Save $250 off all trips to Europe. Find out more >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Richard Crookes

    A good trip

    Trip started badly as I was unwell and spent the first day recovering. The course leader (Alkan) was helpful and arranged for the bus to take me to meet up with the other members of the group. I was coughing a lot when I started but this got better and i was alright by the end of the walk. Another "patient" was helped in the same way. The group was 17 strong and this took all his resources.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The chance to see the underground city.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was always good humoured full of knowledge of all the sites. He was always prepared to come with us to see us ready to take on the system of shopping and other sightseeing. as well as available on the walks and meal times to give the instructions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of tea and coffee with you - the local stuff is undrinkable. Remember to buy some alcohol before the meal times!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    John Carter

    Very good week walking

    We really enjoyed the trip with excellent local guide Alcan. Great scenery well balanced walks and good variety of restaurants the balloon flight is a must all in all 5 stars. Well organised trip from start to end .Nice simple hotel ideal as a base . Good transport with excellent driver . Nothing to much trouble for our guide or driver 👍

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The balloon flight spectacular 120 balloons in air at once .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alcan great friendly nothing to much trouble

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try this trip well worth a week of your life

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This an ideal trip for those that like a steady but slightly challenging walk mainly a walk in the park with a few tricky bits but take a waterproof coat it can rain
  • Reviewed May 2018

    Great trip!

    This is a great trip and we had a lovely group. I travelled from the end of April to early May. The weather was great. Although rain and storms were forecasted while I was there, we had beautiful sunshine with some picturesque white clouds (look great on my pictures) and it was quite hot so make sure you take your sunscreen and a sunhat. Mornings were a bit chillier but not too cold and the weather warmed up quickly during the day. If you are considering the ballooning, take some warmer clothes too. The walks were lovely and all quite different. We saw some interesting rock formations on the way, not to mention the stunning landscapes. Some of the walks are flat while others are quite steep and slippery so good walking boots and walking poles come handy. Don't underestimate a moderate trip. Water from a big water container was provided on the bus as well as in the hotel. Make sure you have your own bottle so you can keep refilling it. If you have a hiking hydration bladder bag, that is the best to take. We also stopped at little local cafes during our walks. My favourite was the freshly squeezed orange and pomegranate juice (mixed). Make sure you try that! Our leader was a character, entertaining, knowledgeable and helpful. The locals are friendly. The hotel was 3 star, a bit tired but for only 10 minutes walk from the town so it was convenient, we could easily walk there for some souvenir shopping in our free time. All meals were included on my tour and the portions were generous... Lucky we did all that walking!! If you are considering doing this trip, I recommend budgeting in the balloon ride. It is such an amazing experience. I am afraid of heights and I was a bit worried but it is so relaxing up there with such a wonderful view that I even forgot about feeling scared.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hot balloon ride definitely. Cappadocia is the place to do it. Love Valley was a highlight too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alkan has a great knowledge of the area and looked after the group well. He was funny and engaged with us. Also offered to take us to places that were not part of the original itinerary. He has a real passion for his country and he wanted to share that with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take a water bottle and your walking poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is great value for money. My group flight was through Istanbul so I did a stopover on the way back. It is worth doing.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Nigel Donovan

    Walking in Cappadocia

    From the moment I started having information sent back to me in 2016 I have been impressed with all aspects of the trip. The walks were all different and well organised. Our driver (Reg) was excellent at no time did I have any concern for our safety. Sensible routes and breaks made the trip a really harmonious event. I can only encourage people to take holidays in Turkey as they need our support .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first walk with the "fairy towers" landscope was a revelation. The balloon ride was breathtaking and well worth two false starts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Firat Solak was excellent. He was both informative and humourous. His pace on the walks was just right for the various members. His checks on the state of the members showed a good understanding of what was going on during the day. The places we ate during the day and evening was a hit with everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go as soon as possible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The roof area of the hotel was slightly tired but the helpfullness of people, the food and the position of the hotel was excellent.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Brian Hills

    walking in cappadocia may/june 2017 sid

    A very enjoyable week in a unique area,local people were welcoming and all the food provided varied and tasty. Five of the walks were 5*, day 3 Kavac to Bahceli had to much road walking though the first rest stop and final village were worth visiting,manageable walks for first timers like ourselves.A good mixed group.The only small disappointment was the accommodation not as described,we stayed at Goreme, hotel Matiasos ,it was clean,good staff,good breakfast but no bar or public area to chill out, also bathroom to small to dry yourself with towel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The balloon trip,worth getting up at 4am.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fred was a star,looked after us 24/7

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Possibly take a little more spends 100 sterling would be a bit tight for drinks and tips,150 each more like it.All prices are in turkish or euros,balloon trip was 150 euros or 130 sterling each

