Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2017
    Sarah Taylor

    Colours of Rajasthan

    A fascinating trip, packed with the vibrant cultures of India. The tour was excellently planned and managed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It has to be The Taj Mahal in the morning light. Also the beautiful countryside between Udaipur and Jodphur.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Harish was the perfect group leader. Very well informed, intelligent and amusing. And very thoughtful too, ensuring everyone was feeling good and enjoying the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there is a lot of travelling on some days but it is well managed. If you want to see the many places in the intinary, it is worth the travelling.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Sarah Seaton

    A wonderful experience of Northern India

    This trip was a wonderful taster of all that Rajasthan had to offer. Travelling long distances, although tiring, meant that experiencing all of Rajasthan was possible. From the bustling of Delhi to the calm of Ranthambore, this trip will have something for everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the Taj Mahal, which is a wonderful memorial to love and a beautiful sight. However, it was also wonderful to visit India during Holi, a bright and colourful festival.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronit was a wonderful tour leader who ensured that everyone was happy throughout the trip. He couldn't have done more for us throughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The days are long on this trip and there is a lot of travelling. The trip notes are quite accurate, but don't underestimate how hard 5-6 hours on a coach may be for you. However, the view out of the window is always interesting in India.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Victoria Connelly

    A Sensory Extravaganza!

    A fantastic introduction to this amazing country. The food, the people, the history, the sights, the sounds....my senses were constantly bombarded with new experiences at every turn. India had been on my travel bucket list for a long time and it did not disappoint...I'm already planning to go back!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal is simply breathtaking - most definitely the highlight of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some entertainment for the long bus journeys although there is usually plenty to look at as you pass through the villages and towns. The evenings and early mornings can be surprisingly chilly during the winter months so take a jacket. Hat and gloves are also a good option for the very early game drive in Ranthambore National Park.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Helen Woods

    Colours of Rajasthan

    A complete assault on the senses! As an ex-travel agent and very much an independent traveller, I was a little hesitant about an organised tour. However, for first timers to India, a small group tour is a brilliant way to fit everything in. Yes, it was a whistle stop tour, but was a wonderful introduction to India. I loved the way Indian people kept asking for photographs with us, and struck up conversations. Only one issue..... where do we go next?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal, of course, but at the end of our holiday, Ronit fitted in a trip to a Sikh temple. I thought by then I was templed, palaced and fortressed out, but I found the place so uplifting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronit, our guide, was calm, funny and knowledgeable, but also gave us plenty of quiet time on the long journeys. Hence, we could absorb what was going on about us on the streets and passing through the villages.... or sleep!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although the trip says leisurely, be aware that many temples and fortresses have lots and lots of steps, so you do need to be reasonably fit. Remember, in most places you only stay one night, so there is no point in taking too many clothes with you, you will never find them in your case. There is time about half way through the trip to send them to the hotel laundry.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My advice would be.... go ahead and book.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Moira Cerny

    Colours of Rajasthan

    This was our first trip to India and it provided a fascinating introduction. It is aptly named. The colours are truly amazing. Even though some of the journeys were long, there was almost always something interesting to observe from the window.The itinerary was full and the local guides very informative, as was our tour leader. We had a very friendly group, a great tour leader, lots of good food and are already thinking of planning our next holiday in India!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many - the obvious ones like the Taj Mahal, but also Bundi, where we were away from the tourist trail, drank the most delicious masala tea and wandered through the market, after visiting an abandoned fort, much loved by our local guide. The colours in the markets and the beautiful artwork . The people , who were unfailingly polite, the traffic , riding in tuk-tuks, the wedding processions in the streets - apparently it was an 'auspicious time' to get married!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay looked after us very well. He was very informative about all aspects of Indian life and answered our questions in detail and with good humour. It was good to hear someone speak so positively about the future of his country. He was always attentive to the group's needs,particularly in the search to find a working ATM! He organised a few extras - e.g. the Sikh temple in Delhi and the Midnight Gardens in Agra. He went out of his way to organise a trip to the cinema for four of us. His obvious love of his country and his pleasure in sharing it with us, shone throughout our trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather was unseasonably cold at the beginning of our trip, so would recommend taking warm clothes if going in January - especially for sleeping, as hotels have no heating! Be prepared for long bus journeys and take something to listen to - can be quite bumpy for reading! Those with back problems might want to reconsider the ride in the cantor . It was particularly bumpy and one of our group was incapacitated the next day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would suggest missing out the trip to the jewellers in Jaipur. It was not sufficiently interesting to warrant the time spent there. Add the Sikh temple to the itinerary in Delhi - it was wonderful.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    James Fewell

