Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jane De Vries

    Superb family adventure

    We booked a private tailor made slightly shortened 6 day Camels and Kasbahs itinerary to fit with the half term school holidays of our teenage children. It was a really excellent adventure and introduction to Morocco, starting in Marrakech, crossing the High Atlas Mountains to the Sahara desert and back to Marrakech. We really felt like we got to know the essence of Morocco in a relatively short trip, and also felt safe at all times thanks to our superb guide Abdul and very safe driver Moustafa. We definitely intend to return to this beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights were staying and stargazing in the remote Berber village of Tighza in the High Atlas Mountains, bargaining for a carpet in the remote desert town of Rissani and camel trekking and climbing the sand dunes to watch sunset over the Sahara in Mergouza.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Abdul was insightful, humorous and spoke perfect English. We learned a huge amount from him about the culture and way of life in Morocco. Moustafa was our friendly and very safe driver, transporting us in a comfortable air conditioned minibus. We were very well looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring head scarves for the desert, or you can buy them en route. Stock up on small value dirham notes and coins for tipping along the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kristen Sinclair

    Wonderful time! ALOT of walking!

    Myself and my 13 year old son had a wonderful time in Japan with Exodus. Each day was action packed and we saw many more sights than if we travelled independently. My only advice is to remember it is a tour, not a holiday. It is a constant 12 days and there is ALOT of walking involved. However, the experience is a time we shall never forget!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the river ride in Kyoto, the monkey park, the 1000 vermillion gates, the floating Tori gate, Hiroshima A-Dome, peace park and museum, Mount Fuji, Hakone and all of Tokyo.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miyuki was very friendly and Popajin was very knowledgable and went out of his way to take us to the robot restaurant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To remember it is a tour, not a holiday, and the amount of walking and activities can be quite intense, especially if travelling with children.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had a wonderful time, memories for the rest of our lives! A rest day in the middle would have been nice.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Gordon Goldsmith

    Taj Tigers & Temples

    Amazing trip , well organised & staff where very reliable & friendly Day to day changes in the Itinerary or timetable did not effect our enjoyment too much But changes were partly due to a larger group than expected , (25) Having met our initial group, about 10 joined up later on the first day which we where not expecting & the dynamic's of the group where somewhat affected for most of the trip ! An example to highlight this happened when the second group ( who also previously knew each other )wanted to go Elephant riding . The 'original ' group had to seat it out as we all did not approve & had not asked for this

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gurudwara Sikh Temple in Old Delhi ALL the early morning starts … great

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay Gupta was a very good guide Knowledgeable , witty ,very accommodating with some overbearing aspects of certain group members He also managed to be diplomatic at all times & showed lots of patience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No not really If you have never traviled before , its all in the notes supplied Do not feel concerned about things like water , safety etc... India is changing very fast !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Possible inclusions for the trip A few more walk-a -bout's at times in interesting areas & suburbs Reduce group size so there can be a few more ,'smaller & interesting hotels , some in the city centres Rather than on this trip where they were predominately 'out of town' , so no opportunity to eat out

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Gordon for his review, and we were very pleased to read that overall this was an enjoyable holiday.  We were, however, concerned to learn that an elephant ride was arranged by the tour leader for some members of the group, as our policy on elephant riding is very clear; we do not condone this practise because it can be extremely negative both physically and mentally for the elephants.  Our tour leaders are informed of our Responsible Travel policies and are expected to adhere to them.  In this case, the leader acted independently and in breach of our policies, which we have followed up on.  We would also like to apologise for the inconvenience that Gordon and other members of the group experienced as a result of this matter.   

     

    Kashka Lantis - Product Manager for India

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sally Clayton

    Brilliant family trip to India

    I was slightly apprehensive about taking the other half and my daughter to India, but it was fantastic. We were very well looked after, didn't get sick and had an action packed adventure - taking in the sights and scenes of a beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taj and Tigers!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Ajay was very informative, great with the kids and full of information and gave good context to historical, religious and modern day living in India. He also was calm and helpful sorting out the return travel when the originally booked Jet flights all got grounded!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about getting really sick, its very unlikely that it will happen. Take a waterbottle to fill up on the bus to avoid unnecessary one time use plastic waste. The trip is fast paced especially at the beginning - but go with it, there will be some great hotels and swimming pools along the way for you to rest up!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alison Saveall

    Fabulous Family Adventure

    This was an amazing holiday. We saw so much and it was so well organised - I cannot recommend Exodus enough! This was the first time we'd done this kind of trip with our nine year old daughter - and it was brilliant in the way it combined: having a family adventure, seeing places i'd wanted to visit, but made accessible and interesting for all the family; within the safety net of the trip being organised by someone that it was clear we could rely on. The detail and organisation was so well handled by Exodus and the guides, leaving us to enjoy ourselves, have adventures, watch the world go by, and learn about other parts of the world. I particularly appreciated the thought that went into supporting local people and businesses.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling around Ankhor Wat temples - and because it was super hot (40), Bun and the local guides had thought of everything: drink, fruit, and were mindful that we kept rehydrated, and there was even a back up bus in case we gave up in the heat! We also enjoyed the homestay in Vietnam - and the cycling trip that Phong had arranged for us there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Phong in Vietnam, and Bun in Cambodia & Thailand were amazing. I had complete faith in both of them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is super hot in April, so to be able to spend time outside and enjoy the temples at Ankhor Wat (for example) in more detail, you may be better going in October - December. Having said that, we survived the heat and had a brilliant time. Pack as light as you can. And if you go in March/April, avoid vest tops and 'short' shorts etc - go for long and floaty tops and 1/2 or 3/4 trousers/skirts. Both for the heat, but also to respect the local cultures, and when visiting the temples.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Where to next!!!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Richard Bowman

