Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

Spot on again from Exodus

Perfect combination of cycling, sightseeing and fun!

Most Inspirational Moment

Reaching the top of Cavagrande del Cassibile, one of the deepest canyons in Europe in blistering heat - using only pedal power, to be rewarded by a wonderful picnic lunch prepared by Davide and the minibus driver, Giuseppe.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Davide was spot on for this trip. He gave us all confidence in our abilities to enable us to get the most out of the trip. His passion and love for Sicily was evident throughout, an amazing ambassador for his island. There can't be enough hours in the day for all the things Davide sorted out - restaurants, transfers, bike changes - nothing was too much trouble. And what a great sense of humour - he loved learning new English idioms and trying to use them on a daily basis.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be prepared for heat and hills - the rewards will far outweigh the effort! Be prepared to try new foods - the flavours are vibrant and bold. Be prepared to cycle in traffic - the group leader will ensure you are safe. Go for an e-bike if you are not confident - it would be a shame to miss out on this awesome trip.

Another great Italian Exodus trip!

Beautiful Baroque towns, great coastal views, delicious food and a brilliant guide

Most Inspirational Moment

Cycling into Syracuse - such impressive architecture! A super way to finish.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Davide was a brilliant guide. He was a fantastic Ambasador for Sicily, sharing his knowledge about the places we went to in an interesting way. His restaurant recommendations provided us with some delicious food. He bonded well with the group and had a great sense of humour. Thank you Davide!

Cycling in Sicily - October 2022

10 out of 10. Davide Di Mauro leads the cycling (from local tour guide company CicloFree) and works really hard to ensure the cycle tour is well organised and great fun. Giuseppe (van back up driver) provided solid back up support all day long with water and any other assistance always available if required. Accommodation all of a good standard. Cycling pitched at the right level without being overly strenuous. Davide ensures that all routes are safe and relatively low traffic routes. Davide puts lots of effort into selecting / suggesting places to eat. All of which were of outstanding quality but not necessarily expensive. I will remember the tour almost as much for culinary highlights as well as for cycling highlights. The cycling was excellent with the bikes being of high quality and very well maintained. Most of all however is the knowledge and enthusiasm that Davide has for Sicilian culture and nature. It was a huge pleasure to be part of a cycle tour led by Davide. Davide made sure the tour was fun from start to finish with his great sense of humour.

Most Inspirational Moment

Visiting the various old towns such as Palazzolo Acreide, Ragusa, Monica, Noto and Syracuse. Cycling back down the road of hairpin bends to Noto from the Cavagrande National Reserve.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our tour Davide Di Mauro was excellent and made the whole trip enjoyable for all. Davide works really hard to ensure everything goes to plan but also is flexible when required to ensure everyone on the tour gets as much as possible from each days cycling. Davide has a fantastic knowledge of Sicilian culture and history which adds a great deal to the enjoyment of the tour. Davide also has an excellent relationship with all the accommodation providers and restaurants which ensures everything goes smoothly and the group get a warm welcome at all stops. On top of all, Davide has a great sense of humour and prides himself on collecting many everyday English language commonly used sayings - which he uses at different moments which is very funny.

Advice for Potential Travellers

No. All went as expected.

Suggestions

The communication from Exodus with instructions / requirements before the holiday were very clear. I opted to arrange my own flights from Edinburgh, flying into and out of Palermo rather than Catania. Exodus were extremely helpful in providing travel options to and from Palermo to the cycle tour start and end locations. Exodus also booked the additional accommodation I required before and after the formal tour start and end and a further nights accommodation in Palermo. This was all achieved without any hitches.

How much fun can you have!

Post covid the first trip with Exodus, a little bit of anxiety, a long time since a cycling holiday, however, already decided that based on past experience, I would not be disappointed. Aboslutely right, having spent endless hours worrying about getting fit again, Covid had not been kind to me, I realised that I was not unfit. So enjoyment was the usual making new friends, seeing a country that I had not visited before, tasting and enjoying the culinary delights, understanding the culture, seeing wonderful sights and all on two wheels. But most of all thanks to our guide and everyone else on the trip having a very good time, the latter being an understatement. Even a bit of rain could not put a dampner on the holiday.

Most Inspirational Moment

So many

Thoughts on Group Leader

Excellent, command of English good and his care and concern over safety and welfare, his understaning of idioms a delight.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Don't hesitate book.

Great leader and super enjoyable cycling

Davide was a first class leader – fun, adaptable, friendly, considerate, and managed the group really well; he deserves 5 stars personally. E-bikes were the best ever. Excellent hotels except the one in Syracusa which is not an acceptable standard (room and breakfast). Fascinating insight into Sicilian history, culture and ecology – Davide knew so much and made every trip interesting. Cycling was very good overall – a couple of really good and challenging rides including stunning scenery though cycling days 3 and 4 could have been longer and more interesting ideally. A very nice group which gelled well.

