Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2017
    Julian Penge

    Discover Namibia - Camping Trip

    What a fantastic trip in an amazing country! This is my eighth Exodus adventure in the last 6 years, and again, I wasn’t disappointed. From start to finish it was an exemplary journey. The trip itself was very comprehensive, from walking through a gorge at sunset to climbing a sand dune at sunrise; to dolphin watching in the morning and quad biking in the dunes in the afternoon. Both the wildlife viewing and the variation in geomorphology were outstanding across this beautiful county.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife viewings were fantastic, especially the leopard and bull elephant we saw next to our vehicle. We were extremely lucky; it was as if the leopard was posing just for us. These animals are generally very solitary and evasive and seeing one so up close was just incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rooney our group leader was superb; his driving skills and knowledge of Namibia were incredible. How he spotted some of the wildlife from the distance, I will never know. His two deputies, Jonas and Ruben, were also very hard-working gentlemen who looked after the twelve of us very well from dawn to dusk. They were very efficient in setting up and dismantling our tents, loading and unloading our vehicle and their cooking skills were great. What a great team to look after us!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travelling across this large country was very comfortable and safe; and both the tarmac and dirt roads were in excellent condition. The townships and campsites were very clean and the people were very friendly. I would just recommend bringing a good sleeping bag - and an excellent camera for the beautiful landscape and wildlife on show!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    To date, I have visited nine African countries and this trip to Namibia is easily number one. What a beautiful country, what a great adventure! Definitely a five star trip for me!
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Joanna Tobias

    A great introduction to Namibia

    Discover Namibia camping was great to do over Christmas. We saw diverse wildlife and landscapes with unexpected early rains and a sandstorm but this added to the experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Etosha was the highlight together with the wildlife that came to visit,including hearing a lion roar by night. Dune 45 and the petrified acacias were also great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was approachable & friendly but occasionally overloaded us with too much info,for too many days ahead. Would have been nice if he had been a little more informative at times on the flora & fauna. Happy and Nathaniel made amazing food,especially 'Happy Bread'.They were amazingly helpful when early rains caused flooded tents but it all added to the experience!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take something warm,as in layers for the early mornings on the truck and game drives in the early eve. In December I used just a sleeping bag liner for half the trip as was so warm at night but did use my sleeping bag. It's possible to buy cheap sleeping bags in Windhoek as one of our group did. Take a neck scarf to place over your nose and mouth when climbing Dune 45 & very useful if you encounter a sandstorm! Do the plane ride over the Skeleton Coast. Take a dark coloured travel bag as the red sand gets everywhere.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go and enjoy the trip! It's a shame a balloon ride over the dunes & / or skeleton coast wasn't available. Be careful as we weren't given the up to date prices for some of the optional extra's. Make sure you check as it may cost more than listed.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Victoria Campell

    Namibian skies

    This was our first camping tour and we really enjoyed the camping aspect of this trip. Jonas and Happy looked after us superbly, making sure that the tents were set up and cooking was underway each evening. The toilet and shower facilities were fine and the tents were big enough for us to have space between us for our big bags and room at the top or bottom for daypacks etc. This trip covers a lot of ground and the vehicle and roads do not always make for a comfortable journey. However, the route and schedule compare favourably with other options and the fact that it is " full service " camping helps a lot. We were very lucky with the composition of the group. Everyone got on and looked out for each other and the spirit of co-operation made the trip most enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being at dune 45 at sunrise and the great breakfast afterwards. Seeing cheetah in Etosha. Visiting the cheetah conservation project. Staying at the campsite with no electricity, just wonderful to be in the middle of nowhere, just our group, unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney did a good job but having to drive all day is clearly arduous. He did his best to make the journeys as easy as possible. He constantly reminded us about sunscreen, water etc. We would have liked a bit more info at times and it was hard to ask questions along the way. When the opportunities arose, he showed that he is knowledgeable and caring. He was kind towards us and to others and was a great guide when we were in Etosha.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Others have written about the long days and there is no getting away from this. Two days in particular are long and uncomfortable and the fact that these are back to back doesn't help. The big plus of this trip is the fact that you visit the dunes in the south and have 3 nights in Etosha. We bought pillows on our first shopping stop after leaving Windhoek, well worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were uncomfortable about the visit to the Himba people and after the introduction, 3 of us opted out. It all felt very artificial, one of the young women had an iPhone and we were informed of a minimum fixed price if we wanted the women to dance for us. Not the experience we had hoped for. The phrase " human zoo " came to mind.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    At Exodus we take every step to ensure that our holidays provide an enjoyable experience for our customers and that we make a positive impact on the communities we visit. Based on feedback that we received regarding the Himba village, we have taken the decision to remove this visit from the itinerary.

