Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Ken Plumb

    Wonderful Trip

    A more varied trip than the Everest trips I have done. The whole trip was amazing - great group of trekers - great leadership - wonderful support staff - epic scenery. Every day brought something different - from rice fields to baron high mountain areas - from 25 degrees to minus 12 ! - from high mountain views to flat valley landscapes. So, so glad I did this trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing Thorang La Pass at over 5400m was a wonderful day - long, tiring but epic. A landscape so unlike anything in Europe coupled with the physical effort of walking uphill at high altitude. We all made it thanks to our great Nepali team.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kumar was a real star. He seemed to anticipate our every need and organised his staff superbly. He looked after people when that has problems during the trip. He was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We were so lucky to have him. A really top class Exodus leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Layers of clothing are the answer form temperatures which varied so much. Take a pillow case - almost no weight and more hygienic than just using the pillows which may not have been cleaned for a while. Steripens are recommended and work very well. Be very careful with your hygiene - many people had a day or 2 with 'issues' but I was fine - hand gel is the key ! Be reasonably fit - you do not have to be superfit. Take antibiotics and Diamox with you in case you need them. Use suncream a lot - the sun burns you at high altitude. Take your time on the trek and enjoy the views - take a good camera. Take a buff for use on the dusty roads you sometimes have to use.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you can afford the time, this trip has a bit of everything for someone with a bit of adventure in their soul ( or even sole! ) , Nepal is a wonderful friendly, inspiring place ! Go for it.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    John Sutton

    Smashed it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Delightful fellow trekkers, a brilliant leader, the smiling Nepalese and amazing scenery made this the trek of a lifetime. We had no rain and much of the time walked in brilliant sunshine, which really lifts the spirits when you are feeling a bit knackered. The team dynamic really works. We all got on and helped each other. Now consider myself a leading expert on veg. noodle soup, tomato soup( both home made, of course ) along with egg and veg noodles and apple pie ! It felt a real privilege to visit this very poor country and see how the very tough Nepalese live. It makes you realise just how very fortunate we are with all the amenities we take for granted, which in Nepal would be a luxury.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up at 3 am and climbing for 5 hours with head torches to reach the Thorang La pass by 9. Watching the sun rise and then descending about 5,400 ft . Views that just took your breath away. The desolation up there and freezing cold too. And the sense of achievement that the whole group made it. Poon Hill was amazing too. Another early morning start to get up there but you really did feel on top of the world. And all those other trekkers up there too, like us, waiting to see the sun rise. The way the light caught the mountains was just magical and presented great photo opportunities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    If you said name me the perfect group leader, it would be Prim ( and I know others in the group thought the same) He constantly watched over us (but not in an intrusive way) ensuring everyone was OK. Safety was paramount. Sorted out all our meals, was very knowledgeable about the mountains, had a great smile, was very courteous. A true gent. Nothing was too much trouble. He took away any anxiety with his calmness. He had Pasang and Lappa helping him too. They were both excellent. And lets not forget the porters - delightful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of hand gel. Reduce your risk of tummy bugs - take probiotics before and during walk. Whilst it can be very cold as you go up, its also very warm when the sun is out, even when high up. So have a good mix of winter and summer clothes. Jelly babies , boiled sweets and chocolates bars keep you happy !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a big THANK YOU. Wondering how I can top that. I have definitely got the bug for another one.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Julie Reynolds

    A great trip!

    The annapurna circuit has been on my wish list for a long time and having finally got to do it, it did not disappoint! The scenery is fantastic and ever changing with something new to look at, at seemingly every corner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting drinking fresh apple juice as a golden eagle flew just over our heads. Seeing the mountains against the cloudless blue skies time and time again from all different angles. Getting over the pass!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kumar was excellent. I really do not think we could have asked for more in a guide. Everything was well organised and nothing was ever too much trouble for him. I think he put a lot of effort into ensuring everyone in the group was happy and had what they needed and to just making sure we were having a good time . He worked extremely hard as did the other guides and the porters and we were very lucky to have such a great team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of warm layers for the evenings. Despite being in tea houses it is very cold, even in the communal areas. Don’t go on this trip unless you can cope with squat toilets, often not very clean, communal facilities and dodgey showers!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are stretches where the walk is on roads which are very dusty and not very pleasant. Its definately wise to have a face mask or buff for these parts.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    William Harvey

