Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Angie Cutmore

    Inca Trail

    Brilliant from start to finish. This trip excelled my expections as I have never done an Exodus trip before. I am a keen fell walker but have never seen a such diverse beautiful countryside. From river valleys to rugged mountain tops. The second day was quite steep up dead womans path but well worth it. We always got plenty of encouragement from our guides Edwind and Anthony. They were very knowledgeable about all the history and flora and fauna. But the highlight is the Sun gate and your first veiw og Macchu Pichu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down from the Sun gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edwind was able to help and advise us of all the trip entailed. He was a really nice guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip to the Sacred Valley is worth a visit too whilst you are acclimatising.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Angie Cutmore

    Inca Trail

    Brilliant from start to finish. This trip excelled my expections as I have never done an Exodus trip before. I am a keen fell walker but have never seen a such diverse beautiful countryside. From river valleys to rugged mountain tops. The second day was quite steep up dead womans path but well worth it. We always got plenty of encouragement from our guides Edwind and Anthony. They were very knowledgeable about all the history and flora and fauna. But the highlight is the Sun gate and your first veiw og Macchu Pichu.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down from the Sun gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edwind was able to help and advise us of all the trip entailed. He was a really nice guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip to the Sacred Valley is worth a visit too whilst you are acclimatising.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Diane Ingrey

    It was Amazing

    Peru My Peru holiday with Exodus was just amazingly fantastic. I have seen beautiful mountains before in the Alps but had not previously experienced the amazing sunsets you get on the Inca Trail or the stunning night sky. You could see the stars and milky way with absolute clarity. Nor have I descended down through Amazon cloud forest with its amazing flora and fauna. To do all that whilst walking such historic trails was mind-blowing. You feel really close to mother earth and nature. The descent through the Sun Gate to view Machu Picchu cannot be overstated as a beautiful moving experience. It is the best view of the site but what is undersold is that on this trip we arrived at the Sun Gate as Machu Picchu was closing and we had the site to ourselves. You descend through the site. I climbed the wooden steps to view the Gatekeepers Hut and it was occupied by just 3 Llamas! The next day on the formal visit there were swathes of visitors. The porters on the trek were amazing, I have a new definition of fitness now after watching porters run past me with a 25kg backpack almost a big as themselves. After their trek they erect your tent put your stuff in it and have a bowl of hot water waiting for you and prepare your meal. Meals were all freshly made, healthy and very tasty. They really do carry fresh vegetables up the trail. The joy of a shower and a flushing toilet after the trek is still with me! Cusco is an amazing place to explore and just to sit and watch. Its pace can be manic, it felt like being in a Rio carnival at times. Traffic is crazy and controlled by women police officers who are fearsome and fearless. They need to be, horns toot endlessly and everybody just shoves as far as they can. Its noisy and very vibrant. The Cathedral is beautiful and the huge picture of the Last Supper where they enjoy guinea pig is interesting. I did eat guinea pig and Llama, the Llama is good, cross between steak and lamb but not keen on guinea pig. We visited Inca sites in Cusco and if you are a history buff you would be overjoyed as their is so many sites. This holiday has completely changed my view of holidays, no more standard European Alps walking holidays. I crave history and culture experiences. I am still in a state of wonder a week after getting back. Only downside of the holiday is the free roaming dogs, some of which have homes but are not allowed in, but some are just hungry and scavenging out of rubbish heaps. Not so much in Cusco centre but just outside. 3rd world regarding animals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leaders were outstanding, so helpful and so patient. They helped a member of the group who was very ill prepared for the trek to complete it (despite no appreciation from the member).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take the altitude sickness medicine, it made those who took it ill. They were better when they stopped taking it. Make sure you are fit enough, not a lot of oxygen for muscles up there so you need strong legs. Its not an easy trek, I am a regular high fell walker and my legs were very, very tired. You need to be fit to enjoy it not "reasonably fit" as stated. If you are not fit and suffer at altitude it will be hard as one of our group found...but she still made it!! Porters and walk leaders are angels.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you for the best most wonderful holiday of my life.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Richard Spink

    The Inca Trail

    This was my second trip with Exodus and the organisation could not have been better. I was pcked up from Cusco Airport, transferred to my hotel and introduced to the other memebers of the group. We had a day to acclimatise in Cusco and then started the Inca Trail. It was absolutely briliant. The walking was quite steady but some very steep sections. The scenery was spectacular and the night sky was equally as spectacular. We could clearly see the Southern Cross. The food at each camp was superb (How the chef managed to cook such good meals, including 1 vegetarian, on a 2 ring portable stove, beats me!.) The tour guide, Edwind, was very knowledgeable and each Inca settlement we passed, he gave us a "history lesson". The timing of the walk to go through the Sun Gate, was exemplary, as we did so late afternoon and viewed Machu Picchu when there were hardly any tourists in the site. The views of Machu Picchu were breathtaking and it is no wonder it is one of the 7 natural wonders of the World. I would highly recmmend this walk but remember there are some steep sections, particularly the second day, so be prepared!! In short, an excellent trip well organised by Exodus and a great toour leader. Excellent value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the Sun Gate and looking down on Machu Picchu for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edwind, our group leader could not have been better. Very supportive of everybody, very knowledgeable about all of the Inca site we passed, very friendly, helpful and professional. His assistant, Anthony, was also superb and equally as knowledgeable. A great team to be in charge of our group. They also spoke excellent English!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Practice walking up some hills before you go!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Inca Trail is a really enjoyable, pleasant walk, with stunning views around every corner. If you plan to do it, just take it steady, as nobody rushes you, and enjoy the fantastic views.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Liliana Zlate

