Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2016
    Karen Wells-West

    Annapurna Sanctuary & back!

    11 days of wonderful walking through farmland, forests -the mountains were the bonus! Fantastic wildlife, views to die for, with a soundtrack of rushing water a constant companion.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having made it to Annapurna Base Camp, having quiet time alone to try to absorb the sheer beauty and unpredictable power of the landscape. Also following the river back down again - amazing waterfalls everywhere!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was brilliant, helping this very novice trekker achieve her goal to make it to 4,000m, with lots of laughs and singing on the way. He never made you feel you were too slow - he encouraged everyone to walk at their own pace, but kept a quiet eye out for problems & difficulties, and calmly dealt with them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although I knew there were stone steps, I and others underestimated how many! There are times when you are walking up steps for several hours, so finding a good, comfortable pace is essential - not fast, but steady. We walked in November where the days were hot - T shirts & shorts, but the nights are down jacket & thermal time. I had packed loads of thermal gear, but not enough summer layers. Also, be warned that on the flight back the luggage allowance is 10kg hold and 5 kg cabin - not 15kg hold as most of us thought, which meant there was a frantic unpacking at the last minute, and I left things I needed on trek back in Kathmandu. Safe drinking water was plentiful, so I didn't need my purification tabs, but take some just in case...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our guides Durga & Soraj were equally wonderful, but we were pushed off the bus into the hotel so quickly at Pokhara that I didn't have chance to thank them properly for all their help, entertainment, and knowledge. They were always smiling - even at 5am, and their singing at ABC was a special moment. Our porters were also smiling and cheerful - even after carrying our kit up a mountain!
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Peter Watkins

    Annapurna Sanctuary Trek

    Spectacular scenery! Blessed with very good weather which helped a lot. Trek was significantly harder than expected with much more daily ascending & descending. Local support staff; guides, porters, etc were excellent. (The rest of the group were a pleasure to be with). A very memorable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Poon Hill! Sunrise over the Annapurna range I will never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent! Always seemed to have everything under control - even when group members needed last minute changes. Unflustered and always smiling.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes are inconsistent. There are a LOT of steps to ascend and descend in a significant number of the days. This makes for some long and arduous days & is not indicated adequately in the trip notes. Although only a couple of the group failed to complete the complete trek, the general concensus was that it was harder than the rating indicated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some of the TECHNICAL information provided by the UK headoffice was inadequate; need for poles, level of fitness required, etc.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Jamie Neggers

    Annapurna Sanctuary Trek

    This was by far the best trip I have taken in yet. Nepal was stunning and I only wish I knew how amazing it was before and I would have definitely spent even more time there. Exodus were great and made sure the trip lived up to my expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was amazing. Nepal is such a special place, when we saw a double rainbow in the morning at Annapurna Base Camp photos could not even come close to capturing the beauty.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tsheten was great, young guy who knew his stuff and has a great sense of humor. Looked after us very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more spending money than you think you will need, the price of things do go up as you go up the mountains and also when you are in Kathmandu it is very easy to pay for things with a credit card.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It went flawlessly and the organization made it so I could just show up and enjoy my trip rather than having to run around co-ordinating things. It was the first trip I did with Exodus but will definitely not be the last.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    James Appleton

    Annapurna Sanctuary Trek Feb-March 2016

    Very enjoyable trek to Poon Hill and ABC which must have some of the best panoramic views in the Himalayas. Interesting group of trekkers, Well organised with excellent leader, guides and porters.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spectacular early morning views of Annapurna range from ABC after heavy snowfall the previous afternoon. We were very fortunate to have beautifully clear days at both Poon Hill and ABC.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kumar did an excellent job leading the trek assisted by his three guides and seven porters. He managed the pace of the trek well to cope with trekkers who wanted to walk faster as well as those who wanted to spend more time taking photos and/or identifying birds. His approach was professional but he was always jovial and willing to provide information on the local culture and traditions as well as wildlife, trees, plants etc. He and his friendly team of guides helped to ensure that the trek was such an enjoyable and rewarding experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I followed the Exodus 'get fit' program for the 6 or 7 weeks prior to the trek and found that this provided an adequate level of fitness even for a nearly 70 yr old who lives in a rather flat part of England and spends much more time playing golf, tennis and cycling than hill walking. Some of the days were quite demanding, especially the day climbing about 1300 m up to MBC. Take a good sleeping bag as it was cold at ABC (-10C).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be helpful if the trip notes could be revised to include meters of ascent and descent for each day rather than just the sleeping altitude. Tea house accommodation is basic but adequate. Food was generally very good and lemon tea-breaks always very welcome.
  • Reviewed December 2015
    John Sampson