    Annapurna Circuit

    Descriptions or photographs cannot do justice to the dramatic scenery as

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ascent other Thorong La Pass, the climb from Totopani to Ghorepani and of course the dramatic scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good leader however a little authoritarian, demanding (not recommending or advising) the clothing I should wear rather than accepting that I have the experience and awareness of my tolerances to climate conditions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The accommodation, wind and dust can pose challenges however if you can embrace these issues as being part of the Annapurna Circuit you'll enjoy the experience to its maximum effect.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Iain Black

    Annapurna Circuit

    This trip was excellent-the first Himalayan experience, a highly thought-of trek through brilliant mountain and remote scenery in mostly ideal weather conditions with a great mix of fellow trekkers all led by a delightful knowledgable guide. The first week was spent trekking up the Marsyangaki River from to the remote high pass of the Thorong la then the circuit was completed by descending down the deep gorge of the Kala Gandaki surrounded by the high mountains of the Annapurna range. A euphoric feeling developed at the end of the circuit in Pokhara !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely the crossing of the Thorong-la It’s a big long day with an early start and potential problems are weather and altitude. Just standing by the prayer flags in the sun and snow 17000 feet up with the group and thinking how we’d all got there was very moving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What a cheerful knowledgable unflappable person! Faced with 11 disparate souls from entirely different backgrounds, he led, cajoled, and encouraged us throughout the walk. He was very proud of his country and did a very good job of explaining the cultural differences and challenges of Nepal.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect a good days walking most days. Expect to be breathless on the higher sections -the air though clear is much drier and thinner,and use sunscreens to protect against UV skin damage. Take your time ascending. Expect stomach upsets - some of us got more than we expected! Even with antibiotics

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I’ve got a real issue with your Steripen advice.... ok I may have been unlucky, but when I got home mine wouldn’t function at all so I returned it. I was deeply suspicious throughout that it may not have been working but I had no way of knowing bacteriologically, just blind faith in your advice. I’d like to have tried bottled sterilised water to see if it made a dufference
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Iain Black

    Annapurna Circuit

    This trip was excellent-the first Himalayan experience, a highly thought-of trek through brilliant mountain and remote scenery in mostly ideal weather conditions with a great mix of fellow trekkers all led by a delightful knowledgable guide. The first week was spent trekking up the Marsyangaki River from to the remote high pass of the Thorong la then the circuit was completed by descending down the deep gorge of the Kala Gandaki surrounded by the high mountains of the Annapurna range. A euphoric feeling developed at the end of the circuit in Pokhara !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely the crossing of the Thorong-la It’s a big long day with an early start and potential problems are weather and altitude. Just standing by the prayer flags in the sun and snow 17000 feet up with the group and thinking how we’d all got there was very moving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What a cheerful knowledgable unflappable person! Faced with 11 disparate souls from entirely different backgrounds, he led, cajoled, and encouraged us throughout the walk. He was very proud of his country and did a very good job of explaining the cultural differences and challenges of Nepal.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect a good days walking most days. Expect to be breathless on the higher sections -the air though clear is much drier and thinner,and use sunscreens to protect against UV skin damage. Take your time ascending. Expect stomach upsets - some of us got more than we expected! Even with antibiotics

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I’ve got a real issue with your Steripen advice.... ok I may have been unlucky, but when I got home mine wouldn’t function at all so I returned it. I was deeply suspicious throughout that it may not have been working but I had no way of knowing bacteriologically, just blind faith in your advice. I’d like to have tried bottled sterilised water to see if it made a dufference
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Iain Black

    Annapurna Circuit

    This trip was excellent-the first Himalayan experience, a highly thought-of trek through brilliant mountain and remote scenery in mostly ideal weather conditions with a great mix of fellow trekkers all led by a delightful knowledgable guide. The first week was spent trekking up the Marsyangaki River from to the remote high pass of the Thorong la then the circuit was completed by descending down the deep gorge of the Kala Gandaki surrounded by the high mountains of the Annapurna range. A euphoric feeling developed at the end of the circuit in Pokhara !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely the crossing of the Thorong-la It’s a big long day with an early start and potential problems are weather and altitude. Just standing by the prayer flags in the sun and snow 17000 feet up with the group and thinking how we’d all got there was very moving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What a cheerful knowledgable unflappable person! Faced with 11 disparate souls from entirely different backgrounds, he led, cajoled, and encouraged us throughout the walk. He was very proud of his country and did a very good job of explaining the cultural differences and challenges of Nepal.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect a good days walking most days. Expect to be breathless on the higher sections -the air though clear is much drier and thinner,and use sunscreens to protect against UV skin damage. Take your time ascending. Expect stomach upsets - some of us got more than we expected! Even with antibiotics

