Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Vicky Harper

    Trip of a life time!

    I had wanted to visit Jordan and Petra for a long time and I finally got around to booking, choosing exodus. We are an active couple and wanted a trip that would challenge us but we could also see the sites. This trip had everything we wanted and it did not disappoint.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wadi Rum desert is an incredible landscape. Nothing like I have ever seen. From waking up and seeing the view from your tent to sitting around a campfire with your new found friends looking at the most insane starry sky. I never thought it was possible to see the Milky way so clearly, in wadi rum it is. Petra. The whole day was amazing. Its so much more than The Treasury. We walked for 10 miles that day and loved every minute!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Issa our group leader was great, he loved telling us stories and explaining the history of the area. He was so organised, so organised that every looked so easy. There was no issues. I would also like to mention the brothers who looked after us from the moment we stayed at their Bedouin camp to wild camping for the next few days. Great hospitality and company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If I were to do this trip again. Id pack half of what I took. I would also use an exodus sleeping bag and take a sleeping bag liner with me instead. I found that it was warm enough not to use a sleeping bag. We went in early October. Wet wipes are a must as long as long as you don't litter and a head torch is deffo handy when you have a call of nature at 4am in the morning. Ooo and a battery pack for your camera when you are out in the desert, forget your phone theres no signal, enjoy the break! Blisters: Take blister plasters with you. I had a couple put plasters on straight away and no issues or discomfort. Catch them straight away!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel in Amman was not good and have reported this to Exodus. On a fitness front: I am not a walker. I went on a few long 3 hour walks before I went and found the trip not too challenging. The challenges are the soft sanded areas and heat. Take a hat and you will be fine. Don't be put off you can do it!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Saeah Briggs

    Amazing country

    Jordan was like no other country on earth, the trekking on sand was challenging but the routes seemed to be planned to take break points just at the point I felt I couldn’t do anymore!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    ?

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I’d dressed more conservatively than I needed to - girls are ok in respectable length shorts and short sleeved tops in the desert and at Petra.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Ailsa Watson

    AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!!

    I knew before I even left for this trip that it was going to be something special, but I didn't realise just how special that would be. The scenery is breathtaking throughout the desert and in Petra it's easy to see why it is a World Heritage Site! we spent 4 nights, 5 days wild camping in the desert with the beduoin and it really was a beautiful experience in so many ways. Sleeping under the stars or in our tents, we were looked after in every aspect and they really could not do enough for us and always with a smile on their faces. Our Guide Issa was knowledgeable, friendly and approachable I learnt an awful lot from him as we walked and chatted along with way. Jordan is a strikingly beautiful country with so much history it really is worth a visit, I can guarantee you will 100% not regret it. Take me back!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful desert scenes that we woke up to every day. The sunsets over the sandstone rocks every evening. Money is of no consequence in the desert.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Issa was a fabulous tour guide there was nothing he did not know and he handled every situation (some unexpected) we came across with ease, confidence and a friendly nature.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Brian Kite

    Fantastic Wadi Rum and Petra

    Fantastic walk through the Jordanian desert made famous by the exploits of Lawrence of Arabia. We had expected sand but not the beautiful sandstone hills / mountains which changed colour during the day and showing incredible orange hues at sunset.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it! The initial walk over a huge dune to the Bedouin camp and walking back for the sunset. The Bedouin cooking and especially the zarb were highlights. All of the walks were enjoyable especially the climb - and descent from - Burdah Bridge. The walks were well paced with frequent water stops. (On this trip plentiful water refills were available.) Issa took us into Petra via an interesting walk past a Neolithic village site and the mountain which was one of King Solomon's Mines. This meant our first view of Petra was the Monastery. By the time we were ready (after lunch) to explore the rest of Petra the bulk of tourists were just arriving and struggling UP the 400 steps. We had the luxury of descending.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Issa had a clear love and enthusiasm for his country which he shared at all times. He arranged appropriate stops on the drive to Wadi Rum. He looked after us well in the desert ensuring people always had water and opportunities for water stops. He chose camp sites with opportunities for spectacular sunsets and star gazing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We had taken sterling and US dollar notes to exchange to Jordanian Dinars. The bank we stopped at would not accept our £20 and £10 notes. They said they could only accept £50 notes. Fortunately, we were able to use the ATM.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The tents were obviously new and the Bedouin staff took good care of them. It was a special treat to find, on the last day of the trek, they had put the tents up for us. Do take the opportunity to have the Turkish bath in Petra. It was a final bonding experience!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Eric Brierley

    The best that Jordan can offer

    From day 1 I loved the feel Of Jordan, Jordan is a place of friendly people. The desert hike and Petra will not disappoint you. I added 3 extra days, 1 before the hike to see Amman, and 2 after to visit Jerash and the dead sea, and there are plenty of other places to see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    being in a group of like minded people, and we all got on working as a team to help each other. The wild camping under the mass of stars, just never see so many stars. And Petra no words to describe just see for your self.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Group leader was great, made sure we were supplied with plenty of water and good places to stop in the desert for a rest from the baking sun. And a good laugh too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have plenty of sun screen high factor is best, a good sun hat. And yes don't pack too much like I did( what do you need in the desert ? Not a lot )

