View our latest travel disruption updates on Coronavirus here

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

15 Reviews

  • Reviewed December 2019
    JOYCE COLLIER

    Fascinating trip to South America

    Overnight flight to Buenos Aires business class with KLM. All six of us were up for cycle trip around city centre that day - we stayed in Own Recoleta and met the group[16] the next day for a walking trip! Great group all equipped and ready for walking. Early morning flight to El Calafate and the Torres had a 15 kg weight restriction so left luggage at Own Recoleta. Hotel at El Calafate was very comfortable with lovely staff. First day was a gentle walk around the Perrito Moreno Glacier- we had bright sunshine and did the boat trip so we got close to the edge. We left another bag at El Calafate Hotel an early start by bus to the Torres to do the W Trek. Stay in Refugios commenced- three over the week and six of us shared rooms with bunk beds. Showers were variable - some cold- some very busy. At start we were each given a gift of note book pen and Travel towel!Great walking quite an effort at times but we completed it all. We had two guides for Torres plus Pepe our own tour guide which gave flexibility if some of the group needed to do less. Return by catamaran and bus back to El Calafate. There was time here to get washing done - very cheap at hotel - there was a day off - we walked around bird reserve and El Calafate. Travelled by bus to El Chalten. Unfortunately it was raining on first day so trip to Mount Fitzroy was changed to a less challenging walk. Again group had two guides plus Pepe. Hotel in El Chalten had seen better days - water leaked into lounge.Weather improved the next day so successful walking up to another look out and glacier. Flight back to Buenos Aires meant we had another afternoon and evening there. Staying again in Own Recoleta which we appreciated more the second time around. We arranged to do the Iguazu Falls at end. A great hotel with a lovely pool and would fully recommend doing the boat trip at the falls - good to have the refreshing shower! Temperature went up to 30degrees.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Torres del Paine and Mount Fitzroy [ although the latter was only visible on way home]. I managed to do all the walking keeping up with the group!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pepe was an excellent group leader who went out of his way to ensure we all knew what was going to happen and that we were prepared for the walk. He had a very cheerful positive out look and communicated clearly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack your ruck sack lightly. I [ female!]had leggings and a top for evenings - leggings could be used for bed as well. Travel towel not needed as they gave us a perfectly adequate one. Flip flops needed for refugio showers. We had ponchos that came into their own in the rain covering yourself and the ruck sack. Packet of sweets/ choc raisins keep everyone going. I would definitely use the laundry service at El Calafate hotel. I had a large bag for travel from uk in which I put my Exodus bag and had my ruck sack as hand luggage. I carried a small collapsible ruck sack inside my osprey ruck sack which was useful in bus and Buenos Aires. The weather in Patagonia was very variable so be ready for all possibilities during the day- rain wind sun snow.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think that Exodus could improve their hotel choice in Buenos Aires - however the Own Recoleta was happy to store our luggage for no charge over the 10 days we were away- but they definitely should think again about El Chalten, it was very basic hotel. All our guides spoke excellent English except the guide for Perrito Moreno Glacier who was completely incomprehensible and inaudible. Our meals entailed a lot of meat get ready for a beef overload! [ eating out is cheap in comparison to uk]
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Andy Longden

    Another tick on the bucketlist! Outstanding hiking holiday in a very beautiful part of the world.

    An expensive holiday, and a long way to travel, so it needed to be good. It was! This trip manages to efficiently fit in the trekking highlights of Patagonia with some sightseeing. Add on time to explore Buenos Aires and the optional trip to Iguassu Falls and you have a really well balanced, satisfying holiday. We found the hiking to be easier than expected, but we did have great weather. We were surprised how busy the trails are - this is not a holiday for those seeking solitude. Accommodation was relatively basic, but functional and adequate throughout. The Refugios in Chile are of a high standard - much better than European mountain refuges. Food throughout was excellent if you eat meat, possibly less so if you don't.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For us the hiking in El Chalten ranks amongst the "best of the best" in the world. The day walk to the Fitzroy viewpoint was absolutely sensational, with the trek to Cerro Torre base camp only marginally less so. Completing the W trek was also very satisfying. Finally, the extension to Iguassu Falls was an amazing way to end the holiday - very well managed and a great experience. Don't miss the boat ride!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tomas is a "people person" with a big warm heart. He managed a large and varied group with great skill, and as a result everything worked well. The Chilean trek leader on the W trek set an erratic pace (very lengthy stops), spent a lot of time on his mobile phone and didn't allow people to walk at their own pace. We'd rate him as a leader as very average. In contrast the female leader in El Chalten, Aime, was exceptional - as good as any leader we've ever had. Only one negative for Tomas which I will repeat here since he didn't react positively to my complaint - it is highly dangerous for a guide to make lengthy commentaries whilst wandering around a bus travelling at 70 mph. He did this repeatedly and for long periods. He needs to know that it has cost him a nomination for "leader of the year" from us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pray for good weather! We were very lucky, as weather will likely make or break the trip given the cost and distances that need to be travelled to get to, and around, Patagonia. You need to be prepared for anything, at any time, as the local climate is notoriously changeable. This will also affect how the grading of the walking feels. Our weather was very mild, so the grade of hiking did not feel like a 5, but we could see how that could change. We'd recommend extending the trip to ensure you have time to recover from the lengthy flight and to see Buenos Aires - which is a lovely city - and also to visit Iguassu Falls on the optional Exodus extension. This was outstanding.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Big thanks to our group leader, Tomas, and to the rest of our group for being so sociable throughout.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Nigel Chapman

