Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Katja Lanz

    Go for it!

    This was the first group travel experience for my husband and me. A test run of sorts to see if we are compatible with this form of travel. Our choice of exodus for the experience was carefully researched and, as it turns out, the perfect choice. We wanted to experience Peru and Bolivia in a limited time frame but did not care to deal with the logistics of planning such a trip (plane, boat, bus, entry tickets, Machu Picchu...). The trip seemed and turned out to be tailormade for us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being surrounded by Inca culture. Life on Isla del Sol on the gorgeous Lake Titikaka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Nigel Cripps

    highlights of Morocco (AHM)

    This was a good tour of Morocco - it gave an excellent overview of the country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountains. The souk in Fez A good group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be briefed for the walk to the mountain village of Hammam. It is 5km at altitude. Ask the taxi to take your shoulder bag and camera. We did it in the dark, take a torch.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Immigration at Casablanca required the address of the first night hotel. This was not in the tour itinerary. Eventually he accepted the trip notes but it was a close run thing. Suggest all hotel details are include in the tour notes. The first hotel was poor compared with the other 'comfort hotels' used. Two areas for improvement, firstly the bed room was small, had to climb over my wife to go to bed and secondly the breakfast was dire. Question. Why use a city centre hotel, the only visit was at a mosque on the coast? Would preferred to pay more and use a better hotel at the airport. The food at the mountain retreat at Hammam was very bland, poor in comparison with others. Wonder is something had gone wrong in the kitchen. The breakfast in the Marrakech hotel was poor. It ran out. Eventually some additional orange juice was provided which was used immediately but no more appeared.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    JANICE DUNCAN

    The Bumthang Valley-Bhutan

    Bhutan was on my radar for 13 years after advice to go there from a fellow traveller on an Exodus trip. I was worried it may disappoint after years of anticipation and his bold statement that it was the "best place on earth." There was no need to worry. It is a unique destination with captivating, warm and happy people who want to help and welcome you to their country. Nothing was too much effort from our guides, drivers and trekking team to strangers in the street. The festivals were fun and unique; the temples were magical and the landscapes were stunning. It is a destination that deserves its reputation as a hidden , beautiful Kingdom where happiness is the prize if you embrace the culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trek to The Tiger's Nest Monastery was a challenging walk to a stunning location. It is well photographed but only appreciated, as it reveals itself on the climb with tantalising glimpses through the trees and viewpoints on the route. Our day was extra special, as it was a National Holiday and so as we descended it was the locals and not just tourists who were climbing to celebrate their faith and visit the Temple. It was a reminder that for us it is a tourist attraction, but for them it is a spiritual destination to give offerings and thanks to Buddha.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kemey was very knowledgeable about his country. His pride shone through as he provided us with history and insights into the Bhutanese way of life. He was helpful throughout and had a great support team of drivers and trekking staff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go and experience it. It is inevitable it will change, but hopefully not too much, as it is such a unique culture.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Lesley Bird

    Vietnam - Food Adventure

    Just returned from this amazing holiday! Wonderful country with lovely people. Our guide, Phi, was brilliant - he was so knowledgeable about his country and enthusiastic to share it with us - I cannot recommend him enough. There were 11 of us in our group and we all bonded together so well. The accommodation was much better than I was expecting and always in central locations easy to get around to the main sights of the town. I had not experienced a cookery holiday before and it really helped to give confidence sampling unusual fruits and foods from the street markets before we went to our lessons to try to make the same again! Thank you

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Koto cookery school. Giving such inspiring youngers a great chance to have a future.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Phi Hoang was considerate and observant of all levels of ability in the group, whether it was cycling; walking; cookery school, he ensured that no one was disadvantaged and we bonded as a group. He was very personable and showed a great depth of knowledge of his country which he was keen to share with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the experience! Wear good walking shoes and take a water bottle.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    simon cappin

