Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Oliver C

    The Roof of Africa & The Big 5!

    Everything about this trip was fantastic from beginning to end! The mountain hiking was brilliant, with the scenery changing slowly from lush tropical forest to the barren moonscapes of the summit with almost everything in between. The help, encouragement and guidance we received from the whole team, from the leader to the porters, was incredible and they played a huge part in ensuring the entire group had the privilege of standing on the roof of Africa. The summit is a grim 6 hour uphill struggle through the night, but it is almost instantly forgotten as you stand on Stella Point to watch the sun's first rays light up Mawenzi Peak. From there it is a further 45 minutes to Uhuru Peak - the highest point in Africa. After 6 days and a night of walking at this point the sense of relief and achievement cannot be overstated! The food on the mountain was plentiful, and given the circumstances, very tasty. Spirits in the camp were high throughout the trip (even when the zip for the toilet tent broke) and there was a real sense of togetherness in the team to ensure everyone reached their goals. Once we were down and showered, and had had a few beers to celebrate the achievement, it was time for the safari. Over the following 3 days we were lucky enough to see everything we could have hoped for, including close encounters with a leopard, a pack of lions with cubs, elephants, giraffes and countless other animals. The sheer numbers of wildlife in both the Ngorongoro Crater and the Serengeti was breathtaking, and it was wonderful to see the animals interacting with each other in their natural habitat. The base for the final two night of the trip was a permanent tented camp on the outskirts of the Serengeti, which although it took a little getting used to (being escorted back from dinner by a man with a gun was an interesting experience!), waking up to the African dawn chorus in the midst of so many amazing animals was a great way to end the trip! I just want to put a little disclaimer on this review that I work for Exodus in the UK Head Office, but this was my first time travelling with them and it has made me extremely proud of the company I work for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the summit of Kilimanjaro. Seeing a wild leopard stalking her prey up close.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Aileen Hunter

    Review of Kilimanjaro Lemosho Route and Safari

    Arrangements prior to our travel were very good indeed with Kate at Exodus exploring lots of options for our rather complicated itinerary from Aberdeen and Rwanda to the start of our trip at Arusha. Our chief guide, Makeke, was very welcoming and highly professional throughout but wasn't terribly aware that payment for our transfers had been made or of the arrangements at the end of the safari for transfer back to Kilimanjaro airport for our flights home. In the end, we had to pay for a room in which to shower at Kia Lodge and for the transfer to the airport. This part of the plan was not made clear to us at all beforehand and seemed rather ad hoc on the day.. However, once, the trek began, we quickly fell into camp routine and gelled as a team. This was greatly aided by the good nature and positive approach of the assistant guides and porters. Even when the inevitable effects of altitude took their toll of us on different days, the guides encouraged us and we regained our self-belief. Catering throughout was extraordinary given the camp conditions and the need for every item to be carried, unpacked and packed again every day. There was never a shortage of tasty food. All of us were well fed and only suffered from the predictable loss of appetite once or twice. Porters were outstanding. The two girls who carried our gear welcomed us into camp each afternoon with congratulations and smiles even although they had carried more than twice our loads at high speed past us. We certainly take our hats of to them all. The summit day was one of the most challenging of our mountaineering experience. Don't be lulled into false expectations because of the term, trek. It was a very serious and demanding mountain experience that took everyone to their limit. The cold, the driving icy wind and the altitude conspired to make us feel absolutely miserable. However, the guides maintained the necessary "pole pole" pace for us to maintain confidence that we could reach the summit. Ten out of twelve of us succeeded in this. The determination in some team colleagues was inspiring. Disappointingly, we had little opportunity to take photographs as the guides seemed to be working to a tight schedule for descent. Frustration about opportunities to stop for photos and drinking had surfaced earlier when, despite constant advice to drink from the guides, we were given little opportunity to do so while walking. The descent back to Barafu Camp was as grueling in some ways as the ascent with the further challenge of another descent to Millennium Camp. The next and last day also involved a massive descent back into the heat of the rain forest that was the final test of endurance. We were very glad to have succeeded in the climb but gladder that it was over. The stage of the trip that we had rather neglected in our thinking was the safari with the focus being on Kilimanjaro but it proved to be an absolute highlight. The landscapes, the density, variety and proximity of the wonderful animals and the quiet expertise of our safari guide were all utterly memorable. We would advise anyone to add on this element if they can. It was exciting, awe-inspiring and relaxing with perfectly tuned accommodation and great quality catering.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Kilimanjaro together, as a couple, was one of the most emotional (in a positive way) experiences we've had. The multi-sensory experience of being close to so many of the iconic African animals while on safari really brought home to us how important they are for us all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our Kilimanjaro leader and safari leader were highly professional and knowledgeable. They conveyed a respect for their environments as well as a love of their country, Tanzania. They were totally trustworthy and a credit to themselves and that country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes very carefully and take note of the advice. The notes are very accurate so there should be no surprises or disappointments if you take them into account. Be prepared for your legs and knees to suffer a wee bit being folded into a Land Rover for a few days immediately after 8 days of walking and climbing.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Elizabeth Kilgallon

