View our latest travel disruption updates on Coronavirus here

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

126 Reviews

  • Reviewed August 2019
    Caroline Fielden

    Eletastic -more elephants than you can count.

    If you love seeing wildlife up close and personal then this trip is for you. It visits some of the best national parks in two amazing countries with a bit of added comfort. Each park has its own special characteristics - being in Botswana is like being on a permanent safari, animals can be seen on the side of the road as you travel from A to B; there is nothing more bizarre than having to slow down for a family of elephants or a herd of zebra - beats a flock of sheep! Any preconceived ideas you may have about Zimbabwe will prove to be wrong. It is one of the most beautiful countries I have travelled in - the parks are spectacular, from the rugged beauty of the Motopos to the sweeping plains of Hwange and the people amazing. It completely exceeded my expectations and I would love to return one day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was amazing, but a few stand out. Being a few metres from a group of five white rhino on foot. They were totally chilled and accepting of people in their environment. Sneaking into a tent 2 meters from a bull elephant who decided to visit the water hole outside. He made for an interesting night as he enjoyed himself breaking trees just the other side of a piece the canvas. The most memorable moment was the visit to the Painted Dog Sanctuary. The staff there were so passionate about what they do and as a bonus there was a pack of wild painted dogs who regularly visit one of their family who was too injured to be released back into the wild.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rowan was passionate about the wildlife around us and very knowledgeable. If he didn't know the answer he has his library of books. He arranged a cake and bubbly to celebrate my birthday with the stunning sunset of the salt pans as the back drop. Our driver Sifiso was amazing and so much more than a driver. He joined us on all the early morning game drives and was as excited about the animals as we were, plus an awesome pair of game spotting eyes. He also had a wicked sense of humour and enjoyed spending time in the our company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A few hints: 1. Currency in both countries is almost impossible to get hold of so arrange a credit card which can be used with out fees when abroad if you don' already have one. 2 Take torches and power packs for the frequent power cuts and a South African round pin adaptor as you will only find UK plugs in Victoria Falls. 3. Immigration at Vic Falls in a nightmare. You need to buy a multi-entry visa at $70 (not the Univisa Exodus suggests). 4. Finally, take the plane flight over the Delta and helicopter over the Falls. Both are stunning. We booked our helicopter flights before leaving with Bonisair - as we wanted a longer flight - however this is the company that the tour guide suggests if you book in situ.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go, you won't be disappointed. This is the stuff holidays of a lifetime are made from.
  • It is an awesome trip with lots of memories

    As mentioned in previous reviews it is a full on but very worthwhile trip. From start to finish there are so many experiences. It is a trip for you if you want to see wildlife but have a bit of comfort. The camping trip was fabulous - not roughing it too much - everything is done for you - you just have to sit back and enjoy - Rowan even bakes a cake. I was a bit apprehensive about the bush toilet - but its was no problem and the bush shower quite fun. We didn't manage to see any lions - but that is the luck of a safari - you are venturing into their habitat so nothing can be guaranteed. There is not much down time - except during the long travel between places but that is undertaken in a very comfortable mini bus. Plus there is always something to look at - or playing who wants to be a millionaire! We didn't win a lot! The group of people we were with were great company and thus also helped to make it a great trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to decide as it was a fabulous trip with lots of experiences - Seeing the leopard in Chobe NP, watching hundreds of elephants get together in the water hole in Hwange NP, coming up close to Rhinos in Matobo NP or the fabulous camping trip in Okavango Delta or seeing Victoria Falls for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rowan our guide and Sifiso our driver certainly lived up to the good reviews others have previously placed. Nothing was too much trouble, Both shared there experiences and information Sifiso was a great driver - so we felt safe all the time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember your torches and head torch for the camping plus if there is powercuts - which occurred in Zimbabwe. Remember to take a travel plug adaptor for Botswana/South Africa you will need it to charge up anything. Also take an additional battery pack for charging your phones ( if used as a camera) whilst camping. It does get cold on the morning game drives - take layers - hats, gloves, windproofs etc you will need them! Also the evenings can get cold. We took lots of photos - but also you need to take time to experience the wildlife not through a lens. If you are thinking of doing this trip - just do it - you will not regret it. It is fabulous.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We took items to give to schools - ideas from pack for purpose - which we left at the village school where the villagers came from who poled our Mokoro canoes and looked after us whilst camping. They need more colouring pencils, exercise books, counting cubes and other items for teaching maths, plus games fro small children to play. We also paid extra for the flight over the Okavango delta which was awesome - seeing the animals from above and gave us an appreciation of how little water there was at the time we had our trip. They were still waiting for the water to come down from Angola. We also all did a night safari where you are not guaranteed to see anything but we saw elephants, zebra, etc The helicopter ride over Victoria falls is also a must.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Byers

    Full on every fay

    A full on safari/trip through Botswana and Zimbabwe - not for you if you need 10 hours sleep every night. The highlight without doubt is the trip via Mokorro canoe and camping trip into the Otovango delta. Some long days travelling in the mini bus but all very worthwhile.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Otovango delta

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely one of the best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alison Kett

