to beat the heat. This & the temps made it very sapping. The temps were much hotter (in mid to high 40sC) than usual as Egypt was having a heatwave, so drinking lots & loose clothing were musts. Thank goodness for air con on the coach & in our rooms!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding an Arabian stallion round the Pyramids with hardly anyone about. This was something I arranged privately because on Day 1 I opted out of the tour to visit an equine charity I support which helps the working horses in Giza

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above. Sayed Mansour was an excellent guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take £ notes as you can pay for the entry visa & all the extra trips with these (or dollars or local notes) & just change a small amount of Egyptian pounds A hat or scarf is a must. And don't wear hot pants-type shorts as your legs will burn & it offends the locals. Be prepared for the traders to hassle you endlessly, which can be intimidating
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Annette McCormack

    Nile Cruise

    This was a wonderful trip - I enjoyed it enormously.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to the temples at Karnak & Luxor

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khaled Lotfy was an excellent & inspirational group leader. He shepherded us around keeping a close eye on all our needs. His knowledge of the history & archaeology of Egypt was impressive. I feel enriched having spent a week in Egypt in his company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for lots of early mornings!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I thought the evening's entertainment on the boat was questionable. Whirling dervish as circus act?!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Donna Sanders

    Nile Cruise

    I do not have a very long 'bucket list', in fact Egypt is the only destination on it and this holiday did not disappoint. From the flight to Cairo to the flight home everything went without a hitch. The hotels and Nile Cruiser were very good and Sayed our Tour Leader was excellent. Thank you Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Nile Cruise was so relaxing. Being able to take time to look at the scenery and enjoy the life on the river banks as we gently moved up the Nile was magical. Abu Simbel cannot be described in words as there are none that will do it justice, truly awe inspiring. The Valley of The Kings was a surprise as it was much more compact than I had thought it would be and therefore much more impressive as there were so many tombs so close together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed Mansour our group leader was excellent. He calmly and quietly organised the week so that we had no worries and were able to concentrate on the trips. His knowledge, stamina, humour and versatility were outstanding. He was friendly but not overly so and always made sure that individual needs were catered for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Our trip was in the Egyptian winter and we did need a warm jacket and waterproof - yes it did rain in Aswan. You do not need a great deal of sending money as buying things is very reasonable. Once outside Cairo finding an ATM became a bit more difficult, mainly because of the itinerary. Change some of your money at the airport. Getting the visa at the airport was trouble free but there were queues. Lots of bottled water is provided by Exodus.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our group was not very happy with the captive crocodiles in the Nubian Village. We could have missed out visiting the house where they were kept for tourists and spent more time in the village itself.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Lynn Woods

    Nile Cruise and Pyramids

    This was a wonderful trip. It was very exciting to get our first glimpse of the Pyramids which were only a short ride from the airport. There was a few early morning starts which you should be prepared for and lots of optional tours so make sure you have budgeted extra for these. As you have to pay at the local toilets it would be handy to have some small change with you (which isn't easy to get) otherwise you will have some very expensive pees :-) I felt very secure the whole time we were there. There is security at all the hotels and museums.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pyramids for the first time was amazing. It was a good time to go as tourism is only just getting busy again and when we went to the pyramids we were able to get photos without hundreds of people being in the background.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Randa was wonderful. She was very passionate about everything and made the time to answer all questions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take/obtain small change. You can use US dollars. Be prepared for early morning starts. Be nice to the traders. You do not have to buy from them but be polite.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Even though this is a cruise clothing is very casual. When visiting the mosque on the second day make sure you have long trousers and a scarf to cover you head, otherwise there are no clothes restrictions but dress sensibly.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Nigel Haizelden

    Egypt - Truly a Wonder of the Wordl

    I have always dreamt of visiting Egypt and seeing for my self the many ancient wonders going back to the dawn of history. This trip was a dream come true. Having been back a few days I find it hard to believe I have seen and learnt much about so many awe-inspiring ancient monuments, the life of the Pharoahs, and experienced this wonderful diverse country with its friendly welcoming population. Yes there were many traders selling their wares at most places we visited, but this did not detract from the beauty and the history. Most were very polite and, bearing in mind the average salary is only 7000 Egyptian pounds per month (a little under £300 at the current exchange rate of 23.6) who can blame them for trying to extract the tourist dollar the economy depends so much on. They have some wonderful souvenirs at mainly very cheap prices too. This trip packed in so much - it is not for the infirm or feint hearted - although there is plenty of opportunity to opt out and rest if required. Personally I felt obliged to make the most of the trip and see and learn as much as possible. The Cruise upon our boat Mirage I was sublime with stunning sunsets and amazing views as we chugged up the great Nile to Aswan. The crew were friendly and helpful and a good variety of delicious freshly cooked food - and plenty of it. Overall a dream come true and an amazing experience shared with a great bunch of people on this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight of the trip was the recently reopened Seti I tomb in the valley of the kings - the brightly painted burial chamber being simply breath taking - WELL worth paying the extra 1000 Egyptian pounds for entry. In fact I did not regret any of the optional extras I paid for on this trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The other highlight was our SUPERB ever-smiling tour leader Ronda who worked tirelessly to keep us to schedule, sort out everyone's problems (including arranging for clothes and medication to be provided when my bag failed to reach the Cairo on the way out), and endless information on all that we saw - putting it into context and showing her very great knowledge and passion for her country and her former profession as an archaeologist. I cannot thank her enough for being such a fantastic guide!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice to others taking this trip would be to: Make the most of every opportunity to see the wonderful sights! Ensure you have essentials and spare clothes in your hand luggage just in case you bag takes a different route! Try early on to get small bill Egyptian dollars for things like toilet tips water etc - a small tip can make a big difference to lives of people there. Cash points are never far away and easy to use but will give big denomination bills unless ask for creative amounts (180 will get you a 100, 50, 20, 10 or 3 x 10) Drink plenty of water - it is easy to forget and be carried away with the sights and get dehydrated. Get at least a litre or two on board every day! Sun screen and hats to avoid getting burnt and sunstroke. Take spare camera batteries or if using a phone for pictures charging sticks - dont let lack of juice stop you capturing those memories!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you Exodus for a great experience and for all your back up when things went wrong with baggage - airline fail not the tour company. Couldnt have been more helpful to try and find the bag and assist with getting esentials. (bag finally found on on way back as I write.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Judy Groome

