Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

50 Reviews

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rob Alleway

    Stunning South Africa

    This was our first trip to South Africa which we found was a stunning introduction. The pace of the trip was perfect, and we visited memorable and beautiful locations every day. The flora and fauna were amazing, the excursions should not be missed. The route is scenic and interesting

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We can't find a best moment as there were so many. The game drives close up to wildlife were perhaps what we enjoyed most, but seeing whales close up was just amazing. The penguins, ostriches all added to the flavour of the trip along with a sobering tour of Robben Island.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The trip would not have been so spectacular without our guide Justin. This guy is passionate about his country and has an encyclopeadic knowledge of flora and fauna as well as a local knowledge which takes you to the best vantage points on any trip. He went well beyond what we could have expected of our guide. He was engaging, humorous and attentive to everyone on the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The excursions should not be missed, make sure you have a large memory card for your camera, and buy a local sim card for your phone.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    David Stafford

    Cape Town and the Garden Route

    We loved this holiday from start to finish.It was a great introduction to Africa with a range of scenery, landscapes and activities. We were glad we budgeted for the optional extras, kayaking, zip wire and shark cage diving. All amazing experiences. The accommodation was good with some excellent breakfasts. Restaurant food was varied with ample portions. We are vegetarian and had no problem finding interesting meals. Saw a great variety of birds and animals in and out of the Game Parks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Robben Island was well worth visiting and so was Langa township. Very thought provoking experiences. Loved walking round the top of Table mountain and walking along the coast at the Cape of Good Hope.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin is the perfect guide. Friendly, likeable and professional. Nothing was too much trouble for him. We learned such a lot from him and it's obvious he loves his country. His knowledge of plants animals and birds is amazing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There's a lot of moving about so don't overpack. I kept mislaying things so keep stuff in labelled bags.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Catharine Skinner

    South Africa's Garden Route

    The Garden Route is a diverse trip with so many highlights. It gives a great taster of what Africa has to offer. It's wonderful to enjoy the wildlife in Addo and stay in the beautiful setting in the lemon orchards. Cape Town is fantastic with lots to do and the scenery is stunning. Table Mountain is not to be missed and Robben Island gives a great cultural contrast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waking up everyday to beautiful experiences, but the "blanket" of cloud on table mountain is breathtaking!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was so passionate about South Africa and positive everyday. He looked after everyone on the trip so well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to stay an extra night or two in Cape Town if you can it's great and do not miss the botanical gardens.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Simon Calrow

    Take Me Back to South Africa!

    A fantastic holiday from start to finish, our families first trip to Africa.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many great moments to the trip. The first nights stay at Avco, the game reserve at Abbo, The BBQ at De Rust. The view from our room at Hermanus, followed by the canoeing and the best breakfast I have ever had.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was a brilliant leader. He took us to loads of interesting places, always in control and so knowledgeable. He was assisted by "gnasher" who also make a great leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! It is a great place to go. Our only tip would be to take a torch which was needed occasionally. Go on a diet before you go the food is fabulous.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would love to go again, two weeks was not enough in such an epic country.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Carolynne Ridley

    Cape Town and Garden Route

    What a fantastic trip. Lots to see, scenery, views, birds & animals. The food and weather were excellent too. Accommodation was comfortable, minibus occasionally was a bit bumpy but we were busy taking in all the sights to notice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We entered the Addo Elephant Park and almost straight away an elephant appeared out from the bushes which we all found amazing. We also enjoyed the optional game Park trip in an open vehicle as you are able to go off the beaten track and get much closer to the animals

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin our group leader was excellent, nothing was too much trouble, he make out trip stress free.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just the usual. Take comfortable shoes and clothing as there is the opportunity to do walking and also you do spend a bit of time in the minibus.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared to share some of the accommodation i.e. Kitchen and lounge, but you do have your own bedroom and on suite.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Carol Gledhill

    Cape Town and Garden Route trip February 2017

    An excellent trip. The majority of the inclusive trips were well thought out and planned.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots,too many to mention as I'm lazy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Well informed on all aspects. Nothing was too much trouble for him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to share apartments with another couple in two of the places. Although for me personally it wasn't a problem .You do have your own bedroom and en-suite

