View our latest travel disruption updates on Coronavirus here

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18262 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Peace and Quiet

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Peaceful countrysidehardly any traffic,  good company, excellent guides, we were lucky with the weather being clear, otherwise some of the walks could not have been undertaken

    What did you think of your group leader?

    both of them were excellent
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The Holiday that we sacked out Tour Leader

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On our final evening we discussed what were the three best memories that we would take home from an utterly amazing holiday.  Mine, in no particular order, were: Seeing  tigers in the wild.The architecture and especially the Taj Mahal.The children. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A holiday of two halves.  Our initial leader was a nightmare, he would have preferred to have been a Bollywood film star than escorting a group round Rajasthan - alternatively he would have been happy to have been born a Maharajah.  He was loud,  inefficient beyond belief, was unctious to his group, late for everything and rude to all the Indians that we had contact with - in short a total embarassment.  His replacement was fantastic.  Everything one could want from a group leader and more.  Charming, informative, relaxed but completely organized, liked by everyone and fun to be with.  A total contrast.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    India in many areas uses small 3 pin round plugs.  With the amount of re-charging now necessary for cameras it is worth investing in an adaptor of this type (also works in South Africa and New Zealand)Perhaps I am getting old but the journeys were long and the seats hard.  Some sort of cushion to sit on was a necessity.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic holiday in a vibrant country.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A short trip, but a wonderful experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Emerging from my tent in the early morning. The desert was silent all around, the sun just appearing above the horizon and there was a wonderful, clear, soft light all around - a photographers dream come true.Reaching the top of the first area of dunes (mid-afternoon on the second full day's walk) Layer after layer of sand dunes as far as the eye could see, in all directions - real "picture book" desert scenery.Sitting around the fire in the evenings, sharing meals with the camel drivers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic - friendly, supportive and helpful. He had a real love of his country and the desert and this came across very well. The "lessons" after breakfast on Tunisian culture, history, language, etc, were fascinating without being "heavy"

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip - you will not regret it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trip with Exodus (February 2007), but definitely not my last - I will be in Morocco on an Exodus trip in October 2007
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I fell in love with the dogs - Loved my Lemky!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After being so focussed on work, it was ab fab to be totally alive again and being at one with nature. The sun shining off the snow, the beautiful dogs loving running and pulling the sledge, rushing along feeling there was just me, the snow, the dogs and the landscape - totally awesome!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it now!!!  Also got hooked on cross-country skiing after my lesson - love to do a week with Exodus learning more.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    A splendid time is guaranteed for all

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     Sledging from Oeschinen back to Kandersteg. Ice climbing on flood-lit frozen waterfall ( even tho I was pants at it!). Food was delicious. Seeing avalanche on Mount Blumisalp. Stunning Mountain scenery.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Couldn't have been better.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Still smiling after 5580km in a truck!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A selection: Wild camping beside glacial streams, zip lining across a river, kayaking in pucon, sliding down snow-covered volcano on backside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She had endless energy and enthusiasm, a sound knowledge of the area and great organisational skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Choose this sector if you can ... it was fantastic and one of the better sections in S America as far as I can gather from friends who did more than one sector. Make sure you have a good sleeping bag. Think about learning some Spanish before you go. Opportunities for charging battteries can be few and far between so taking spares for camera batteries is helpful. Do as many of the available excursions as you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I understand that Exodus are considering removing overland trips from their itineries. This is a real shame as the trip appeared to be of a higher quality than some of the other companies doing the same route.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    the highlight of the trip was the estancia, the journey through the andes was amazing too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the camarardary of the group, through the tougher parts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    they were very organised and knew their stuff

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    la paz is a difficult place to start with high altitude and thin oxegen so take it slowly at the begining!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    a wonderful adventure, to experience culture, lifestyle and meet lots of people
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Beyond my expectations

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My dream has been to mush a team of Huskies across wild expanses of virgin snow. This holiday saw me realising my dream.  The whole experience was wonderful and indeed exceded my expectations. Friendly leaders were there to give instructions and a helping hand if needed. The scenery was just like that shown in the brochure and it went on for miles. Out of this world! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have a group leader.  We were instructed by locals who all spoke English and were very helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear your thermal underwear!  Take your own kettle and tea bags if you can't live without your cuppa as there were no drinks making facilities in rooms.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As well as the adventures, I enjoyed the peace and quiet and sense of space in this unspoilt area. There were no crowds, queues or traffic jams! I felt as though I had truly escaped from the hassle of modern life.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Breath talking sights!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think most people go on the trip for The Grand Canyon, but Bryce Canyon was also superb and dramatic. We were so lucky with Bryce as it snowed overnight and so returned the next morning to see where we'd been hiking the day before but covered in snow, the snow against the red rocks was so dramatic. Monument Valley was also one of the highlights, which was made even better by the Navajo Indian who took us round. He really loves his job and showing people around.Grand Canyon was also superb, seeing the sunrise and also the helicopter ride. The week went far too quickly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jen was superb, made all the group very welcome and was very organised. Nothing was too much trouble and was very flexible about what we did each day and remembered it was our holiday and was flexible to our needs. Very knowledgeable about the area.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some very rewarding walking.  Take the longer helicopter ride at the Grand Canyon as it's well worth it. If you want to see Vegas then recommend you book an extra day or 2 at the end of the holiday to explore at your own pace as so much to see there. .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus holiday but it was very well organised (mainly due to tour leader).Would have liked to have spent more time at Grand Canyon and Las Vegas. 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Tubing was fantastic

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots of opportunities to do a range of snow activities that we would never have the opportunity to do otherwise, each activity had its own merits: the beauty of walking in new snow; the exhilliration of tubing and sledging; the enjoyment and achievement of cross-country skiing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really caring for all members of the group, knowledgebale and well trained for all the activities, willing to be involved with the group and didn't think of his job as 'work' he was brill

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really understand the grading of the holiday as snowshoeing can be exhausting, suitable for the young and not so young - at least 1/2 our group were 50+; you wont need as many clothes as you thinkyou do!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bled is a beautiful place with lots of facilities in the small town, everyone was so welcoming and the walk round the lake is so relaxing.  Would love to do it again but there are so many other places to go, things to see and do!