    Nile Cruise Premium

    I have always wanted to visit Egypt to see the antiquities, but because of the political instability I thought it would be unlikely. So when I saw this trip advertised I jumped at the opportunity. I felt safe thoughout the trip. The first day was a whirlwind visit to the Pyramids, the Sphinx, the Museum in Cairo, the mosque and the bazaar. We then flew to Luxor, visiting the Temple of Karnak and the Temple of Luxor and later boarding the Mirage 1, our cruise boat. This was a great experience, partly because of the wonderful group of people on the trip (19 of us in total), partly because of the comfort on board, the trips and also because the boat had only 40% occupancy so we almost had the boat to ourselves. I think we were all sorry to leave the boat after the 4 nights on board, but the next hotel in Aswan was very comfortable. In spite of visiting many temples and tombs, I never tired of hearing about the Egyptian gods and Pharaohs and looking at the wonderful carvings and art.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This was a trip I will never forget. So many memories, including "Dress up like an Egyptian" evening on the boat, trips in the horse drawn carriages (poor horses), the felucca rides on the Nile, the sharp contrast between the fertile Nile valley and the desert, the very pushy and persistent vendors, sunsets and sunrises on the Nile, the "towel sculptures" that greeted us when we went into our cabins, not to mention the great group of people! But for me, the highlight of the trip was a visit to Abu Simbel. This was an extra excursion and I opted to travel by road rather than fly - 300 km through flat, sandy, relentless, nothing-grows-here desert, which in its own way was beautiful, especially the sunrise and the mirages. Abu Simbel was probably the most amazing site of the whole trip (I actually think it more wonderful than the Taj Mahal!).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Fouad, was great. He was extremely knowledgable and we learned so much from him. Throughout the trip he managed to take us to places at times when most other visitors had not yet arrived, or had left, so we often had almost exclusive access.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go now before the crowds descent on Egypt once again.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip thoroughly lived up to my expectations, my only criticisms being that I would have preferred longer in Cairo/Giza, and the fact that many of the essential trips were add-ons rather than included in the holiday.
  • Reviewed June 2017

    Nile Cruise - an amazing trip

    This trip far exceeded my expectations. As we stopped at three different places, including the cruise, it felt like we had been away for longer than 8 days. We saw SO much! The Cairo Museum was amazing. Karnak Temple, Abu Simbel, the Pyramids at Giza and the Spinx and no crowds. Everywhere we stopped was clean and comfortable. It was a real privilege.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was being in the Valley of the Kings. To think how Howard Carter must have felt being there. It was so quiet. Going down the Nile and watching the sun setting will stay with me. Learning that Philae Temple and Abu Simbel were moved when the dam was build - what a feat of engineering. Visiting the Nubian museum. Having cocktails at the Old Cataract Hotel- again very quiet and wonderfully colonial.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed was a brilliant group leader and guide. He worked tirelessly to make sure that we saw as much as possible of this incredible place. His english is impeccable and he was great fun too. He varied our itinerary to ensure that we were up early to avoid the heat and get the best of the wonderful archeological sites. We also went out in the evening when it was atmospheric and cool. He is also an Egyptologist and so very knowledgeable about the history of the antiquities and sites we visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink plenty of bottled water; it's hot! Comfortable shoes is a must as you don't realise how far you walk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Egypt was very quiet and not many tourists. Go soon! Before everyone else decides to go..
  • Reviewed April 2017

    Nile Cruise -AENA

    I had previously booked a very similar trip in 2011, which had been cancelled due to political instability, so I was delighted when I saw this trip which included all the places I had wanted to visit at a very reasonable price! Although the activity level ranked this trip leisurely due to the limited time and so much to see and do - it was very busy. In fact an extra day in Cairo may have made it a little less rushed and given more opportunity to include some more of the optional activities and spend longer at the pyramids and Cairo museum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several wow moments for me on this trip: being inside the burial chamber of the Great Pyramid, visiting Tutankhamun’s tomb in the Valley of the Kings and floating down the Nile on a boat looking at the beautiful countryside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tarek was an excellent historian who shared his country with us enthusiastically.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Those travelling from the Uk don’t change your money into US dollars, you can change sterling into Egyptian pounds without problem. Consider packing an Egyptian adapter plug, lightweight long sleeved tops and trousers, a hat, swimsuits, scarves for women to cover their heads in mosques (I was also asked to wear a long skirt) and comfortable cool shoes. Medicine for stomachs - just incase- is a good idea too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I found the Egyptian people (apart from those selling souvenirs!) warm, friendly and very welcoming. They enjoyed speaking English and made me feel extremely welcome, many stating how pleased and thankful they were to see tourists who they desperately need to boast their economy.
Call us on 0800 643 997