Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Benjamin Alan Teece

    The Balkans

    This was an excellent trip with excellent trip manager Jolita and good local guides. Very hectic on the go all the time. Covered a great deal of history and would recommend it highly. One major problem the Hotels are not up to standard of the rest of the trip. Standard Double Rooms were very small and dark and bathrooms miniscule. An option to upgrade should be offered. We upgraded at one Hotel for 20 Euros per night and had a fantastic light and airy room with a balcony and large bathroom fully equiped . This would change the package for the better. One night is OK but 2 / 3 night stays is not on.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tallinn was an inspiration not to be missed its buildings and culture was first class. Trakai castle was a surprise in such a beautiful setting and not too many tourists.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best, Jolita's ready smile and extensive knowledge made the trip. Her ability to handle any situation that occurred was something special. Her energy was inspiring to us all

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Upgrade hotel rooms on 3 and 2 night stays.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    James McKay

    A taste of Portugal

    Lovely trip with leisurely walks through a variety of terrains. A great introduction to Portugal.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really loved the Port. The various different types and how and when to drink them. The scenery and wildlife were stunning too. Lots of opportunities for stunning photos of the scenery and wildlife.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader Lina Ferreira was adorable. She was very knowledgeable and informative about the areas we visited and coped very well with our larger group of 15 people from all over the world. She was ably assisted by her husband Antonio. There was also added complications with high temperatures and wildfires which meant last minute changes to one of the organised walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This tour is a level 1 tour and as such, the walks are not too long. If people are looking for long walks they may be disappointed. Considering the temperatures of 30-36°C at the time we were walking, the length was fine

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We really enjoyed the river cruises, one in Regua and the other in Porto. Both were good value and each lasted for about 50 minutes.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    James McKay

    A taste of Portugal

    Lovely trip with leisurely walks through a variety of terrains. A great introduction to Portugal.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really loved the Port. The various different types and how and when to drink them. The scenery and wildlife were stunning too. Lots of opportunities for stunning photos of the scenery and wildlife.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader Lina Ferreira was adorable. She was very knowledgeable and informative about the areas we visited and coped very well with our larger group of 15 people from all over the world. She was ably assisted by her husband Antonio. There was also added complications with high temperatures and wildfires which meant last minute changes to one of the organised walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This tour is a level 1 tour and as such, the walks are not too long. If people are looking for long walks they may be disappointed. Considering the temperatures of 30-36°C at the time we were walking, the length was fine

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We really enjoyed the river cruises, one in Regua and the other in Porto. Both were good value and each lasted for about 50 minutes.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    James McKay

    A taste of Portugal

    Lovely trip with leisurely walks through a variety of terrains. A great introduction to Portugal.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really loved the Port. The various different types and how and when to drink them. The scenery and wildlife were stunning too. Lots of opportunities for stunning photos of the scenery and wildlife.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader Lina Ferreira was adorable. She was very knowledgeable and informative about the areas we visited and coped very well with our larger group of 15 people from all over the world. She was ably assisted by her husband Antonio. There was also added complications with high temperatures and wildfires which meant last minute changes to one of the organised walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This tour is a level 1 tour and as such, the walks are not too long. If people are looking for long walks they may be disappointed. Considering the temperatures of 30-36°C at the time we were walking, the length was fine

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We really enjoyed the river cruises, one in Regua and the other in Porto. Both were good value and each lasted for about 50 minutes.
  • Reviewed September 2019

    Too leisurely trip

    The itinerary is beautiful, except for some bits were you ride in some areas devastated by the fires in 2017. Expect a very leisurely pace, less than 20 km/h in average and four stops a day, and do some hills after lunch. You should expect to arrive at the hotel at 4 pm or more by the plan. The average age of the group is 55-65 years old. Generally, good hotels are chosen, however, the Literary Man in Obidos is not worth it, except for its breakfast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great to meet people from all over the world. Also, is very stunning to watch the sunset in the Atlantic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He didn't have a very good level of English and had poor organization skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it with self-guided if you can cycle for 30 km around 2 hours non-stop and you want to do some exercise. The group is guided at a very leisurely pace and does four stops each day at least, adding some extra photo stops.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Susanna Early