Most Inspirational Moment

Davide as group leader and the cycling day 5 ride which was challenging (hills and rain) but immensely rewarding with some great scenery and a fabulous downhill S-bend section towards the end with stunning views towards the coast

Thoughts on Group Leader

As above - faultless

Advice for Potential Travellers

If you are thinking about an e-bike but not sure then do it - some hills are challenging and the bikes are top class. Snacks not provided and have to be bought so you might want to take some as a contingency

Suggestions

The Syracusa hotel needs to be changed - it is below an acceptable standard and not a good way to finish the trip

Popping my Cycling Holiday Cherry

Well, with such glowing reviews underneath I almost feel a bit miffed that Davide treats everybody with such genuine accord – I thought we were special 😉
Joking aside, Davide and Guiseppe are genuinely brilliant at their jobs. They made our trip such a special experience, well managed, super organised, tough on the uphill but what a joy on the down, stupendous vistas, fun and safe. They made us all feel cared for and no request was too big or small. I enjoyed the encouragement of “Brava Clara” when I got to the top of a particularly tough hill. My favourite day was the toughest hill-wise but the break for lunch a picnic Davide and Guiseppe had prepared, full of local ingredients, made with Sicilian panache was worth the aching muscles (bum). Syracuse for me was the icing on the cake. A seaside town full of the most beautiful architecture making it very hard not to slide into its romantic vibe. I’ve just got back and am feeling a bit blue I don’t have to be up with the group for 8.45am to cycle off to some fabulous Sicilian town. Enjoy it people. You will love it.

Fabulous Sicily

This is our 6th Cycling holiday and one of the best so far. We were lucky to be part of a wonderful group made up of folks from the UK, Australia, NZ and Canada. We all had lots of laughs and good times.
Some of the hills were challenging but all the better for 6/15 being e-bikes, so don’t be afraid to book an e-bike.
Some beautiful towns and scenery as well as good hotels, delicious food and restaurants selected by our group leader Davide.

Most Inspirational Moment

Too many to mention but arriving in Noto was spectacular where we had a fabulous pizza.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Davide was an amazing young man who had a lot of passion for his country and wanted you to share it at every level. A really good group leader and well briefed on local history and culture. Must also mention Giuseppe the mechanic, driver and picnic man, whilst he couldn't speak English, he observed the group and made sure we were all looked after.

Advice for Potential Travellers

If in any doubt of your cycling abilities just book an e-bike. We loved them and they worked well with the group. The hotels were all good but remember to bring your swim shoes. Also if you like an early morning coffee, bring a travel kettle. Tea & coffee facilities are not provided in your room. Some roads coming into the towns can be quite busy, so make sure you are confident with riding in traffic.

Suggestions

This was the first trip we have been on where we were able to take part in a cokery lesson at the Agro-Tourism hotel, great fun including a glass of wine.

What a ride

This was a fantastic introduction to Sicily and to planned cycling tours. We had a fantastic group of 15 riders from the UK, NZ, Canada and Ireland. We ate and rode together every day. The weather at this time of year is great for cycling.

Most Inspirational Moment

Reaching the top of each and every long climb.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Davide is conscientious, witty and engaging. We enjoyed sharing novel examples of English sayings and learning more about Sicily from him.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Train for the uphills Cleat pedals are a big advantage Enjoy the moments

Suggestions

Some road crossings need you to be very cautious. Best to take time and care to cross safely

Great trip

A delightful trip from many perspectives.
Lovely scenery and interesting places to visit in the south of island.
Very good company of lovely people.
Amazing food.
Hot weather
What’s not to like??

Most Inspirational Moment

Not necessarily inspirational but some really enjoyable experiences. On bike - the challenging climb up to Cavagrande del Cassibile and the wonderful views from the top. Off bike - possibly arriving in Noto or the wander through Marzamemi - really was a picturesque fishing village, followed by Guiseppe’s picnic, relaxation and swim at the agriturisimo

Thoughts on Group Leader

Davida was a gentleman. Totally committed to ensuring we had a safe and enjoyable trip, kind and humorous. We liked his “stories” and his growing collection of English colloquialisms, that he tried to feed into daily conversation. He was well organised, ensuring an early start and finish so we had time to relax, swim or explore at the end of each ride. He knew, was proud of and described his country well. He wanted us to see the best of it ( and we almost did ). Took us to some lovely places to eat, to get the best pizza in Noto, antipasto in Syracuse and gelato and cannoli anywhere. A man with good taste! Giuseppe his assistant was a great supporter/driver/ bike mechanic and picnic provider. He has limited English but we managed to get by and the two made a good team.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be aware of how hot it can be in early June. Was 37degrees on day one. Didn’t fall below 30 all week. Davida sensibly had us out early each morning before it became unbearably hot. In some of the rural areas near the coast there were appalling amounts of rubbish dumped along the roadsides. We understood this was a result of political decisions about tax linked to recycling. This isn’t something Exodus are responsible for or able to change ( though I fear it could impact on tourism if it isn’t addressed). So very sad to destroy beautiful countryside.

Suggestions

Sicily is very interesting and well worth a visit - lots of lovely places to enjoy on this trip. Would highly recommend it. The accommodation was generally good - even the less smart places had the benefit of lovely hosts and good food. I liked the fact that there were no transfers and we cycled door to door each day, but we also had 2 nights in 2 hotels so didn’t have to pack up every morning

Cycling in sicily

The leader was excellent.
The support person Giuseppe was also excellent.
The bikes were good.
The routes were very good and well planned.
The accomodation was ok and variable. The starting accomodation had a disco night going till 2.0 pm just below our room!
Meals provided ranged from poor to good.

Most Inspirational Moment

Cycling gently along narrow country roads through rural Sicily.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Davide Di Mauro Was an excellent leader. Also mention the support, Giuseppe, also excellent.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Definitely use E bikes if you are older or not an experienced cyclist.

Suggestions

A great adventure with a very good group of companions