    Amazing trip

    I wanted to do something like this for a while but didn't get the chance. Going on this trip was amazing and now I am grateful I was able to do it. Everyone was very nice, the porters were amazing(the chef even made a birthday cake for me), Beto and Mel really good and even though I struggled a bit on the second day the trip was just perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being just a few meters away from reaching the Dead Woman pass and having my group cheering up for me. I was the slowest one in the group and reached the pass about an hour after the first person there. I later found out that Beto(our guide) asked them if they want to wait for me and they all said yes. Having an amazing group makes the trip a lot more memorable

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Beto was amazing. He looked after us very well, took us to (mostly) nice restaurants, had a lot of knowledge about what we are doing and knew all our names from the first day. He helped me so much and I was able to finish my trek. Mel our back guide was such a warm and kind person, she knew exactly what we needed and helped us with all the little things and thanks to her most of us now have llama selfies 😊

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Like most people say, everyone can finish the Inca trail but... Do yourself a favour and do some excercise before you start. Altitude sickness is real but so is lack of fitness. Just so you get an idea: I'm 35, work in a hospital and I'm over 90kg and finished but I did struggle going up, down was way easier for me.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please Exodus do something about the hotel. The first 2 nights we were given ground floor rooms, looking up to a corridor, very loud and no privacy.the last 2 nights after we complained we got roos on upper floors with better views and decor. There are many hotels in Cusco and I'm sure we could have had a nicer view than cleaning trolleys. That was the let down of the holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Chinthika Piyasena

    Exceeded expectations

    Well organised, brilliant guide and unbelievable porterage team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The work of the porters was humbling and I liked the effort made by the guides for us to get to know them better.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly. Very knowledgeable. Diligent. Caring - went out of his way to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walk is more strenuous than the rating on the website of 3/10.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like the website to highlight better the options to extend the trip. It is tucked away in the middle of the trip notes and missed when making booking and planning the trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Don West

    Hiking the Inca Trail

    Very challenging four day hike to Machu Picchu. The hike itself was absolutely beautiful, with incredible views all along the way. Our guides, Julio Santos (lead) and Josval were excellent. Julio was full of interesting facts at every site we were to stop at along the way, and Jos was more than willing to help may our experience a memorable one. The porters, the head chef and his assistant were outstanding. Their professionalism, and extreme efforts were appreciated by all. The food was incredible! A great experience I would recommend doing the hike to anyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire hike. Day three campsite above the clouds, with a beautifully preserved ruin below. Touring Machu Picchu.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julio Santos was a fantastic lead guide. To lead fourteen individuals on a four day hike through the mountains is no easy task. There are so many different logistics that he has to address from start to finish. He did an outstanding job with it all, and was never too busy to answer any questions I had along the way. He did it all with a smile, and positive attitude. Thanks!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get in climbing shape, acclimate with a day or two of walking in Cusco (Diamox also helped me- I live 22 feet above sea level), and travel light.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my second trip with Exodus (Cycling In Greece last May being my first). Both were wonderful experiences. Exodus made my planning very easy, and stress free for both trips. I did book my own flights coming from the U.S.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Stephen Wall

    Andes

    Challenging but an experience of treking in remote, dramatic landscape aay from the 21st century!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Descending into a steep sided valley with views of Mount Veronica

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Helpful and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a rough trek at high altitude

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The support of the porters and chef was superb
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Tim Marshall

    Try the Moonstone trek!

    Booked trip late, so the Inca Trail itself was sold out. This didn't bother me, as the Moonstone trek sounded great - and it was. Loved the fantastic scenery, the pre-Inca and Inca structures, the glimpses of Andean village life, the excellent food, and the peace and quiet of the trek. Rest of trip was great, too - good itinerary, excellent organisation. Cuzco is a wonderful city to explore. Really enjoyed optional Sacred Valley day trip. Machu Picchu did not disappoint, either (and I have found the odd big-name sight disappointing in the past). Overall, hard to fault this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the trek from start to finish. Beautiful on third day of trek to see glaciers high up, then regular mountains, then the Sacred Valley down below, all at same time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mike (main tour leader) was great - very knowledgeable, and proactive in responding to people's needs and requests. Henry (Moonstone trek leader) was a quieter character, but had the necessary skills to lead us competently.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get as fit as you can to enjoy the walking more. Altitude can affect anyone, even if it has not affected you previously, so be prepared to feel out of sorts or have a headache. At the same time, don't worry overly about it - the guides are good at monitoring people's wellbeing, and know what to do.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the Moonstone trek, you miss out on the classic view of Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate high above, where 'The Inca Trail' ends. But the Moonstone trek is a far less visited Inca trail, and you still get a full tour of Machu Picchu. If doing the Moonstone trek, you might want to check how many are in the group, as the groups are apparently smaller for this than the classic Inca Trail. We had four trekkers, which was fine, but a smaller group than that might feel a little odd.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Sarah Fordham

    An amazing experience

    This was one of the toughest challenges I have put my body through but was so worth it. I had an amazing time and the trip was so well organised. I am in love with Peru now and already thinking about when I can go back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was incredible to make it to the top of dead woman's pass. It was a tough day but it was an amazing sense of achievement when we were at the top looking down. And of course the first view of Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate is breath taking and made it all worth while.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ollie was so knowledgeable and really made the trip special. I think the whole group learnt a lot and he bought the culture and history to life for us. He was able to answer all of our questions and he is clearly passionate about what he does. He was also patient when we were physically struggling and needed to rest a lot, and was full of good advice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you acclimatise as much as possible in Cusco and also make sure that you have decent equipment as you will be relying on it for the days you are hiking. Learn a few Spanish phrases so you can at least introduce yourself to the porters, I had to rely on others in the group and the group leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The porters were amazing! They were all very kind, despite the language barrier, and looked after us all very well. The food was some of the best that I had while I was away.
Call us on 1300 131 564