Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Anne Neary

    Scenic and peaceful with wonderful food

    Great ride. Most is on mostly flat, well maintained, paved bike paths, with little riding on roads. Going in late October meant that when we were on roads they were almost traffic-free and the lovely coastal villages and beaches en route were tourist-free. This summer Portugal experienced many forest fires and a day of cycling through charred forests was unavoidable. It was interesting to see, first-hand, the unfortunate devastation that we had all read about in the news. Regeneration will begin quickly, I'm sure. Marco was an excellent guide and we were fortunate to learn a lot as a result of his excellent knowledge of the history of Portugal. The picnic lunches were a highlight, the group was great and I had a wonderful holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful sea views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good guide that spent a lot of time each night assessing the route and alternative options given the local fire situation. On one day, a fire was still burning on the route and he arranged a train ride to Coimbra for a day walking the town and transportation to the next day's destination.. An unanticipated obstacle in the tour but handled well. He also arranged wonderful places for dinners each nice with good variety to experience the local dishes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Easy ride and rated a 2 probably due to an off-road climb one day which is walkable if necessary and undulating terrain on the last day. It may be too relaxing a holiday for eager riders, but allows you to enjoy the countryside and chat your fellow cyclists.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Rob McWilliam

    The Lost City of Chocquequiaro

    This is a challenging hike. The altitude makes the steep ascents and descents very demanding. But the scenery and the access to Inca sites that aren't crawling in tourists makes it worth it. After having Choquequiaro to ourselves for a full day the hordes of tourists at Machu Pichu were definitely frustrating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The full day that we got to spend at Choquequiro exploring the site.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tomas has lots of experience, and a great sense of humour. Our sense was that he might be bored with the guide routine, and the constant questions of clients. Didn't get the sense of personal connection that we have had with other guides on previous trips. Assistant guide Jhonny still has lots of work to do on his knowledge, but was very enthusiastic and I think the group felt a closer connection with him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really do need to respect the altitude! Slowly, Slowly is the way to approach the hiking or you will crash and burn. Also learn to love cocoa tea! The sand flies were a huge problem (don't know if this is seasonal or constant). Take LOTS of bug repellant and protective clothing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Crew (Guides, cooks, wranglers) looked after us really well. In fact, some days it seemed too well. It is hard to do a step climb right after a very heavy breakfast or lunch. There was always a several course meal prepared and waiting.. even on the summit of a major pass.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    kim simkins

    Safari at it's absolute best

    Travelling with a group of friends who met in Botswana on a camping trip 7 years ago, and had so much fun and friendship that we decided to reunite the Botties for a rerun with a bit of Zimbabwe added on! Were slightly concerned that the lodges would lack the intimacy of the wild camping, however this trip was absolutely perfect for us and Exodus helped us fine tune the experience by switching a day in Vic Falls for an extra day in Hwange for our party of 6. And actually that was probably the highlight of the trip in the end, one of the greatest 24hrs safari experience of my life (and I've had a few)! I was in serious need of a break, but I came home from Africa a different and better person after one of the most amazing trips ever! I am an Exodus veteran but this had to be the best yet! Thank-you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many...hard to choose! 1. The Okavango Delta, the absolute isolation and peacefulness of wild camping, swimming amongst the water lilies and the fireflies spectacular light show at night whilst listening to the lions roaring and the elephants splashing in the water just yards from my tent. 2. Walking to track Rhino in Matobo and removing a poachers snare and the superb Hermits lodge with a great sundown dog walk with the zebra chasing the dog off! 3. The wonderful Hwange National Park. Superb game drives and even thought the landrover broke down, it meant our replacement vehicle had got wind of a leopard and we were lucky enough to see one descending from a tree. 4. Wonderful Hwange Safari Lodge hotel overlooking the waterhole, and a superb tracker guide who found us a cheetah with 3 cubs, a huge herd of elephant with a close encounter never to forget with a herd of 150 elephants doing what all elephants do best all around us. Just when we thought we had seen it all, he found us a pride of 16 lions right by the side of the road for an amazing encounter with some very relaxed and well fed cats! 5. Superb dinner cruise on the last night with great food, wonderful live music and the most amazing sunset. So emotional, it brought tears to my eyes, a perfect end to a perfect trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sheridan was very young and inexperienced and had her work cut out with some 'older' seasoned travellers. She was pleasant and helpful but didn't really add much to the experience as she didn't give us much information about the country or the wildlife. She spent a lot of time on the game drives asleep. Sometimes communication was not as good as it might have been. But I am sure she will improve with experience and has the enthusiasm to learn.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some very long drives on dodgy roads with strict speed limits and very few stops. The estimated timings were a long way out, 4/5 hrs was often nearer 6/7 so there was little down time. A significant amount of walking too on safaris so need to be reasonably fit, especially with the heat as some days were 40degrees. Zimbabwe is still quite corrupt, we had a few issues with police stops, it also has little cash so take small notes and don't expect change. If you are prepared to take old clothes, these can be bartered for goods. Things are expensive in both countries so take plenty of cash/credit cards. Don't expect luxury and its Africa and thatched accommodation so be prepared for bugs and meeting the outdoors.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just to say thanks for such an amazing time. Will certainly be going back to Zimbabwe once the furore dies down. It certainly rivals Botswana for wildlife.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Diarmuid Mulherin

