Save $250 on all Self-Guided Adventures. Find our more>>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

13 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2019
    Coralie Cubitt

    Cycling in Laos

    This trip delivered everything it promised and more. The scene was set on day 1 with our warm-up ride around Chiang Mai and a visit to to monastery where our guide, Rit, had spent 10 years as a Buddhist monk. We travelled through some breathtaking landscapes - kart mountains, jungle, paddy fields and wonderful villages where delighted children would run out to greet us. Chiang Mai and Luang Prabang were charming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The undulating landscapes in northern Laos especially on the Udomxai to Pak Beng day. Having breakfast in Pak Beng as we watched elephants bathing on the other side of the Mekong. Walking through the small streets of Luang Prabang.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit is an exceptional and inspirational group leader. His training as a Buddhist monk is evident in his calm and thoughtful approach and his endless patience. He responded to our endless questions with clarity, honesty and humour. He is an excellent cyclist but encouraged us to enjoy the ride and cycle at our own pace which alleviated any stress.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do need to be reasonably fit to enjoy this trip. The most used word in the group was ‘undulating’ which was how Rit would always describe the next section we were to ride. It is quite hilly and the weather was often hot and humid. However, there was no shame at all about taking time out in the minibus. It is a wonderful trip and covers a lot of ground.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are one or two sections on very poor roads with a lot of lorries travelling between Thailand and China. We had been warned about this. Whilst those sections were sometimes unpleasant it is the only way to see the remote areas as there are few roads - and this is the reality of modern-day Laos.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Coralie Cubitt

    Cycling in Laos

    This trip delivered everything it promised and more. The scene was set on day 1 with our warm-up ride around Chiang Mai and a visit to to monastery where our guide, Rit, had spent 10 years as a Buddhist monk. We travelled through some breathtaking landscapes - kart mountains, jungle, paddy fields and wonderful villages where delighted children would run out to greet us. Chiang Mai and Luang Prabang were charming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The undulating landscapes in northern Laos especially on the Udomxai to Pak Beng day. Having breakfast in Pak Beng as we watched elephants bathing on the other side of the Mekong. Walking through the small streets of Luang Prabang.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit is an exceptional and inspirational group leader. His training as a Buddhist monk is evident in his calm and thoughtful approach and his endless patience. He responded to our endless questions with clarity, honesty and humour. He is an excellent cyclist but encouraged us to enjoy the ride and cycle at our own pace which alleviated any stress.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do need to be reasonably fit to enjoy this trip. The most used word in the group was ‘undulating’ which was how Rit would always describe the next section we were to ride. It is quite hilly and the weather was often hot and humid. However, there was no shame at all about taking time out in the minibus. It is a wonderful trip and covers a lot of ground.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are one or two sections on very poor roads with a lot of lorries travelling between Thailand and China. We had been warned about this. Whilst those sections were sometimes unpleasant it is the only way to see the remote areas as there are few roads - and this is the reality of modern-day Laos.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Trevor Topp

    Culturally Immersive

    This was my fifth Exodus Cycling Adventure (Sri Lanka, Madagascar, Vietnam, and South Africa: Drakensburg & Kruger). As with my previous Exodus experiences, the logistics of transportation and accommodation were expertly arranged. Leader Rit and his Laoatian co-lead Mr. Sack ensured things ran smoothly and unobstrusively. The bikes were in good repair, though we did our best to put them through their paces. The trip is appropriately graded as a "4" - moderate/challenging....indeed there were a few short climbs that were a bit steep, but were not long, and were doable. Yes, the roads in Laos were rough, but that is quintissentially Laos on pavement! At no time did I feel unsafe with regard to the pavement or Chinese transport trucks. It's a great trip for meeting locals...we got involved in some village celebrations along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Drinking beer with the locals in a village on the edge of the Mekong who were celebrating the arrival of a new baby. We just happened to drop in for a look around....we were warmly welcomed by all!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Bob Fitzs

    whats a review title

    Exodus should seriously consider cancelling this venue as a cycling holiday. The road conditions in Laos are so bad that they should be considered as dangerous. In our party of 18 there were 5 cycling accidents, one serious enough to require hospital treatment and cancellation of the remainder of the holiday. With the arrival in the country of Chinese financial input and the construction of a new rail link, the small poorly tarmaced roads of Laos cannot cope. The road surface is being destroyed by heavy lorries bringing in construction materials and equally big lorries taking fruit out of the country for export to China. Many times during this trip, we were cycling in thick clouds of dust being churned up by these lorries. I understand from our guide that they took the decision to change the cycling route on the last day because the road conditions were impassable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day when we weren't cycling. The boat trip down the Mekong

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Rit is one of the best guides I have ever met. What he has to cope with in Laos considering the above detail on the road conditions makes him outstanding as a guide. He has to do far more than other guides I have ever met.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go cycling in Laos until the road conditions improve. This will not be for at least 5 years while they finish the railway. Only by finishing the railway can they take the trucks off the road and start to replace the road surfaces.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    I would like to thank to thank Bob for his review, although we are very sorry to read that he was left disappointed with the cycling on this holiday. Further to client feedback, we have now adjusted some of the route on this itinerary to avoid most of the heavy traffic. We trust that these changes will improve the itinerary in terms of overall client enjoyment and safety. We remain sincerely sorry, however, that Bob felt Laos was not a suitable country for a cycling holiday. Kelly Reid – Product Manager

  • Reviewed January 2019

    A South-east Asian adventure!

