Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Barry Holmes

    Trekking in Myanmar (Burma)

    This trip was quite varied in that at times we were just part of the mass of tourists seeing important sites yet out trekking in the Chin Hills we saw other tourists only three times in six days. In the Chin Hills dirt roads are replacing the original donkey trails and the former are not as interesting to walk along as the latter. Hunting in the Chin Hills made them rather devoid of wildlife. Nevertheless, it was interesting seeing the culture of the Chin people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights of the trip were sunset on Mandalay Hill and the visit to the Shwedagon pagoda.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Though very young (or is it just me getting old) our guide was very knowledgable and had great organisational skills. Everything ran smoothly and when sickness struck a couple of people in the group he made arrangements for them to drop out and be transported to our destination for the day.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Paul Kidder

    Trekking in Myanmar's Chin State

    An enjoyable trek in a little visited, remote area of Myanmar, coupled with a tour of the country's tourist highlights makes this a well balanced, informative travel experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming off the trek and being struck by the contrast between the introduction to the rural, real life experiences of the local peoples and the impressions one gains in the tourist populated areas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lin is an impressive young man, unhesitating to answer any question, very knowledgeable and expressive. He handled the planning challenges of traveling in the hills of the Chin State probable as well as anyone could.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The difficulty rating for the terrain of the trip is accurate, but the hot temperatures, especially for folks coming from cold February areas, makes some days challenging.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Tourism is growing in Myanmar, welcomed by the Burmese and expanding into less traditionally visited areas. This trek through the very rural, little changed villages of Chin State could soon become a different experience. For those considering the trip, go early.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Richard Broughton

    Burma trekking holiday

    An ambitiously varied trip to Myanmar which includes cultural city visits and also trekking between remote villages where the Chin people live and hunt.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise on top of Mount Victoria next to the Buddha statue.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent and calmly resolved a number of problems during the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whilst the Chin mountains are remote, the old donkey tracks have now largely been replaced by roads as the locals now use Kenbo bikes. This presumably has increased their ability to slash and burn the forest meaning that the landscape is changing fast.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to our guide Lin for rearranging the day with the river trip even though an important monks ashes were being scattered that day.
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Garry Smith

    Trekking in Myanmar

    This was without a doubt on a par with my trek up Kilimanjaro. 7 days passing though Chin State, meeting the locals and sleeping in their houses, churches and schools, unbelievable

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole of the Chin State trek.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. So knowledgeable and passionate about his country

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not hesitate to sign up for this trip. Make certain that you have a warm jacket. The penultimate night, sleeping in the school house, was by far the coldest on the trip. Make use of all the blankets provided.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only place missing from this trip was Ihle Lake. If you can, extend your trip for 2/3 days to visit this magical place.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Ross Coleman

    INTERSTING TREK

    The staff and porters were excellent. The food supplied was more than adequate and considering where we were it was fantastic. The major hotels were also excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    meeting the happy village people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sia was excellent and very knowledgeable on all aspects of the tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some warm clothes when visiting Mt. Victoria as it was 3DEG. C

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I do not like the tipping as everyone should be adequately paid by Exodus. The holiday was not cheap to start with and the local costs would have been minimal due to the low local wages. The only good thing is that it puts some extra money into the locals.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Melanie Falk

    Myanmar

    A great experience of a very unspoilt country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise in Victoria mountain after a very cold windy night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent . Passionate , attentive to us all and knowledgable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be fit . Treks are long and hard and sleeping is mostly on floors

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Good was amazing !
  • Reviewed February 2016
    James Smith

