We noticed you are browsing from

Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Ask a Question
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

MEO.240609 - June 2024

My first Exodus trip and it will not be the last. In terms of route, hotels, distances covered, cycle paths etc the trip notes are completely accurate. We were an unexpectedly small group of 6 which gelled quickly and had huge fun, with everyone making a real effort. The whole trip was extremely well organised and well thought out. Wonderful coastal scenery and visits to some really lovely small towns and village. I liked the few hours of down time when we arrived at each new hotel.

Most Inspirational Moment

It's difficult to single out just one moment. Some of the restaurants were definitely highlights. The beaches are stunning but we were were warned that the sea was too rough to allow swimming which was a shame.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our group leader Joao Colaco and driver Dinis were a really superb team. They could not have been more helpful - wanting everyone to have the best possible experience of their beautiful country. Joao was a charming, unflappable, well informed, considerate and patient group leader who went out of his way to make sure everyone was having a good experience. Nothing was too much trouble. He was funny and well informed.

Advice for Potential Travellers

If you are in any way concerned about the hills on days 3 and 5, opt for an e bike. I didn't expect to need but was able to switch mid week. A miracle on the hills! Try to add on days in Porto and Lisbon. So worth it.

Amazing Trip!

The itinerary offers a wide experience of Portuguese history and culture as well as an education on the biodiversity and the landscapes of the Algarve. The hikes provided beautiful scenery and views that just kept getting better and better.
Our guides Francisco and Rafael were beyond helpful and happy to share their passion and knowledge everywhere we went. I would certainly recommend this trip to anyone who loves walking and being out in nature as well as eating delicious seafood and drinking local wines.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing a dolphin on the last day by the Cape and the Surf Lesson!

Thoughts on Group Leader

We had two group leaders (Francisco and Rafael) Both were very knowledgeable about all the areas we visited and very helpful with any questions we had. They also made sure to go the extra mile for us when it came to recommending different places to eat, providing towels for some of the hikes where we had to cross streams and ensuring we all experienced everything!

Advice for Potential Travellers

Bring longer hiking boots if you can or long socks as some of the walks can be quite sandy.

What a wonderful time with lovely people in a beautiful country

I did this trip in early June. Our route took us through a variety of gorgeous landscapes – cliffs overlooking the ocean, small towns with roosters crowing, a medieval town encircled by fortified walls, beach towns painted bright colors, pine forests, sand dunes, and marshes. I believe there’s no better way to appreciate that kind of scenery than by traveling on a bike.
We were a group of 16 guests – Americans, Britons, and Canadians – and three Portuguese guides. I traveled to Portugal alone and had a roommate assigned to me. She was lovely, and, really, all of us hit it off. I think this kind of trip attracts like-minded people, and the tour leader, Ruben, told us at our initial briefing in Porto that many of us would become friends. He was right.
The first night, Ruben led us on a walking tour to a port tasting. Afterwards, the group split in half and went to two different restaurants Ruben had recommended. After that, most of us had our dinners together till the end of the bike tour. The food was always great, thanks to Ruben’s recommendations. He always sent us to places with excellent hospitality.
All three of our guides were highly professional – well-prepared, helpful, supportive, friendly, accommodating, flexible, and organized. They kept us informed, entertained, hydrated, and roughly on-time. Every briefing was clear and succinct. We understood where we’d be riding the next day, what time we’d leave, and roughly what time we’d arrive at the next hotel. Ruben was a font of information about Portuguese history, culture, flora and fauna. He held forth on topics ranging from Portuguese royalty to the efforts of environmental activists following the devastating forest fires of 2017. Margarida was a strong cyclist and reliable sweeper, and clearly cared deeply that everyone had what they needed and enjoyed themselves. José drove the van with the bike trailer and reliably had our bags waiting for us in the lobby each time we arrived at a new destination. Every time we saw him he was smiling. They prepared healthy and delicious picnic lunches for us on a couple of occasions, and it was obvious they’d put a lot of thought into them.
Anytime there was a problem, such as a mechanical issue, our guides were equipped to handle it. One day, during a coffee break in Nazaré – we had a coffee break most mornings, which I loved – I watched Ruben fix the electrical connection on another guest’s e-bike after they had taken a small spill. I have a bad knee, so I requested an e-bike from the start. A few others decided along the way to switch to one. When we started in Porto, there were four e-bikes out of 16. By the time we got to Óbidos, I think there were 10 e-bikes. Portugal A2Z, which is contracted by Exodus to run this tour, has its headquarters along the tour route, so I guess that made it easy enough for our guides to switch out the bikes overnight on request.
Overall, this tour was everything I expected after reading the itinerary, trip notes, and reviews on the Exodus website. I found the price reasonable, the guides excellent, the scenery stunning, and the hotels clean and comfortable. I will always remember how much fun I had on this trip and the great people I met. I definitely plan to book with Exodus in the future.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Top notch - knowledgeable, friendly, organized, versatile.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Exodus gives this trip an activity rating of 2 on its website. That was probably accurate for me, and I thought the pace was good with an e-bike. But I do think I would rate the activity level a bit higher than that for anyone using a standard bike, based on comments I heard from some of the other riders. Everyone on this trip was in pretty good shape, but the Porto-to-Óbidos bike route can be quite hilly at times, and we rode as much as 40 miles some days. Whether you choose an electric or standard bike, definitely get some long rides in before you do this trip. Some of my fellow riders complained of saddle soreness, but I was fine.