    An adventure off the beaten track, and a great opportunity to experience Laos while it's still relatively undeveloped. A very well organised trip - packs in a lot and runs like clockwork.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots! The children in the villages. Luang Prabang - beautiful setting and buildings. The trip down the river. Dropping in for lunch unannounced one day and the local café owner turning on a fantastic meal for 16. Elephants on the Mekong. The two border crossings. The freedom that comes from being on a bike!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit is fantastic - very well organised, friendly, funny. Mr Sack, our Laos guide, was terrific too, and both support crews (Thailand and Laos) did a great job looking after us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is an adventure rather than a holiday, but a lot of fun for all that. The distances are on the longer side and there's not a lot of free time. You need to be fairly fit as the terrain is hilly in places. The food was great and the accommodation was very good, including in the smaller guesthouses in Laos. The one at Pak Beng is a treat. Don't miss the elephants coming down to wash in the river in the morning! The roads are pretty bad in places, and sharing them with Chinese lorries in a couple of spots wasn't much fun - but the tour leader was flexible and found ways to avoid some of this. The UXO museum in Luang Prabang is worth a visit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks for a great trip!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Tony L

    Cycling in Laos, and Thailand

    I was lucky enough to be part of an adventurous crowd who socialized well. The steep bits came early on and then it got easier, although there was one day competing with Chinese lorries over pock marked dusty roads which Exodus might care to re-consider, and on another day we chose a quieter alternative offered. Some of the scenery was not the most inspiring I've seen but it was enjoyable to explore an undiscovered country and the people in both Laos and Thailand are charming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved swimming at the Kuang Si waterfalls, and the opium museum was an unexpected delight, Chinese tourists notwithstanding. It was fun cycling through the inebriated villages on new year's day, we were even invited to a village wedding on one day. The food is simple and tasty, anyone with a rigid diet might have problems as on a few occasions there was limited choice at lunch time. We never got to eat the elusive Laotian belly pork!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit was great, so much to think of yet always calm and on top of things. Great to have Sach along too, very helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you go to the end of the waterfall at Kuang Si or you might miss the best bit, take your togs, you can change there and it's not that cold. Toilets have douches but no wc paper so always have it with you. For the dusty riding you might even consider a mask. Some confusion over single room at Pak Beng.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A bit of pedalling in the weeks before the holiday would not be wasted.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Steve Mallon

    Cycling laos

    The trip was not the best one I have experienced with exodus,I got the feeling the group was split most of the group did to mix and the group I felt did not gel which I found quite hard this for me was very disappointing,maybe I think this will put me off cycling with exodus again,

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cycling was ok but very hot

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit was ok quietly spoken and had lots of knowledge of his country

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Hopefully if you go you will get a better group of people than I did please don't let this review put you off its just I had a very bad experience
  • Reviewed December 2016
    John O'Donnell

    Cycling In Laos

    PtkkrBoth countries were great value.Laos is a country at the crossroads of the direction it follows.The influence of China is self evident and sad.Im grateful to see Laos as it is and not what it may become.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think the Mekong River it was an incredible day finished by going to a huge local wedding that night Also one of the group who overcame difficulties that many people would not or could not.Always happy always supportive Made me accept the need to succeed and work at finishing each day

    What did you think of your group leader?

    They were what one would expect and did the job to a good level in both countries Both guides were attentive and caring Thank you

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ride at your own pace and leave a little in reserve.If u like to descend at a frantic pace allow a little caution potholes are a curse as are some of the chinese trucks and cars not to mention odd domestic animals or small children.Otherwise great fun

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be understanding that in some places facilities are basic and food as well.This can vary greatly from day to day Laos is a great place accept it is only opening up to our world slowly and it will be a great experience if one enjoys the moment
  • Reviewed April 2016

    Cycling in Laos

    Far more than a holiday, this was a real experience. We travelled through villages in Laos where the children and adults were genuinely pleased to see you with the shouts of 'saibaedee' echoing from their homes. Children loved to 'high five' as we pedalled through their village. Although the temperatures were far higher than we had expected the team helped us through with plenty of breaks for snacks and fluids. Each section brought another satisfied smile.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day brought a new challenge. Rit, our group leader was an inspiration himself, watching his cycling style gave me something to try to aim for, although at a much slower pace!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit was a softly spoken but interesting and cheerful guide who kept us busy from morning till night, He made sure we were looked after well and everything went to plan. His organisation and planning was very good and made the holiday run smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit for the challenges ahead. March was hot and 'smoggy' so possibly a time to avoid.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first Exodus holiday but we are already planning where to go next. Totally inspired with having been able to cycle and enjoy the experience of being part of local life.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Peter Fowler

    Cycling in Laos

    A great cycling holiday through the northern rural areas of Laos

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many inspirational moments. The stand outs for me being the welcoming nature of the children and communities of the small rural townships, the descent through the limestone mountains and the boat ride down the Mekong River.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders were fantastic. Funny and sociable, yet all the time keeping us informed, safe and on schedule.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your time to look around and enjoy what is happening around you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bike riding was fairly challenging in a couple of sections, particularly if the weather was warmer, but a van and support crew were always available to assist or provide a lift if required.