    Amazing wildlife adventure

    What an incredible trip! Costa Rica is everything that we had hoped for and more. The wildlife and scenery was spectacular, and the tour gave us a great experience of all of the different areas of the country. Each day felt like it couldn't be topped only for the next to be even better. We had a magical Christmas in Tortuguero and New year in La Fortuna. Exodus had thought of everything to make the holiday special and our guide was simply awesome and really made the holiday. The hotels were in some great settings and grounds, were comfortable (more than adequate) but not luxurious. We would highly recommend for families that love nature, the outdoors and new experiences, and like to meet new people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's really difficult to highlight a best bit as the whole trip was incredible. The boat rides on Christmas day in Tortuguero and seeing all of the amazing wildlife is hard to beat, being so up close, felt like being in a wild life documentary. Rafting was incredible fun and the guide was very funny. The beaches and warm sea were just gorgeous, especially when you thought of home! We really enjoyed sharing the experience and getting to know the other families. Relaxing at the end in Dominical and seeing the stunning pacific sunset. Our guide was very passionate about his country and we learnt so much not just about nature, but about the geography, history and government of Costa Rica. It was fascinating and not something you would necessarily know if you traveled independently.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our trip guide, Jonny, was simply fantastic. He'd won the award the previous year for exodus' best guide and it was easy to see why. As a guide he was incredibly attentive to the groups mood and needs and was always planning ahead so that our trip went as smoothly as possible and that we got the most out of our time. He was also a great ambassador for Costa Rica, using the journeys to tell us about the country's history and the lands we were traveling through. Above all he was a incredibly passionate and knowledgeable naturalist, helping us to spot some amazing wild life and learn a little of this fantastic country's eco-systems.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I packed walking boots which were heavy, trainers are fine. You do need a waterproof as the weather can literally change in minutes! Be prepared to be up and out around 6/7am on trip days - this sounds early but the sunrise is 5.30am and everyone is up and about (also this is when you see the best nature and the UK time zone helps!). Your routine just adapts, early rise and early bedtime! Wifi was available in all hotels but signal patchy. A travel washing line is useful - we did do a laundry load in La Fortuna which was reasonable but hotels are not cheap. Food is generally not cheap. Budget as exodus advises and you'll be along the right lines.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip has inspired us all to travel more and we would definitely use Exodus again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them. Travelling over the Christmas/New Year period was a fantastic tonic!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Isobel Garside

    Don’t understand what you want here

    Some days could have had longer scheduled activities especially cross country skiing and snowshoeing - could make more of this aspect and explore further/more

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Husky trip Dinner outside by camp fire

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Local Basecamp team absolutely superb!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Maggie Harman

    Amazing India

    Our trip was a whistle-stop tour of both North and South India which gave the most amazing taste of the different cultures, food and people in both areas. Brilliantly put together and fabulously organized by in the UK and by the local team. We were looked after so well - they got us to everywhere we needed to go on time, safely and in one piece!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many things it is hard to pick one so limiting it to the top 3: 1. Seeing the Taj Mahal for the first time gleaming in the sunshine. 2. The most amazing food 3. The friendly, helpful and kind people everywhere we went.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had different tour guides in each location and without exception they were very helpful, knowledgeable, interesting and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind. Be respectful of the different cultures and religions so as not to offend. Be prepared to do lots of walking and climbing of steps!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just the most amazing trip I've ever been on - I wish I'd done it years ago, so if anyone is even thinking of going to India don't put it off until you're retired. Do it while you are mobile enough to explore and enjoy all the sights.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Alan Twomey

    Astounding!

    Astounding holiday. Spend a week in the stunningly beautiful Finnish wilderness. Beauty, snow, fun - it’s why you go on holiday. Romantic and magical. Our 6 year old, and all the kids that were there, loved it. Drive huskies, feed and be pulled by Raindeer, snowmobile across frozen lakes, XC ski, build igloos (and sleep in it under the stars if you want!), explore a beautiful valley and park, and sleep soundly after a suana, hot tub and beer. I ran around it a few times in -15, the routes are clearly laid out, the running is safe and you’ll never forget it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Running through the forest at -15 in snow fall and winter sun

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good guy

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You only need the clothes you arrive in and some underwear and socks, and sweatpants If you like running, bring trainers (no need for special off road ones) Bring plenty of evening entertainment!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pillows weren’t good enough, better quality and more of them would be good
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Kerrie Starbuck

    Fabulous Finland

    We had a great time on our Finnish adventure and felt like we were well looked after and entertained the entire time. The scenery and activities were amazing and we'd highly recommend this trip to families of all ages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting huskies and reindeer, and snow-shoeing through some truly breath-taking forests.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    James catered well to the group and kept us informed at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take hand/foot warmers - the supplied equipment is suitable, but sometimes you just need a little extra.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Trip of a lifetime - do it!
Call us on 052-4811569