  • Reviewed September 2016
    Fiona Galazin

    Namibia

    A great trip. Very varied landscapes and great wildlife viewing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing wild cheetahs, mother and two cubs, giraffes, elephants, a leopard, great bird watching with a really good guide (Ronney). Making it up Dune 45 for the sunrise - not as easy as I thought it would be. Lots of other great moments too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was great. Very organised, incredibly knowledgeable, very patient with all my questions and made sure everything went as smoothly as he could. Our cook Jonas, supported by Reuben, prepared some great meals too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went in September. No need for a mosquito net, but definitely needed a warm fleece and a windproof and a 3 season sleeping bag. Daytime though, a sleeveless t shirt and shorts were enough. Campsite facilities were good, better than East Africa I'm told. Be prepared for a couple of long driving days - up the Skeleton Coast for example - but there were photo stops and the odd coffee stop too. Back roads were not quite as good as I had been led to believe.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A beautiful country and not busy. Plenty of open roads and uncrowded viewing at waterholes. Overall a great experience
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Geraldine Ennis

    Discover Namibia (AZN) - Camping Trip

    I travelled to Namibia in the dry season (October). The weather was very, very hot on a couple of days the temp reached 100+. The schedule was gruelling - up 05:00/06:00 every morning but I enjoyed every minute of it. Every day brought a new experience. There were a couple of long travel days but the truck was reasonably comfortable, stocked with cold drinks and guide books plus plenty of photo/toiler stops along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlights of the trip for me were Etosha National Park, Carnivore Cheetah reserve and climbing Dune 45. The first camp in Etosha had a fabulous watering hole which attracted a variety of animals. It was very addictive watching the coming and goings of the animals!! At the Cheetah reserve we managed to get within a distance of 20ft from the Cheetahs what a fabulous experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Ronney, he was a very experienced guide and full of enthusiasm. The cook Jonah prepared a variety of great food for every meal and of course not to forget Ruben who erected/dismantled our tents every time we moved to another site. All great guys. Jonah even managed to cook a lovely meal one evening during a thunder storm on the Waterburg Plateau.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take high factor sun cream and even higher factor for face and neck. I only took South African Rand as it is widely accepted in Namibia. If you are a vegetarian then there is not much choice on the menu when eating out. Bring some mixed nuts/seeds as I did. The electricity is unique to Sth Africa/Namibia but our truck had a variety of extension leads including once with an English plug. I'd no problems charging batteries/phone.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very impressed by Namibia. Campers are certainly very well catered for. Almost all of the camp sites had hot water, flush toilets, toilet rolls and even public toilets on the whole were very clean. Supermarkets were well stocked. The night game in Etosha was fab as the moon was shining and we saw a lot of drama at one watering hole. It is definitely the place to buy tanzanite jewellery. Hiking boots are not a necessity; a pair of trainers & a pair of sandals are all the foot ware you need. I took a 3/4 season sleeping bag and most nights ended up sleeping in the liner instead. A couple of evenings did need to wear a fleece. If planning on taking a Dolphin cruise out of Walvis Bay wrap up well as it is freezing!! It was a fabulous trip and enjoyed every minute of it. Don't hesitate - go for it!!
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Lindsay Wills

    A great country to visit!