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Robert Taylor

    Walking in Cappadocia

    A totally unique landscape which is a "Must See" if you want something different. The walks are mostly in valleys and are easy. We've never seen so many caves! This is the true way to see Turkey and meet the people, who are very friendly and welcoming. Don't expect to loose weight though - the traditional food is very tasty and plentiful!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say as it was all great. The valley walks are fascinating. We also went on an early morning (start before sunrise) balloon trip which was brilliant- well organised and magical. Over 100 balloons in the air at the same time. It was like fairyland as we set off in the early morning twilight seeing all the flames from the gas burners lighting up the balloons - never to be forgotten! Remember to take your camera! One thing that will always stay with us is one morning whilst walking through a local village an old lady gave us some freshly baked bread to taste and a man came across with some molasses he was preparing in which we dipped the bread - it was like nectar. Someone else then came over with grape juice to sample. What a nice gesture by a poor community.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ferat was an excellent leader, living up to the exodus high standards we have always experienced. Our driver was also excellent, very safe and thoughtful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a travel sink plug for the sink in the hotel - there wasn't one in it! Although the walks are easy you will still need good boots as the ground can be rough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel bedrooms / bathrooms were adequate & clean but not of the usual standards we expected. The sitting areas are comfortable & plentiful in traditional décor. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Stuart Mann

    Walking in Cappadocia

    We arrived in Cavusin after 2 flights, with Turkish airways, that were on time, comfortable and with good food.Our hotel 'Green Hotel', was just opposite a 'fairy chimney' of incredible beauty. Our room wasn' t the better one that the Hotel had but it was nevertheless comfortable with ensuite shower.The people there did their utmost to welcome us and the new chef's food was glorious. Our guide Omer was a lovely fellow,with a good sense of humor, good English and with plenty of knowledge of the local history. The walks were varied and interesting, not tiring at all and we were lucky to have wonderfully warm days with blue skies. For me the best of the walks were through the red valley and Ihlara valley ,my wife also liked the first one very much :the Akvadi and up to Uchisar: spectacular views at the top !But we both were thrilled with our first Hot Air balloon flight, in perfect weather with a perfectionist Pilot that landed the basket onto the waiting trailer!!! Amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the Hot air balloon flight was incredible, the views of the 'fairy chimneys' amazing. The rock formations of the 'red valley' and the white. Goreme open air museum with its many churches and frescoes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omer was a calm ,relaxed guy with a sense of humor and plenty of knowledge, a really likeable fellow: he never was put out if my wife was recording whilst he was talking of the churches ,history or else. He always obliged when we stopped to take pics

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We would recomend taking trekking poles as they do help with unsteady terrain and climbing on the rocks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We ate too much ,perhaps if we had to choose our lunch we would have preferred it.
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Ann Priestley

    Walking in Cappadocia TTG

    Truly awesome place. Challenging in places but a great way to push yourself and achieve. Great guide, so knowledgeable. We had lessons in Language, Religion, Geology, Politics, History and Turkey. Nobody passed the 'exams'! Lots of fun and laughter.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Contouring Table Mountain. I was worried but Ilhan, our guide, gave me confidence to do it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ilhan Senturk...superb leader. As I said before, he gave lessons. We learnt so much. We enjoyed so much. We were a team helping each other when needed. He never rushed us. Lovely guy with a sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. No such thing as cannot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On your packing list please add sink/bath plug. I was advised to take £100 of Lira. A tad more would have been more comfortable. Tell people about the hot air balloons in more detail as the cost is quite high.
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Carol Capper

    Walking in Cappadocia

    This was my first Exodus trip and I was very impressed with the whole holiday. The organisation was first class and I can't praise our Trip Leader enough. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile. If anyone wants a first class holiday with mind blowing scenery then Cappadocia must come top of your list of treks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walking on the table top mountain and the amazing scenery on the walk around the mountain and the valley - in fact too many highlights to mention. One of the most amazing holidays I've ever had.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ilhan was amazing. He was exceptionally knowledgeable on all subjects and was happy to answer any questions we put to him. A big thank you to him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need really good walking boots for this holiday.
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Anonymous

    Walking in Cappadocia

    This was an excellent and highly enjoyable holiday amidst a stunning landscape - featuring great walking, an informative and expert guide, lovely group of people, pleasant hotel and tasty food. Cappodocia is a relatively small area offering a wonderful variety of walks without involving too much travelling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being in the peace and beauty of such a fantastic environment. The Turkish bath was a fun experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fahti was knowledgeable, friendly and adaptable - able to flex the tour to suit the group's wishes and needs (e.g. adding in extra features of interest, being supportive to less fit walkers). He related well to local people we encountered and was helpful and considerate at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The historical and cultural aspect of the area is fascinating. But don't expect too much of the frescoes in the cave churches. Most have not been preserved and many have suffered vandalism.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A photographer's paradise.
Call us on 1300 131 564