    Awesome trek with a great leader

    Having seen the Trango Towers on a K2 bae camp trek many years ago I always had an ambition to see the Torres del Paine and the didn't disappoint. Firzroy is also stunning.We were lucky with the weather which helped and all local guides were excellent.As said in other reviews Tomas our leader is a legend through his enthusiasm, knowledge and caring attitude. Would recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Leaving th Paine NP on the catamaran with cloudless skies across an azure blue lake with stunning mountain scenery all around- it doesn't get much better than that.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Where do I start.....Tomas was just brilliant.As someone who came land only to the group so joined later he made it easy to integrate.He was knowledgeable, kind, diplomatic and above all very very funny. He looked after everyone individually and his work rate was phenomenal. As others have said, a legend.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'd reiterate a few of the previous comments: -there's a lot of bus travel (but necessary to see Fitzroy and Paine) -it's expensive to use ATMs in Argentina so take plenty of USD. -probably not as challenging as I was expecting (although all these ratings are subjective) -take a 30-40 litre pack as well as main bag for W trek in Paine NP. -don't forget earplugs (to aid sleep whilst in dorms on trek) and sink plug (most hosterias etc don't provide them) -enjoy.....
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Paul Rasdale

    Great Fun

    Really fun trip with a very sociable bunch of fellow trekkers.Quite a lot of travel(as it says on the tin).Not a trip for anyone not used to fairly strenuous walking.Bunk beds in refugios so if allocated a top bunk you have to be quite agile.Be aware that weather notoriously fickle in Patagonia and seeing the mountains not guaranteed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trek up French Valley to Mirador Britanico.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Everything complimentary that has been said in the past about Pepe is true.His professionalism,efficiency and unfailing cheerful good humour contributed hugely to the enjoyment of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to avoid taking cash out of ATM's (very expensive) Chilean pesos not needed.Cards accepted in all refugios and nearly everywhere else.Dollars accepted most places(not taxis) and easy to change for Argentinian pesos. Charging and wifi available all refugios(not free)and hotels. Take a sleeping bag liner for Refugio Los Cuernos. Add extra day at beginning to explore Buenos Aires Wear insect repellant
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Alison Craggs

    Classic Patagonia Trek

    Excellent trek with lovely views of Torres del Paine in Chile and Cerro Torre in Argentina.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the Torres del Paine emerge through the mist.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pepe was an excellent leader. He arranged some lovely group meals in the evening and some little walks on our day off-a visit to a bird sanctuary in El Calafate and a walk to look for condors in El Chaltén.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Worth having a separate bag for summer clothes to leave in Buenos Aires You are given a very good travel towel and metallic water bottle in Torres del Paine to use on the trip. A sleeping bag liner was useful for the Los Cuernos refuge as they only have a sleeping bag and no sheets. Make sure your rucksack has a waterproof cover We had snow in El Chaltén so make sure you take layers When not on the trek it was quite nice to have different clothes for the evening Most places take Visa credit cards (MasterCard less so) though the internet is poor in El Chaltén so it doesn’t always work. You don’t need Chilean money at all. Even the San Telmo market stalls in Buenos Aires take dollars. Most of us were glad not to have booked an optional trip in El Calafate, we needed a rest!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Iguazu falls extension was well worth doing if you have time.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Martin KNIGHT

    A fantastic trip

    We have had an amazing time, our guide Pepe was extremely professional, helpful and made the group feel we were in safe hands. The scenery was beautiful and the treks were hard but well worth the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Torres del Paine once we reached uptake top of the trek, a lovely lake and fab mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pepe was an outstanding leader, he was extremely professional about his job, was patient and good fun. I felt confident we were in good hands. Pepe was also good fun and a team player.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to take only the minimum amount required on the 4 days trek as I found I took too much and my rucksack was very heavy!!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tony Wilson

    Does what it says on the tin - and a great deal more!