    Sardina close-up

    Over six days of cycling from two centres, you see quite a bit of the varied landscape of Western Sardinia. Hill-top forests, seaside towns, beaches, dramatic coastal formations and crashing breakers, quaint villages and lots of sheep. It is, in many waves, very similar to the West of Ireland, though a bit drier. The two-centre arrangement means less packing suitcases as you only move once. The cycles vary in length: some include quite challenging slopes / climbs but all are do-able. Traffic is mostly very light and the Sardinian drivers are a lot nicer than on the mainland and usually give you space / wait to pass safely, etc. Road surfaces are generally good with some rough / unpaved sections, but nothing overly technical. An excellent way to spend a week!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the old Phoenician city at Tharros was certainly special, and not expensive and, as it happened, there were lots of starlings (we think) doing great murmurations. Seeing flamingos in the wild was special too, but that was mostly good luck. The breakers at S'Archittu were pretty spectacular when we were there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not applicable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You won't need a lot of euros for this trip as there are really not a lot of opportunities to spend them. All meals are provided and the villages are generally very small with limited coffee shops / bars / shops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The staff in the first base hotel (Villa Asfodeli) are very helpful and go the extra mile to try and ensure that you enjoy your holiday. Lots of useful advice and tips, and lovely food.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Mary Brookes

    What a brilliant adventure!

    This trip was to celebrate my 50th Birthday and it provided everything for a memorable time! This was our first trip with Exodus but certainly will not be our last. Local guide, organized, attention to detail, great bikes, lovely accommodation and incredibly adaptable when required. The group we were lucky enough to travel with for this two weeks were just brilliant and a big part in making this trip really enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling up and over the Hai Van Pass. Quite a spiritual experience for sure!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi was totally amazing!!! We all loved him and were sad to say goodbye

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get booking...you won't regret it! Spend time in the saddle before you go...bring good biking shorts...and enjoy!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Natalie Penge

    Malaysia Adventure!

    I wasn't sure where I wanted to go away this year, but the itinerary of this trip just jumped out at me and certainly didn't disappoint! You get to experience two distinct parts of Malaysia - the Malayan Peninsula and Borneo - and this allows you to see its diversity firsthand. KL is a city that never sleeps and is a treasure trove of culinary delights; the Cameron Highlands, with its rolling hills and tea plantations is a real highlight, particularly the trek with Jason. Our next stop in the Taman Negara National Park, where we were surrounded by ancient rainforest, allowed us to live with monkeys all around us and to experience some real jungle trekking and river rapids too! Borneo, is simply teeming with wildlife. You will not get tired of watching the orang-utans eating, playing, squabbling and doing ridiculous acrobatics. This goes for the sunbears and striking proboscis monkeys too. The Mount Kinabalu trek to follow is tough but totally worth it, especially when you get up to the clouds...and setting off for the summit to catch the sunrise is a surreal and exciting experience. The hotel right by the South China Sea is the perfect R&R finish to a perfect holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many....the Cameron Highlands trek really let us experience nature by day, the night jungle walk showed us how the place was teeming and humming with life after dark, the orang-utans, the proboscis monkeys, the clouds at Laban Rata, summiting Mount Kinabalu, relaxing by the South China Sea with new friends...so virtually everything then!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two group leaders....Jeremy on the Peninsula and Rony in Borneo. Both were fantastic. Jeremy recommended so much great food and was so enthusiastic, especially about creepy crawlies! Rony's love for his mountain and nature was inspiring!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about the leeches...I didn't 'get leeched' but I'm told it didn't hurt, plus they are weirdly fascinating. Definitely bring toilet paper. Mount Kinabalu is challenging, but go at your own pace and you will be fine, and you can get a massage afterwards!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm still thinking about the trip and wishing I was there...if you're deliberating about booking this adventure, just do it :)
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Billy Martin