    Kilimanjaro Lemosho Route and Safari

    Great trek to the 'Roof of Africa' followed by a enthralling safari taking in the Ngorongoro Crater, Olduvai Gorge and the Serengeti.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the summit of Kilimanjaro was amazing and Summit day was the hardest piece of trekking I have ever done - quite literally breaktaking! But there were great views and experiences along the way too - a stunning view from Shira Cathedral of Kilimanjaro, Mt Meru and the Shira plateau and I loved climbing the Barranco Wall and then discovering an absolutely delightful valley a little later the same day - it was my favourite day of trekking - I loved it! The view of the Ngorongoro crater from the view point on the crater's edge was astounding and the Olduvai Gorge - the cradle of mankind - was incredible. And on Safari the sights and sounds both day and night were magical at times. We saw so many different animals and birds that I lost count.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Meke our group leader was fantastic. So cheerful and encouraging and showing real concern for all of us. I would not have made it to the summit without him and the other guides in our group (Wilfried and Said), they were great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some physical preparation before the trip will pay off and make the whole trek more enjoyable. Listen to your guides - they are experts and know what they are talking about. You don't need to change your currency to Shillings, US dollars are accepted everywhere that you go on this trip, just make sure they are newish. The drive across the Serengeti was very, very bumpy - just be prepared for it, after all it is a Safari in Africa. Be prepared to come home dirty and dusty but very happy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have just had the time of my life! Everything was well organised, trouble free and I always felt safe and looked after - without being molly-coddled. I can't wait to do another trip and would definitely book with Exodus again.
  • Reviewed November 2014

    Great hike and safari

    Ascent of Kilimanjaro along the Lemosho route, followed by safari through Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Oldupai Gorge and Serengeti. The ascent, run by the African Walking Company, was extremely well run. The guides and porters could not do enough to provide first rate support for the group and made sure everyone was catered for, even if it meant splitting the group up into differing abilities. Im quite a large guy, and felt a little uneasy on some of the slopes which we had to scramble up, but the guides patiently helped me up and never rushed me. There was rarely any shortage of food or drink, and everything was provided when required. Everyone in our group summitted and team spirits remained high throughout. The follow up safari, run by Karibu safaris, provided a relaxing wind down to the ascent. Despite this, we were left feeling it was arranged as an after thought rather than principal part of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting Uhuru peak, and watching the sunrise over Mawenzi peak at 5600m below Stella Point.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The climb group leader Meke was first rate, his experience of climbing the mountain was second to none and his team of guides were equally top notch. They all made us feel like they had our very best interests at heart and went that extra mile to make sure we all succeeded.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ascent - Bring at least one lock per kitbag, while the guides and porters within our group were trustworthy, they advised extra vigilance when stopping in campsites - Follow the advice of the guides on the mountain. - Pack economically, but effectively. Don't overpack your day pack as you'll run the risk of exhaustion on the lower slopes, which will impact your performance higher up. - Get as much sleep as you can, when ascending, and save the partying for when you come back down. - Eat and drink as much as possible, and as often as possible. As you get higher up the mountain, you will need as much energy as you can get. I frequently polished off all of the meals put in front of me, and summitted without the need for any diamox and without any headaches. - When renting kit, make sure it is the correct size before reaching the mountain. I rented a sleeping bag which turned out to be too small. Despite the best efforts of the guides to replace it once on the mountain, they didnt have any suitable replacement. Ultimately, I needed to wear extra layers in bed, to keep warm, though by summit night, I was well aware of the best combination of layers for keeping warm in the night air. - Do rent a sleeping mat though, as its not included in your 15kg bag limit, and generally much better for sleeping on the mountain than a thermarest - Trim your toenails extra short for summit night... the descent from Kibo involves skiing down scree, for an extended period. Even after two weeks, my toes are still sore from the experience. - A lightweight but rigid, waterproof sleeve/envelope would be useful for carrying your summit certificate in to ensure it doesnt get damaged during the safari Safari - A good pair of binoculars will pay dividends If transiting Addis Ababa, try some of the local dishes at the airport.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Special mention for Emmanuel, our driver from the African Walking Company, who drove us to the mountain, picked us up afterwards, and also met us after the safari to transfer us to our flight home. Like everyone else in the African Walking Company, he was always cheerful and helpful, and couldnt do enough to help us out. The organisation of the safari was less satisfactory as we didn't receive any update when returning from the mountain as to how, or at what time, we would meet our guide. Despite asking at reception for an approximate time, we found that our guide arrived half an hour earlier than anticipated, meaning our departure was somewhat hurried. Unlike on the ascent, no additional information was provided as to where we were going or what we could expect. While the guide was perfectly competent at finding lots of animals, we seemed to simply drive from place to place randomly. We were provided basic printed maps of Kili for the climb, however I feel similar maps of Ngorongoro and the Serengeti would have framed this part of the trip better. There were information centres at Ngorongoro and the Serengeti which could also have provided this additional information, but these weren't pointed out when we arrived. That aside, Id still highly recommend this overall trip.
  • Reviewed November 2014

