Winter Walking Trins

Loading...
Traveller ratings
4.7 / 5 from 29 reviews >
Trip code: 
CAT
Way to Travel:
Guided Group Adventure Holidays
Activity:
Winter Holidays
Min age:
16
Group size:
4–14

Discover spectacular alpine scenery in the heart of the Tyrol

From the charming village of Trins, set at 1233m, we venture in the heart of the Tyrol into three different valleys, each offering an immense range of interesting walks amid spectacular alpine scenery. In these quiet valleys, we have the privilege to walk amost completely alone each day as we marvel at the peaceful mountains. Always surrounded by the impressive mountain scenery, each walk allows us to stop for refreshments in traditional mountain huts, like Bergeralm or Nosslach, where we have the opportunity to savour some exceptional Tyrolean cuisine. Our Trins base has been popular with our groups for many years, thanks to the friendly atmosphere and complimentary tea and cake we can enjoy at the end of each walk. Innsbruck is also easily reached from Trins, where the varied architecture of this beautiful city is discovered by simply walking along the banks of the Inn River. The first week of the season (17th to 24th December 2016) will be a Special Christmas Market departure: your will have the option to go to Sterzing on the free day to see a traditional Christmas Market and on the 24th there will be the opportunity to explore the Christmas Markets in Innsbruck before your flight.

Highlights

Walk untouched and quiet alpine trails Discover wonderful Tyrolean valleys and Alpine peaks Try the local goulash soup and apfelstrudel at well-earned rest stops

Key information

7 nights hotel

Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Responsible Travel

At Exodus we believe in the power of Responsible Travel.

Every time we travel, we are part of a global movement that creates jobs, builds more sustainable societies, encourages cultural understanding and safeguards common natural and cultural heritage. To learn more about what Responsible Travel means to Exodus click here… 

Itinerary

Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Essential Info

Visas

Austria

No visa required for British passport holders.

Vaccinations

Austria

There are no specific health risks.

Eating and Drinking

All breakfasts and 7 dinners included. Breakfast and evening meals are included in this trip. An ample buffet breakfast prepares us for the exertions of the day ahead. The excellent evening meals draw on Austrian traditions. Complimentary cakes and tea are also served in the afternoon.

Weather

Trins is situated at 1200m and at this height snow can lie from December to mid-March, with fresh snowfalls at any time. Average daytime temperatures in winter are around -5ºC, though they can fall as low as -15ºC with approximately 8 to 10 hours of daylight. At all times of the winter you can hope for periods of clear bright weather and in February and March it can become surprisingly warm in the sun.

Is this trip for you?

Activity Details Winter walking is ideal for those who want an active week in magnificent scenery, but are not tempted by snowshoeing or cross-country skiing. The emphasis is on relatively gentle walking at a relaxed pace, with plenty of time to admire the scenery. We walk mostly on paths and forest tracks, many of which are cleared or rolled after new snowfall. While there may be some walking in unprepared snow, winter walking weeks do not use snowshoes. Each day the leader will carefully assess the situation and choose the route according to current conditions and those forecast, with the over-riding priority being group safety. Our leaders are required not to proceed with any proposed route (including those mentioned in brochure or trip notes) if they believe the risk to be too high. Winter Walking is offered at Grade 3 - Moderate, no previous experience required, but a reasonable level of fitness is required.

Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Accommodation

Hotel Wienerhof

Hotel Wienerhof is a comfortable base in the heart of the village of Trins. The traditional main building has a cosy dining room and separate bar, while just across the narrow village street the second, more modern building houses a sauna and enhanced relaxation area (no charge) along with the opportunity for a massage (not included). The hotel is renowned for its food; most evenings we have three choices of main course, plus a vegetarian option, and there is always a plentiful salad buffet. Complimentary tea, coffee and cake are served each afternoon. All Austrian-twin and single rooms have shower and WC and may be in either building. All rooms are equipped with TV, telephone , hair dryer and code operated safe.
A word of warning about Austria for people sharing 'twin-bedded rooms': these often contain a single unit with two separate mattresses and separate bedding; it is not usually possible to move them apart, though it may sometimes be possible to add an extra bed - please check with us if this is important to you.
Neither building has a lift, so please remember this when you are packing. You should be able to lift and carry your own luggage up one or two flights of stairs.

Single rooms are available at no extra charge on this trip, subject to availability.

Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Experts

Contact a member of staff who has done this trip

Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Expert Blog Entries

Bobsledding

Celebrate the 2018 Winter Olympics by taking part in a challenge of your own.