    Trip of a Lifetime

    Walking and trekking the Amalfi Coast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole tour was inspirational. Everything from the places we visited, the walks to get there and the dinners at night with our group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stefano was fantastic , funny, knowledgeable and a great guy to have as a guide. Would highly recommend him to others and will ask for him when I organise my next tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are looking for a relaxing, leisurely paced walking tour.. this one isn’t for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I found Exodus very well organised with the tours and I would definitely use and recommend Exodus again.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sylvia Smith

    A Good Holiday

    This was a trip worth taking. It was well organised, with excellent walking notes and the accommodation was of a high standard. Exodus has an excellent relationship with the hotel in Bomerano and this enhanced the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was well organised and excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guide was helpful, but this was a self guided trip, so the involvement was different.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed the visit to Ravello, but feel that the walking route advised did not meet the high standards of the other walks.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sylvia Smith

    A Good Holiday

    This was a trip worth taking. It was well organised, with excellent walking notes and the accommodation was of a high standard. Exodus has an excellent relationship with the hotel in Bomerano and this enhanced the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was well organised and excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guide was helpful, but this was a self guided trip, so the involvement was different.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed the visit to Ravello, but feel that the walking route advised did not meet the high standards of the other walks.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sophie Penney

    Very beautiful and interesting trip

    The views on the trek were really wonderful, Cusco is a beautiful city. There is lots to see on this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top on the 2nd day of the hike was a big sense of achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tina is very kind and friendly. She did a very good job of looking after us and checking that we were managing with the altitude.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    One little thing, the kit list is missing toilet paper. Of course you can get it there but I would have preferred to know in advance that you need some for the trek! And yes it really is that cold at night you definitely need to bring properly warm clothes. Walking poles are marked as optional but we wouldn’t have made it without them! The amount of stuff you are allowed for the trek is quite small, smaller than it sounds anyway, so plan carefully.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Bev Scammell

    A truly amazing trip with an outstanding guide

    We choose this trip due to the variety of activities and differing locations and we were not disappointed. Safaris, wild and rugged coast lines, desert, mountains, varied flora and fauna plus an amazing city to finish with. It has something for everyone. It was a well paced trip which packed in a lot without exhausting yourself. Addo elephant park was brilliant and the additional safari to Schotia was a fantastic extra, well worth taking up. We had a bit of a wild, wet, windy time at Tsitsikamma but this did not detract from its immense beauty nor stop us from taking up the opportunity to walk through the forest and spot baboons. Cango caves, ostriches, Mosel bay, wine tasting and De Rust were delightful and Hermanus was certainly a highlight with breaching whales at sunrise. As for Cape Town....quite outstanding and we can’t believe how much we managed to see in a mere couple of days; Signal Hill, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch gardens, Cape of Good Hope, penguins colony, SimonsTown, Robben island and a township tour plus the waterfront. Totally amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We found the whole trip quite inspirational and have fallen in love with South Africa; its people, culture, plants and animals. If we are only allowed one inspirational moment then seeing whales at sunrise is probably it. However, watching a grumpy buffalo eyeball a young elephant, walking through a forest and coming face to face with a group of noisy male baboons, enjoying the tremendous views whilst walking along the Cape of Good Hope, visiting out first ever warm caves whilst listening to the South African national anthem being sung in the most enchanting manner....etc etc etc! There were a wealth of inspirational moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was truly amazing. So much so, that we have just submitted an entry for the 2019 Guide of the Year for him. Justin was exceptional; he has a vast knowledge of his country, its politics, history and culture plus the flora and fauna and is a superb ambassador for South Africa. He was incredibly organised, knew everyone (which meant we as a group were well looked after) was amusing, friendly and very considerate of the needs of everyone. We felt extremely safe in his care and trusted his judgement and advice implicitly, whether it was where to go or what to eat and drink. We also loved his phrases......’cool beans’ ‘Woolworths is just fancy pants Marks and Spencers!’ and some of these will find their way back to England.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take loads of photos to remind you of everything you have done, take binoculars to see views and creatures in more detail, take advantage of all of the trips and opportunities available to you. Layer your clothing.....we went in September and experienced rain, wind and sun and blazing heat all in the same morning. There is an opportunity to have your clothes laundered mid way through the journey so you don’t need to take your entire wardrobe.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were part of a varied group; ages ranging from 18 to 70 made up of families, couples and singles.......and we had a fabulous time. Sincere thanks to you all plus Justin, Jan the trainee and all the other people we met along the route for making the holiday a truly remarkable experience. If you are thinking of going, just do it!