    Great hike and safari

    Ascent of Kilimanjaro along the Lemosho route, followed by safari through Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Oldupai Gorge and Serengeti. The ascent, run by the African Walking Company, was extremely well run. The guides and porters could not do enough to provide first rate support for the group and made sure everyone was catered for, even if it meant splitting the group up into differing abilities. Im quite a large guy, and felt a little uneasy on some of the slopes which we had to scramble up, but the guides patiently helped me up and never rushed me. There was rarely any shortage of food or drink, and everything was provided when required. Everyone in our group summitted and team spirits remained high throughout. The follow up safari, run by Karibu safaris, provided a relaxing wind down to the ascent. Despite this, we were left feeling it was arranged as an after thought rather than principal part of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting Uhuru peak, and watching sunrise over Mawenzi peak, below Stella Point.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The climb group leader Meke was first rate, his experience of climbing the mountain was second to none and his team of guides were equally top notch. They all made us feel like they had our very best interests at heart and went that extra mile to make sure we all succeeded.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ascent - Bring at least one lock per kitbag, while the guides and porters within our group were trustworthy, they advised extra vigilance when stopping in campsites - Follow the advice of the guides on the mountain. - Pack economically, but effectively. Don't overpack your day pack as you'll run the risk of exhaustion on the lower slopes, which will impact your performance higher up. - Get as much sleep as you can, when ascending, and save the partying for when you come back down. - Eat and drink as much as possible, and as often as possible. As you get higher up the mountain, you will need as much energy as you can get. I frequently polished off all of the meals put in front of me, and summitted without the need for any diamox and without any headaches. - When renting kit, make sure it is the correct size before reaching the mountain. I rented a sleeping bag which turned out to be too small. Despite the best efforts of the guides to replace it once on the mountain, they didnt have any suitable replacement. Ultimately, I needed to wear extra layers in bed, to keep warm, though by summit night, I was well aware of the best combination of layers for keeping warm in the night air. - Do rent a sleeping mat though, as its not included in your 15kg bag limit, and generally much better for sleeping on the mountain than a thermarest - Trim your toenails extra short for summit night... the descent from Kibo involves skiing down scree, for an extended period. Even after two weeks, my toes are still sore from the experience. - A lightweight but rigid, waterproof sleeve/envelope would be useful for carrying your summit certificate in to ensure it doesnt get damaged during the safari Safari - A good pair of binoculars will pay dividends If transiting Addis Ababa, try some of the local dishes at the airport.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Special mention for Emmanuel, our driver from the African Walking Company, who drove us to the mountain, picked us up afterwards, and also met us after the safari to transfer us to our flight home. Like everyone else in the African Walking Company, he was always cheerful and helpful, and couldnt do enough to help us out. The organisation of the safari was less satisfactory as we didn't receive any update when returning from the mountain as to how, or at what time, we would meet our guide. Despite asking at reception for an approximate time, we found that our guide arrived half an hour earlier than anticipated, meaning our departure was somewhat hurried. Unlike on the ascent, no additional information was provided as to where we were going or what we could expect. While the guide was perfectly competent at finding lots of animals, we seemed to simply drive from place to place randomly. We were provided basic printed maps of Kili for the climb, however I feel similar maps of Ngorongoro and the Serengeti would have framed this part of the trip better. There were information centres at Ngorongoro and the Serengeti which could also have provided this additional information, but these weren't pointed out when we arrived. That aside, Id still highly recommend this overall trip.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Judith Smith