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I thought I was going on a trip for solo people.Not sure if I'd misread the info. Luckily there was one other person alone so we teamed up a little. I would have felt a little uncomfortable if I'd been totally the only singleton But everyone on my tour was great company and I was invited to join other couples The tour bus could have been a bit better.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Sally Read

    Fantastic holiday

    This is a great introduction to South Africa. The trips are varied with optional activities available. The scenery is stunning and the minibus is comfortable and air conditioned. We tried the zip lining which was well worth experiencing. The restaurants were excellent and we ate far too much, regretting it a bit now! Our accommodation was very comfortable and most had fantastic views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to pick one moment as I loved it all. Seeing the animals in Addo NP, visiting Robben Island and listening to an ex political prisoner describing his experiences, and being on Table Mountain were all unforgettable moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was a brilliant guide who worked hard to ensure everyone had a wonderful holiday. He was knowledgeable, good fun and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that the weather can can be very changeable. We had rain, wind, hail, lightening and hot sun. Some activities may have to be cancelled due to reasons beyond the control of Exodus. We were glad that we stayed an extra day in Cape Town and toured the town on the open top bus.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it! Thank you to Justin and all our group for enabling us to have such a fantastic time!!
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Mike Barrell

    South Africa Garden Route Leisurely

    The trip was absolutely excellent. The pace whilst leisurely, was exciting and offered real variety in scenery and activity. The accommodation was first class with again a variety of venues, the highlight being the House Martin Guest Lodge in De Rust. The owners were incredibly welcoming and the food was exceptional. The safaris were well managed and offered opportunities to see up close a wide variety of animals.The visit to Mossel Bay and Hermanus was a terrific experience, the ocean views and the shark diving will always be a vivid memory. Cape Town and Table Mountain lived up to their iconic status. The trip organisation and guiding was first class.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational element was the sheer variety and grandeur of the landscape and ocean particularly in Tsitsikamma.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin Barr was outstanding as a guide. Totally in control even when one of the group was hurt in a fall. He was always available, nothing was too much trouble. His knowledge of South Africa, its wildlife and geography was very impressive. He kept the group together, picked excellent restaurants, and handled any complaints (they were very few) very professionally. Having had many guides over the years he was an exceptional example of best practice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely go shark diving its a real adrenalin rush. Take the bus tour around Cape town, there isn't a great deal of spare time but its very good value and well worth making the effort. Avoid the duplex room in Sweet Lemon.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The whole experience was fantastic, the scenery was amazing and the wild life fantastic.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Anne Bell

    A really lovely trip

    I enjoyed this holiday so much. The itinerary was very well balanced with a host of different activities and experiences. It was good to spend at least two nights in each location and have time to appreciate where we were staying. We have been on quite a few Exodus trips before, but this was one of the best. Some of the accommodation was very good indeed, notably the Martin House guest lodge in De Rust and the apartments in Hermanus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Very difficult to choose. I would say the wildlife we saw in the Eastern Cape is hard to beat, but I found the trip to Robben Island, where we were guided round by a former political prisoner so interesting and very moving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Justin Binns was excellent. His knowledge of the local wildlife, plants, birds, but also culture, history, (plus food and wine) was so good. He engaged really well with the group and made the holiday so enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of sunscreen and a sunhat! None of the walks in the trip notes are compulsory, but those at Tsitsikamma are in a lovely setting. For some of them you will need trainers at least. I also recommend the cliff top walk to Grotto Beach from Hermanus, which is easy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You may need to go on a diet on return. The food everywhere we went was superb and portions are large.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Barbara Murphy

    Cape Town and the Garden Route

    Excellent

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing an elephant and her calf in the wild. Watching sharks circling the boat In Mossel Bay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We could not have asked for a better group leader. Justin was knowledgeable, cheerful, patient and with a great sense of humour. He made everyday of our holiday such an enjoyable experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light, and invest in a good sun hat if you go during the summer season.'j

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Maybe an extra free day in Cape Town would have been enjoyable.