Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

A great trip - made brilliant by the other members of the group

A full-on trip which took us to most of the must-see places in Costa Rica

Most Inspirational Moment

Loved the wildlife hike in Manuel Antonio

Thoughts on Group Leader

Rob Herschmann

Advice for Potential Travellers

Prepare for the humidity - it’s hard to get clothes dry so bring plenty of cycling shorts

Suggestions

Quite a tiring trip. Cycling mostly on main roads. Shame we didn’t get to spend as much time as hoped in Puerto Viejo.

Great adventure

Great trip, we felt that we had seen a lot of the country, had some great bike rides and guided wildlife experiences.

Most Inspirational Moment

Many: the cycle rides through the amazing landscape of Costa Rica; the wildlife; kayaking through the mangroves; Pachira Lodge at Tortuguero

Thoughts on Group Leader

The group leader was very competent, well organised and kept us safe throughout the trip. However he was not local and therefore we missed out on information about the local history, traditions and cultural-social sensitivities of Costa Rica

Advice for Potential Travellers

The only cash you need is for tips, cards can be used for everything else.

Fabulous Cycling and Scenery / Wildlife

Very full two weeks expertly led by our local guide (Memo) covering cycling on both the Pacific and the Atlantic coasts as well as across the middle of Costa Rica. The scenery and wildlife are magnificent (particularly across the more mountainous middle section of the country) with the additional activities including boat trips, wildlife walks and kayaking all adding greatly to the overall experience.

Most Inspirational Moment

Cycling some of the more rolling sections and sweeping downhill sections (I prefer downhills as I can get my head up to enjoy the view) during the middle part of the trip was stunning. The colour of the orange bloom on the Poro tree was magnificent (my camera could never do it justice) as was the variation and colour of much of the other vegetation. The nature walks where we saw sloth, snakes, howler monkeys plus many other creatures were also special. Kayaking through the mangroves also memorable. The walk through the botanical gardens led by the wonderful local guide at the Las Cruces Biological Station also a really educational, fascinating and entertaining.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Memo was an excellent and very engaged and organised group leader. His “PowerPoints” covering many and varied subject matters were both amusing and informative. Memo’s knowledge and enthusiasm for the local wildlife and plant life was particularly impressive and ably demonstrated on the wildlife walks which form part of the trip.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Paying electronically in dollars available everywhere (though local colones also equally welcome). Bring some imodium tablets as a few of us on the trip had upset stomachs at some point.

Suggestions

I scored the overall trip as 5 stars above but would have scored it 4.5 stars if available as a couple of the hotels were not at the level expected and two of the four mountain lodges advertised at the time of making the booking were not available at the time of our trip requiring the group to stay at alternative accommodations.

LA PURA VIDA

We had a fantastic time and came back enthused by la pura vida, with a bundle of happy memories we shall enjoy recalling for years.

Most Inspirational Moment

We had too many to pick one out, from the bird and plantlife at the Wilson Botanical Garden, to the humming birds at the Quetzal Park, and the solitude of an early morning visit to Tourialba park, finishing of course with our visit to the hot springs in La Fortuna. The weather conspired to keep Arenal in the clouds and rain, so adding to its mystique.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Couldn't have asked for more, Andrea and the team (driver Luis and mechanic Djeison) were super, and managed the enforced changes to the itinerary without unduly spoiling our experience. Andrea was extremely well briefed and communicated clearly on all aspects of the wildlife, history and agriculture, and our visits to the plantations she led were very informative.

Advice for Potential Travellers

There were hardly any places that didn't take contactless payments, or took cash in US dollars, though you will be given change in colones. Beware changing currency at the airport, the fee/commission was extortionate. And do not put toilet paper down the loos.

Suggestions

Save for Tourialba, the park visits were very busy, spoiling our experience somewhat even if the guides are spotting for each other. The itinerary is extensive, and so involves some tiresome transfers in the bus. The in/out on the Caribbean side to Puerto Viejo was long and the time we had didn't really allow us to enjoy enough of the experience. Trimming the itinerary would also allow, eg, time for a walk in the Quetzal Park where we broke one of the longer transfers. We would add too that the quality of accommodation and food was somewhat variable, even if there are few alternatives available for such a large itinerant group.

Costa Rica Cycling

Fabulous trip led by an amazing guide Memo.

Most Inspirational Moment

The whole trip was fantastic, a great way to see and explore Costa Rica and all it has to offer.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Memo was very knowledgeable and passionate about Costa Rica and keen to share information is a positive and friendly way. He had a great sense of humour, and was supportive and patient.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Some tough uphill sections, make sure you’re fit for the trip, that said very rewarding when you complete the cycling for the day / trip. We went in December and had fantastic weather bower it was very hot and humid so drink plenty of water !!

Suggestions

Fabulous trip, made even better by a fab guide and his team and a wonderful group. I would highly recommend.

Wildlife galore!