    Kilimanjaro by lemosho and safari

    The climb and safari exceeded our expectations. Yes Africa worked it's magic but the local Exodus staff did a brilliant job to make experiencing it easy!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dawn on the rim of the crater.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Charles on Kilimanjaro was excellent. Knew his stuff and organised his team with quiet efficiency. Also supportive of all his customers, and helped us achieve our goals. 100 per cent to the roof of Africa was not a surprise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A bit of fitness before hand helps. Know your kit. Listen to your guides, there knowledge is vast and they want to share it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus flight arrangements could be better. Why were we given a 7 hour changeover at Heathrow on the way back when there was an earlier flight with a still generous 3 hour transfer which others were offered? When we found this out we could not change with BA. Outbound through Addis there was no food or drinks in transit. This should be flagged in advance.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We are delighted that the trip exceeded Judith’s expectations and that she felt our local team did a brilliant job. We were sorry to read, however, that Judith felt that her flight arrangements could have been better. Our sales team booked regional flights for Judith from Heathrow to her regional airport and on the inbound leg of the journey she was given a rather generous amount of connection time at Heathrow. As it is not possible to check-in luggage all the way through to the end destination for this particular flight connection, our sales department would always err on the side of caution when booking connecting flights in case there are any flight delays. Please be aware, however, that our sales team are always more than happy to look at alternative flight options for our clients when requested. We would also like to thank Judith for her suggestion of explaining to clients in advance that on the outbound leg of the journey there is no possibility to have food or drinks in transit at Addis Ababa airport; we will consider including this information in the trip notes. Emma Garrick - Trip Manager for Kilimanjaro

  • Reviewed August 2014
    Anonymous

    Woo hoo I did it and loved every minute

    Mind blowing, tough but achievable, great sense of achievement, guides and crew were all fantastic and thankfully the trek was not as busy as I expected. Would do it again and again

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When I was petrified about going up the Barranco wall, was given so much support from all my guides, that it made me feel it was achievable and I did it with their help no problems.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT (Justin Thomas) was a fantastic leader, very helpful and always had a big smile on his face, gave lots of encouragement when required, lots of interesting facts about Kimbo, the wildlife and flora. Had a good relationship with his crew and was well organised. His assistant guides Viviano, Saidi, Jacob and Lazaro were all excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Embrace the challenge, listen to the guides they know what they are doing and are very helpful and good at their job. Open your heart to Killi and enjoy it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was by far the best trip I have every had, I loved it and would do it again without hesitation, I would also make sure I had the same team The Dream team. JT and his crew, they we're fantastic all the way, have made some good friends for life. Thank you Exodus. May I also say the food up Killi was out of this world. The safari was also magical and our driver/guide Alex Martin was very knowledgeable knew his animals etc very well, it was a fantastic end my trip. Go do it you'll love it
  • Reviewed November 2013
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO - LEMOSHO ROUTE AND SAFARI

