Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    diane Mcdermott

    Full on fun!

    This was an excellent trip which delivered exactly what it said it would. The main downside is the long days in the bus between stops and the fact that as it stands there is a very limited amount of time to spend in Cusco. However, the scenery over the Andes is spectacular, as is the view of Peruvian life the bus affords.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely Machu Picchu for me. I was just glad to get there! Spectacularly atmospheric.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bruce was a thoroughly professional tour leader who engaged and considered everyone in the group. He was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about his subjects and made the tour come to life with his information about Peru, the Incas and the local wildlife. He was extremely kind and caring when I was ill and took active steps to support me. He organised the group well and gave options, but I felt he was hampered by the need to get everyone to the right place at the right time throughout the trip which at times made things feel rushed. Individual down time is limited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unfortunately before I left I had to forego the Inca trail owing to a mobility problem. It was definitely the right decision. If you are in anyway unsure of your ability to cope, do the Moonstone Trek which though higher, allows for some support with horses if you are struggling. With the Inca trail, there is much more limited potential for support. Also you MUST have good insurance! I took out Exodus insurance just to be sure that I would be covered for everything I might need. Since I ended up in hospital for 4 days with altitude sickness, this was money well spent. ( Altitude sickness is real, but most people manage to acclimatise. Unfortunately, I didn't, but that is the exception rather than the rule.) The support team at Cusco were superb and I was so grateful for all their assistance since the rest of the group and the group leader were on the trail.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The biggest problem with this trip is that there are long spells of travelling then limited down time. We always seemed to need to be somewhere else which at times made it feel as if we were being herded at a pace slightly faster than we might have wanted. Bruce did his best to mitigate this by giving options and explaining his thinking so that everybody was in the know, but by the end of the trip, people were beginning to need a bit more leeway. This was entirely due to the fact that in Cusco in particular there was not enough time to see what the town had to offer or to explore local sites.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Justine Mole

    Brilliant holiday of a lifetime

    I've just come back from Peru and for someone who has never done a package holiday before, this one was absolutely fantastic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the Sun Gate after four days of trekking was incredibly emotional, it was hard at times and the altitude does affect you but with the encouragement of our guide/tour leader and the other trekkers we all made it. Getting to know other people on trip and our guide, we formed a close little group and hopefully will remain friends for years.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was wonderful, we couldn't have chosen anyone better for our group, he was very knowledgeable, and interesting, he was kind and had a sense of humour, he knew when to push us and when to hold back and let us go at our own pace, he usually stayed back with those who were struggling.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't ignore advice about altitude, we were all relatively fit but it still affected us in different ways, take it easy on the walk and don't push yourself. You won't lose weight as you can't go fast enough for aerobic exercise and you get fed too well, you get given plenty of snacks so don't really need your own.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were all really good but sometimes other guests are noisy, take ear plugs or be prepared to tell them off, you go to bed pretty early on this trip as there are a lot of early starts and long bus journeys. The views are incredible which makes the bus trips bearable and there was plenty of room on the bus to stretch out and sleep. Also if you want to do the plane ride over the Nasca Lines take an anti sickness tablet. I rented a sleeping bag and poles rather than taking my own and they were cheap and worked perfectly well, warm and clean bag and they even provided a cotton liner.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Amanda Patton

