Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Coastal Walks of Western Sicily

The overall experience was excellent. Everything was very organized including the transportation each day, and the help with making any additional arrangements.

Most Inspirational Moment

The hiking in Zingaro Park, as well as the visits to the different towns. The ocean swims were the best!

Thoughts on Group Leader

As I mentioned, it would have been helpful for the leader to facilitate more connections and introductions between the group members from the start.

Coastal Walks of Western Sicily

Our guide Tony had exceptional knowledge of all the places that we visited and the history surrounding them. He was happy to make small changes to our day based on joint agreement. He went that extra mile i.e. showed me the way to the Pharmacia and interpreted for me when I needed treatment for mosquito bites,

Most Inspirational Moment

"Seeing the magnificent ancient landscapes of Western Sicily and learning about their history from millions of years BC. Swimming in the wild sea Exploring the old town in Trapani Eating delicious local food and gelato"

Thoughts on Group Leader

He was kind, friendly and thoughtful.

Cave painted

Enjoyable and interesting trip.

Most Inspirational Moment

Eleven thousand years old sea cave paintings.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Enthusiastic and patient. Very laid back and friendly style but on the ball when he needed to be.

Advice for Potential Travellers

The local Gazerotta wine is fantastic. You don’t need full on hiking boots in the hot weather. Walking sandals are more appropriate in the heat.

Suggestions

The swimming at the small pebbly beaches along the way is sublime.

Enjoyable BUT not as good as it should have been

Pleasant walking , good hotels but some poor organisation before and during the trip.

Most Inspirational Moment

The best days on the trip were Monte Cofano, the island of Levanzo and the cable car trip to Eriche. I went by taxi on the free day to the salt museum in Trapani which I'd recommend. If you want to go to some of the other wildlife salt flats on an organised trip you need to book that before you get to Trapani !

Thoughts on Group Leader

Benoit is competent but at times seemed badly organised, leaving things rather late to sort . He doesn't come from the area and was out of date not having been since the Spring so didn't know about the impact of the wildfires and had never been to the hotel we used in Trapani. The wildfires in July have burnt Monte Monaco so that walk wasn't possible though we were only told that when the coach arrived there and the guide saw it for himself. Instead we had a longer bus trip to the far end of the Zingaro coastal path and did a shorter walk , which turned out to be very similar to the second day which was a bit disappointing.

Advice for Potential Travellers

You can fly direct to Palermo from Luton , Stansted and Heathrow so you don't have to stick to the Group flights from Gatwick though Exodus didn't seem to know this when I booked. I went with EasyJet from Luton and the flights were pretty much on time. There is also a very good airport bus service( regular and reliable) from the Port at Trapani back to Palermo in 1 hour 10 mins for under EUR 10 so don't get stung by the extortionate transfer cost Exodus quote on booking for non group flight members (they quoted me £199 !). The trip notes suggest all the transport is by private vehicle. In Trapani we also used public buses and taxis. The public buses are cheap but not very frequent and take a very slow route into town. The rocky beaches are small and can be busy and you need aqua shoes or sandals to enter the sea. The sandy beaches are very busy and rather spoilt by lots of back to back sun beds and sunshades. It can be quite windy . The Scirocco winds impacted on a couple of days. The walking isn't hard but some of it is in the heat of the day and some of the group found it too rocky underfoot so you need to wear proper boots. I stayed in Palermo before the trip and would recommend a couple of days there if you like history.

Suggestions

Bad choice of Group flight by Exodus meant it arrived too late for an evening meal on the first day., so the Group meal was rescheduled to the second day. It also compromised the start time of the second day as the driver has an obligatory rest period which ended up being significantly altered from what we were originally told anyway.

Coastal Walks of Western Sicily

Beautiful part of Sicily. Weather was mixed with some pretty hefty rainfall but our walks were adjusted accordingly because of possibility of thunderstorms (and boy, did it rain) But if you’re properly clad, with appropriate clothing and footwear, rain is not a problem! It simply added to the adventure!

Most Inspirational Moment

"Personally, being a regular hill person (!), I especially enjoyed the first day's climb and also the walk in Levanzo, which hugged the coastline for a good while and then we had a pretty decent climb up and over. But all walks had their own charm and appeal. The variety of flora was astounding. I loved the entire trip."

Thoughts on Group Leader

A really lovely man, well-organised and having to make some small changes due to weather conditions. We were always kept abreast of the next day's plans and any options. He was very proud of his Sicilian lineage and extremely knowledgeable re flora and the island's history. Also had some wonderful meals which he organised for the group!!

Spectacular wildflowers, coastal views and seafood

This was our fourth walking trip with Exodus (all graded Leisurely/Moderate) and the first occasion on which Exodus had run this particular holiday. Exodus and their local partner had arranged five days of walking based in the small coastal village of Scopello and the busy town of Trapani, plus a free day in Trapani. We had a full week of glorious weather and the walks (sometimes involving steep and quite sustained ascents and descents on quite rough tracks) showcased spectacular displays of wild flowers and rugged Sicilian coastal scenery to great effect. Our knowledgeable guide Benoit and Giorgia from Exodus’ local partner made some minor adjustments to the itinerary and timetable to take account of the (not unusual) range of walking speeds in the group and spared no effort to make the trip a real success. Benoit arranged two great picnics and Giorgia and Benoit selected excellent restaurants for the party every evening (super Sicilian seafood), making for a very convivial holiday. The hotel in Scopello was well located and very welcoming; the location of the hotel in Trapani was less satisfactory and had no refreshment facilities other than at breakfast. This was the only blemish on an otherwise excellent and memorable trip. Thoroughly recommended!

Most Inspirational Moment

The high level track in the Zingaro National Nature Reserve was well worth the 400m ascent, with a profusion of wild flowers and stunning sea views, punctuated by a memorable picnic under carob and olive trees, organised by Benoit. The cave on the island of Levanzo, with its palaeolithic rock engravings and neolithic paintings was an unforgettable experience, followed by another Benoit picnic.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Benoit was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and flexible. Once he realised that the overall pace on a Leisurely/Moderate trip needs to recognise that some members, while well able to cope with distance, may be considerably slower up and down steep paths than more experienced hillwalkers, he adjusted pace appropriately and spared no effort to make the trip enjoyable for all.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Three of the walks on the published itinerary involve more sustained relatively steep climbs, on quite rough tracks, than we have encountered on our three previous Leisurely/Moderate Exodus trips. We would strongly recommend walking poles and boots with a good tread and ankle support. Also bear in mind that there is very little shade other than on the picnic breaks. This could be an issue later in the season. However, overall, if you are properly equipped and prepared, you should have a memorable holiday.

Suggestions

Roll on our next walking trip with Exodus!

Stunning walk in Sicily

This trip was filled with beautiful coastal walks with stops on some of the most beautiful beaches I’ve seen. You visit several different spots around Sicily during the week and taste some great food along the way. One of the highlights was our Guide Benoît’s fabulous picnics that we had during our walks. We had a great group and were lucky to see lots of flora and fauna along the walks.