    Annapurna Sanctuary trek code TNS 151107

    This is a wonderful trek with beautiful and varied scenery and a good length- neither too short nor too long. We were fortunate in having good weather, a group that gelled really well and an excellent leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Annapurna Base Camp and standing in the Sanctuary surrounded by snow capped mountains on 3 sides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Gele Bishokarma, was excellent. He ensured that everyone was looked after and that everything ran smoothly. We felt we could have complete confidence in him which helped us in turn relax and enjoy the trek to the full. His team ( assistant guides and porters ) were also really helpful and friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    While the trek is within the capabilities of most people it helps to be fit to enjoy it. Probably the most important bit of kit is your boots. Make sure they are well worn in and not too tight bearing in mind there is as much downhill as up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I cannot fault the arrangements in Nepal but I think that more detailed and accurate information could and should have been easily available beforehand. To quote just 3 examples: the trip notes suggested the weight limit for the Pokhara to Kathmandu flight was 10 kg whereas it is 15 kg ; when I enquired as to the recommended size of day pack It would have been helpful 33 MPaif an approximate size had been indicated ( nearly everyone had a 32 litre rucksack which was just right) ; more information should have been readily visible on the website as to what spare clothes one could take to help people in Nepal. Both I and my stepdaughter had to chase up our kit bags shortly before departure which the notes said would come to us automatically some time earlier.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Garry Bird

    Annapurna Sanctuary

    10 day trek via Poon Hill, night at MBC, overnight at Annapurna Base Camp

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walk up from ABC onto the ridge overlooking the glacier.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Every aspect of the trip was covered by him. Always one step ahead. Very sociable, amicable but most of all professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't pack too many clothes. Travel light but use good quality kit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Good camera is a must. People with cheap cameras or ones they could not use did regret it as the scenery is breathtaking.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Michael Heaney

    Annapurna Sanctuary, the enjoyable way !

    Fantastic trek with amazing contrasts in scenery; jungle and monkeys to the high mountains in only a few days. Nice pace to each day that ensured that the altitude increase was never a problem. Superb Exodus Leader and wonderful Guides and Porters made the trek a truly memorable experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching ABC , Annapurna Base Camp on a clear, crisp day with the panorama of the Sanctuary laid out before us was amazing. To achieve this in the company of a lovely group of like minded people made it all the more special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great Guy, so passionate about his country and the people. Always on hand to share his knowledge of the mountains, the animals , the plants and the culture and always looking out for the safety of the clients. Added to this was the humour and when encouraged some great singing !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be put off by the situation in Nepal post Earthquake - get out there and have a great time but also help the country recover by spending some money.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent organisation on the trek.
  • Reviewed June 2015
    Andrew Wilmot

    Annapurna Sanctuary

    My second time to Nepal after Everest Base Camp. I wanted to explore more of the country as it is stunningly beautiful so I chose Annapurna for the diversity of its landscapes, from rhododendron forests to snow capped 8,000m mountains and wasn't disappointed. Sadly, the earthquake shortened our trek and we had to turn back one day short of our ultimate goal of Annapurna Base Camp so missed out on the final Annapurna experience, but what we saw prior to that did not diminish the trip. Very sad to see Kathmandu and it's people in the aftermath of the earthquake, having experienced the city the year before at it's vibrant and busy best. I hope they can recover soon as I intend to return.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunrise over Annapurna I, Dhaulagiri and 'Fishtail' from Poon Hill and Tadopani The Nepali's; the friendliest and most welcoming people I've met and all in the face of the most extreme circumstances imaginable - truly humbling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lakpa was very friendly, knowledgeable, fun, and keen to share his country and its customs with us. However, he and his colleagues, Durga and Sonam, really shone through in the face of adversity. They remained calm in the minutes after the earthquake, gathering what little information was available to them at the time and taking decisive action to ensure the safety of the group and offering advice to others travelling without guides both immediately and over the next 4 days until we reached Pokhara; and all at a time when they were no doubt concerned about their own families and friends. I'm eternally grateful to them all and I hope we meet again one day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light; you won't need as much as you think - non-essential and spare items can be left in Kathmandu while trekking. A strong pair of worn-in walking boots are essential as the terrain is steep, but the views make it worthwhile. Embrace the country, it's cultures and it's people and you'll have an experience you'll never forget.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus were fantastic following the earthquake; our families were informed of our safety and kept up to date daily with our whereabouts and revised itinerary through the London and Kathmandu offices by email as our own communications were disrupted.
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Magdalena Maciejewska

    Annapurna Sanctuary Trek, Nepal

    Very well organised, great team, good support and helpful advises before trip. Team based in Nepal absolutely brilliant. Everybody very cheerful and helpful. Bit more difficult email correspondence. Took ages to get any response. Country one of most beautiful on the planet. Unbelievable forests, great views and of course all in Nepali Flat :) I highly recommend that place and this company to everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Suppose to be the Nepali Flat Trek but eventually it has become an earthquake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very helpful, very patient, calm and with great sense of humor. Great companion. His huge experience and knowledge become essential and crucial during earthquake when nobody knew what to do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take too many stuff, make sure your kit bag is as light as possible otherwise you will feel bad knowing that somebody has to carry it for you. Invest in light gear and good sleeping bag. Make sure you have reliable trekking boots and blister plasters. Inform your relatives before trip where exactly you go, who with and give them contact details to your travel company. Be cheerful and enjoy every moment down there :)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have fun :)
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Colin Bell

    Annapurna Sanctuary

    Great adventure with excellent local guides and porters. The Nepalese people are a delight - so friendly, honest and helpful, especially in the mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. Walking up to ABC in the sunshine. 2. Walking along the terraces, through villages and talking to local people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gum, our leader was everything that a good expedition leader should be; knowledgeable, dependable, caring and resourceful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take microspikes in case the walk up/down to ABC is snowy, as in our case.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087