    Amazing trip - Inca Trail, Titicaca and Nazca

    Absolutely amazing trip, wonderful guide and brilliant companions. The journeys are long but the scenery is surprisingly varied and the weather/light changes all the time - you would need to view the experience of the travel as a full part of the holiday, and not just a means to arrive - personally I loved it! The trail is tougher than I'd expected (because of the altitude) - day 2 was hard but the sense of achievement huge as a result and it made reaching Machu Picchu itself a very emotional experience (which I hadn't expected it to be). I loved that we saw so much of the country, the Ballestas Islands were beautiful, we saw penguins and sea lions and heaps of other wildlife, including big red crabs! Nazca was stunning, I'm so glad to have seen it and the flight was a great way to do so, while the haunting quality of Lake Titicaca and its extraordinary people made for a lovely quiet and relaxed finish to the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first sight of Machu Picchu mountain from our campsite on the third night of the trail, with sunbeams shining through cloud onto the ruins of Phuyupatamarca below. Utterly beautiful; we sat on a rock (with feet in diy spa bags!) watching the light fade. Watching an eagle for about 20 minutes, swooping and landing right beside us in the mist at the top of Dead Woman's Pass. And corny, I know, but the first sight of Machu Picchu is hard to beat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bruce was amazing - 70% Inca and so proud (rightly) and knowledgeable of his heritage - he absolutely brought to life the stories, the people, the culture and sophisticated building skills of the Inca, along with being equally knowledgeable about the other sites, landscapes, flora and fauna that we saw along the way. Way exceeded anything I would expect of a guide; he was also patient, kind, and a fun travelling companion. He made great recommendations for dinners, even finding a restaurant where we could make our own Pisco sours, and picked up on our personal interests so he could add to them with extras and observations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It gets much colder once the sun goes down than I had realised and pretty much most days had four seasons - from hot sun to hail! I was able to borrow some extra thermal layers but would recommend at least one long-sleeved merino top for early evening/night time - even with a 3/4 season sleeping bag you needed all your clothes on at night (plus hat and gloves!). Also we all underestimated the effects of altitude and most of us were short of breath at the very least. While the trail is marked as a 'moderate' we all felt - for the second day's climb to Dead Woman's Pass - that it was tougher than this - not because there are a lot (a lot!) of steps but because climbing them at altitude was so much harder than it would be at sea level.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've wanted to walk the Inca Trail all my life and it has been a wonderful experience, way above what I had hoped for it. I loved seeing the country, varying from desert (both flat and mountainous) through steep green mountains to high plains. The wildlife is fantastic, we saw eagles, hummingbirds, amazing butterflies and orchids, and heard a toucan (though couldn't see it!). The other half of our group (doing the Moonstone trek) also saw condors. Machu Picchu itself is something I think everyone should see for themselves! You can't quite believe you're there - and the insights from Bruce made it even more amazing.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Chris Shelley

    Good overview of Peru

    A lot of travelling by coach (3 full days, including a 5am start, in a coach) that gives you a good insight into three distinct areas of Peru. The desert, the trail and Machu Picchu and Lake Titicaca. Inca Trail pace set by weakest, so be prepared for a slow pace!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Enjoying the mountain scenery on the Inca Trail.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He's very sweet and amiable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not a good tour for walkers - or that will depend on your group. There's only one leader and he will set the pace to the weakest walker, which is right as he has no support and can't leave someone struggling behind. We were walking at a glacial pace for 20 or 30 mins and then taking a 10 minute break. I found it excruciating and frustrating. They should really have some kind of release form for the leader for people who want to walk at a reasonable pace. The trail is very clear and impossible to get lost on and lots of people around, so I'm sure they could say go on if you wish but the tour leader can't be responsible for you. I did this and the leader wasn't happy but I'd paid to enjoy my holiday too I figured and so strode out.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't expect to come back rested. Some of the hotels are incredibly noisy (particularly Machu Picchu town and Puno). Exodus are absolutely upfront about the amount of travel by coach but 4 days on a coach a lot and so be really sure you want to see the Nazca Lines.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Suzanne watt

    Inca trail

    Wonderful trip, really. I had planned to walk the trail for a few years but was worried about my level of fitness. It was fine however. Others in the group struggled more but even those with no experience of walking at all managed to complete the trail and were well supported by our tour guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say, it was just amazing. The last night of camping on the trail was in a high camp over looking ruins and with the most amazing views and changing skies.... Reaching the top of dead widows pass felt like such an achievement and the view was stunning. I might have shed the odd tear but don't tell anyone......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great guy. I think its a very difficult trip to arrange given the different levels of fitness of people on it however he was supportive and fun to have around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trail itself was quite cold so make sure you take layers. You are, of course, limited in what can be taken on the trail itself so make sure you have light weight cold weather clothes. Walking poles are absolutely essential as coming down from Dead Widows pass is murder on the knees! Take a blow up cushion too as they weren't provided with the sleeping bags. If you have your own inflatable sleeping mat, consider taking it along. The ones provided were not very reliable and its very cold if they deflate on you overnight.....

