View our latest travel disruption updates on Coronavirus here

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18161 Reviews

  • Reviewed May 2022

    Great itinerary

    If you like wine and some ‘up and down’ walking this is the trip for you. Away from crowds and brilliantly organised. Even better if you get the Vania and Sandra combo!
  • Excellent full-on tour of Jordan

    Excellent full-on tour of Jordan, with its wonderful variety of scenic and historic attractions. The Jordanians were very welcoming, friendly and honest people. Organisation and itinerary were great, and our guide Nidal was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most inspirational moments were in Petra, particularly the Monastery and the Wadi Farasa Trail from the High Place. Also floating in the Dead Sea, Wadi Rum and Jerash.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nidal was excellent in every respect. He arranged very good restaurants for our group dinners and good value lunch stops.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Alcoholic drinks were expensive when available. Jordanian wine is good but beer is bland.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd recommend avoiding the optional “Petra by Night”, the least good sound and light show I’ve ever seen.
  • Reviewed May 2022

    A great week and a super country

    This is a super trip if you are up for 'moderate' level cycling, want to visit a new country and are interested in seeing a village lifestyle that may well soon disappear. It is full of small but magical moments - overtaking horses and carts, waves from villagers, passing hi-fives with children and visits to the baker. the blacksmith, the mill, and being shown round a fortified church and a ruined abbey by the local priest. The scenery is great - for the first couple of days we would be cycling alongside snow-capped mountains. That then turns into the lush green hills of Transylvania. The first three days have the longest routes and we were glad that we'd done some hill training before the trip but we coped - although we were usually last we weren't far behind! The routes are well planned and there is less traffic in Transylvania than on our previous cycle trips in western Europe. Some of the dirt roads are being tarmacked and will soon be smoother rides. The dinners in the small hotels / guests houses were very good as were our picnics and snacks during the day. The fortified churches are really interesting and, as a keen photographer, there were plenty of opportunities for good photos along the way. Btw, the bikes were fine!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I'm split, so here are two: - Hearing cuckoos every day while cycling. I used to hear them at home as a boy - that doesn't happen now in southern England but it does in Transylvania at least in May! - Seeing the cows come home in Viscri. There we were, enjoying our food and wine at dinner, and our host says 'the cows are coming home'. Out we rush...what a surprise! Enjoy!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tudor is excellent, he's a very experienced guide, with super local knowledge, a nice friendly style and good focus on a safe trip. He made our last day - we chose not to visit Bran Castle and instead to go to Peles Castle but via Brasov. That was a super addition on his part. We'd been in villages and small towns. To visit a 'Saxon' city was great. The Black Church and the main square were both wonderful. Thank you Tudor. Our driver Lucien was great too and added to the vitality of our small group (post Covid and with war in Ukraine, we were six + guide and driver. There were no Covid issues or disruption. The Romanians have taken in many Ukrainian refugees and two families were staying at the church in Vulcan.)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The accommodation isn't in standard hotels - it's a mix of small hotels and guesthouses. There's something to like about every place but also the odd thing that isn't ideal but it all adds to the special nature of the trip. In a couple of guesthouses we shared a bathroom with another trip member and that worked fine. In Vulcan the room was a bit basic but the evening welcome from the priest was fab and, after a couple of glasses of welcoming schnaps, it didn't matter!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Romania is really interesting and on the up. We stayed a few extra days so we could see a bit more of Bucharest and then went north to see the painted monasteries and to visit Moldova.
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Recommended trip to the Baltics

    1st post pandemic trip, originally booked for 2020. A fantastic trip to get back travelling again. Great balance of scenery, history, culture and fun. The itinerary is well planned snd we benefited from an experienced tour leader who really did ‘make’ this trip so fantastic. He worked around us, the places, and worked hill time making sure we all got what we wanted. No early starts for one😀 The special feature of these locations is their history of being ‘in the middle’ for centuries. Most recently the transition from Soviet rule to European independence. The signs of both are very evident. The icing on the cake got this trip was the tour leader Andrius being born and raised under the Soviets and now benefiting from the new freedoms. His experiences were very good to hear snd learn from

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Learning from Andrius 1st hand the journeys made by these countries from Soviet to post Soviet existence

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wonderful. Really made the trip work so well for all of us. Very easy to get on with and approach. Great sense of humour snd very knowledgeable. Would recommend any trip he leads.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I wasn’t sure about the temperature/weather and what to take. May in the Baltics had it chilly moments, so a good coat, gloves and hat aren’t wasted😀
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Mr