    Unforgettable Trip

    First time to Africa, didn’t know what to expect, but loved every minute, honestly cannot recommend enough. These are two very beautiful countries with such contrasting scenery. It was great to explore whilst still having the comfort of staying in beautiful lodges. Each one bought its own quirks, character and wildlife and I really liked being able to relax by the pool or at the bar in-between activities and in the evenings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were just too many incredible moments to single out one. Two stand-out moments for me include being within a few metres of five white Rhino and coming across a male and female lion by the side of the road. The absolute highlight of the trip though was our time in the Delta. I was apprehensive before going (camping/toilets/showers) but was blown away by the whole experience and wish we had stayed longer. Being able to hear lions roaring in the distance, having around 15 elephants wading through the water within metres of our camp both during the day and at night, coming across painted dogs running around and playing on one of our walks, learning to pole a mokoro and meeting the lovely people from a local village who looked after us so well. I especially loved visiting their village afterwards and they were so grateful for the stationary and toys that we took for the children.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The whole trip was flawlessly executed and that was down to Rowan (our leader) and Sifiso (our driver). Rowan was very well organised and always helped us to get the most out of our experience . He kept us well entertained on the long drives with quiz games and spotting wildlife, had excellent knowledge of all the birds and animals we came across and if there was anything he didn’t know he had many reference books to look up information. He also cooked up some delicious food when we camped in the Delta (my favorites being the “Delta” cake). Sifiso drove superbly the entire trip over what were sometimes very rough roads. We all really enjoyed Rowan and Sifisos company and can’t thank them enough for making such an unforgettable trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more money for tipping. There are so many lovely people who can’t do enough for you and we got slightly caught out by not having enough cash and it wasn’t easy to get hold of more. If you decide to do the night safari in Hwange, invest in a really good torch.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was an unforgettable experience. Writing this review three weeks on, and I’m still suffering from “holiday blues”.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Shelley Napper

    Amazing Adventure

    It’s hard to put into words how amazing the Exodus’ Botswana & Zimbabwe Lodge Safari experience is. I knew this would be a trip with a difference, but this African adventure went beyond my wildest dreams.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two nights wild camping was, for me, the most daunting part of the trip and ended up being my absolute highlight – elephants water-crossing near camp, wild dogs playing and of course the smooth relaxing, mokoro trips. However, wild camping in the Okavango Delta is only one of a multitude of highlights that this trip has to offer -every day offers something amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    While I’m sure any trip in Africa could be amazing, it was the Exodus team members that made our extraordinary trip what it was – unforgettable! Rowan (our leader) and Sifiso (our driver) went above and beyond to ensure that this once in a lifetime experience was beyond all expectations. Their wealth of experience was demonstrated through their expansive local knowledge, smooth organisation and the ease with which everything was accomplished. Rowan’s energy, generosity and wide array of interests meant that many experiences had a personal touch – just one of many examples being the drone footage he generously took and gave to our group, recorded memories of something so special I cannot thank him enough. Sifiso’s calm, friendly nature and superior driving skills made comfortable and safe driving days and provided the relaxed atmosphere a trip like this deserves. Rowan and Sifiso, I cannot thank either of you enough!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I look forward to future Exodus adventures.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kathleen Ramsey

    An exciting three-week trip

    This was a wonderful introduction to Southern Africa. Although there were some long days travelling, the constantly changing scenery in Namibia was a delight, and we gained an appreciation of the vastness and emptiness of the country. The bus was noisy but not uncomfortable, and with eleven members of the party, there was plenty of room for us to move around. We had a brief introduction to the Cape Town area, then travelled north firstly through farmland in South Africa, and then through the wonderful Namibian desert scenery before spending a few days observing the wild animals in Etosha (Namibia) and then in Chobe (Botswana). Victoria Falls made a spectacular end to our trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My main reason for choosing this trip was to see the desert landscape in Namibia and visit Victoria Falls, both of which exceeded my expectations. The scenery in Sossusvlei and Deadvlei was spectacular. However, I was bowled over by the variety of wildlife we saw on game drives in Etosha, and very much enjoyed observing the interactions between animals at the waterholes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jonathan (our leader) and Molifi (our driver) made a good team. They were well-organised and despite being on duty virtually all the time, they were both unfailingly cheerful and helpful. They prepared some excellent lunches and suppers for us, and did their best to make sure that we got the most out of our African experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unemployment is very high in Zimbabwe and most people are very poor; we left all our partly-used toiletries, dressings, basic medicines and even some clothing to be distributed by a local charity. Had we realised how short most people are of basic necessities, we would have made sure we had more with us to leave there. Zimbabwe is expensive and cash is not available from ATMs. The border crossing into Zimbabwe was frustrating, and we had to queue for well over two hours in the hot sun. Make sure you are adequately prepared for the wait (sunscreen, hats, drinks).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The optional visit to a village settlement in northern Namibia was sobering but worth experiencing. On our free day in Swakopmund, we booked on the morning Living Desert tour, which was worth doing, despite the early start. We chose to go over into Zambia on our free day in Victoria Falls, to see the cascades from the other side. It was well worth the effort, as you can get closer to the falls and can climb down to the river side at Boiling Pot, as well as visit the top of the falls. Taking or hiring a waterproof can limit the extent of the inevitable soaking.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Stephen Newey