    Fantastic trip - even better than I anticipated.  I loved it and have talked of nothing else since I came home!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So much to choose from - the stars at night were spectacular, the views from our tent in the mornings, the gradual journey up the mountain and of course reaching the summit.  Overall - the fact I'd travelled to Africa on my own, met a group of strangers and was camping and climbing Kilimanjaro and loving it was just amazing  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abraham was fantastic.  He knew the mountain so well and was obviously extremely experienced.  He was attentive to all of us, checking how we were feeling twice a day and giving calm sensible advice.  My tent mate struggled significantly with the altitude and he looked after her (and all of us) so well.  I felt very safe with him in charge.  All the guides were supportive and encouraging, monitoring us and looking after us every step (literally) of the way. We wouldn't have got up there without them!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was worried how I would cope with the altitude and the unpredictable nature of it before I went.  I took diamox with me with the intention of taking it from the start but decided not too as other travellers put me off with talk of side effects etc.  By the second night I had a headache but it was treatable with paracetamol and ibuprofen (on and off I kept taking this for the rest of the trip and it always worked) - so take plenty and take both!!  By camp on day 3 I felt dizzy and a bit sick (a bit like being travel sick) - I started diamox (which my GP had prescribed) then. Other than a recurring (but manageable) headache, I was fine for the rest of the trip.  I noticed the effects of altitude e.g. getting out of bed in the middle of the night to go to the loo then climbing back into the tent/ sleeping bag left me breathless like I'd been sprinting and that was walking slowly!  We all followed the guides' advice - walked pole, pole (slowly, slowly), drank loads of water (LOADS - hence up to loo at night!) ate the delicious food served and rested when advised.  All but one of us was on diamox by summit night and 8 out of 12 of us made it to the summit (for some people they unfortunately didn't make the summit - in some cases because of pre-existing health problems).  I had read loads about how hard it was, esp summit night.  It was hard - but in my experience, it was do-able - just walking SO slowly behind Abraham, steadly picking our way up the mountain, crossing off the metres as he told us how high we were. I was lucky with the altitude - as were several of us - though we did all feel it in different ways (breathlessness when walking, heart racing, legs out of energy etc) but it wasn't (for me) nearly as difficult as I expected. As I say though, I was lucky and others in the group had a much much tougher time with the altitude.  If you are well prepared, follow the advice, pick a good company (like Exodus) where you will be well looked after and kept safe and pick a slow route to allow you to aclimatise - I think your chances of making the summit are good.  Even if you don't though, the experience is amazing - views the whole way up are beautiful and chances are you'll be spending a week with like minded people - our group was fab - friendly, kind and supportive of one and other and also good fun.  I went on my own which I've never done before and I felt completely part of the group the whole time - it just wasn't an issue.  Invaluable items -  merino wool leggings and top (well several tops).  We put these on when washing at camp in the evening - it gets very cold as soon as the sun goes down.  I wore mine to sleep in from first camp - wouldnt bother with pjsearplugs - some camps are busy and can be a bit noisyHead torch - for getting about camp at night and summit night toilet roll - you need this for nipping behind rocks during the dayvasaline and a good sun/ wind protector for lips platypus for waterCamera and keep it handy for taking photos all the way.  I got a spare battery for mine though didn't need it I hired the down jacket - it was very big on me and had to borrow a waterproof jacket that would fit over the top of it (though in the end this wasn't needed). The jacket was SO cosy though - I wasn't cold at all on summit night (neither was the other girl in the group who had hired the down jacket) - I was even wearing one less layer than recommended.....which isn't like me - I'm usually too cold!I didn't hire walking poles - they were marked as optional on the kit list - I've never used them and so decided not to bother.  The guides in Africa were a bit concerned about this as they felt they are important for resting on on summit night/ and to help you on way back down the mountain.  I was ok without them - but I got off lightly altitude wise I think - so it might be worth considering hiring these. In terms of training - I went hillwalking once a week.  I live in Scotland so have easy access to munros - built up to doing 3 in a day and on one day 5.  I had meant to exercise through the week.....but with work pressures, never quite got round to it.  Early on on the mountain the walking pole, pole felt easy and relaxing - time to admire the view and chat instead of rushing like at home - higher up we needed to go pole pole but my training felt sufficient.  Fitness doesn't help with chances against altitude anyway (or so I've been told)....but it does help with climbing a mountain.Finally - I took an old pair of leather walking boots which were leaking to give away - I gave them to Abraham at the start of the walk as thought no point in bringing them up the mountain.  He produced them at the tipping ceremony at the end - the porter that got them looked delighted - possibly the most delighted I've ever seen anyone look (and the chances are my leaking boots that I would otherwise have just thrown away would be too small for him) - very humbling experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For me the trip was about Kilimanjaro but I'd never been to Africa before and I wanted to see the animals while I was there - how could you go that far and not.  It makes a nice relaxing end to the trip and is well worth doing.  Our guide was great at spotting animals and we saw everything I'd wanted to see - including a Rhino......in the distance.....if you squinted your eyes and used your imagination!I decided to share a tent though was nervous about this - it was a great decision - my tent mate was lovely and because we got on it was really nice to have the company.....and share the odd bottle of wine on safari. She was also far braver than me when it came to dealing with the spiders in our tent on safari (don't panic - there were only 2 - it was a one off - but hope for a brave tent mate.....or bring one)!Other than tips and few glasses of wine on safari/ few presents for niece and nephew I hardly spent any money.Overall - it was an amazing experience - one of the best things I've ever done - I would highly recommend it. 
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO - LEMOSHO ROUTE AND SAFARI