    Scenic walks (apart from the introductory one on Sunday which was a bit of a walk to nowhere) with great views from the top of the hills. It was a bit hot but all the walkers coped with the permanent sunshine. Gizer, the leader, is a very good organiser, with perfect timing and good knowledge of the history of the places we visited – Girne, Bellapais Abbey, Saint Hilarion, Kantara and Buffavento Castle (the walk up to it recompense the walker with breath-taking views). He also organised the optional but very informative excursions to Famagusta and Nicosia which offered us the chance to find out a lot of facts about places we knew only from the news. I would also like to commend Omar, the driver, very efficient as well, helpful and funny; he helped me learn more Turkish language than I knew before 😉. The food was good, and the best dinners we had were at Niazi’s and Eminem (no connection with the rapper 😉). The best lunch was at the Caravan Serai in Nicosia – thank you Gizer! Pia Bella Hotel was clean with good sized rooms, very professional, polite, and friendly service, good range of food items at the breakfast. Al in all, a very rewarding holiday – Thanks to Exodus, Gizer, and everybody else who made it happen.
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Cycling the undulations of Puglia

    A varied trip with great cycling opportunities, mostly off main roads, led by an experienced leader. Emanuele was our leader, a local man with knowledge and passion for local history and geography. There were opportunities each day to eat and drink local specialities, and a couple of special treats such as cheese-making and olive oil tasting. There are no bus transfers, you cycle a good way each day, sometimes a few challenging hills and dips, sometimes a chance to cycle as fast as you want off road, but on good surfaces. Emanuele is an excellent leader who keeps control of the group at the same time as giving everyone the chance to go at their own pace. You don't need to be a strong cyclist to do the trip, there are always regroupings so that nobody gets left behind, and nobody feels left out. There are a couple of coffee and lunch stops where we were able to swim in the gorgeous blues of the Ionian Sea if we wanted, or just laze on a bench with a marvellous gelato. A couple of the hotels en route had swimming pools.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed our visit to a working farmhouse that provided hotel accommodation and a pool. It was very different from the norm, comfortable, with gorgeous tiled bathrooms.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emanuele is an experienced cycling group lead and had firm control of the group. I have been on a few trips when this has not been the case and chaos ensued, resulting in disappointing experiences for some. Emanuele is confident and able to let those more experienced ride at their own pace while ensuring that others never felt left out or left behind. He involved everyone in taking responsibility for our own safety and helping each other. His knowledge of the area is widespread and he has a passion for the region and its communities. His technical knowledge was excellent, and his English was so good. He translated for us wherever we went and showed us how to eat the local produce like Italians.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your swimming costume just in case, and plenty of sun cream. We went in early May and only had rain for an hour one day.
  • Reviewed May 2022

    living history

    For the well season wanderer, a trip to Baltics is a time traveller's delight. From visiting medieval town (Tallin), 18th century chateau (Rundale), wonderful art nouveau buildings (Riga), dour grey soviet era (nuclear missile site) to an optimistic future (Vilnius). Our wonderful historian on this trip, Andrius, knew pre and post soviet rule and was very clear which path for the Baltic states he would choose

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Art Nouveau buildings , and nuclear missle site

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius - was brillant, paitence, flexible and informative

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wrap up warm - cold even in May and wet
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Getting a flavour of Albania

    We travelled to Albania at the end of April 2022 and had a brilliant experience. Three days in the mountains followed by three days by the coast. Scenery was stunning so we ran out of superlatives to describe it. We were met by our local tour leader - Erlis- at the airport who competently organised everything. Food on the trip was very good. Mediterranean in style, lots of vegetables, fresh fish and many plates of chips. We were very well fed. Cycling was challenging particularly on the first and last days with some long ascents however the bikes supplied were pretty good and gearing coped well. All the effort was definitely worth it. We have travelled to a few remote places around the world but Albania was completely different and well worth going to. Erlis gave us a good briefing on some of the recent history of the country opening our eyes to this part of the world. Definitely a place to visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Starting to get an understanding of this little known country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Organised everything.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Predictive tech

    Technology needs to do what it is told.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    You will see my review from the other day below is grammatically incorrect. The group leader section starts with Variously obviously..... This is totally wrong. I typed Vania who was our leader. It is Vania, Vania, Vania not Variously. Word obviously decided it didn't like Vania and made something up. With all the money I have given Microsoft a refund is obviously due.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania is a star. Never met Variously.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Rant over
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Good view of former Soviet states

    Group leader (Andrius) was perhaps the best part of the trip. He was born under Soviet rule and just as he entered university the Soviet Union dissolved and his country declared independence. His insights and knowledge of history and society were a real treat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above. Andrius was skilled at meeting the special needs of some travelers without inconveniencing the group. We had a schedule that was very flexible. Summary - he was great!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes and check up on the weather to be expected. Northern Europe can still be cold and blustery in mid May. There is quite a bit of walking on this trip - 3 to 5 hours on most days. Early spring has lots of flowers and '50 shades of green' spread over the fields and forests.