Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Peter Lambell

    Badly attacked by hotel owner's dogs but Exodus continue to use the hotel

    I am writing this review some time after our trip as I have been waiting to resolve the issue with Exodus. I dont normally write reviews but I feel I should on this occasion so that if something like this happens again, nobody can claim that this has never happened before. The trip itself is fine but during the stay on Floreana in the Wittmer Lodge I was hospitalised having being attacked by the owner's extremely vicious dogs which they keep behind one block of rooms in the hotel. I was attacked and bitten in 4 places and now have some scarring for life. The hotel owners could not have cared less, to the extent that following the incident when I was lying on the floor of my room bleeding and being attended to by my fellow travellers, the owner walked by, took one look and walked on. They didn't even have the decency to apologise. I am sorry to say that Exodus are continuing to include this hotel on their itinerary so I would warn anyone who has the misfortune to stay here to be very careful where you wander. I am very surprised and disappointed that Exodus are not dropping this hotel as they are adamant that there is no problem! I cannot understand why the hotel would keep dogs like this in such a beautiful place where they are also a known threat to the native species of the Galapagos. Having travelled with Exodus on many occasions previously I am sorry to say I am unlikely to do so again as they appear to value their relationship with hotel owners more highly than the safety of their customers. I am genuinely unhappy about this as we have always enjoyed our trips with Exodus and had planned to do many more. On the positive side, the local guides dealt with the situation well, the locals are extremely friendly and the care received at the hospital was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snorkelling was a highlight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be very careful at the Wittmer Lodge
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Jonathan Dusheiko

    Galapagos March 2017

    An enjoyable trip through a special part of the world. Snorkelling or swimming almost every day was the highlight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dawn over Sierra Negra volcano.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pablo was excellent, organised our own tents for all solo travellers which was a bonus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I found it easier to bring all my own snorkelling gear including flippers. You can't hire on Floreana and also you know your own is of good quality. The water was not cold at that time of year, long sleeve rash vest with some insulation was enough. Gaiters are useful for dense wet vegetation near second camp on the trek. I found a 45L packable duffel fine for the trek. Poncho and non-waterproof boots and walking shoes are cooler options compared to jackets and lined footwear. There are frequent heavy tropical downpours.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The storage of valuables in the safe at The Wooden House needs improving. Had an a anxious few hours after other travellers took my Exodus document wallet with passport by mistake as identical to theirs. Should be sealed in an envelope and you should sign in and out.
  • Reviewed March 2017

    Galapagos Wonderland

    When this trip was advertised on the site at the end of last summer I booked straight away,something about this magical place appealed to me. Everything you see on the TV is there, it is all around you, from the first steps on the Islands you see Iguanas, Finches, Fly catchers with their brilliant yellows and oranges. Our first introduction to the Galapagos is a boat trip out to the locally known Kicker rock and our first snorkelling, our first Turtles, rays and for the lucky few even Shark.Blue footed boobies on the rocks, with Frigate birds filing the skies and Sea lions filling the seas. It was like everywhere you looked there was more to see and marvel at,birds so close Iguanas round almost every corner. Then came what we all wanted to see the Galapagos giant tortoises, the breeding programme is well established and it is great to see the work they are doing. After a few days and a change of Islands we began our trek up the Sierra Negra volcano. The feeling you get from the rim of this enormous crater is one of awe and power. the next thing was to see the steam coming from live vents on the mountain side, imagining what life was like thousands of years ago.We then walked up to the vents and the smell of sulphur was really strong but again the feeling of power was still there. Onto the rest of the trek with camping on the rim,well looked after by our helpers who with the horses got everything we needed to the rim and cooked us all very good meals, thanks. This trip is very full on and every day so far we have an early start and either walked or took boats to visit many islands and wildlife areas. This trip exceeded all of my expectations and with a great leader in Pablo who`s knowledge of the Islands was fantastic, we the group who all got on so well together, cared for each other, they helped make this whole trip the best ever. Although it did seem a awfully long way back home!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is easy for me it has to be going up Sierra Negra, a real live volcano, awesom power from the very heart of the earth.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pablo, the leader for our trip was the best his knowledge of the islands was amazing and with the help of the local guides including Joceleyn (not sure of the spelling there) we could not have been looked after better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare to be amazed at the beauty of this amazing place.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to add my thanks to all at Exodus for allowing us the chance to visit these marvellous places wherever in the world they are.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Jackie Hamnett

    Galapagos, in Darwin's Footsteps - Amazing!