    Mini Annapurna Circuit - October 2017

    A wonderful trip with beautiful mountain views of the Annapurna region. The trip starts at a low altitude (approx 600m) and you get a variety of scenery, rice paddies and villages at the lower levels to high mountains at altitude. The tea houses and food were excellent and were of a higher standard than I had expected. Hot showers were available at all stops.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After a 4.30 am start, getting to the Thorong La Pass with wonderful mountain views all around. The group were absolutely fantastic and I thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chandra was a fantastic group leader, was very knowledgeable on the Annapurnas. He did everything with a great sense of humour and his evening briefings were very entertaining. He had a wonderful support team in Ming Ma/Pema/Pemba. Ming Ma regularly set the pace at the front of the group which we could all keep up with, this was very important when we started trekking at high altitude.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink plenty of water, follow the pace of the guides, this will help to acclimatise at altitude. Using a steri-pen or purification tablets helps reduce the plastic bottle waste in Nepal and is also cheaper than buying bottled water every day. Having previously done the EBC trip, I can say the tea houses on the Mini Annapurna Circuit were of a higher standard compared to those on the EBC trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only negative is the amount of time spent walking on the dusty road, would be great if a trekkers path could be developed away from the road. Not an issue at the higher altitude as you're on mountain paths. Would have no hesitation in recommending this trip and Exodus to others.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Paul Rasdale

    Hugely Enjoyable

    First Exodus trip and a great experience. Terrific way to see a good chunk of the Cape with some wonderful cycling.We had plenty of time for wine tasting and sight seeing which suited me because I don't want to cycle all day.Accomodation and food was of a high standard.Very friendly group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the Tradouws Pass. Cycling Chapmans peak (even with heavy rain)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tallis and our driver Sifiso were absolutely terrific combining efficiency,knowledge and a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling was quite hard at times so come prepared for some big hills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish I had booked an extra day in Cape Town at beginning and end of trip.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Lesley Dixon

    Fantasitc trip

    Three countries with fabulous experiences in each. A great group and a fantastic group leader made this a truly great trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many. Angkor Wat is a sight to behold; the Mekong Delta is fabulous and the lovely feeling you get when children in rural villages literally jump up and down with joy as you pass by will stay with you for a long time. However the most inspirational part of the trip - as well as the most difficult - was our visit to the Killing Fields and TS21. Our guide helped us to understand this terrible part of Cambodia's history, but also how the country and its people have moved forward.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chai made the trip. He is genuinely one of the nicest people I've ever met. He went out of his way to make this a trip to remember and always had a smile on his face.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can buy cycling tops in both Cambodia and Vietnam - both tops are very colourful and a great memento of the trip. There are some great restaurants in Seam Reap, Phnom Penh and Saigon that work with street children - giving them opportunities in the hospitality industry; Lonely Planet book has details.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip - if you book it you won't regret it!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Tracy Dean White

    A great 2 week adventure in Malaysia

    I truly enjoyed the 2 weeks that I spent in Malaysia, on Borneo at the beginning and on the Malay peninsula at the end. Accommodation was of a high quality with the possible exception being the long house for 1 night in Borneo. There were separate guides in the 2 halves of Malaysia, and both were simply excellent: Aldrin in Borneo and Ant on the peninsula. The trip was mostly at a leisurely pace which is what I like, and there was an ample amount of free time on some days, and that includes 1 total free day at the end on the island of Langkawi. This trip is a new one, and I think it's excellent. I highly recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was great to be with the orangutans at Sepilok.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Aldrin and Ant were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring lots of sun screen! I found mosquito bug bites to be a relatively minor almost non existent issue, but other people might have different experiences.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was excellent everywhere we went.
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111