Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

159 Reviews

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Julian Hartley

    A well balanced adventure.

    A superb introduction to Peru. This was the first time we have used Exodus and we can’t wait to use them again. The trip way very professionally organised from start to finish. Cusco exceeded expectations...a surprisingly interesting city with lots to do and see during the day and a variety of good restaurants and bars. The group we were with were great fun and as well as having a common interest in the trip itself we soon realised we had a very similar sense of humour...which came in handy during periods of inevitable minor adversity. The Inca trail itself was perfectly planned with good food (no idea how the chefs did it really), porterage and general support. The walking was just challenging enough and the rewards in terms of scenery and sights were well worth it. Our guide, Julio, had the complete skill set...language skills,local network,man management and empathy with the group. He set expectations well throughout.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As well as the clear thrill of realising we were actually at Machu Picchu the real thing for me was the way the team bonded ...due in no small part to the initial cohesive impact of Julio.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First rate...the complete skill set. He made it look easy...when I am sure it wasn’t.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weathers...it can be very cold and wet ...even in the dry season. Take lots of layers. Set up a Watsap group to share photos.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want a relatively short trip that gives you some spectacular scenery and one of the greatest sights on the planet (M C) whilst starting and finishing in relative luxury this is a great option.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Helen Hartley

    A Fantastic Experience

    Well organised by Exodus. There were no hitches at all and everything was of a great standard. An excellent way to do something completely different which would otherwise involve a lot of organisation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Warmiwanuska (4215m above sea level) on day 2 of our trek - we all arrived together which made it very special; hearing a lone piper in the mist whilst walking Dead Woman’s Pass; the view from the last campsite at 3600m; and of course our first glimpse of Mach Picchu from the Sun Gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was exceptional. Always calm, very informative, passionate about his country and culture and great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is not for the feint-hearted. The terrain can be challenging (especially going downhill) and camping is at times trying - especially in the rain. Be prepared for any weather - even in the “dry” season.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it! It’s amazing.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Ian Franks

    Peru at it's best

    I cannot thank Smriti, Trehan, Rolando and especially Marcia our guide enough for a quite special experience. Exodus ticked all the boxes for a great adventure, thank you all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say, as both the trek and visiting Machu Picchu were so well organised, thought out and made for a special trip - perhaps of a lifetime!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marcia was so very special in so many ways, her local knowledge of the people ( she is after all a local there) the route, looking after the group but most of all her smile and engaging giggle at every opportunity. We could not have been in better hands!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Waste no time in booking your trip with Exodus!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can I send you two pictures?
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Kim Evans

    The Most Awesome Trip

    This trip for me was unbelievable and Fascinating and incredibly informative all at the same time

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Dead Woman's Pass on the second day of the trip, the view was incredible you could see for miles. The achievement gives a personal sense of accomplishment unlike I have had before

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was really knowledgeable on a huge variety of topics from the Inca civilisation to all the flora and fauna along our route He was also sympathetic to our requirements being mostly an older group as sometimes it was more strenuous for some than others

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go at your pace and drink lots if water 1.5 litres am and the same amount pm Hydration packs are better than bottles as they are readily available to drink from constantly

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy and soak up everything you see and feel
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Laura Peterson

    Moonstone and Machu Picchu

    I had a wonderful time in Peru and would recommend it to anyone. Our guide Tomas was friendly and so enthusiastic about the culture and history of this fascinating county. The Moonstone trek was incredible. Amazing views and feels like you have the mountains to yourself. Did not see any other tourists until the last day. It contains interesting Inca sites to explore along the way. Cannot recommend my guide Frank enough, he was encouraging and positive throughout. Enormous knowledge of the history and ecology of area. I suffered a devastating side effect of altitude, loss of appetite- but our talented chef Robert produced in a tent on a mountainside wonderful meals that kept me going strong. The trek is challenging at times but the sense of achievement when you reach the snow capped pass cannot be beaten. Machu Picchu lived up to the hype and was great to have a tour with Tomas then time to explore for yourself. Cusco is a busy town that you can spend hours wondering around, I was often alone for this and felt confident and safe to do so.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going up through the snow and reaching the top of the pass. We visited Machu Picchu on the winter solstice, so saw in the new year watching the sun rise through the temple of the sun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders were outstanding and made it a trio of a lifetime

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get your cardio up!
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Rachael Allen

    Amazing trip of a lifetime!!