    A truly inspirational holiday, helped by a very accomplished leader, a super friendly group, awesome scenery, great weather and good food. The Iguazu Falls extension was the perfect end to a truly wonderful holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have two : 1 ) Seeing the Fitz Roy and Cerro Torre range from above El Chalten with hardly a cloud in the sky on the last day of the main holiday. 2 ) Iguazu Falls (on the extension)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good at his job - friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, a great laugh - just a fun guy to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the "Estancia Cristina" option from El Calafate on the "rest-day". Do the Iguazu Falls extension.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Roy FRANCE

    Classic Patagonia

    On reflection, I would of liked there to be more trekking. Land only booking is 11 days of which only 6 are trekking. I fully appreciate the size of the region and the need for transfers to see "it all" but given the distance travelled and the cost involved I think DAY 7 should be a trekking day rather than a rest day. There is plenty of time to rest during transfers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Las Torres

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pepe was outstanding. 10/10 only just covers it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    consider arriving a day early to see a little bit more of Buenos Aries. Take flip flops for the showers in the refugio's

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The mini and full ice trek on Perito Moreno are a full day excursion 8am-6pm. Our party signed up expecting a 4pm return with a view of visiting El Calafate before dinner but that was never the case which was made clear once we were picked up.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Chris Jennings

    Stunning Patagonia

    Where to begin. I've been on some amazing trips but this tops the lot! Exodus clearly do their research, so you are guaranteed awesome walks with excellent competent guides and as described accommodation. The variables typically are a) weather b) the group c) how you get along with the group / guide. On this trip all these were far exceeded - I have memories that will always bring a smile to my face, a sure sign of a great trip. The nature of Patagonia ensured we got to experience all types of weather conditions, high winds, heavy rain, sun, hot, cold, but importantly we were lucky and got to see and do almost everything on the itinerary, and where cut short there were alternatives to keep the group occupied such as the micro brewery in El Chalten :). Excellent beer! The group came from all walks of life and had interesting stories to tell and quickly gelled over our common interests that all brought us to this holiday. Finally, our group leader Tomas, what can I say apart from repeat an earlier review comment, the guy is a legend!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many highlights, having a shot of Jim Beam on reaching the viewpoint at 'Mirador Britanico' on day five. The views of Fitzroy and Perito Moreno Glacier that take your breathe away, soaking up the vast landscapes and enjoying the journey, exploring cosmopolitan Buenos Aires to the large quantity of ice cream and steak I consumed!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I'll repeat again Tomas is a legend! Always on the look out for people's well being (include those not on the group!), from simple things like pointing out open zips on rucksacks to dealing with angry people in dorms, that was a simple misunderstanding (nobody from the group I must add!), to carrying peoples bags. His knowledge and spoken English were both excellent and he had many an interesting story to tell of prior jobs and life experiences. After the trip extension I caught up with him for my final evening in Buenos Aires and again he was hard at work attempting to address flight issues for the next group (caused by the G20!), I don't think I seen a harder working guide. Socially he got to know the group very well and our sense of humour, and I hope that we, and the group, stay in touch.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Highly recommend the trip extension to Iguazu Falls, particularly if you have time to see the falls from both sides, Argentina and Brazil. Note - I packed 3 bags, one for this extension (t-shirts, shorts etc), one for Chile where you have to carry everything and one main rucksack for the rest of the trip. Worth nothing that you are not carrying all your stuff as much as you think in Chile.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try the Ice Cream in El Calafate it is superb. The local beers are good as well and if you have time possibly add extra days to explore Buenos Aires. Finally, if you like 80s / 90s rock you're in for a treat!
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Steven Porter

    Classic Patagonia Trek

    A thoroughly enjoyable trekking holiday. Fantastic scenery, the company of like minded walkers, in a variety of accommodations in both remote and popular locations in Patagonia, Chile and Argentina. The services of excellent tour and local guides made the experience feel both authentic and comfortable. My hat off to the whole team from Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pinnacles of Mt Fitzroy behind the glacial lake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was extremely competent and helpful, rescuing me on a very difficult long day in the heat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you love spectacular mountain scenery, you'll love this trek. If you have the chance, take the Iguazu extension. This was fantastic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I understand we were very lucky with the weather we had. As a consequence I carried alot of gear which was unnecessary - additional fleeces, gaiters and extra waterproofs. This extended to towels which were provided at all accommodations but we weren't told.