    Gorillas and Masai Mara

    This trip is an absolute must for any animal lover.The diversity of fauna that we saw in 2 weeks was absolutely incredible.The gorillas were absolutely adorable and it was fascinating seeing them so relaxed in a really beautiful setting.The rafting on the White Nile was absolutely increible and I would recommend this to anyone who is not scared of the water and is a confident swimmer as the likelihood of coming out is very high.I came out twice !!The Masai Mara was absolutely stunning and within a few hours had seen leopard,lions and cheetahs.The setting itself is also very dramatic.Our guide was absolutely brilliant.He had a great sense of humour and constantly had us in hysterics during the trip with his banter.The food was excellent and I am sure I have put on weight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing gorillas so relaxed in the wild

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Overall absolutely brilliant.Enthusiastic,very informative,caring and had a brilliant sense of humour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have time in Narobi visit the giraffe sanctuary and elephant orphanage
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Geoff Beale

    Cycling coast to coast Southern India

    A excellent trip that samples two very distinct states. You need to be fairly fit for this trip, there are some very long days of 100km in the saddle and some very stiff climbs in the middle of the tour which scale some 1200metres in the day. Initial impressions of India were the noise of the traffic horns, the anything goes rules of the road, there aren’t any but it seems to work, but you do need to be comfortable cycling in chaotic traffic. The rubbish everywhere and the cows, goats and dogs in the road and in the towns were an eye opener. Cow dung and holes on the pavements were part of the adventure that you needed to watch when walking around. Most people seemed to smile a lot and the kids always shouted welcome to these crazy white people cycling in the heat. Kerala was clearly very much more affluent than Tamil Nadu and the contrast was clear in that there was less rubbish and the drivers were a little more aggressive to everyone. You get used to the horns blasting all the time, it’s more I’m here, be aware of me. The food is an experience, interesting, very tasty and varied but always spicy. You need to like curries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was an inspiration and if you’ve never been to India before it gives you an eye opening experience to the real India. In the saddle you get to sample the sights, sounds and smells you would miss on any other type of holiday. Everywhere we went there was agriculture, acres and acres of rice paddies and in the mountains the tea plantations and factories. The markets were full of produce some of which we don’t see in the UK, there didn’t seem to be any shortage of any kind. The people were friendly and full of smiles. The side excursions added to the experience, food markets, temples, palaces, tea plantations and factories, and the backwater houseboat stay and cruise near the end of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shakar was excellent as tour leader and his team made the trip memorable. They were so helpful and were always out to ensure our wellbeing. His knowledge and recommendations were invaluable and his and his teams enthusiasm second to none.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fairly fit, there are some long distances mostly flat initially for the 100km legs but also long steep climbs after the 5th day cycling. I clocked over 15,000 feet of climb over the whole trip on my gps. If you like adventure this is a great trip to experience Southern India. A great achievement once you’ve dipped your wheels in the Gulf of Bengal at the start at Pondicherry and at the end, the front wheels of your bike in the Arabian Sea just south of Cochin. It’s a tough trip but on reflection well worth it. If you enjoy cycling and adventure, go for it. If your Jabs are up to date you do not need any extra. No need for malaria tablets either. You will need lots of deet mosquito spray for day and evening. Even with it you will get bitten depending on whether the bugs like you or not. I only got 3 or 4 bites but some of our group got dozens. Don’t let that put you off though. Take plenty of sun cream, you will need it. We took UK pounds with us and changed some but mostly used ATMs for anything else. Credit cards are accepted in most hotels but not all but our tour leader was able to point us to the nearest ATM and advise on how to get the best cash exchange rates. As usual don’t change cash at hotels you get a poor rate. We only changed an initial £20 to give us a bit of cash till we knew the score.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The group we were with gelled really well considering the age gaps from 31 to 70. It tended to split into youngsters and oldies but we all mixed very well and thoroughly enjoyed each other’s company and fellowship on the trip. This was our sixth Exodus cycling trip and would recommend it for those with a sense of adventure.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Nick Ward

    Beyond the usual

    The first thing you need to know about this trip is that you will be spending a long time in the back of a Land Cruiser getting an 'African Massage'. So what do you get in return? First, some wonderful, mind boggling and ever changing scenery. And second, the opportunity to see some of Africa's most iconic (and rarest ) animals in their isolated and extreme home. On our trip these included Desert Elephants, Rhino, and Desert Lions (walking past our camp and interrupting dinner, would you believe). Even if we hadn't seen these rarities there would still have been more than enough to make for an excellent trip - the best of half a dozen or so we've made to southern Africa. Fancy going beyond the usual? Then give it a go! Excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Desert Elephant!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris - one of the best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Absorb every moment - it'll stay with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't go if you're just interested in seeing Africa's over-hyped 'big five'. This trip takes you much deeper than that. If you just want to go and see what's out there', then this is for you.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Ronnie van der Ploeg