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can't quite believe how good the food was on the trail. The chef and his staff are miracle workers..... Take the flight over the Nascar lines, you really can't see them otherwise and you will likely only go once....
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Sharon & Scott Forsyth

    Inca Trail, Titicaca & Nazca (plus Amazon extension)

    This was a wonderfully varied trip, taking in the many different cultures, scenery and cuisine that define Peru. From the coastal regions, up into the Andes and down into the Amazon jungle. There are some long bus trips, but the scenery more than makes up for it. The sense of achievement at completing the Inca Trial, as well as the many, quiet, Inca sites along the route made the trip worthwhile. We added the 5 day Amazon trip to the end of the holiday and are glad we did. Although basic, the lodge was well appointed, with wildlife literally on the doorstep (resident tarantula under picnic table, two-toed sloth passing overhead and fireflies everywhere!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the Sun Gate and getting the first glimpse of Machu Picchu, after 4 tough days of walking. Spending the day on Lake Titicaca, meeting the local Uros people on the reed islands, and the visit to Taquile Island on their national holiday was also a highlight. Seeing 3 condors on the road to Abancay. Coming face to face with an 8m long anaconda (luckily fast asleep!).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. Frank Farfan is one of the best guides we have ever traveled with. Right from the outset he encouraged us to operate as a 'family' and support each other. In the face of many challenges (dealing with road closures and stranded bus due to a national strike, losing the second guide on the Inca Trail due to 2 members of the group having to turn back, bus breakdown and security challenges at airports) he always remained positive and took charge of situations where he was able to. He never lost his sense of humour and was an integral part of our 'family' group. His love of his country and his wide knowledge of the cultures and flora & fauna of Peru really contributed to making this a truly memorable holiday for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take double the amount of money you think you might need and take this mostly in Nuevo Sols (some US Dollars are useful for optional trips e.g. flight over Nazca Lines). ATMs were available in the bigger places (Cusco, Puno etc.) and the exchange rate far better than changing US Dollars in a Casa di Cambio. Beware of the black midges at Machu Picchu/Aguas Calientes! They are hard to spot until they have bitten you (leaving a small blood blister) and also appear immune to Deet!!! Get cream on/take antihistamines as soon as possible to prevent the worst of the itching!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The porters on the Inca Trail were truly amazing. They carried everything on the trail, from tents to tea-bags, and always with a smile on their faces. The chef on our trip (Santos) made some delicious meals, with a different soup at each meal. Do not underestimate the effect of altitude sickness. The second day of the Inca Trail in particular is tough; take the climb at a slow pace and support each other.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Anita Turner

    Inca, Trail, Titicaca, Amazon

    A true lifetime experience holiday. As others have said be prepared for long hours travelling and some early starts, but it is worth it to see the diverse spectacles Peru offers. From the wildlife of the Ballestas islands, via sand dunes and the Nazca lines to the high Andean plains, Cusco and the Inca Trail to Lake Titicaca and just for good measure we added the Amazon extension. The sense of achievement at the end of every climb on the trail and the clapping from the porters as we reached camp each night was exhilarating. The group developed a close supportive bond that helped everyone through some difficult times particularly when illness struck on the final day of the trek. All the group successfully reaching the Sun Gate was a real pinnacle. Visiting Machu Picchu the day after rather than the usual visit after a long trek at dawn was a bonus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Undoubtedly the moment we all reached the Sun Gate and had our first view of Machu Picchu. Definitely the only way to arrive. Made all the more emotional by the supreme effort of the porters who had piggy backed 2 poorly members of the group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ollie our leader was fantastic. He had superb knowledge of his country and imparted this to a group with a wide age range from 16 to over 60 in a way that kept everyone interested. On the trek he instinctively knew if someone was struggling and provided quiet support and encouragement. When illness struck he was unflappable and made alternative arrangements without any fuss ensuring that everyone was safe and recovered quickly. He gave excellent recommendations for eating on our free days, advising which restaurants were best for different types of food.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like wildlife and can afford the time, book the Amazon extension. We had an amazing 4 days in the jungle and were lucky to see jaguars, a giant river otter, lots of creepy crawlies and cayman. It was also a relaxing end to the holiday being in one room for 3 nights! Take a mix of dollars and Sol, some payments were in dollars, others in Sol.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Robert Stanton