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Knowing how to put up a tent is a handy thing to know. I didn't but I do now :)
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Mark Gilbert

    Petra and wadi rum trek

    A great trek thru the wadi rum desert,highlights of seeing Petra are amazing.Tour guide and helpers very friendly,would def recommend trip. Exodus needs to buy new tents,you have to put these up yourself but many were broken which upset some Trekkers,guide said he has relayed this back but doesn't seem to get heard! Water is suppose to be supplied but we had to buy six bottles each,that's 78 bottles so not eco friendly exodus? Especially when some of the rubbish is being burnt on campfire!!!! All in all tho this trip is a big tick off of list and worth a go.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking thru and getting first glimpse of the treasury in Petra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Was very friendly,socialised with the group and loved to tell camp fire stories at night!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of walking thru sand which can be tiring so be prepared. Also it says that as an option take wet wipes,no no no,you MUST take wet wipes or for three days you will not be washing! Toilet is behind a rock you find and cover in sand after😏 but that's wild camping for you. Plenty of snacks as well.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Nicholas Kemp

    Magical Jordan

    Go to Jordan- many people expressed concerns when I mentioned my up coming trip, I can confirm my experience was full of warm friendly welcoming people and at no time did it feel unsafe. The Wai Rum was stunning and gave me a sense on peace that I have not found else where. The trek was well planned and at time's informative with our guide providing useful information and a tale or too. My companions were diverse from all backgrounds and experiences, and wonderful company as we explored the desert. Walking on sand at times was challenging and the firm patches were welcomed when they returned. The distances quoted on the itenery were short on some days that might catch a few people out if 20-23k is no your idea of fun. I really enjoyed the scramble to the rock bridge but I don't think the trip note's captured the heights involved which will catch out the average walker.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Wadi Rum and the wild camping is an experience of a lifetime Petra was everything I had hoped for

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was informative and helpful and had tales to tell round the fire at night

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Brilliant experience and I recommend a hike through the desert, walking on sand is challenging as is the scrambling for beginners
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Andy Nash

    A desert adventure

    A great trek in stunning desert scenery, followed by the amazing ruins of Petra.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to pick a single moment but the relaxed tranquility of desert evenings around the campfire, with the stars shining brightly above, was very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Zuhair was excellent: knowledgeable, thoughtful and entertaining.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring warm layers to sleep in as the desert is cold at night.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Margaret Naughtin

    Petra and Wadi Rum trek

    The trek was just what we expected - spectacular scenery, nutrious food and good company! Our guide Zuhair was knowledgeable and fun all the time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The climb to the Burdat(?) rock bridge - fantastic rock scrambling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    knowledgeable, considerate,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    prepare for sand walking!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the equipment used needs an upgrade - better tents, sleeping bags and more blankets
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Timothy Lewis

    Sand and rocks

    It was only after my first few steps into the desert that I remembered how much I dislike walking on soft, moveable sand, but I guess that is to be expected in the desert! The chef worked miracles to produce huge portions of tasty food, seemingly out of nothing. The downside at the camp sites (for three nights) was the lack of a mess tent and somewhere to sit comfortably (we sat on cushions in a square around the fire, with no back support), and the toilet facilities: ladies to the left, gents to the right, dig your own hole and cover it up with sand. Ironically the longest day of the whole trek was the tour of Petra (20km). This is a hugely impressive place, tombs and houses hewn out of the solid rock and approached through a narrow canyon. We were taken past/into all the main sites, then returned by way of the High Place of Sacrifice, from which you get a stunning view of the whole site, but the downside was being constantly hassled by people trying to sell you things, and having to leap out of the way of passing pony and trap combinations, and passing camels. The hotels in Amman and Petra were fine, although it would have been good to know that the one in Amman was 'dry'

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight of the trek for me was the two hour scramble to the rock bridge near the top of Jebel Burdah (which the trip notes had implied was a brief scramble at the end to get to the bridge), returning the same way. Seeing and hearing about various aspects of Lawrence of Arabia's life was very interesting too. And the Turkish bath in Petra/Wadi Moussa is highly recommended!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We trekked for 50km in a strange, lunar landscape, with a very knowledgeable and entertaining guide, Zuhair Alzou'bi, who was a fantastic story teller, a great skill to have when you are sitting found the camp fire at night with nothing else to do. I have nominated him as tour leader of the year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go if you don't like sand! Personally I much prefer mountains, but the trip was a last minute replacement for a trek through the Simien mountains in Ethiopia and I'm glad I did it for the experience of the desert it gave me
Call us on 1 844 227 9087