Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2016
    Aine Collins

    Trekking in Oman

    A really great trip, a chance to experience a conflict free country in the Middle East with excellent guides, stunning mountains with rare geological features, wild camping interrupted after four nights by a hotel before resuming it for another two ending with two days coastal walking seeing giant turtles and sandy crabs and all in glorious sunshine as well as 'unseasonal' hail, wind, rain on some nights!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many magic moments: seeing the giant turtles swimming, the longish road journey through the varied mountains, the unusual geological formations of the mountains, wild camping on the beach or in the company of ancient olive trees visited by friendly hungry goats, meeting a group of school children on our last day while they waited for their school bus, swimming in the mountain pool and the sea, an abundance of sublimely cooked food in an Omani restaurant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob is an excellent leader, really knows his stuff whether its botany, geology, ornithology, how to lead a group. He has lived in Oman for many years and is passionate about the country. He is generous about sharing his knowledge as well as his home on our final afternoon when we could shower, chill and prepare for leaving. He was excellent at reminding us about the need to drink abundant quantities of water. He had a great team with him and was very appreciative of them. Abdul Hamid is really forthcoming in response to questions about Oman and his presence as an Omani was both essential and a real gift. Sarah was another team member whom I could really trust, she was happy to engage or be keep a quiet eye and is remarkably fit.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Given climate change and the range of altitudes it's best to be prepared for variations in the weather and temperature. As always layers worked well. If you use a walking pole bring it. I usually use two but here one was sufficient to leave hands free. The going is very rough most of the time. Be prepared to drink lots of water. Don't forget to bring swimwear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I learned a lot about Oman and life in that neck of the peninsula. It was spectacular scenery. The trip attracted a really mixed interesting group who were widely traveled. Great opportunities for photography and days of travel when you meet only gazelle droppings and evoke the scent of myrrh as you brush past yet another myrrh tree. Go for it!
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Catherine MacMichael

    Trekking in Oman October 2015

    A fantastic 10 day trip with 6 nights wild camping, 4 nights in the Western Hajar mountains and then finishing off with 2 nights on the Eastern Hajar coast - stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping outside on the beach with only my sleeping bag and mattress. Going to sleep under a full moon and stars, waking up to watch the sun rise whilst listening to the waves crashing against the beach - a memory I will never forget. Swimming in the sea and the lake. Walking on trails with no tourists and sleeping wild camping.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob was excellent and 110% committed to ensuring our group had an excellent holiday. Together with Joe and the two Abdul's they worked as a team to ensure we had a fantastic trip. Rob's hospitality in letting us use the guesthouse at the end of the trip to shower and relax with a beer. Food was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it! Take mosquito repellent, I got badly bitten. Don't take walking poles as will just get in the way. Be prepared for tough terrain and think carefully about when you want to go. October was fine for the weather but I could not have done the treks in September with the heat. Listen to Rob when he tells you to drink, drink and drink more water!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sleep outside on the beach - a must. Goat market excellent. Drink the fresh lemon juice delicious.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Anonymous

    Trekking in Oman October 2015

    A fantastic 10 day trip with six nights wild camping. The walking in the Western Hajar was just wonderful and then to have the two days at the coast just made the trip complete. So glad I did this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping outside on the beach with only your sleeping bag and mattress under a full moon with stars in the sky while listening to the waves crashing on the beach. Waking up on the beach to watch the sun rise. A memory I will never forget. The trekking was stunning with no tourists on the trails after the Grand Canyon day. Swimming in the lake on the Grand Canyon walk and swimming in the sea. Loved it all!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob was excellent. He is 110% committed and together with Joe and the two Abdul's they worked as a team to ensure our holiday was a success. Couldn't have asked for a better team. Rob's hospitality with letting the group have the use of the guesthouse to shower and relax with a beer at the end of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take insect repellent and a mosquito net, I got really badly bitten. Don't take poles as lots of scrambling involved. I wish we had been told by Exodus that Rob donates children's books to the village at the end (Quirayat) as all our group would have taken suitable childrens books but weren't aware.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food was excellent whilst camping and in the restaurants we ate in. Camping excellent. The whole set up of the trip and organisation was excellent. Be prepared for long drives (up to 3 hours) on some days. If you're thinking about this trip do it but really look into the weather as our group survived in 33+ degrees but don't think I could not have done this trip late September with the heat.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Paul Barker

    Oman adventure

    An excellent trip giving an awesome insight into Omani life with breathtaking walks in some amazing and unique mountains. Coastal section very punishing in the hotter months.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The balcony walk is spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob was incredibly knowledgeable and experienced.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Where possible take the opportunity to sleep out under the stars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Well organized and very helpful guides and support, Both British and Omani.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Keith Brown

    Oman Trek early October

    My first trip to Oman was a reward for reaching retirement age! I was not disappointed. Oman has so far managed to balance modernisation without the extremes of Dubai People were lovely and helpful The walking was challenging as you spent much time looking down trying to find a safe path.Also the heat hit 40c which I found difficult to cope with on occasions. The scenery is beautifully rugged with varied plant life and lots of goats!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Grand Canyon; although seeing a wadi in flood was quite something