The wildlife on this trip surpassed any expectations I had beforehand. Really amazing. The cycling was enough – it was very hot and humid in November and I was happy that the distances were as they were. We were on and off the bus – very cool and extremely clean and well looked after by Luis (in spite of our best efforts to mess it up and make it smelly!) and the days seemed to be filled enough! I was pleased to get the opportunity to see both coasts of CR, not something other tours do.

Most Inspirational Moment

Spotting an ever increasing list of new wildlife - animals and plants alike, seeing hummingbirds, toucans or macaws at breakfast! The nature walks were just brilliant. But other moments include: cycling in bibical rain to Playa Platanare, staying in the Wilson Botanical gardens, staying at Pachira Lodge in Tortugeura.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Fab. Memo was extremely knowledgeable about Costa Rica, past and present, and all of it's fauna and flora. His talks were engaging and he had a great sense of humour. He was clear in his cycling instructions and kept us alll safe :) He was also very patient - he often had to explain things to us several times - mostly becasue our holiday brains just weren't working!! He was well assisted by Jason - mechanic - always smiling and helpful. And Luis, as previously mentioned, great driver, friendly, helpful and kept his bus as clean as humanly possible and had fruit and snacks ready for us on the stops.

Advice for Potential Travellers

If you have binoculars, take them. Assume you will be very hot! Take loads of pictures!

Costa Rica Cycling

I chose Costa Rica because of it’s wildlife. I was not disappointed, in fact my expectations were surpassed. I enjoy cycling, hence chose the cycling trip.

Most Inspirational Moment

There is no doubt that the various and varied sightings of birds and animals was what inspired me the most.

Thoughts on Group Leader

He was knowledgeable and caring. My only criticism was his lack of punctual departures. It was slightly annoying to get up and breakfast early to then wait 15 or 20 minutes after the designated departure time.

Advice for Potential Travellers

The trip notes on the web site are not completely accurate. For example, Day 11 we did not visit a banana packing facility. The trip notes need more detail in how long the bus transfers are, e.g. Day 10 the transfer to the Caribbean coast is long which is not noted in the notes. The heat and humidity can be very stressful on your body, particularly on the Pacific side at the coast. Listen to your body and ease back if you feel you are beginning to suffer from heat stress. Think about booking your own flights and extending your time in Costa Rica as it is a wonderful country to visit.

Suggestions

I recommend this tour as a great way to see Costa Rica.

An unforgettable experience

A truly wonderful experience of Costa Rica, led by the fantastic Roberto! This trip covers so much of the country, from the Pacific Coast to the Caribbean Coast and everything in between. The cycling distances are manageable, even for an amateur such as myself, and the hotels are all of a good standard. Whilst the tour is focused on cycling, the activities around the rides mean that you get to see things you would not necessarily notice on the bikes, such as the array of incredible wildlife you would normally only see on nature documentaries. I would do the trip all over again if I could!

Most Inspirational Moment

Swimming in the Caribbean Sea - our tour leader factored this into one of the afternoons and the whole group loved it!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Roberto is an asset to Exodus! Nothing was too much for him and he went above and beyond to ensure that each person had a memorable trip. I hope to keep in touch with him and visit him on another trip to Costa Rica in the near future.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Pack washing detergent as not all of the hotels have laundry facilities, everywhere accepts credit and debit cards so there is no need to carry cash, pack padded cycling shorts as you'll need them and take tea bags with you as they're not always available in the hotels.

Costa Rica Cycle

We have just returned from an excellent holiday in Costa Rica. It exceeded our expectations. The country is beautiful and the variety of wildlife is stunning. We cycled 325 miles averaging 30 miles a day. The first few days is on quite busy roads but you get used to that. Later in the trip we were on quieter roads and enjoyed being off the tourist trail. Each day had special interest whether it was a national park walk, boat ride or a visit to a coffee plantation.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing the variety of animals and birds-especially the sloths! From a bike you see and hear so much more than in a vehicle.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our group leader Roberto was well organised, had a good sense of humour and obviously loves his country. He gave us daily information in the form of laminated sheets with the day's gradients for the cycle as well as clear descriptions of the route using a map. The stopping points were indicated and he was good at anticipating our questions. Every day he made a great little video of our activities which went on the group shared WhatsApp. He was patient and courteous at all times which is not easy with a group of this size. Roberto cycled with the group and always made sure we were aware of any hazards along the route. His English is excellent.

Advice for Potential Travellers

It was hotter and more humid than we expected so take a few changes of cycling gear as washing did not dry by the next morning.

Costa Rica Coast to Coast Ride, Jan 2023

A smooth running and extremely enjoyable trip that covered a lot of miles in the company of a lovely group.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Roberto was excellent at communicating with the group in a clear, amiable and professional manner which, together with his attention to safety, gave everybody (I think!) a high level of confidence in his guidance.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be ruthless in deciding what to take, if only because you will be re-packing your bag every day!