    Peru and the Inca Trail

    A great trip with excellent company. Although there was a lot of travelling - and we were warned beforehand - the sights were terrific from the start, from the first boat trip, flying over the Nascar Lines, Cusco, not showering for 3 days on the Inca Trail, Machu Picchu and Lake Titicaca. Without doubt getting to the end of the trail and reaching Machu Picchu was the pinnacle. As with all these journeys a lot has to be said about the group and in this case it was one of the best I've been with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the Sun Gate and seeing Machu Picchu for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dennis Dolmos was excellent throughout. He was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, making sure he was around for anyone who required anything from him. His recommendations were always good and we were all happy to take him up on them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ignore the trip notes on currency. The US$ is widely accepted in Lima, however this is not the case anywhere else and soles will be required. They are fairly easy to get at ATMs.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Carol Sherwood

    Inca Trail, Titicaca and Nazca

    The holiday that everyone wishes they had been on. It really was the holiday of a lifetime. I was too scared to do the flight over the Nazca Lines but those that did, enjoyed it. The highlight was of course the Inca Trail and walking through the Sun Gate to see Machu Picchu. Lake Titicaca was a bit of a surprise to me as to the size of it and I will always be amazed at how the Island of Uros remains afloat on reeds, despite our being shown how. This holiday will stay with me forever.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the porters on the Inca Trail carry the amount of luggage/equipment on their backs whilst the rest of us struggled just to walk it. Of particular amazement was watching them run down the steep steps on the last day. Despite their heavy loads, the porters were always very polite and happy to say hello to us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dennis Dolmos was the perfect leader. He ensured that we were all happy and healthy at all times. Nothing was too much trouble for him to arrange and his knowledge of his country was exceptional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    this was my first holiday as a solo traveller and I was slightly apprehensive before going, however from the moment I met the rest of the group at the airport, we all seemed to settle into "family life". Everyone was at ease with everyone else and no-one was left out at any time. I could not have wished for a better group of friends to travel with and I hope to keep in touch with them all, any maybe go on more holidays with them.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Daphne Partridge

    Amazing - Just Do It!

    Loved this holiday :) Peru is an amazing country with so much to see all around you, making the long journeys enjoyable. Thrilled to do the trek and be proud of the achievement but also wonderful trips to Lake Titicaca and seeing the culture of the people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of Dead Woman's Pass which was not as bad as I thought it would be and certainly within most reasonably fit people's capabilities. Then obviously the first sighting of the Machu Picchu site from the Sun Gate made it all worthwhile :) Got to mention the camp staff /porters who were certainly inspirational and amazing - carrying everything at great speed from camp to camp and providing wonderful meals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ollie kept our diverse small group of seven together (which wasn't an easy task for him!) and provided plenty of encouragement on the trek. Gave us plenty of information on sites and places we visited and was always available to provide help and advice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather in Peru is changeable with plenty of rain. On the trek we all wore the ponchos at we bought in Cusco for a couple of dollars so I could have left my proper kagoule at home. I was dreading the trek camping but loved it - went for smile supplement which was a wise move - found it comfortable and fun! Take poles and knee support with you - no matter how fit you are they really help especially on the slippery wet descents. The Exodus green trek bag did not get used by anyone (should have left it at home!) the night before we were offered lightweight bags of similar size for our 7kg porters bag which we all took instead. Rented sleeping bag was clean and warm. Take the altitude seriously and take all precautions possible to maximise the enjoyment of the holiday. Beware sunburn! Do the Nazca flight - amazing and worth the money - however VERY hot inside confined space with seven people in small plane. Day trip on Lake Titicaca was brilliant- take sunscreen, hat, music and a book as long journey (2 hours) across lake. Sit on the roof and enjoy the view :) Take plenty of US dollars and get Sol when you arrive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We booked our flights independently and so flew out a day early which gave us the chance to enjoy Lima and lunch in Miraflores and get over the travel before the early start with the group the next morning (they arrived late the night before we set off) JUST DO IT! At 58 I was one of the few oldies on the whole Inca Trail but put in training before hand and it is within your capability and feels such an incredible achievement. It's left me wondering what challenge to set myself next!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087