Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Save up to $500 on small group & self-guided adventures to 100+ countries. Click here to learn more.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

42 Reviews

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Julie Wood

    Garden Route

    I would wholeheartedly echo what Bev Scammel says so eloquently below. This was a fantastic trip with great guides, wonderful scenery, wildlife and we travelled with a lovely group of people. This was our first Exodus trip and I am certain it won't be our last.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a Right whale breaching 22 times during our sunrise whale watching trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin and Jan were great, so knowledgable and enthusiastic about their country. Justin looked after us so well, ensuring that we had the best wildlife experiences and amazing food. We really appreciated him sharing the political, economic and social aspects of living in SA today. It was the icing on the cake.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cards are accepted everywhere but consider taking some cash to cover tipping and some trips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Trip was wonderful, fell in love with Africa and can't wait to visit again.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Bev Scammell

    A truly amazing trip with an outstanding guide

    We choose this trip due to the variety of activities and differing locations and we were not disappointed. Safaris, wild and rugged coast lines, desert, mountains, varied flora and fauna plus an amazing city to finish with. It has something for everyone. It was a well paced trip which packed in a lot without exhausting yourself. Addo elephant park was brilliant and the additional safari to Schotia was a fantastic extra, well worth taking up. We had a bit of a wild, wet, windy time at Tsitsikamma but this did not detract from its immense beauty nor stop us from taking up the opportunity to walk through the forest and spot baboons. Cango caves, ostriches, Mosel bay, wine tasting and De Rust were delightful and Hermanus was certainly a highlight with breaching whales at sunrise. As for Cape Town....quite outstanding and we can’t believe how much we managed to see in a mere couple of days; Signal Hill, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch gardens, Cape of Good Hope, penguins colony, SimonsTown, Robben island and a township tour plus the waterfront. Totally amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We found the whole trip quite inspirational and have fallen in love with South Africa; its people, culture, plants and animals. If we are only allowed one inspirational moment then seeing whales at sunrise is probably it. However, watching a grumpy buffalo eyeball a young elephant, walking through a forest and coming face to face with a group of noisy male baboons, enjoying the tremendous views whilst walking along the Cape of Good Hope, visiting out first ever warm caves whilst listening to the South African national anthem being sung in the most enchanting manner....etc etc etc! There were a wealth of inspirational moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was truly amazing. So much so, that we have just submitted an entry for the 2019 Guide of the Year for him. Justin was exceptional; he has a vast knowledge of his country, its politics, history and culture plus the flora and fauna and is a superb ambassador for South Africa. He was incredibly organised, knew everyone (which meant we as a group were well looked after) was amusing, friendly and very considerate of the needs of everyone. We felt extremely safe in his care and trusted his judgement and advice implicitly, whether it was where to go or what to eat and drink. We also loved his phrases......’cool beans’ ‘Woolworths is just fancy pants Marks and Spencers!’ and some of these will find their way back to England.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take loads of photos to remind you of everything you have done, take binoculars to see views and creatures in more detail, take advantage of all of the trips and opportunities available to you. Layer your clothing.....we went in September and experienced rain, wind and sun and blazing heat all in the same morning. There is an opportunity to have your clothes laundered mid way through the journey so you don’t need to take your entire wardrobe.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were part of a varied group; ages ranging from 18 to 70 made up of families, couples and singles.......and we had a fabulous time. Sincere thanks to you all plus Justin, Jan the trainee and all the other people we met along the route for making the holiday a truly remarkable experience. If you are thinking of going, just do it!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Liz Broadhurst

    The amazing Justin Barr - Cool Beans

    We chose the trip, our first with Exodus, as we required a sedate pace with not too much walking. The trip was perfect on both counts. The balance of the day excursions was a perfect combination to enable the group to see the country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to see the wildlife in its natural environment Seeing Cape Town from the top of table mountain

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were lucky enough to be guided by the inspirational and passionate Justin Barr. His knowledge of the flora and fauna of his native country was first class. This over spilled into the history of the country, it’s political turmoil and his future aspirations for what he showed us as such a beautiful country. His commentary and his driving experience only added to the trip. Certainly “cool beans” and a 10/10 for Justin He really did make the trip a trip of a life time

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it! You won’t be disappointed.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Martin Stanford