    I've always heard great things about Namibia and it didn't disappoint, so much to see and do. Very friendly people, great weather and plenty of wildlife!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many great moments; watching the sunrise over Dune 45 was brilliant and watching several beautiful sunsets. I also enjoyed sitting at the waterhole in Etosha (day and night) and watching to animals come and go, a chance to watch real animal behaviour. Also camping was fun, the campsites we stayed at had modern facilities and added to the adventure

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was brilliant, he wasn't feeling well but that didn't prevent him offering a great service. Along with Shane and Jonas he made us all welcome and helped us relax. Nothing was too much trouble for the guys and that made the camping enjoyable. Jonas prepared some fantastic food over the campfire, one meal sticks out; butternut squash soup and freshly made bread followed by marinated pork. So yummy!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it! I think Namibia is very underrated but there is so much to see and do. There were no issues for safety and Nambians are very friendly and welcoming. It is very cheap but at no loss to quality, we had some lovely meals out.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Gavin and Laura Jones

    Sand and Safari

    This trip exceeded our expectations. The itinerary provided a much more varied experience than many 'safari' trips - from sand dunes in Sossusvlei to safari in Etosha via dolphins and seals in Swakopmund, there was something for everyone!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We enjoyed the whole experience but here are some of our 'highlights': bonding with the group around the camp fire hiking up Dune 45 and watching the sunrise getting really close to Cheetahs at the conservation project at Solitaire getting really close to seals (sharing a boat!) and dolphins on the boat trip from Swakopmund seeing rhinos and elephants around the waterhole in Etosha

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was great! He was very ably assisted by Shane and Jonas and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. They worked extremely hard. They answered our questions with a smile no matter how stupid the questions were nor if it was the third time they had been asked! The food was truly exceptional - Jonas even cooked bread and cake over the camp fire!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We would recommend the camping trip as it means you bond more with the group - sitting around a camp fire in the dark with the stars spread above is truly magical. It gets really dark very quickly so take a head torch! Scrabbling about in a tent in the dark holding an ordinary torch is not easy! All the facilities at the camp sites were very clean and functional. There were always flushing toilets and hot showers so even though it is not glamping it is hardly roughing it either.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had an absolutely wonderful time and would highly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Nigel Baines

    Sand Sea and Sky

    I've done many group trips as well as a lot of independent travel but this was simply one of my best travel experiences. A fantastic group and wonderful leader team obviously helped but even without those this is an amazing country with spectacular vistas, ever surprising and wonderful wildlife and all under the bluest of blue skies. There is some amazing variety from the dry salt pans to the mountainous shifting dunes, huge landscapes that reach past the horizon, the strange charm of the coast and Swakopmund, the ever smiling people, the ease of travel, the facilities at the campsites and the wildlife...seeing the waterhole in the Etosha camp for the first time was a hairs on the back of the neck moment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are many...running down Dune 45, the cliche of watching the sun setting, seeing a Leopard for the first time, watching Elephants and Rhinos at the waterhole, being face to face with a Cheetah with no fence in between, even sitting next to a wild Seal that jumps aboard the boat in Swakopmund.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was fantastic, he couldn't do enough for us and was superbly organised as well as laid back and flexible, you could almost believe he was seeing these places for the first time like us. The whole team of Ronny, Shane and Jonas were superb and we were all blown away by the quality of the food...how he prepared all that variety on a camp fire is a mystery to me!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go! I wondered if I over packed by including a rain coat and fleece but they were needed on the coast especially on the Seal/Dolphin cruise (which although not the most adrenalin fuelled activity is superb and well worth doing). You get a chance to do laundry in Swakopmund and it's relatively cheap. All the camp sites (as well as the truck) have charging points, I bought a three pin (round) adapter at Heathrow for about £10. I took my Keffiyeh scarf and it was ideal for walks in the desert sand as it was extremely hot and when the wind picks up the sand really does blow!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the second camp (day three on the trips notes) we had a last minute option to join a Cheetah drive. 8 of us managed to get on it and it was superb, you drive to a large fenced conservation area with an expert guide. Once they've detected the Cheetahs you get off and walk through the grass and find yourself face to face with these magnificent animals. I guess timing worked for us but if it's possible to do it then I really recommend it. This is a fantastic trip I'd happily do again! The waterholes in Etosha are just like climbing through your TV screen on one of those BBC docs. It's an amazing country with so much variety and much easier to travel in than other sub Saharan countries. The game drives are much quieter than other places and you can spend hours on the road before encoutering other people. There were far fewer mosquitoes than I was expecting too!!
  • Reviewed September 2015
    John Atherton

    Discover Namibia - there's more than you expect!