    This was to be our "holiday of a lifetime" - I was slightly concerned it might not live up to my expectations as I had wanted to visit Galapagos for many years. However I was not disappointed! Every day I thought it couldn't get any better, but it did. The wildlife was all fantastic. I didn't expect to do so much snorkelling, but it meant we were swimming with turtles, sealions, sharks and many colourful fishes :)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights for me were Floreana (especially meeting the Wittmer family), camping and walking up Sierra Negra, and swimming with turtles.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabian was excellent! He pulled a very diverse group of people together and made sure no-one was left out. His knowledge of the islands and the wildlife was great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the book "Floreana" by Wittmer before you visit the Island of Floreana. It is a fascinating story and you will look at the island in a different light! Buy a wildlife guide book before you go. I expected there to be a wider choice of guides on the islands, but there is in fact very little choice.
  • Reviewed January 2017

    Galapagos trip

    I travelled in november 2016 to the galapagos. I had a great trip. There were fourteen in the group. It was a mixture of couples and singles. The days were spent either travelling by boat , swimming/ snorkelling . Or some walking. The snorkelling was amazing. It was more difficult than i had anticipated. The snorkelling at kicker rock was really cold and not for the faint hearted. The walking was easy. It was very dry and dusty on the hike. It wouldn't have taken much rain for the trail to become very muddy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved all the snorkelling. My favourites were santa fe and floreana. There was a mix up with bookings - at the end of the trip we went to santa fe instead of bartholome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabian was knowledgable and very patient. There were also galapagos guides who were good. You just had to turn up and everything happened.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I took my own snorkel and mask. I was glad i did as i could make sure it fitted properly before i went. You can hire them though. The water was cold and some days you did need a wet suit. I hired one. For the hike i had walking boots and a walking pole. I carried the pole like an ornament most of time. However i think it could get very muddy on the trail. If it is muddy, A walking pole would be handy. The trail down to the suphur mine was steep. You don't need to buy much water. All the hotels had water fountains with filtered water. Souvenirs were more expensive than i thought they would be. I waited until santa cruz to buy things. I got a few bits from darwin research centre. The bus ride from the airport to the hotel can take ages. Sometimes the traffic was horrendous.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Jill Bobek

    Galapagos in Darwins footsteps

    A few days spent on each of four slightly different islands allowing you to see lots of wildlife and some interesting geological features.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snorkelling with sea turtles ( never seen so many) rays and sea lions and the trek up to the rim of Sierra Negra. View of the caldera was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabian was very knowledgeable , had a great sense of humour and the patience of a saint.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    With hindsight I wouldn't have bothered to take my own snorkel gear - there was plenty available to hire .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A trip to Galapagos had been on my bucket list for years - I'm not a good sea traveller so opted for this land based trip - it didn't disappoint.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Wendy Williams

    Galapagos In Darwin' Steps

    Simply the best trip I have ever been on. I did not want to come home! The leader made everything happen with no hitches - and encouragement for a slightly trepidatious snorkeller! As for the Galapagos - Wow! I think that that the trip, being landbased, allowed us to experience so much more, meet more locals and eat local food and just soak up the atmosphere - on the beaches or in the bar!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two inspirational moments - playing with the sea lions in the surf and snorkelling with turtles.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Leader was fantastic - ensured all arrangements just happened, was passionate, deeply knowledgeable and inspirational about The Galapagos, found us great places to eat and was encouraging and caring on the more difficult parts of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a reasonable camera, an underwater camera and lots of memory power. The sea was surprisingly cold - a wet suit would be a great addition to the packing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    When can I go back?
Call us on 1 844 227 9087