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Stuart Pinchbeck

    Winter walking in Trins

    Excellent trip. Met some very funny people who made the whole experience enjoyable. Only one thing stopped the trip being 5* and that was the grading. Holiday was graded moderate but in reality it was really easy/moderate as the walks were fairly easy. Apart from that it was a very memorable trip. Food was delicious on every occasion. Especially welcome was the tea & cakes every afternoon between 4 & 5pm. Hotel staff very attentive. Room was spotlessly clean & spacious. Leader had a vast amount of local knowledge to pass on to us & was very friendly. Pity this trip had been dropped but after 38 years I suppose a move to pastures new is needed. Thanks for an excellent trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tobogganing in the forest. Haven't had so much fun for many years

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was a font of local knowledge & had a good sense of humour (he needed it with us lot :-)
  • Reviewed March 2016
    M B

    Winter Walking Trins

    A variety of walks in chocolate box scenery . Can be hard if lots of freshly fallen snow on un-prepared tracks

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say , each walk presented its own challenge , either in soft freshly fallen snow , packed ice or incline of hills.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Helpful and attentive with non German speakers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take some micro spikes or similar ( Yaktrax, Kahoola Micro spikes ) , Some areas were compacted sheet ice and spikes helped enormously . Take opportunity to book with hotel reception a massage in on site Wellness centre, very welcome after a days walking. Masseur lives in village so needs a bit of advance notice. Trins is silent in evenings , do not go expecting any "apres ski" or alternative activities that you may find in a ski resort .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Supermarket in Trins ( only supermarket ) has closed so nothing in immediate local for any emergency purchase like toothpaste etc. Final travel day is a bit of a lost day . Flights at tea time , out of rooms by 10.00 so unable to do anything that would require " freshening up " before airport. Possible to go into Innsbruck and then on to airport with luggage following in mini bus later in afternoon . Following establishments few minutes walk up the road from hotel and both comfortable and welcoming :Cafe Max ( pizza/burger / restaurant ) serves very good food , Hotel Zita ( coffee/ drinks) .
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Gail Madeley

    Trins - Winter Walking

    A lovely area of Austria in the Tyrol, with typical Austrian chalet style accommodation. Although the snow was not as good as it could have been - it has been quite scarce this winter - we still managed to find it at higher altitude. The walks went through beautiful countryside and the restaurants chosen for our lunchtimes produced high quality food, although the portions were quite large.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through pristine snow, seeing the wildlife tracks and seeing the spectacular scenery of snow-capped mountains while walking through snow-covered woods. It was great to have a talk by two members of the local mountain rescue who do an exceptional job.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob - we were all "mit Bob" - he was an enthusiastic leader with great knowledge and is well known in the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take slippers or slip on shoes for the hotel. Take sleeveless tops for the hotel as it can get really warm in the evenings inside. Check your bar bills carefully. Make the most of your free day - there is plenty of time to explore Innsbruck if you are on the group flight on the last day. It's possible to make it to Italy on the train on your free day, so if you do go to Stirzing make sure you visit both parts of the town - the really old bit and the museum and church (opposite direction over the bridge). If you get back and have an hour to wait for the bus back to the hotel, then walk as it was quicker for us!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have a wonderful time - we did.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Vivien Fraser

    the best winter walking so far for me.

    Winter walking in Trins was a joy, and this was certainly the best of this type of holiday in my experience. It offered far more walking each day than other winter holidays I've been on. There was enough snow, so our boot chains were needed and the scenery was glorious. Each day was a different experience, and included a visit to a monastery, and some cheese and liqueur tasting on a local farm. Every day we stopped somewhere pleasant for lunch. The hotel was good, and the food excellent. Had the snow been poorer I guess we would have still been able to walk, minus chains. Trins is a very quiet place, and not a destination to choose if a wild night life is required.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk from the monastery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was good company and incredibly solicitous; he was always on hand to sort out any problems. We were lucky to have another 'leader' with us who although he was on holiday himself, nevertheless lent a hand.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    expect to walk every day for at least 5 hours, some of which is uphill. The panorama in Innsbruck is worth visiting.
  • Reviewed January 2016
    Jacqueline Phillips

    The snow was worth waiting for

    A good week walking in the snow covered valleys and mountains around Trins. All organised like clockwork. The snow was slow to arrive, but when it did, the scenery was beautiful and the walking excellent

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking time to have a quiet moment and admire the beautiful mountain scenery. Enjoying the company of like minded people and having a really good laugh.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was very knowledgeable and organised and ensured all transport arrived with perfect timing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking poles and ice grips for your boots. They were essential in the sometimes very icy conditions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had our last day in Innsbruck, from there it is possible to walk to the airport along the river
  • Reviewed January 2016
    Myles Cutler