    Spectacular varied & educational experience travelling thro the Cape

    This trip lived up to all expectations and beyond. The amazing places visited, the friendliness of the people interacted with in each location (plus my fellow travellers on the bus), quality of the accommodation / food / transport / scheduled & additional trips, awe inspiring landscapes, wow moments up close with the varied wildlife. These were all fantastic and every experience was raised even higher by Justin's organisation, knowledge, humour, friendliness plus his openness and passion for showing off everything his country has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting within the Townships and interacting with the local people there was both eye opening and inspiring. It gave a great insight into how South Africa's people are determined to help themselves advance and how they are able to find happiness in simple things that the majority of us easily dismiss or incorrectly feel pity for. Personally - after recovering from a serious ankle injury last year - one of my trip highlights was the day we explored and clambered over parts of the awesome Table Mountain and the Cape Point National Park. With a trip to Boulders beach in between - where three penguins practically tripped over my feet moving from the Ocean to the shade of some nearby trees - it was my wow moment of an amazing trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin's organisation, knowledge, humour, friendliness plus his openness and passion for showing off everything his country has to offer was incredible. His driving and advance scouting skills were pretty impressive too!!! :-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Say yes to each trip and opportunity. None of these disappointed and really enhanced our experiences. Don't be put off my South Africa's reputation for being unsafe. In our experience, this 'international' rep is definitely undeserved within the Cape region where the usual common sense you should adopt in your own towns and cities, or across any location holidaying in Europe should suffice! Consider travelling our a day early to Port Elizabeth to sit on the beach and recover from the flight, or stay a few extra days in Cape Town - there's so much life to experience there, Some places have European or UK plug points but the majority require the bespoke South African adaptor. Either buy off somewhere like Amazon or Ebay beforehand or purchase at Joburg or Port Elizabeth airports - it keeps you charged up for all those photo opportunities at a small cost!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks again to Justin and my fellow travellers for being great!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Nicholas Walsh

    Cape Town and the Garden Route

    We had a wonderful trip from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town along the garden route. We started with fantastic wildlife in Addo, on to the beautiful beaches in Tsitsikamma, through the center of the garden route visiting the amazing Cango caves, Mosel Bay and Hermanus before arriving in Cape Town for two day exploring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The animals in Addo and Schotia The wild beauty of Tsitsikamma The wonderful City of Cape Town and surrounds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, great guy with exceptional knowledge of South Africa. The was never a problem, he got everyone one in the group working together, we had a great time with great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy your trip
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Kenneth Turner

    Interesting and Relaxing Tour

    This was an interesting, relaxing and varied trip. There wasn't too much driving - just one day that was a bit longer. The tour took in a good variety of destinations and was accommodated in a variety of good quality locations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We liked Tsitsikamma as a location - nice setting, walks and log cabins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was great - informative, informed, helpful, enthusiastic, amusing, passionate about everything.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're looking for a varied and relaxing trip then this would be a good choice.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Linda Foster

    Fabulous holiday, with so many highlights

    Terrific holiday from start to finish. There was so much variety, from wildlife to beautiful scenery, amazing caves, township visit and great walks. The accommodation was lovely too and much better than I expected. And our guide, Justin, was fantastic - nothing was too much trouble - he was knowledgable, funny and very attentive.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the wildlife in their own environment. It was definitely worth paying for the extra game drive at the private reserve as we got much closer to the animals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic! Justin could not have done more for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Worth going on the extra safari. I found the visit to the township very emotional and thought provoking. Be prepared for this as you may want some time out to collect your thoughts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is the best trip I’ve been on with Exodus.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Vicky Jepson

    Amazing trip

    This is a wonderful trip with a lot of variety packed in; wildlife, options to kayak, zip line and walk, amazing food, marine safari, culture and history. There are options to visit a township and Robben Island, plus the cable car up to to top of Table mountain is brilliant. The accommodation is lovely ( best I’ve had on an Exodus tour ) and there are no early starts or long journeys.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of my best moments was the optional private game drive. We saw so many animals and it’s great to see them all roaming free. Also the ascent of Table Mountain was a favourite day of mine. Incredible views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was Justin and he was brilliant. He was always helpful, happy and enthusiastic and was keen to teach us about his country. Very knowledgable too. He did a lot of behind the scenes stuff to keep the trip running smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although South Africa is big on eating meat there are veggie options for non meat eaters. If you eat meat then definitely try the springbok loin and kudu steak. Make sure you bring mosquito repellant ( or buy some when you get there; the brand “Peaceful sleep” worked really well and is a lot more pleasant than DEET! ). Temperatures can reach 40 degrees C in the summer, especially inland.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book this trip! You won’t be disappointed.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Penny Slate

    Superb in every way

    This was one of the best holidays we have had in every way. We stayed in some beautiful guest houses, all a bit different with lovely personal and homely touches. The places we visited were quite diverse and made the trip more interesting. The locals were extremely friendly and made us feel welcome. The food was out of this world. I could not fault this holiday and will have fond memories for years to come.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Lions up close & seeing a Hippo open it's jaws was pretty amazing. Hearing how local people in townships are so positive and hard working was very inspiring too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin Barr is a fantastic group leader. He is very knowledgeable about everything from wild life to geographic matters and also he is witty, friendly, reliable and punctual. We loved the way he timed everything so we avoided large coach parties of people wherever we went. Justin is a real asset to the company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not hesitate to take this trip.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Randy Smith

    Port Elizabeth to Cape Town

    Great tour. Great tour leader. Lots of good food. Great accommodation. Fabulous photo opportunities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being among about 200 elephants at a wallow in the Addo Elephant Reserve.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was absolutely great. Very knowledgeable about many facets of South Africa. And an ornithologist! Everything was as expected and more. We never stopped for fuel. It just happened. The bus was always clean and tidy. A top notch guy. Superb driver.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. Get on with it. Time is wasting.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    9