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I’ve got a real issue with your Steripen advice.... ok I may have been unlucky, but when I got home mine wouldn’t function at all so I returned it. I was deeply suspicious throughout that it may not have been working but I had no way of knowing bacteriologically, just blind faith in your advice. I’d like to have tried bottled sterilised water to see if it made a dufference
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Shamini Mahadevan

    Annapurna Circuit

    Fantastic trip. Great people, scenery, culture and views. Very well organised and was very well looked after by trip leader and whole exodus team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting poon hill was very special for me as it was where my grandpa and grandma visited over 40 years ago so I thought of them as I looked across the amazing views. However there were many amazing moments including visiting beautiful monasteries and the feeling after crossing Throng la pass and seeing the amazing view on the other side.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was fantastic. He had a great awareness about all those in the group and how they were feeling and was always helping us to have the best time possible. He showed professionalism as well as being a really fun trip leader. Would 100% recommend him as a trip leader to friends travelling to Nepal. Thanks Bikash!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Nepal! It is a beautiful place with beautiful people. Would recommend travelling in winter if you don't mind the cold and don't want the crowds.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Stephen Clark

    Annapyrnna Circuit

    A great holiday. Excellent leader, good group, great weather, excellent views, lovely locals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the Thorong la Pass and the high mountains all around us. Pokhara was great fun on New years eve.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, he mixed in with the group in the evenings and was always joyfull and very knolageable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to enjoy yourself and have plenty of card space in your camera. It is a strenuous trek with plenty of steep ups and downs to tax the knees

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only thing I would comment on is the fact that you have to take extra cash for your evening meals, I personaly would like to see the price of the meals in the total price you pay for the holiday, then you would not have to take so much extra cash with you.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Joanne Parker

    Amazing trekking experience.

    Namaste! When we decided to book this trek we considered several things - costing, availability, timings and fitness level; and upon reflection, we chose the right trek at the right time - it was a fantastic experience. The trek itself is 18 days (with varying levels of distance) through a variety of scenery - from forests to valleys, from large villages to small hamlets - each day is unique and interesting with stunning views of the Himalayan mountains. You acclimatize slowly on gradual routes with a small group and guides: porters carry your large bag (exceptionally fast!) so you just have a day pack with you. As we trekked in December we hardly saw other trekkers on our route and this made for a more remote feeling: you are embedded in the local culture from the start and to the end. This will be a memorable trip for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several inspirational moments on our trip - passing the Thorung-La pass, the views from Poon Hill, the views from Manang, the temples of Muktinath, the villages we passed through and the Nepalese people we met. I think overall it was the grandness of the mountains that overlook the circuit - they are incomparable and astounding to see and you will be in awe of them. The whole experience hasn't fully sunk in yet!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash Tamang was a fantastic group leader - compassionate, caring, funny, friendly and knowledgeable. He made the experience enjoyable and ensured the pace was suitable for all; we never felt rushed nor unable to stop and admire the view and take pictures. Bikash pointed out views we would have otherwise missed, recommended things to try and took us to good quality restaurants in Pokhara and Thamel. I felt safe with Bikash as group leader and reassured that any issue I might have had he would do his utmost to help sort it. He is proud to work for Exodus and is a good representative of the company and their ethics. We want to book another trekking experience in Nepal and I will be asking for Bikash as our group leader (if he is available).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The circuit can be dusty in a lot of places so a buff/face mask is a must - this was a great bit of kit that was used often and saved a lot of coughing. We found that the Steripens we used struggled to work at higher altitudes so take back up tablets for sterilisation just in case. Jelly babies! A good 'pick me up' for when energy is low. A good tip would be to write on the map you're provided with the dates of the mountains you see for reflection when you return - it is also useful the take a photo of the day's itinerary on your camera before you start snapping pictures that day so you know which day's photos are on your camera and can match up to any trip notes you make in your journal You won't spend as much as suggested in the trip notes but take that amount anyway as there's a lot to buy in Thamel and having extra spending money was great for us (practice bargaining as well if you're not used to it!). Don't be afraid to ask questions from your guides! Stop, take photos, interact with the locals and admire the views. Lastly, a headtorch. Some people in our group didn't pack one but I found I used mine often and there are a couple of days where you start in the dark and it is needed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Trek this route now before the villages get bigger through development projects and the feeling of remoteness is gone. We were told that in 2015/6 over 25,000 people trekked the circuit (we probably saw about 20 other trekkers in total) so it is getting busier! Please consider donating trekking kit for the porters and buying them dinner one night. Many travel long distances to work on these trips to provide for their families and good quality kit is expensive. If you'd like to donate you can leave a bag at the hotel or wear the items on the trek and donate at the end.
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111