Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

56 Reviews

  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    This trip was all about the biking.  Fantastic scenary, great weather, efficienct and knowledgeable guide and support crew.  Routes were the right mix of challenge, fun and length.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved riding through the small berber villages and Christmas day with the carpet makers in Tiznit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was really hard working and really put the effort in to make sure our bikes were able to cope with the terrain.  She had knowledge of the area and the routes and encouraged people when necessary.  She was also very accommodating for different levels of experience and confidence.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this trip pretty fit to get the most out of it.  It really is all about the biking, not so much the culture.  However our guide Liz had good knowledge and of course the local support crew.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food on the trip was basic,especially on the rides. It was great to have fresh fruit everyday.  The hotel food was quite flavourless and there wasn't much opportunity to see the town. I'll visit Morocco again for those reasons.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Physically hard but very interesting trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The long descent to the coast on the last day and a swim in the sea.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    OUr leader took great care of us and worked hard to make it a good trip
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    A nice holiday if you are reasonably fit, enjoy physical excercise, offroad cycling and beautiful scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding through the valley on the second day...also I think the second last day, riding on small paths in a rift was great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good knowledge about the tour, good organiser, clear instructions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be sure that you know what it is about. You probably won't enjoy it if you've never been offroad before.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Challenging cycling, stunning scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the beach in Agadir in one piece felt like a real achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was an excellent group leader. She works extremely hard throughout the trip to make sure the bikes are repaired and that people know exactly what to expect. She is super fit and a really nice person.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train beforehand. Expect it to be tough both mentally and physically. Bring warm clothes. And a hairdryer. Like tagine as there is not a lot else to eat.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Get in some good hill climbing practice before you go as some of the climbs are extremely tough and make sure you are not afraid of heights as some of the sheer drops off of tracks, piste and road went down vertically for hundreds of metres !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The long ride down to the Atlantic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is not just ascents and there are a large number of really tough climbs.  Make sure that you are physically fit for these climbs, although they are all optional and the 4x4 can pick you up if you can't do it.
  • Reviewed December 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Great scenery and great biking with an excellent leader (Liz) & support crew.  I would have liked more singletrack and also many of the group had little off road mountain bike experience which affected the dynamic of the group.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Fantastic Off Road trip. Really varied terrain. Some big climbs but lots more super fast descents. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the optional single track. Also cycling through the palmeries was a real highlight; I couldn't help feel that i was cycling through paradise.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was first class. She knows the routes and the country like the back of her hand.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take a small pump with you if you have one. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    What a trip. Go and enjoy the amazing downhill.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    Quite challenging but not so hard that you were in the back up car every day.  A really great trip for anyone who likes cycling and going off road - not so much of a holiday though, no rest day & no lie in's!! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some amazing scenery and always the best when we got to the top of a climb!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a brilliant group leader. liz was out 1st thing in the morning sorting our bikes out - sooo many punctures and was always there to support punctures/broken chains as we went along.  She knows her stuff!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would say make  sure you have some level of fitness, otherwise you wont really enjoy the trip.  The scenery is spectacular,  which when going up steep climbs you need to remember to look at!  There are a few technical tracks, but you can just get off and walk or just get in one of the vehicles.  Its definitely worth it, as there is full support all the time, great food and good bikes - if you are thinking of taking your bike, I wouldnt!  The bikes provided were great and it meant they had all the wear and tear - my bike had 7 punctures, the group had over 50 and we had a couple of broken chains and gears went - if you have your own bike, you have to sort all of this!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall a great trip. I went out on my own, but before you know it you are all bonding over a beer and by the end of the week you are best buddies.  We had full back up throughout, had a tour leader and a local guide so there was always a staff member at the front and back of the pack, as well as a car at the front and back. Great food, plenty of snacks and hotels were absolutely fine. 
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    A great trip for a pair of over 50's who were a bit worried we might have bitten off more than we could chew! Having said that we did prepare well with plenty of off road rides beforehand. A great group of people on the trip, a mixture of age groups and abilities off road but it worked really well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    An 84km ride which exhausted everyone, but what an achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was a great leader, efficiently herding the motley crew around the mountains, warning people of the dangers of going ahead and getting lost, but some still did (sorry Marcus!) Liz was able to think on her feet when the unexpected happened (us missing the connecting flight and not getting our luggage until Tuesday), rain interupting one day etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit for riding off road, some days are quite tough even without the extra single track.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go enjoy a great trip, its all achievable with a bit of training. We are looking for our next adventure.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    ATLAS DESCENT

    The Atlas Descent is a beaut of a trip. Six biking days and all quite varied. Camel roads, gorges, mountaintop trails, moonscapes, I was amazed at the variation. The mountainbiking is as varied as the scenery from tough offroad singletrack, fast flowing landrover trails to swooping tarmac. Loved it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The uphills were hard and demanding however they were instantly forgotten in mile after mile of adrenaline rushing downhill on every concievable variation of so-called-road surface..Dropping into the surf at the end was such a blast.The Atlas Mountains are surely one of the best kept secrets of North Africa, jaw dropping scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was a treat. Patient and positive with time for everybody. Her fluent franglais should become a degree course :o)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take double sided pedals, flat on one side SPD on the other. It's not all downhill, and cleats make a difference.Do as much off-road practice as you can on broken surfaces.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Marcus Nicholson from Exodus was on our trip and he was a great addition to the gang. Can't wait to see his photos.