Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    David Wilford

    Wow!

    This really was a holiday of heightened senses: the most brilliant colours, the noisiest roads, the most intense flavours, the brightest smiles, the biggest views – and everything experienced in the thick of it, either from a bike or on foot. Vehicle transfers are few and far between, meaning there’s nothing between you and your environment (including a tiger, if you’re lucky enough to see one – which sadly we weren’t). The great thing about Exodus at their best is that they can organise things we could never do on our own: not just carefully picked hotels and restaurants, but also temple and palace tours, a safari, a houseboat trip, a bespoke lunch in a bay of the Indian Ocean – and much more. That not only makes this trip great value – it also makes a lifetime memory. And then, of course, there are the guides. The unfailing cheerfulness and knowledge of Joseph and our support driver Maneesh were a constant bonus that contributed to this being not only our best Exodus trip to date (it was our fourth) but one of the best holidays of our lives. Cycling aside, in fact, a highlight was a lesson in Bollywood dancing from Joseph – who is incredible at it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of two: getting up Ooti hill without passing out, and Joseph's Bollywood lesson - see above!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joseph and Maneesh were both fantastic - anybody who gets this team in future is very lucky.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it...
  • Reviewed April 2019
    STEPHANIE SWAIN

    Awesome trip to Everest Base Camp

    Great trek with fantastic leaders & an amazing group of people

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All reaching Everest Base camp & staying 2 night. The whole trip was amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader was great & we all felt very safe re altitude trekking

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just keep putting 1 foot in front of the other 😊
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Paul Dent

    Best Experience Every ...

    Brilliant, just brilliant experience and led by professional and competent people. I do admire Val, her experience, communication and leadership of the team and ourselves was impeccable. You will experience much more than you expect, in terms of terrain, views, people and accommodation too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise over Everest was thrilling and not to be missed. The Khumbu glacier was inspirational too, especiLly from its base point.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As above, you will struggle to find a better leader for this. She knows what to do and also is brilliant if required for non- standard situations. In addition to her Leadership skills, It should be added that Val is also a very very nice person indeed and will always have your best interests in mind and she misses little.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a moped mind with you and do enjoy the journey, as well as the destination, as Virginia would say.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Val has some very competent guides and future leaders in her group. Do watch and listen to these guys ... they’re also very humorous people too.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Ronnie van der Ploeg

    It’s a jungle out there!

    A very enjoyable two weeks spent in the company of 15 other Exodus travellers who embraced the spirit of adventure and discovery in Malaysian Borneo. Together we journeyed the length of Sarawak and Sabah by minibus, coach, plane, boat and jeep visiting spectacular locations including breathtaking caves, stunning rainforests and acquainting ourselves with the local wildlife and bird life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife highlight was undoubtedly spotting our first orangutan in the wild, followed by the sight of the clouds of bats leaving their cave in Mulu National Park at dusk. Although not as imperious as the Mulu Caves, a visit to Gomanting Cave is also breathtaking, and not just because of the overwhelming smell of guano! Meet bats, swiftlets, mosquitoes, cockroaches, mouse deer, spiders... and you may also see some of the locals who have set up bases in the caves to sleep and guard the swiftlets nests. You will enjoy the thrill of the river cruises along the Kinabatangan River looking out for the wildlife before returning to the Borneo Nature Lodge to enjoy the friendly hospitality of the staff. The long journey to the Danube Valley will be worth it once you arrive at Borneo Rainforest Lodge - fantastic location, impressive accommodation.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly and ensured that all the trips ran smoothly, and that everyone felt comfortable with the activities we undertook.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t touch the handrails in the Gomantong Cave! The longhouse facilities are basic and the food is ‘local’, so don’t be surprised when the fish stew arrives with a fish skull lurking below the surface - but the visit to the longhouse is actually an enjoyable experience and part of the adventure you all undertake together.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I personally would have liked some more commentary on the country, customs, language and history of Borneo as we travelled for ,one periods on the buses. Instead I read about it myself in a guide book.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    S J REYNOLDS

    A very enjoyable trip in Madeira was had by all!