    A really nice Christmas trip

    I was a bit cautious about spending Christmas away from home but this was the most Christmassy holiday ever! The Tyrol scenery could go on any Christmas card and then there's endless hot chocolate, mulled wine, people in local dress, and beautiful wooden chalets. The food was traditional, very well made, and arrived in large quantities! Several people in the group asked Bob, our leader, about living in Austria!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. The astonishing mountain views, clear air, and the amazingly strong sunshine. 2. Getting involved in the local Christmas celebrations including a candle lit precession and carol service with mulled wine and cake around a brazier afterwards. 3. The beautiful church interiors. 4. Going up to the top of the Innsbruck Nordkette and looking over the mountains and city. 5. The local women's choir singing very beatifully in the hotel restaurant. 6. Being given a large chocolate birthday cake and glass of sparkling! 7. Visiting a working farm and buying the locally produced meats, cheeses, and liquors.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was very well organised, very patient, and very knowledgable. He also had a very good relationship with the local people and with all the restaurants and cafes that we stopped at. He really couldn't have done any more!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. I had some issues with my flights (I flew from Gatwick when I could have flown from Bristol, my home town). Another person in the group was given a flight that left eight hours before anyone else's. The advice from seasoned Exodus travellers was to research the flights yourself before accepting those offered. 2. Do buy Yak Traks or similar grips before the holiday. Even the grass had sheet ice underneath it is some places! 3. The hotel is very warm so take something light for the evenings. 4. The standard Exodus flights arrive around 17:00 or later. Book an earlier flight and explore Innsbruck (you may be able to leave you bag at the train station) or use public transport to get to the hotel, explore Trins, and have lunch there.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Spectacular scenery by day and a warm homely hotel with great food and company by night. Recommended!
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Carol Stitson

    Winter Walking:Trins

    A fantastic holiday walking through perfect Christmas card scenes hearing just the scrunch of snow under boots and soft chatter. A great variety of walks with a lovely group of people and excellent leader

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking over a pristine, newly blanketed valley in bright sunlight Tobogganing down the hill- all of us had so much fun The walk on the last day when the snow was quite deep but the group made it to the peak- and the view was stunning!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was great, friendly, very accommodating (he helped us arrange our free day) and extremely knowledgeable about the local area

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do get your Yaktrax- they were invaluable. Take layers- a day can be cold or chilly when walking in the trees while in the sun it can be warm.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    David van den Bos

    Winter walking Trins

    Having thoroughly enjoyed a summer walking week in Trins, we were keen to visit this wonderful area in winter. We were not disappointed, the holiday exceeded all our expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sun, snow and scenery were amazing. Walking mostly on prepared trails was relatively easy and gave us every opportunity to enjoy the magnificent views. Lunches were taken in a variety of eateries giving a chance to warm up and sample local food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris Burke is an excellent leader and inspires confidence. As this was our 20th Exodus holiday we appreciate how much the enjoyment of a holiday is enhanced by a good leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is warm, comfortable and welcoming with superb food. We so enjoyed the holiday that we feel it is a pity there are not more opportunities for winter walking with Exodus.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Kathy Macey

    Fun in the sun and snow

    Exodus were even thoughtful enough to lay on a fresh sprinkling of snow for our arrival. A swift half hour transfer up to the Wienerhof Hotel in Trins for a warm welcome and delicious meal. The trend of this friendly hospitality and wide selection of evening meals continued for our week in great company. Rooms were warm and comfortable many offering superb views over the surrounding snow covered peaks. Conditions for walking on the first couple of days proved somewhat testing at times with continued fresh snow falling and on a couple of occasions blizzard scenes but our YakTrax soon became our new supportive friends! The following days became a true picture postcard winter spectacular - pristine conditions, crisp white snow against a true blue sky along with warm sunshine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We arrived in Trins in darkness, but that following morning when we drew back the curtains and went on to our small balcony - the view was stunning. A blanket of snow accentuating the traditional shape of the Austrian Chalets dotted on the surrounding mountainside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris is a top guy! Always caring, never rushing around and taking everything in his stride. He took us on well prepared snow trails along valleys following icy rivers, up and down mountain tracks to find hidden lakes and tiny chapels and churches. Mid morning, where feasible, coffee stops were made in welcoming and warm hostelries - well, more like "Hot Schoklade mit Rhum" to be truthful. Lunch stops were arranged in traditional stubels were we enjoyed local fayre including Goulash Soup and other unpronounceable delights - but Chris being the experienced leader that he is saw us through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's really all been said in previous reviews - so just go for it and enjoy the fun.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A must for the free day - get on the bus down to Steinach, get on that ski-lift up the mountain and enter a world full of colour and movement, watch varying degrees of skiing expertise for all ages and just listen to the variety of languages and laughter THEN rent a toboggon and hurtle yourself down that 5km run. You'll get covered in snow, you may even fall off, you'll laugh - but what an adrenaline rush. After that, head for the village for a pizza and a well deserved beer, and no doubt, exaggerate the speed you actually came down at! Life doesn't get much better than being on an Exodus Holiday - such fun!
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Lesley Speight

    walking in a winter wonderland

    Quiet valleys where the snow lies deep but the track has been cut and prepared for walking; blue skies of a colour so strong it takes the breath away; the crisp crunch of ice beneath your feet which are safely secured by the yaktraks; towering peaks with rugged crags; and time to feel awe-inspired at the wonders of nature. Not poetic fantasy - reality!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    standing in a snow covered valley looking at the towering peaks above and the almost navy blue sky beyond