    An amazing adventure in Botswana

    Our adventure in Botswana was the most incredible experience we have ever encountered. The guides were amazing. Their knowledge of all things growing or living in this beautiful country was boundless. They were all extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble, always going the extra mile to ensure that we got the most out of our trip. Our cook produced the most delicious recipes and all on an open fire with a few pots and pans. Wild camping definitely gave us a flavour of actually being amongst the wildlife. We saw all the species of animals and birdlife that anyone could wish for. A trip across the border to Zimbabwe took us to the breath-taking Victoria Falls. So majestic yet so powerful. It would be remiss of me not to mention our two main guides, Ngande and Mello. They were incredibly caring and thoughtful towards our needs, always ensuring that our safari experience was the best that it could possibly be. Finally, we are so grateful to Exodus for arranging what proved to be the adventure of a lifetime and one which we will never forget.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire experience was inspirational but the most emotional moment for me happened on a morning game drive, when we came across a beautiful male leopard sitting majestically on top of a grassy mound. Needless to say that my camera was red hot that day. The previous morning drive was a lovely misty morning when we encountered a small pride of lions. One of the shots I took was perfect. I called it "Lions in the Mist"

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was an amazing man called Ngande Mosepele. His knowledge of wildlife and birdlife was boundless. He was so caring and kind to everyone, always making sure that each of our group, regardless of our individual interests, got the most out of our trip. He also had a great sense of humour. We all agreed that we couldn't have had a better leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If anyone is undecided over whether or not this type trip is for you. Don't think twice. Just do it. I promise you won't be disappointed. If like us, you have never been on safari before, choose "Wildlife and Wilderness of Botswana" It will be an adventure you will never forget!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't think there is anything I can add that I haven't already said. This fulfilled our every wish and much much more. I have purposely not used the word holiday in any part of this review. This was not a holiday, it was an incredible adventure, and one which my wife and I will never forget.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Bob Entwistle

    Great Holiday

    A most interesting and enjoyable trip with good company and plenty of wildlife to see. The safaris enabled us to see lions on 3 separate occasions, a leopard up a tree and a 'crash' of 5 white rhinoceros asleep under a tree as well as elephants on land and swimming. We stayed under canvas but with en-suite facilities except at the Okavango Delta. The visit to Victoria Falls at the end of the trip was impressive the scale of them is huge.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two nights camping at the Okavango Delta which we reached by mokoro (dug out canoes) being poled by local villagers. This was experiencing real Africa.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rowan was knowledgeable and helpful as well as an excellent cook during the camping.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your camera protected by waterproof bags to Victoria Falls you will get some amazing pictures.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Bob Entwistle

    Great Holiday

    A most interesting and enjoyable trip with good company and plenty of wildlife to see. The safaris enabled us to see lions on 3 separate occasions, a leopard up a tree and a 'crash' of 5 white rhinoceros asleep under a tree as well as elephants on land and swimming. We stayed under canvas but with en-suite facilities except at the Okavango Delta. The visit to Victoria Falls at the end of the trip was impressive the scale of them is huge.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two nights camping at the Okavango Delta which we reached by mokoro (dug out canoes) being poled by local villagers. This was experiencing real Africa.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rowan was knowledgeable and helpful as well as an excellent cook during the camping.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your camera protected by waterproof bags to Victoria Falls you will get some amazing pictures.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Michael Freestone

    Swimming in the cool pools of the Okavango Delta

    It was hot and sticky. But swimming in the Okavango Delta, cruising on the Chobe River, seeing a multitude of birds and hearing hippos in the distance made up for the mild discomfort. We travel to get under a country's skin, experience the culture and local hospitality. Our trip to Matabeleland and visiting Cecil Rhodes' memorial was captivating; there in the wild, silent, rocky countryside, with lizards scurrying around and baboons barking in the distance was inspiring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were two wonderful experiences. Firstly getting soaked to the skin walking through the mist and spray by the Victoria Falls. And secondly, seeing at least five rhinos snoozing under the shade of a mopane tree with gentle puffs of dust arising as they snorted and slept in the heat of the afternoon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rowan Moon was just what I expected. A very sociable young chap with an Afrikaan accent who looked after our small group very well. He makes exceptional cakes by a camp fire and an excellent vegetarian stew which he seemed to conjure up from nowhere. He even flew his drone and shared some fascinating aerial shots of us canoeing in mokoros in the Delta.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready for long road trips and try to go to Vic Falls twice. Once to get thoroughly soaked and second to take your cameras avoiding the wettest spots to record the atmosphere and thunder!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would have preferred to travel from Kasane to Maun on roads which went through African villages as opposed to going in a direct line from A to B. Having travelled to various African countries the experience of stopping in villages enhances memories ie the wood smoke, the people and buying local snacks from produce stalls along the way. Lastly, when visiting Hwange NP the tour was split in two which was enjoyable but the pm tour took us on the same route as in the am.