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic & very willing to share his stories and explain about local culture and flora and fauna. Also supportive to those who were suffering

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the temperatures. Do not go if you are suffering back trouble. I found using one walking pole very helpful for descents

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food was quite varied which I enjoyed, especially the beach bar b-q. I thought we would have some local dates. Washing is minimal- I did not get a bowl of warm water in the morning
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Dilys Taylor

    Stunning scenery and great walking

    If you want to enjoy wonderful mountain scenery and great coastal walking then this is the holiday for you. Trekking in Oman offers this brilliant combination as well as the opportunity to learn about the history and culture of a fascinating country. If you also enjoy wild(ish) camping then definitely go for it. The places where we camped we're all beautifully situated, the tents were good and the mattresses the most comfortable I have slept on while camping.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Marvelling at the dramatic mountain scenery; lying in the tent watching the full moon or eating the most delicious seafood barbecue on a deserted beach. Just three moments of many.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob's knowledge and experience contributed greatly to the enjoyment of the holiday. He was a great organiser and his cooking skills weren't bad either! Walking in the heat was challenging and Rob made sure that we acclimatised slowly and understood the need to keep up our fluid intake - even if that included gin and tonic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go at the beginning or end of the season i.e. September or March/April it will still be warm at night. I took a duvet jacket and a four seasons sleeping bag which was unnecessary in early April. Walking poles aren't that useful as you often need to do some scrambling requiring free hands. Don't forget the wet wipes - water is a scarce commodity when camping.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The walking is not difficult- the challenge is walking in the heat particularly if you are at the beginning or end of the season. But you do get used to it! For me the cultural highlights were the visit to Nizwa and its livestock market and in complete comparison the stunningly beautiful mosque in Muscat.
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Rebecca Ross

    Excellent fun with stunning and varied scenery ever day

    I wasn't sure what to expect on this trip and I was completely bowled over with the beauty and culture of Oman. If you enjoy breathtaking scenery and different trekking every day as well as climbing over boulders and being at one with nature, then this is the trip for you!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finding out more about the Islamic faith and how much peace and kindness it represents as well as the beauty of the country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob was one of the best leaders I have had on a trip. He made us feel safe and secure at all times and prepared us well for the long trek towards the end of the trip. In my opinion, he struck the ideal balance between being 'in charge' and having a laugh with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In March/April, the days were hot and it was essential to wear a hat and drink lots of water (ideally with rehydration salts). It would be easy to get sun stroke and dehydrated if not careful and with very basic camping, this would be miserable. Also, walking poles were not so useful on this trip as there was a lot of climbing over boulders with some scrambling - brilliant fun!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the best trekking holidays I have been on. Every day was different - the balcony walk was like looking at the Grand Canyon and the last couple of days saw stunning coastal views.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    richard bennett

    trekking in Oman

    A great introduction to the country in two parts - the Hajjar mountains and the wild coast - with enough challenge in the harsh conditions and no frills camping, but also plenty of time to relax, socialise and enjoy this fascinating country in transition between conservative Islam/pre-industrial and 21st century urbanisation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars on the wild coast and enjoying hours of walking under blue skies without seeing other people except the occasional shepherd. Difficult to think of a better short mid-winter sunshine break!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob as a long time resident of Oman had a real enthusiasm for the place and genuine pleasure to welcome people and share his experience and insight. He was also a very efficient trek/tour leader determined to ensure everyone had an enjoyable and memorable trip, whether their abilities.
  • Reviewed January 2015
    Rhian Evans

    Oman

    Spectacular walks, friendly and relaxed Omanis, interesting cultural aspects, enjoyed local food, varied itinerary

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots - Mosque in Muscat, livestock market in Nizwa, swimming in warm clear sea, picnics with stunning views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rob did a brilliant job with complicated transport and food logistics, good knowledgeable guide, friendly, good company and looked after us very well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went at the end of Sept/Oct and it was very hot for walking, and we didn't need 3 season down sleeping bags, but it may have been unusual this year. It would be more comfortable I imagine on later dates. No one had any alcohol, though we could have brought duty free with us. We needed very little local currency except as a tip for the support team. They were very good - and English speaking, so we could ask for some Omani opinions on various topics.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I recommend!
  • Reviewed December 2013
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN OMAN

    Oman has been on my bucket list for some years and this trip did not disappoint. A great opportunity to see a bit of traditional Arabia, meet the Omani people, and have some awe inspiring scenery thrown in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really loved the whole trip, including the little dramas along the way. But for me it was about standing on top of the Jebel Akhdar, a place that I had read about as a schoolboy, and taking in the awe inspiring views and history of the place. It was also great to see Gazelle on the final leg ot the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A top man - who needs a sharper saw..

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be reasonable fit to enjoy the full benefit of this trip - don't kid yourself that a couple of walks around your local shopping mall will cut it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If, like me, you still have a weakness for a 'Boys Own' adventure, want a chance to sample a little of the Omani culture, have an interest in the history on Northern Oman and a love of trekking through some majestic scenery, then this is the trip for you.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087