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris provided a quiet reassuring presence when the going was tough and was always encouraging

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    make sure you have the fitness and stamina required -the pace may be gentle but the slopes are steep and older travellers like myself may need an extra few minutes to complete them

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    being the back marker of the group does not necessarily mean that you are holding everyone else up - a chance to stop and admire the views is always very welcome

Dates & Prices

An overview of flight options

Exodus is committed to making joining our tours as easy as possible, wherever you live. We generally only block book seats from London, but this certainly does not mean that you need to fly from there. Depending on the route and airlines available, there will usually be various options available for those who want to fly from their local airport.

This page aims to provide a useful overview of the options available to our clients. However, the best flight arrangements should be tailored to your personal requirements, so please contact our Sales team for expert advice.

 

What kind of options do I have ?

1. We can book for you: Flights from anywhere in the world - not via London  

Depending on the route, this may be direct or via an overseas hub like Amsterdam, the Middle East or elsewhere. On short haul routes there may be direct flights with low cost airlines, charter flights or scheduled airlines. Exodus can book most, but not all, of these for you. The most appropriate airline may be different to that which we use for the group flight from London, but many people now travel on different airlines and meet up with their fellow passengers at the destination.

Pros Cons
  • May be the most direct route
  • Often the extra fare compared to the London flight is minimal.
  • As you will be in the hands a single airline for your entire journey, the airline will be responsible for your bags and your connections.
  • You may not be able to join the group transfers. However, we can usually arrange private transfers, or book your flights to try and coincide with the group transfers. See notes on transfer arrangements below.

 

2. We can book for you: Connecting flights from your local airport to London

Exodus can book connecting flights to London so you can join the group flight there. Connecting times will be followed according to airline advice, or as requested by clients. There are two types of fares we can use for this option: a 'through-fare' or a 'published fare'.
 
a) A 'through-fare' is where you will be in the main airline's care throughout. You change planes, but your bags are checked all the way through to your final destination. 

b) A 'published fare' ticket is completely seperate from your onward ticket from London. It is usually cheaper than a through-fare but will need to be paid for and issued as soon as it is booked. This can be a problem if your tour has not yet reached minimum numbers. On 'published fares' neither airline is aware that you have connecting flights, so Exodus is responsible for timing your connection, not the airlines involved. The tickets are also usually non changeable and non refundable.

Pros Cons
  • Depending on the fare type, Exodus or the airline is responsible for flight connections.
  • Through fare tickets can be expensive.
  • On a published fare, tickets must be issued immediately; tickets on published fares can be very difficult to change if onward flight times change; bags are not checked though to your final destination.
  • Published fares are non-refundable.

 

3. Booking some or all of the flights yourself

You can also book connecting air travel yourself, either to London, or all the way to the start point. There may be certain airlines or routes we don't have access to, so this is always an option. However, if you make your own travel arrangements you become liable for any delays, cancellations or missed connections, and Exodus is not required to offer refunds if you have trouble reaching the start of your trip.

Pros Cons
  • You might find cheaper fares, or routes not available to Exodus.
  • You are responsible for any delays or missed connections, and the cost of the tour is not protected should you miss your flight be cancelled.

 

 Notes on transfer arrangements

Sometimes it is possible to travel on a different airline to the group flight from London. Where this is the case, we need to think about ensuring you meet up with the group with minimum extra cost and hassle.

  • On certain trips, it is easy to arrive on a different flight and still meet the group at the hotel with time in hand. We can usually arrange private transfers (at extra cost) or offer advice on taking a taxi to the start hotel.
  • On other trips (especially in Europe), the transfer meets the group flight and then travels some distance to the first night's accommodation. Where this is the case, our Sales team will try to arrange flights that arrive before (and depart after) the group. However, we do have to make it clear in your final documentation that if your flights are delayed, the transfer cannot wait for you. While Exodus or our local operators will do what we can to help you reach the start point of the tour, any additional costs must be paid by the client. 

 

Next steps? 

Call our Sales team on: 0203 733 0698

Email your query: [email protected]

Call us on 03 5492918