    This trip was the most amazing thing I have ever done in my life!! It was tough but so rewarding and has inspired me to do more trips of this nature now.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The complete support from guide to Porter's was absolutely amazing. To watch how hard the Porter's work carrying everything from the toilet to pretty much the kitchen sink! These guys are so inspirational

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Holger was outstanding from start to end, constantly checking up on every member of the group, being very knowledgeable of the local history and very warm and welcoming at all times

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If doing the Inca Trail try to get a certain level of fitness before as this will help make the journey easier

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip to anyone thinking of doing it!! By far the best thing I have ever done in my life :-)
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Clive Okill

    Walking in the footsteps of the Incas

    It was the first time we toured with Exodus Travels and was one of the most marvellous trips I have ever taken. The scenery was breathtaking, the guide was outstanding, the trip organisation was beyond reproach, and the best thing I can add to that is that my wife and I are now planning our next holiday (possibly to Vietnam) with Exodus travels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up 'Dead Woman's Pass' and seeing the spectacular ruins of Machu Picchu in the mountain mists below us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Rolando Saico was simply outstanding. Helpful, courteous and knowledgeable in every way. His assistant on trip TPT 180405 Javier I think that's how you spell his name) was also very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with Exodus Travels. But if you take the Inca trail and especially the High Inca trail, take good care of your knees. As a trail, it's not too difficult but there are lots of steps which can tax your thighs and knees and if you are not familiar with high altitudes then pace yourself as oxygen levels are reduced.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Parveen Downer

    An Educational Adventure

    The best part about this trip was our wonderful guide Bobby. He is from the region and lives and breathes all things history. His enthusiasm and wealth of knowledge made this hiking adventure feel authentic, exciting, and more than 'just a walk'. The group of people we hiked with were fantastic, and the porters were second to none. I have never eaten so well at camp - although it helped that we didn't have to cook the food. I would do this trip again in a heartbeat, especially with Bobby as our guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fourth day of hiking - the views paired with the educational component of the region were spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I could not have asked for a better group leader. Bobby is an exemplary group leader who genuinely cares about his group members. He is a hiking whisperer (he knew exactly how long it would take me to finish hiking each day), and has the best stories. Meal times were always enjoyable. Whilst other companies have to shout about how 'green' they are, Bobby makes it clear that his passion for keeping the region clean and ready for future generations is important. I think Bobby should be your gold standard of tour leaders for this trip. His no nonsense communication style and his humour and knowledge made me feel safe. I trusted him and the team to lead us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book your trip well in advance. Even in the low season, the permits to hike the trail can run out. Bring lots of layers - even though the temperature is pretty mild, the weather can change many times and very quickly in one day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bobby is the best!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Kevin Downer

    The Inca Trail & Machu Picchu

    A fantastic trip with excellent organisation. This was my first trip with Exodus following some recommendations from friends. I was very pleased with how smoothly it ran and with the experienced staff. I intend to book further adventures through Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the Sun Gate and looking down on Machu Picchu was particularly inspirational, especially having just climbed a very steep set of steps!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader had over 40 years experience hiking along the Inca trail and has completed the journey hundreds of times. He was very knowledgeable and delivered information to the group in an engaging way. He was very friendly and also patient with the slower group members. He was easily the best group leader I've ever had on a holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The kit bags that Exodus provides in advance are too heavy (around 1KG), it is better to take a lighter bag that doesn't use up so much of the weight allowance. When we arrived in Cusco our group leader provider some lighter kit bags for us to borrow, which was very useful, although I don't know if this is standard practice for all groups.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Anonymous Anonymous

    Super trip - bucket list complete!

    Great trip - every aspect of the trek was well organised. This is a 6 day trip (not 11 as advertised since that includes 4 days of travelling/arriving plus 2 days where you have to do your own thing in Cuzco). The guide was really knowledgable and the trek was challenging but enjoyable. The support (porters, cook etc) are amazing. Suggest 4 season sleeping bag as a minimum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving to Macchu Picchu - did not have view from Sun Gate but had the benefit of a second day at Macchu Picchu so all good!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgable and supportive

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    4 season sleeping bag. 2 walking poles. 1 rain poncho.