    Colours of Rajastahn

    I thought this was an excellent trip, designed to the highest standards I have come to expect from Exodus. It has a fantastic itinerary of fascinating places, forts and temples, supported by good accommodation. It is rightly designated 'Leisurely' as very little walking is involved, and personally I would have liked a bit more exercise, but there are some long journeys which may be a consideration for some travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Of course the Taj Mahal is an obvious answer, but I particularly valued an unscheduled stop at Chittorgarh Fort, on the initiative of our Tour Leader - full marks! This is an astonishingly large complex, and I recommend it for formal inclusion in future trips, as it broke the long journey. Consequently, we could only spare a couple of hours, but I hope to return and spend several days there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    GAJRAJ - is a first class professional, completely on top of his game. He has excellent command of English (not his language!) and has a good sense of our British humour. I am sure there must have been admin. issues along the way, that Gaj dealt with quietly and efficiently on his mobile phone. In particular, there was a 'Cash Crisis', which Gaj went to exceptional lengths to manage around, for example, touring one town on the back of someone's motorbike to find a working ATM - thank you very much - it took much of the stress out of a difficult situation. Gaj also facilitated three of us visiting Ranthambore Fort during some free time, which is tantalisingly visible from the National Park, with many temples and buildings. We greatly appreciated this, and felt it was better use of our time than a second Game Drive, so we recommend it should become an optional alternative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just be aware, there are some long journeys. Also that it was very cold, doing the early morning Ranthambore safari, so take plenty of warm clothes (e.g. layers, hats and gloves.)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was disappointed that no hot water was available on any of the occasions when I needed it, at the Ranthambore Lodge. It is otherwise a pleasant enough venue, with an 'outdoor feel'. It was also distinctly chilly in my room with no heating available (easily fixed, I'd have thought.) I caught a persistent cold afterwards.
  • Reviewed December 2016
    David Tyce

    Rajasthan Remembered

    An excellent trip in difficult circumstances

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Taj Mahal. No matter how prepared you think you might be, the reality exceeds expectations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Krishna and Harish were outstanding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a very busy schedule. There is so much to see that time is very much at a premium. My advice would be to just go with it and try to be as punctual as you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thoroughly recommend this trip, it is full on India but amazing because and despite that.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Paul Daly

    Colours of Rajasthan

    While some days on this trip were truly exceptional, there are days that could be removed and the trip would not suffer. The sightseeing around Delhi was disappointing as most of it was viewed from the bus. Pushkar may be a good place to visit during the camel fair, but the fair was not on during my visit and I found Pushkar to be a waste of a day. The extra day would be better spent in either Udaipur or Jaipur.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal at sunrise is breathtaking, the Victory Tower at Chittorgarh is a beautiful example of ornate carving, and there are no words to describe the experience of seeing two tigers in their natural habitat in Ranthambore. I would also have loved more time to explore the Observatory of Jai Singh, which is an absolute masterpiece of engineering.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna was a good and very patient leader. His knowledge was great and he did everything in his power to ensure an enjoyable trip for everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a plug in mosquito repellent!! Don't bother with the optional boat trip in Udaipur, accepting a blessing or prayer at the Jain Temple will require you to open your wallet, and if you are a meat lover, prepare for a limited supply. Some eateries are vegetarian only.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip has a lot of long journeys on poor roads and traffic will add extra time to those journeys. Be prepared to sit for 4/5 hours at a time.
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Louise Williamson

    Colours of Rajasthan

    Such a fabulous trip to see the colours of Rajasthan! A busy, culture - filled introduction to India in the company of like -minded travellers!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise at the taj mahal! Getting a glimpse of rural life in Rajasthan - peaceful and colourful in contrast with the vastness and 'honking' of the cities!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was more than you could ever expect from a leader! Enthusiastic about his home land of Rajasthan, very knowledgeable and kept us feeling safe, up to date with the plans of the trip and also very adaptable if changes had to be made. Very kind, funny and contagious optimism! We feel very lucky!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Embrace the noise, honking & tuktuks and keep moving with it! It becomes normal after a day!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend exodus and thank you for a great trip!
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Alan Rushmer

    Colours of Rajasthan

    This was our first visit to India and it couldn't have gone better.The sights, smells and colours of Rajasthan will live long in the memory. we travelled long hours on the coach but this only added to the experience as there is so much to see while on the road. We had plenty of stops along the way to visit the forts and palaces that adorn this area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight for me was to see the tigeress in the wild with her cubs. whilst on our tiger drive. And of course the Taj Mahal. we had to get up early and I can now boast my wife and I on the day we visited were the first through the gates! and all of the group had great uninterrupted photos taken of the Taj Mahal

    What did you think of your group leader?

    we had a tremendous leader in Chandra. if you are lucky enough to have Chandra on your next trip you are in for a treat. His love for his country and his depth of knowledge is astounding. a great sense of humour and compassion for us inexperienced travellers. he had the ability to stand at the front of the coach and give a talk on any Indian related subject we put to him.. which was often funny and always interesting. we visited many forts and palaces and Chandra's knowledge of each one was superb. Chandra was possibly the highlight of the whole trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    we visited many temples forts and palaces I would recommend a diary or journal to remember some of the highlights
Call us on 1 800 267 3347