    This is a well run and organised trip and I was fortunate to have such great fellow travellers. I would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on top of Mount Kilimanjaro. I've been on several safaris previously and without a doubt the Serengeti is by far he best, we saw all the big cats.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT was amazing, such a friendly, cheerful chap. Completely on the ball and well organised. It would be a pleasure to travel with him again. The porters support was invaluable, such a friendly bunch of lads.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get yourself fit for Kilimanjaro and hire your kit, instead of bringing your own so that you more room in your travel bag for personal items.
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    KILIMANJARO - LEMOSHO ROUTE AND SAFARI

    This was just a fantastic trip.  I cannot fault the organisation of the Kilimanjaro climb itself - it was just perfect.  I am also very glad that I booked through Exodus, which uses the The Africa Walking Company as its local operator.   They had the best camping set-up that we saw on the mountain, particularly the much appreciated toilet tent!  The guides and porters were universally good and seemed to provide that little bit more than the other operators on the mountain.  The safari was also excellent - the only negative point was that we were meant to have a group leader to meet us and drop us off at the airport, but it seems like he could not allocate the time.  The safari drivers did a great job getting us to the right places and making sure we saw all our 'wish list' (!) of animals, however, and mostly made up for the lack of group leader.  It was an excellent and satisfying trip all round.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1.  Making it to the top of Kilimanjaro.  The final day of climbing was tiring and a bit chilly, but was absolutely worth the effort.2.  Seeing my first families of elephants, lions and hippos, and then seeing cheetahs, a leopard and crocodiles.  The vervet monkeys and baboons were also great!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Musa, our Chief Guide on Kilimanjaro, was superb.  He was intelligent, humerous and quietly observant throughout the trip, with a complete understanding of British traits!  He had a really lovely manner and ensured that any issues were identified and dealt with as soon as possible.  He also spent a lot of time developing the other guides so they had the full range of skills needed to be a Chief Guide in the future.  He was the perfect choice for the role.Our group leader on the safari was the complete opposite.  He didn't meet us on the first day of the safari and left the drivers to sort out our divided luggage.  On the final day, he did come to meet us, but decided belatedly not to take us to the airport (where we could have done with some explanation about forms and queues).  The drivers, as I said above, did their best to make sure his absence did not impact on us, however. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1.  Make sure you take the full packing list as the layers are definitely needed on the final morning's climb to the summit.  Bring your gaiters as they help keep the mud (if you are unlucky enough to get rain) off your laces, which is welcome when you get to camp and can relax again.2.  Ensure all your kit is water-proofed inside your main bag, as it rained for our first 4 days and the bags (and contents) did get wet despite the additional cover added by the tour company.  3.  Ensure you have a rain cover for your day sack and good-quality waterproofs.  4.  Our packing list only said 2 x 1 litre water bottles - bring 3 or preferably a camelbak and 2 extra bottles.5.  Don't bring water purification tablets as the water is purified for you on the mountain. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would absolutely recommend booking through Exodus!  It is a little bit more expensive than most other comapanies, but it was definitely worth it.  The Africa Walking Company is a great local operator and we ended up in a lovely group of people.  I would say that Exodus could personalise the emails it sends out after booking and before the trip - they were too generic and left you searching around for specific information on the Kilimanjaro trek (not just all treks) and little was mentioned on the safari organisation.  Apart from this and the guide problem on the safari, the trip went perfectly and I will now have great memories that will be with me for life.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087