15% off India, Nepal and Sri Lanka. Find out more >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Kate Stevenson

    Unforgettable

    An unforgettable trip, I read as much as could on Egypt, its history, this tour - and was still blown away by so much about the place and this Exodus trip. A very busy nine days, but still plenty of time in the afternoons to recharge. Can't believe what we packed in to such a small amount of time. Very well organised, and absolutely adored our guide Tefa; and particularly pleased with the dynamics of the group I travelled with. Thoroughly enjoyable experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Valley of the Kings. Having an idea of what it would be like, and still not really being ready for the scale of the landscape, the tombs, the timeline and history. Seeing Tutankhamum's mummy just centimetres away was truly humbling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tefa was an absolute legend. Organised, generous, thoughtful, cheeky, funny, and very knowledgable. The guy was built for this job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read read read the trip notes and other reviews. They are honest and helpful. Found trip notes on money and costs helpful for working out what you'd need for extra excursions and in particular photography passes if you want to take photos or video at some of these amazing locations. Was helpful to work out tips too. As many have said, there will be early mornings, and the place is seriously hot (hence the need to get out and about early), but your afternoons are largely free, and by the time you're waiting for sunset by the pool, you're remembering the mindblowing sites you saw more than the alarm, the sweaty seats, or the late-night call to prayer keeping you awake (we were there during Ramadan). This is a travel experience, more than a holiday, but it's one I'll never forget.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Margaret Madgwick

    A glimpse of Ancient Egypt.

    Visits to the Pyramids & Sphinx , Luxor, Edfu, Kom Ombo Temples, Valley of the Kings and Abu Simbel. Cruise down the Nile river.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole tour was special. Visiting the sites of Ancient Egypt. None to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader 'Tefa' was brilliant. His knowledge as a guide was superb. He was reliable, patient and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot in may/june 46c. plus so my advise would be to go at a cooler time if possible. Keep well covered up. Have upset tummy medication with you just in case. Take at least suncream 50. Its easy to change your money when you are there rather than before you go. Have a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Understand that tourists are targeted to buy from the locals so you will be hassled, please don't mind or be offended as they need to make a living. Say 'no thank you' if you don't want to buy.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Margaret Madgwick

    A glimpse of Ancient Egypt.

    Visits to the Pyramids & Sphinx , Luxor, Edfu, Kom Ombo Temples, Valley of the Kings and Abu Simbel. Cruise down the Nile river.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole tour was special. Visiting the sites of Ancient Egypt. None to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader 'Tefa' was brilliant. His knowledge as a guide was superb. He was reliable, patient and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot in may/june 46c. plus so my advise would be to go at a cooler time if possible. Keep well covered up. Have upset tummy medication with you just in case. Take at least suncream 50. Its easy to change your money when you are there rather than before you go. Have a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Understand that tourists are targeted to buy from the locals so you will be hassled, please don't mind or be offended as they need to make a living. Say 'no thank you' if you don't want to buy.
  • Reviewed May 2019

    Do it!

    Egypt is beautiful and the temples, pyramids and other sites you will visit are absolutely amazing, its an experience I will never forget!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Abu Simbel Temple was the highlight of the trip for me, incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmed was full of knowledge and was a great tour leader, you could tell he loved his job and Egypt and it made every day more interesting and enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you take the optional tour to the Monastery of St. Simeon, be careful when walking into one of the bedrooms, its full of bats!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I always felt safe in Egypt so don't let this deter you from visiting this amazing country.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Vince Parish

    Superb Trip!

    I've wanted to visit Egypt for quite sometime and I wasn't disappointed . The Exodus itinerary was perfect for us with the right balance of adventure and good accommodation. Lots of early starts so be prepared to be exhausted at times! We travelled with a fantastic bunch of people and made some great friends, with lots of laughs along the way. The hotels we stayed in were excellent and cruising along the Nile was idyllic, a perfect trip for those wanting both touring and comfort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We saw so many wonderful things but the highlight for me was seeing the Tutankhamun exhibition at the Cairo Museum, and the optional visit to the Nubian village in Aswan. It's difficult to pick out specific moments as there were many.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmed our group leader couldn't have been better, he looked after us from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. He was knowledgeable, fun, efficient and generally a nice guy and was always available. He helped to make our trip a memorable one. Additionally the other guides and coach drivers we met couldn't have been more obliging. Customer service was paramount.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The market sellers, taxi drivers and carriage drivers can be the most persistent and aggressive sellers I have ever come across, and I have visited lots of countries with this culture. At times they were quite unpleasant, so be prepared. Stand firm and accept nothing, If you do want to buy, barter and then walk away they soon drop the price!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As vegetarians who worry about animal welfare we were a little upset to discover that one of the trips involved using a horse and carriage. Many of the horses do look well cared for but unfortunately many don't! Ahmed listened to our concerns, along with some other members of our group, and quickly organised us Tuctucs. Had we known about this trip earlier we could have given him more notice. As with all trips there are extras such as the "tipping fund" and optional excursions, it would be really useful to know the approximate costs of these extras to help with budgeting, and to ensure you have sufficient currency with you when required.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Vince for his feedback and we are very pleased to read that overall he had a superb holiday. Over the last year we have been trying to work with our leaders to ensure only well looked after horses are used at Edfu, alongside a number of other precautions taken to try an ensure we are supporting positive animal welfare. However, as it has become clear this is not possible, going forwards we will now be providing a bus to take clients to Edfu temple.

