Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

15 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2016
    Jeffrey Rooney

    What a stunning way to see Loire valley

    Our first bike holiday but definitely not last with the best food and scenary we had in Europe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Rising through the French countryside; looking at the homes and life going on as we passed was incredible. Chambord is a beautiful optional ride, we had a glorious day at the chateau.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We did the self-guided tour. The trip notes were mostly easy to follow and if we took a wrong turn it only added to what we got to see.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a non-bike rider the days left me stiff before bed. Do some riding in the lead up to the holiday to prepare yourself.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Ann Dunbar

    Gastronomic Cycling Loire valley

    On the whole the trip was good but there were some disappointments. The final night"s dinner after fabulous meals the whole trip was very poor. there were also some issues with the route map that we were given and in one place in particular the rout took us under a railway and we wee stopped by two local who said that this route was too dangerous and showed us a better route. The cycles were good and generally the route was fine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along the cycling paths on the banks of the Loire.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not applicable self guided.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get a good route map to check directions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was such a shame that our lat dinner was so poor, it rather ended the holiday on a sour note.
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Rod Edwards

    gastronomic and leisurely

    This was a great way to see the district around the Loire. We had wonderful cycling days that included rural areas, villages, chateau's, picnic stops and coffee and ice-cream breaks, all culminating in a 4-5 course meal at night. The cycling was varied but mostly slightly undulating to flat and the distance each day was ample. We had great weather and the two rest days allowed us opportunities to vista other places. We visited Cherverny and were lucky to have stumbled across a wine tasting festival set up in the street with about 20 producers presenting their wines. We had good accommodation with Chateau Chissay being the highlight. The bikes were easy to use and very well maintained.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being in this part of the world with so much history and chateaus all around. Sleepy villages and of course the food. It was truly gastronomic!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was self guided.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Preparation for cycling would be helpful-particularly in regards to your bottom. Padded bike pants are are must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The quality of the accommodation on the 4th and 5th night (Chitenay) didn't match the quality of other nights. However, the food at this hotel was sensational.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Darren Battle

    Loire Valley Route

    An easy to follow route through quiet country roads and villages. Only two minor hills en route. Lots of pretty countryside, nice views and places to see en route. Luggage was always at destination on arrival making the whole trip really easy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Countryside views and Chateaus; and plenty of opportunities for picnics

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Pack light as you will only need a change of clothes for the evening. 2. Plan interim routes for the rest days - there are lots of short routes to interesting places and given the distances you don't really need a day's rest. 3. There are plenty of nice places to stop and have a picnic on the way. Buy your picnic in the morning as the shops are likely closed at the time you want to have lunch (12.00-15.00!)
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Jeanette Banks

    Cycling in the Loire Valley

    I really enjoyed the cycling trip. We had very good weather - sunshine every day. The trip was a lot of fun, accommodation was good and the food at some of the venues excellent. We really enjoyed seeing the chateaux and the villages along the route. Sometimes we found the directions a little misleading and confusing especially as we weren't given a map of the the ride to help us have a clearer picture of the route. Overall the cycling was great and I would do another similar style trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip was looking out the window at the nearby chateau one morning and seeing four hot air balloons float by. On a clear sunny morning it was just magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our trip was self guided and often I was the 'map reader' of the group. The others in the group seemed to appreciate my map reading and often it was about keeping the group together, with some riders faster or slower than others.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear bike shorts if you can and pack sunscreen. Even though we all had prepared for the ride we all pleased we had bike shorts to ease the pain of sore butt muscles. Don't overpack. Even though the suitcases were transported to our hotels heavy suitcases weren't welcome.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go with a positive attitude and have fun.
  • Reviewed July 2014
    Michael Peck

    Lore Gastronomic

    Very good. Flat terrain for cycling Great food

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying in a Chateau

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great, very nice guy - Hang on it was self guided - so that would be me

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    None - The local French were very friendly

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nope
  • Reviewed October 2013
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE LOIRE VALLEY

    A fantastic experience with amazing scenery, excellent accommodation, no time restrictions and a relaxed itinerary.  What a wonderful way to see the Loire Valley

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every morning we left our accommodation by 9am and although the weather was chilly the sun was shining and it just made the experience so much more enjoyable travelling on the back roads, the peace and quiet as we rode through forests and fields was not only relaxing but extremely refreshing. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A couple of the trip notes (Chambord round trip) are a little out of date.  We were riding through a National Forest for about an hour, not entirely sure we were headed in the right direction and some of the "distances" should be double checked.
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE LOIRE VALLEY

    A wonderful holiday in the Loire Valley. The cycling was just right: not too challenging (beautiful rolling countryside, stopping off at a chateau or two) but with a few steeper bits, just to keep us on our toes! The accommodation was great - lovely family-run hotels with friendly staff and superb food. And you even managed to organise some perfect weather - thanks! The only thing I'd recommend is to review some of the instructions in the cycling itinerary, they weren't always clear. But all in all a great experience and organised to run very smoothly. We'd certainly recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    - The chateau of Chenonceau - stunning- Swimming in the river at Montrichard- Cycling through the fields of sunflowers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have a group leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very helpful correspondence with Exodus before the trip, and a good info pack.
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE LOIRE VALLEY

    This was a great family holiday. We all loved the entire experience. Our children , fifteen and twelve, are keen to experience another cycling holiday and this is not something that we would have predicted before the start of the week !!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The chateaux were beautiful and reaching each destination was exciting. The accommodation was , without exception , was very comfortable but our particular favorite was Hotel La Breche in Amboise. Very quirky with terrific food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided holiday. The routes were well explained and took us through some very beautiful countryside.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The whole holiday was really well organized and a truly stress free experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the Wednesday we cycled from Bracieux to Chaumont Sur Loire when we passed through a village called Monthou Sur Bievre . On the main road we passed a cafe/ bar and stopped for some lunch. This little place was full of locals having a traditional French lunch . We joined the lunch party , the atmosphere was great and the food ( including a bottle of wine ) cost 58 Euros for four people. Well worth a visit !
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE LOIRE VALLEY

    The Loire Valley is a superb region for cycling for riders of all standards. The variety of natural settings (forests, vineyards, farms, rivers) and the built environment (castles, villages, towns) provides for entertaining and informative travel. The terrain is gently undulating and our route generally avoided busy roads. The accommodation was just right: friendly staff in family style hotels with excellent food (where provided) 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendly and very helpful hotel staff;Riding through forests on "no-cars" tracks;The sheer magnificence of some of the chateaux. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ours was a self-guided tour. We encountered two issues:Only one set of maps and one guide book and one pannier for a couple made navigation "interesting" when, as we inevitably did, ride apart. The guidebook itself was quite challenging to follow and not as useful as one we saw being used by cyclists with another tour operator. The local company did provide us with additional panniers so we could both carry our own gearThe bicycle mechanic was on holidays when we started and our tools were inadequate to change the pedals to suit our clip-in shoes - a bike shop was located on day three and we got the change done then.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For anyone who has done some cycling, this is a very relaxing holiday and provides plenty of time to see and do things along the way. We enjoyed cycling into the old city of Blois on our rest day, and to the chateau in Amboise where Da Vinvci lived for three years.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotels used for this trip. Although they were rated as 2-star we found them ideally informal for a cycling holiday.