    Just returned from Madeira, whilst the weather was pretty miserable we still had a great time. Andre our guide had to substitute a couple of our walks due to the weather conditions. Very impressed with Madeira and the locals who very helpful, but I would suggest maybe going at a different time of the year, (Not April). Exodus planned everything from we lifted up the phone until we were left back to the airport. The hotels, the pack lunches, the walks, flights etc.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire trip. Each day was very different and a great experience. The only downside was the weather. It meant that two days had to be rescheduled, but a great trip none the less.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was good, very approachable and nothing was a problem for him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Following the tips by Exodus and the things which you need to pack to take with you. As you have been given this list for a reason.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lisa Burt-frost

    Trip full of wonder

    Premium Nile trip to fulfil a lifetime of wonder

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Honestly all of the sights, a lifetime of reading about these ancient wonders only to find yourself actually there, walking into the Chambers of a Pyramid, through tombs in the valley of the Kings, even Tomb of King Tut and seeing his mummified remains, wondering around various temples including Karnak, Edfu, Hatshepsut's etc, the workers village trip is a must, and the simply breathtaking Abu Simbel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had Sayed, his knowledge and passion for all things Egyptian is mind blowing, if you want to learn along the way Sayed is your guide. But he also finds a balance between giving you lots of info but free time to explore as well, nothing was too much trouble and we never felt rushed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only down side to this tour is Exodus are still supporting a couple of areas less than positive where animal welfare is concerned, when visiting the temple please do not support the horse and carriage rides this is a barbaric practice and sadly avoidable as for every horse and carriage their is a man trying to earn a living with a Tut Tut, speak to your guide and tell him you want a Tut Tut only, the more of us that do this the less horses will suffer in this practice. Also be aware that if doing the Nubian Village tour which I do recommend request that you only visit a house that does not have a caged Croc, we visited Fifi and her family and had a lovely time, a very confident and spirited young lady with a very clean and welcoming home.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have always wanted to immerse yourself in the real ancient side of Egypt then do consider booking this trip, you won't be disappointed
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Louise Sampson

    Excellent well balanced trip

    This trip is a good mix of walking, city culture, great wine tasting and good food. The walks are leisurely - undulating - through lovely county side and vineyards. Not too long but long enough to know you have done something. Local guided tours had been arranged in Siena and Florence which made it more focused since there is really only time for a taster! - definitely go back for a longer trip to see all they both have to offer. The arranged wine tastings were very informative especially the one at the Tuscany wine school in Siena - we will be on the look out for the wines we tasted. The local restaurants used all served excellent food as did the Vila Casalta where we stayed. We also took part in an italian cooking lesson run by Edith on our free day. Well worth going to - but she only takes cash. Our guide Liz - was very experienced, very informative and knowledgeable. All in all an excellent holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really enjoyed it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz - Elizabeth Proctor was excellent
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jacqueline Menniss

    Full on trip with lots to experience

    Prepare for long days, early starts, long bus journey's and a full itinerary - but be rewarded by great varied scenery, busy bustling medinas with their labyrinth of noisy disorientating souks, to the tranquility of the Atlas mountains and the spectacular desert.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It has to be the desert - the camel ride through the sand dunes to the Bedouin tent was magical and a great experience. Loved the High Atlas mountain stay meeting the locals and being invited in a home for a simple meal - the berbers were so friendly and welcoming. Really enjoyed the hike through the High Atlas mountains with great views. Enjoyed free time by the sea in Essaouira - a chance to relax and wander the souks which were a lot more peaceful than busy Marrakech.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was a great guide - competent and knowledgeable with a great love of his Berber heritage and culture which he shared with us. He kept us safe and took us to lots of different places to eat, recommending what we should eat and avoid. A lovely man who encouraged us to ask questions about life in Morocco, it's people, culture and religion. He knew everyone. Thanks Abdullah.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some reading and preparation before you go especially if you haven't travelled much outside of Europe. This 'premier' tour is not premier by British standards. The accommodation whilst reflecting the Moroccan experience of riads and kasbahs looks lovely and exotic, in practice they are often very basic with hard beds, faulty equipment, poor plumbing and not cleaned to the standard you might expect. Once you accept this - immerse yourself in its difference as they are beautiful. The people on the whole are very welcoming and friendly especially in the rural areas but you will experience poverty and sights that you may find uncomfortable - but this is Morroco - prepare to experience all it has and you will have a great time. '
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Peter Talfourd

    Accurate

    Different from most cycle trips but group kept together well and no moans or groans Also guide and assistant very good

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Generally feeling of isolation and proximity of Russian border.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good different from usual guides being older but group age older

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Open mind as to accommodation
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Carole Barlow

    Exceeded our expectations.

    A brilliant trip, combining quieter , less well known areas with the big cities of Amritsar, Delhi and Agra.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal at dawn has to be the highlight of the trip but we have so many wonderful memories.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would recommend this holiday to anyone but try to get a couple of nights in Agra as there is so much to see.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus had obviously acted promptly in response to some negative reviews from a previous trip and had changed a couple of the hotels. They also responded magnificently when Jet Airways cancelled our return flight with less than 24 hours notice. They booked us new flights within the hour and we arrived home just a couple of hours later than scheduled.
Call us on 1300 131 564