    John Penge – Product Manager for Egypt

  • Reviewed May 2019
    marie Hallam

    Nile cruise

    Fantastic holiday from start to finish. Very well organized. Fantastic tour guide Ahmed. Nothing was too much trouble. Brilliant fellow travellers. Fun filled packed days. Saw amazing sites. Gina pyramids. Valley of the kings. Etc. Fantastic accommodation. Food really good. Amazing experience. Thank you Exodus and a massive thanks to Ahmed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Valley of the kings.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic. Very knowledgeable. Great fun. Looked after every member of the group.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Pete Batchelor

    Hectic awe-inspiring tour

    A wonderful trip, more than full on. So many must-see sites packed into such a short time. Great organisation with an excellent expert guide. Hotels and cruise ship were very good. Be prepared for some incredibly early starts though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Where to start? The Pyramids & Egyptian museum, Karnak, Hatshepsut etc Temple, Valley of the Kings tombs, Abu Simbel….

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmed was an expert Egyptologist teaching us much about Egyptian culture and history as well as doing a splendid job as our tour guide. The organisation and itinerary was first class.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is graded as leisurely because there are no difficult walks involved. But it is really full on with starts of 4am or earlier on 3 of the days to catch internal flights or the coach to Abu Simbel. Very high security at airports – we had hand sanitiser confiscated! No need to get E£ or US$ before you go - ATMs are good and plentiful and generally don’t charge fees. Get lots of small notes (5 E£, about 25p) as soon as possible for tips at toilets etc. – our guide managed to get supplies of these.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Optional visits Hatshepsut, Abu Simbel, Philae Temple are must-sees and should probably be included as standard. We also really enjoyed the Nubian Village trip. Egyptair was good with tasty meals and better legroom than UK airlines!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lisa Burt-frost

    Trip full of wonder

    Premium Nile trip to fulfil a lifetime of wonder

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Honestly all of the sights, a lifetime of reading about these ancient wonders only to find yourself actually there, walking into the Chambers of a Pyramid, through tombs in the valley of the Kings, even Tomb of King Tut and seeing his mummified remains, wondering around various temples including Karnak, Edfu, Hatshepsut's etc, the workers village trip is a must, and the simply breathtaking Abu Simbel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had Sayed, his knowledge and passion for all things Egyptian is mind blowing, if you want to learn along the way Sayed is your guide. But he also finds a balance between giving you lots of info but free time to explore as well, nothing was too much trouble and we never felt rushed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only down side to this tour is Exodus are still supporting a couple of areas less than positive where animal welfare is concerned, when visiting the temple please do not support the horse and carriage rides this is a barbaric practice and sadly avoidable as for every horse and carriage their is a man trying to earn a living with a Tut Tut, speak to your guide and tell him you want a Tut Tut only, the more of us that do this the less horses will suffer in this practice. Also be aware that if doing the Nubian Village tour which I do recommend request that you only visit a house that does not have a caged Croc, we visited Fifi and her family and had a lovely time, a very confident and spirited young lady with a very clean and welcoming home.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have always wanted to immerse yourself in the real ancient side of Egypt then do consider booking this trip, you won't be disappointed

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Lisa for her feedback and we are delighted to read that overall the trip was wonderful. As mentioned in Vince’s review, we are now going to be using a bus to transport clients to Edfu Temple. Our tour leaders are also given clear instruction to visit homes in the Nubian Village which do not keep crocodiles as pets.

    John Penge – Product Manager for Egypt

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jonny Hodgetts

    Memorable

    For my chance to see one of the seven wonders, I got a lot more than I bargained for with even more amazing sights

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Abu Simble

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic and quirky

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure to take sanitizer

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worth going
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Graham Mosley

    Ex - dooooss! OK Guys!

    A busy and enjoyable week. With so much to see, all in a week, Tito (leader) kept encouraging us in his inimitable way so that we made the most of our time. There was also, however, some relaxing time on the cruise boat to watch it all sliding past. We were a large (20) and varied group which mixed well. Overall, it was a more enjoyable trip than I was expecting. So, if in doubt, - go for it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunsets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tito was excellent; indefatigable. Always smiling and ready to share his bottomless store of knowledge, both ancient and modern, which he imparted in a lively and engaging manner. In particular, he looked after the group completely but always had an eye to the needs of individuals and small groups. He is a great ambassador for Egypt. - and a really nice bloke!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for early starts on some days - e.g. flight from Cairo to Luxor, Abu Simnel option. But they are worth it. Otherwise, just read the notes. I did do a little background reading on Egyptian history, ancient to modern, beforehand. I'm glad I did this because it gave some perspective to what I was seeing. It made more sense.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It seems that most of the Nile cruisers sail on the same days following similar itineraries. And there are a lot of them.This means that occasionally, when a number of boats hits a temple at the same time, it gets very busy. I couldn't understand why the cruisers don't stagger their sailing dates - it would be better for all concerned, including the desperate stallholders who get hit by surges of tourists. At night the boats moor up side by side, so your cabin window looks onto another boat. It was not a big deal, but it would make more sense to me.
Call us on 1300 131 564