    top - trekking in the Chin Hills of Burma

    Very inspirational trip. At 70 years of age, I should have been in better shape, then I would have more enjoyed the trek. The selection of cultural sites we visited was well thought-out.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably visiting the Shwedagon Paya on the last evening. The best was saved until the last day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader had an excellent grasp of the the culture, religion, and did the best he could keeping us safe on a trek that involved some danger at points where the trail was washed out. He was forward in his approach to meeting with the Chin Hill people, which rubbed off on me as we found them to be very hospitable, and open to sharing a cultural exchange.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beware! This trek is for the hardy of soul and body. Temperatures were hot at times, and the sun was relentless. It did not rain a drop during our 13 day experience. Hot and dusty. I would recommend bringing along an extra supply of you local energy foods to supplement what is afforded us, particularly at breakfasts, which were meager when out in the back country. I have replaced knees, and in spite, made the entire trek to the top of Mt Victoria. If you can't bend to a squat, like me, you have to be innovative on your own to find a way to relieve yourself. I also highly recommend you build up your core muscle groups before the trip, so that when constipation strikes, you are able to function without popping a hernia. Drink plenty of water!!!! I was called on this one once several times. Also, if you are overweight, this may not be the trip for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip. Took 632 pics after editing out the poor ones. Take spare camera batteries, enough so that you can spend time editing on your way home on your looooong plane flight. It makes time pass faster.
  • Reviewed January 2016
    Martyn Cribb

    Trekking in Myanmar

    Brilliant holiday with varied itinerary that liftes the spirits and uncovers some hidden gems.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one thing but many - trekking in the jungle, the varied and wonderful temples and of course the people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very well informed, entertaining and very friendly. Very well informed about the social make-up of the country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We took our own therma-rests which assured us that we would have what we want. The provision for washing and showers is limited on the trek so be prepared but plenty of cold water! The food was great and we were not hungry.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a wonderful trip and the memories will last for many years. We have been Exodus many times and this must rate as one of the best trips.
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Colin Wigston

    Wonderful Myanmar

    This is a fabulous and varied tour. Starting in Yangon and Bagan introduced us to the cities and Buddhist culture with visits to temples in Bagan. We then had a seven day trek through the mountains of Chin state where a different language is spoken and Chistianity (mingled with animism) is the main religion. There is no tourist infrastructure in the Chin mountains, no baths, showers, wash-hand basins or hotels. We slept on floors in our sleeping bags. The people had obviously seen few or no tourists before and were very welcoming and curious. The scenery was beautiful with wooded mountains. Everything was unspoiled and fascinating. Following the trek we returned to Bagan for a welcome shower and sunset over the Irriwaddy river with thousands of temples. Then we moved on to Mandalay with a memorable day starting at 5am to watch sunrise at the U Bein bridge followed by a cruise up the Irrawaddy river visiting Buddhist temples en route. Finally we returned to Yangon to have a great close to the holiday watching the sunset at the Shwedagon Pagoda.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Quite a few inspirational moments: the trek in the Chin mountains; sunset over the Irrawaddy at Bagan; Shwedagon Pagoda.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Than Naing, was wonderful. He had a great sense of humour and was very sociable. He clearly loved communicating his interest in his country and was full of energy which never seemed to flag. He really made the trip interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We spent no money at all during the week of trekking so I found I had taken too much. In the cities there are plenty of opportunities to spend but things are very cheap. It's also a good idea to take antiseptic wipes to help wash during the trek.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of the best trips I've been on. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed March 2015
    James James

    Trekking in Myanmar (Burma)

    Wow, our expectations were high owing to great reports of Myanmar from friends who had visited recently. However, they fell far short of our experiences during this 14 days. Trekking for 6 days of the 14 meant that we were never 'Templed out' and that then visits to three major, contrasting cities gave us fabulous varying insights to this unspoilt culture. Our guide, Sai, was inspirational, considerate as well as clearly compassionate to the needs of his people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is most difficult to single one from the many, many inspirational moments we gleaned from this raw culture. However, the best moment might be our glimpse into a pre-wedding gathering of two families to decide on the dowries for bride and groom in one of the remote villages. Or witnessing a part of a Noviciation ceremony of several families in Mandat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sai was brilliant in that he was most efficient, considerate, flexible, humorous and adaptive to unavoidable changes in schedule . We were also very impressed in his giving much, if not all, of his tips to enable healthcare such as hair- lip surgery to be provided to the remote village people. Additionally,his English is most satisfactory.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, to take clothing, equipment to be left there for use by Portering Team members who are chosen form the local tribes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Constructively, I wonder just how much difference in cost it would have made if we had flown via an airport hub that was en route, as it were, such as Dubai (Emirates) rather than using KL which is almost overflying Yangon!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087