    Ronnie

    An enjoyable adventure with a friendly group of fellow rptravellers of different ages and backgrounds, ably looked after by our guide and driver.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A camel ride into the Sahara, followed by a camp meal, after-supper entertainment from the locals and the unforgettable highlight of sleeping under a sky lit up by a million stars.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An engaging and welcoming young man who looked after the needs of his travelling guests and shared his enthusiasm and knowledge for his country and its people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect gourmet cuisine, the food en route can be quite bland and quite limited, but it is a travel adventure, not a gastronomic trip.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Stephen Bowman

    Simien Mountain Bimble.......

    Overall a very good trek. Yes, some of the days are a little hard but then it says that in the trip notes so read them! Great views and wildlife and a, mostly, great support team and leaders. Only reason I've not given this trek an "Excellent" rating is due to the group of very annoying scouts that apparently all trek groups must have whilst in the Simiens. They feel obliged to walk six inches behind you and interfere frequently when not required. Some verbal encouragement keeps them out of your hair for a while but they'll soon forget! Not irritating enough for me to suggest going elsewhere for your trek, but I'd suggest that both the Brit and local leader brief them to stick to "scouting" and route finding and that Europeans like our personal space! (And if we want to run down a 1000m decent then that's just fine even if not wise!)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Quite a few I guess, seeing the wolves & monkeys/baboons/what-ever- they-are?, summit day, Suzies favorite view point......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both where great, Messi, our local guide/leader and Suzi, who I believe has only just started out with Exodus :-) Both, having done it all before, solve problems before they occur, have tons of local knowledge, (plus Suzi has been everywhere so is good source of ideas for the next trek).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Things have changed since the trip notes were written. Cash is easy to get until you hit the wilderness and yes, you do need local currency. Snacks don't need to be brought from UK by the bucket load; firstly you are pretty well fed including snacks during the day, secondly there is access to "supermarkets" on route to the park so you can get certain snacks there. Not the best choice I grant you. You can get you kit washed twice during the trek, the crew do a good job. And no, there aren't many rivers to wash in! One basically and a rather nasty one if you wish when you camp for two nights in a village. Rely on the wet-wipes!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    DeeAnn Bowater

    Classic Rajasthan Premium

    This is a lovely trip of 15 days thru the central and Western part of India, including many crowded places but with glorious forts, mosques and temples and excellent accommodations and GOOD FOOD. YOU NEVER had to fear any food problems , and especially if you drank their good Kingfisher beer to tamp down the wee bit of spice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the feeling in the air of the Sikh temple in Agra. There are hundreds of volunteers EVERY day who cook and serve those who need food-without any pay. This was a wonderful experience. I know some would say the Taj Mahal jolted their senses the most, but the Sikh temple did it for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I am going to go out on a limb here-but the BEST part of the India trip was knowing Ajay Gupta, our leader. If I had never seen India, and only heard about it from him, that would have been enough. (But I'm glad I did see India.) Besides being so knowledgeable about all the sites that we saw, and being such a good communicator, he gave us a plan for the future of India. He is full of hope and offered us so many ideas and ideals that , if accomplished, would make India a heaven on earth -the way it started 5, 000 years ago. I can't say enough about his kindness and humanity. A remarkable young man.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a red head, I wore my hat all the time and always wore long sleeved light cotton blouses. I wore skirts, too, to avoid the tangle around my ankles when using the squat toilets-tho they weren't as horrible as I was led to believe. In fact, most places were just fine. Drink as much water as you can hold. It is hot and you will need it. Enjoy the beer,(not for lunch ,tho) but don't bother with the wine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think I needed to be aware of the acceptance of trash more than I was. There are just so many people, and not enough of an infrastructure to take care of the trash...so that was a bit hard to see-also the street dogs-cows I knew were coming.
Call us on 1 800 267 3347