    My brother asked me (before the trip) "what's there?". I mentioned desert and sand dunes and Etosha and wildlife and long journeys, but although I've been to Africa a number of times I was still unprepared for the vastness of the Namib desert, the beauty of the light on the dunes at dawn, the colours, the history, the expanse of Etosha, etc. What there was NOT was also memorable: no light pollution so magical starry skies and beautiful sunsets; hardly any traffic on long straight roads; very few people. Those we did meet in the few towns, in the tiny hamlets and on the campsites were all very pleasant and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting quietly on the sand at Deadvlei. Watching the interaction of the various wildlife at Etosha water holes, constantly changing sightings, much of it fairly close up. Seeing the sun set behind the distant mountains from the Wesrand Camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sven - couldn't have had a better leader! Vast experience, knowledgeable, polite, happy to answer all questions. Good driver, kept to times stated.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cold at night in August but the mattress is thick and comfortable, take a warm sleeping bag. Cool until 9am - long trousers and a fleece, then shorts and shirt until 5pm ish.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The truck is comfortable even on the longer journeys. Good, clean washrooms at all the campsites we used, including hot water and loo roll! The water is fine to drink, no need to buy bottled water. There's a big coolbox on board to store any other refreshments you care to puchase (at sensible prices) at provision stops. If you are still not sure about going - go for it. It was my 70th birthday treat (from me) and one of my best trips yet!
  • Reviewed December 2014
    Paul Grover

    Discover Namibia - Amazing Wildlife, Scenery and People

    Namibia is a county diverse in its landscapes and wildlife. This trip lets you see it all - including chilly star filled desert nights, high dunes at sunrise, varied game drives and a range of optional activities to cater for every taste. Namibia has everything - and does not mind sharing!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me there are so many - sunrise at Sossusvlei, Rock Paintings at Twyfelfontein or seeing group Cheetahs cross the road in Etosha. On a trip like this it really is impossible to pick one great moment as each experience is a highlight in its own right.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane, Freddie and Happy were an amazing crew - working tirelessly to make the trip a success. These guys made us feel so welcome and comfortable from day one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travelling in November is very hot during the day (30-35C) and can be quite cold at night (4-8C) a three season bag is ideal; however as you head north it can warm up a lot over night and you may find yourself sleeping in just your liner. Plugs are large 3 pin ones - if you don't have one you can get one on arrival (the China Shop in Rehoboth does the best ones!). We had a couple of days where it was quite windy so be prepared to deal with some blown dust (if you are a photographer make sure you have suitable protection for your kit). Rand is accepted everywhere and can be bought in advance and changed when you return home (whereas N$ cannot).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Namibia is very sparsely populated in terms of size - you really do get a sense of being out in the wilderness on this trip. That said the roads are good (even the gravel ones) and although some of the drives are long they are very manageable (if you are keen on an African Massage, I can recommend the wildlife drive at Waterberg - great wildlife and bumpy roads!) The campsites Exodus use are superb - they offer excellent facilities -good showers (hot!), western style flush toilets and most have pools and bars. The lodge accommodation in Swakopmund is comfortable. WIFI is patchy - it is available at most of the sites up to Swakopmund, but generally not thereafter (a few restaurants have a connection along the way). This trip is ideal for anyone looking for a first trip to Africa and also for more experienced travelers who are looking a for something a little different. The pacing is really well thought out - arriving in Swakopmund after a couple of early starts gives a great opportunity for a change of pace. The optional activities are varied and offer choices ranging from slow paced to action packed - I can definitely recommend the dolphin watching trip - it's an amazing 3 hours on the ocean. I am definitely going to return to Namibia and would seriously consider repeating this trip .
Call us on 0800 643 997