Yellowstone

What a fantastic trip! It exceeded my expectations, beautiful dramatic landscapes and abundant wildlife.

Most Inspirational Moment

Grizzly bears with cubs, herds of bison, Grand Prismatic spring, beautiful scenery….. too many to mention!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Mike was a fantastic leader. He is extremely knowledgeable, friendly and professional. Nothing was too much trouble.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be prepared for all weathers, don’t forget mosquito repellent .

Excellent holiday

A really well balanced week of walking with some challenging and tricky walks but always rewarded with stunning views. Our guide ensured we enjoyed the best weather for our walks by being flexible with the schedule. First class hosts and guide which made the holiday such a memorable experience, together with great accommodation and a lovely group of people to share the holiday with.

Most Inspirational Moment

To climb above the clouds and experience the spectacular views

Thoughts on Group Leader

Adrian was outstanding. Knowledgeable, humerous, attentive, adaptable and aware of the various abilities of the group. Together either chalet hosts, Thomas and Sol who provided wonderful food and hospitality.

Advice for Potential Travellers

The walks were challenging and tricky in places and reasonable level of fitness required.

Unforgettable time!

I enjoyed the experience with wonderful scenery, and relaxing walks around glorious fields, and vineyards. The hotels are also comfortable with good views of lakes and nature. Good food and delicious wines and very kind staff.
The group was also very nice, we shared and laughed all the time.

Most Inspirational Moment

I enjoyed every second, of the fresh, healthy, and renewing environment.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Luis Coelho and Teresa, our trip guides, were very kind, they always made sure that we were all well. Good teamwork.

Advice for Potential Travellers

It was my first experience with Exodus and I highly recommend it.

Unbelievable experience - challenging and awe inspiring

This is an incredible trek full of history and great food. It is also very challenging physically with long days up and down mountains.

Most Inspirational Moment

Too many to pick one

Thoughts on Group Leader

Edwind was simply the best - full of knowledge of the Inca and pre Ince history and the local flora & fauna. He was attentive, caring and full of fun at all times.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be prepared for a physical challenge. We were woken every day at 4.30am (other than our day at Choquequirao) and walked for 10 - 11 hours. Also be prepared to be incredibly well fed - the quality & quantity of food is remarkable.

Rainforest extension

After a great trek this was disappointing. The guide (Raoul) gave the impression of just going through the motions really.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Poor

Lost city of Choquequirao

Very enjoyable, but tough trek. The guide (Edwind) was excellent (no wonder we was voted Exodus’s best guide last year. He has a great sense of humour, and was so knowledgeable, not just on the Inca’s and their sites, but on the wildlife, plants, trees, the stars and made the whole trek so interesting. The support team of Romulo, Anibal and Roberto were also always helpful and cheerful. The meals the chef Alejandro produced (sometimes from a tent in the middle of nowhere) where amazing.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Excellent

Excellent Namibia camping tour

My trip to Namibia on the camping tour was excellent. Good pre-tour communication and friendly staff when I called. The trip ran according to the itinerary which covered all of the main areas of the country at a comfortable pace. The guide was knowledgeable, great at spotting wildlife, organised and friendly. The tents were good, the sand dunes high and the wildlife fantastic.

Most Inspirational Moment

There were many. Seeing the high sand dunes and Deadvlei, the 2000-9000 year old rock art and the large number of animals in Etosha. We spent over half an hour watching a leopard in a tree next to the road, and saw 3 lions close to our vehicle on the night safari that started to roar to each other before one set off to hunt. I also saw a herd of elephants run to a waterhole whilst trumpeting with a number of young in their number and then watched their interactions as they drank and applied "dusty sun protection" for over an hour. It was also wonderful to see so many animals with young - rhino, zebra, giraffes, springbok etc.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our group leader was excellent, friendly and knowledgeable. He was well organised and ensured that the trip ran efficiently.

Advice for Potential Travellers

I went in June and had sunny weather every day with a dry heat so with a hat and sunscreen it was comfortable. It did get cold some nights and so its worth taking a decent sleeping bag. We all purchased blankets in Windhoek, which ensured that we slept well on a couple of the colder nights and then donated these at the end of the trip. There are some long drives on bumpy roads that can't be avoided, but there was usually something of interest to see out of the window and we did make a number of stops.